DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, 9, 16 recites the limitation "one of the first S of the L activated TCI codepoints ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear as to whether S is intended to be a subset of L.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "wherein: when the time of reception of the first DCI is later than the second DCI, the first indication of the first TCI state is used to update the first TCI state and when the time of reception of the second DCI is later than the first DCI, the second indication of the first TCI state is used to update the first TCI state." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear how a first DCI could occur at a point later than a second DCI and a first DCI occur prior to a second DCI. Similar comments are made regarding claims 7, 10, 14, 17 and corresponding third DCI and fourth DCI in claims 5, 12, 18, 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 20260239374 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches,
A user equipment (UE), comprising:
a transceiver configured to: (Figure 1b, label 120, paragraph 0032 – the transceiver of the WTRU).
receive, in a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state activation/deactivation medium access control control element (MAC CE) command, L activated TCI codepoints, where L≥1, (figure 2, labels 209-216, paragraph 0107 – The use of 8 codepoints. Paragraph 0201 – The selection of the codepoints is indicated by a MAC-CE control signal) wherein each of the L activated TCI codepoints is mapped to a first or second TCI state; (figure 2, labels 201-208 paragraph 0107 – Each of the codepoints received by the UE are mapped to a first UTCI instance or a second UTCI instance with each instance having multiple TCI). and
receive a downlink control information (DCI) with a TCI field having S TCI codepoints, where S≥1; and (Figure 6, label 602, paragraph 0286 – The DCI field which contains TCI fields and within the TCI fields are TCI codepoints as referenced in figure 2, paragraph 0107.)
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: (figure 1b, label 118, paragraph 0032 – the processor coupled to the transceiver)
identify, the L activated TCI codepoints that are mapped to the S TCI codepoints; and (Figure 3, paragraph 0131 – The 8 codepoints are mapped to the 2 UTCI instances).
apply the first TCI state and the second TCI state for transmission and reception, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, in a first DCI and a second DCI, a first indication of the first TCI state and a second indication of the first TCI state, respectively, and (Figure 3, paragraph 0131 – The WTRU receives DCI1 and DCI2 where TCI3 and TCI7 are selected from DCI1 and TCI5 and TCI8 are selected from DCI2).
wherein the processor is further configured to identify, based on a time of reception of the first and second DCIs, the first or second indication of the first TCI state to use to update the first TCI state after a beam application time. (Figure 3, paragraph 0134 – Following the reception of the DCI in the PDSCH2 the beam application time (BAT) is shown. The prior TCI state of {TCI3, TCI7} is updated to the new TCI state of {TCI5, TCI8} following the BAT).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein:
when S is less than L, (Figure 2 – There are 8 codepoints (S) shown that contain 2 UTI states each of which is mapped to a respective UTCI instance (L)). first S of the L activated TCI codepoints are mapped to the TCI field, (Figure 2, paragraph 0131 – The codepoints containing S TCI are mapped to the L UTCI instances) and
at least one of the first S of the L activated TCI codepoints includes a joint TCI state or a downlink (DL) TCI state. (Figure 2, label 200, paragraph 0131 – The example TCI field of a DCI includes the S activated codepoints mapped to the L TCI codepoints in a DCI field indicating they are a DL TCI state).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein: when the time of reception of the first DCI is later than the second DCI, the first indication of the first TCI state is used to update the first TCI state; (In figure 3 the first DCI occurs before the second DCI and it is not clear how a first DCI could occur after a second DCI and a first DCI occur before a second DCI, see 112(b) rejection).
and when the time of reception of the second DCI is later than the first DCI, (Figure 3, label 302, 303 – The first DCI is received before the second DCI). the second indication of the first TCI state is used to update the first TCI state. (Figure 3, labels 302, 306, 321 – The first indication of the first TCI in the first DCI is used to update the state. Figure 3, labels 302, 306, 322 – The second indication of the first TCI in the first DCI is used to update the first TCI state).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive, in a third DCI and a fourth DCI, a first indication of the second TCI state and a second indication of the second TCI state; (paragraphs 0249-0252 – The reception of a fourth DCI which contains a second TCI state. Figure 7 – The reception of a third DCI which contains the first and second indication for the second TCI state).
and the processor is further configured to identify, based on a time of reception of the third and fourth DCIs, the first or second indication of the second TCI state to use to update the second TCI state after the beam application time. (Figure 7, labels 704, 712, 719 – The third DCI with a first and second TCI indication are applied after the BAT).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches,
The UE of claim 4, wherein:
when the time of reception of the third DCI is later than the fourth DCI, the first indication of the second TCI state is used to update the second TCI state; and (In figure 7 the third DCI is implied to occur before the fourth DCI and it is not clear how a third DCI could occur after a fourth DCI and a third DCI occur before a fourth DCI see 112(b) rejection).
when the time of reception of the fourth DCI is later than the third DCI, the second indication of the second TCI state is used to update the second TCI state. (Figure 7, paragraph 0291, label 719 – The third DCI occurs where the TCI set from the third DCI is used. Paragraphs 0249-0252 – A fourth DCI is received: “where the fourth DCI indicates, informs, and/or enables the WTRU to perform an action, the third DCI comprising one or more of the following: schedules a PUSCH to be transmitted in CC (e.g., based on a carrier indicator (e.g., by a CIF)) in the fourth DCI as a cross-carrier scheduling; and/or selects a TCI (e.g., by a UL-TCI-selection field or one or more of existing DCI fields of the fourth DCI) among either the first one or more TCI states or the second one or more TCI states, based on the CC-determination rule.”
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein: when the time of reception of the first DCI is later than the second DCI, the processor is further configured to determine the beam application time based on the first DCI; (In figure 3 the first DCI occurs before the second DCI and it is not clear how a first DCI could occur after a second DCI and a first DCI occur before a second DCI, see 112(b) rejection).
and when the time of reception of the second DCI is later than the first DCI, the processor is further configured to determine the beam application time based on the second DCI. (Figure 3 Paragraph 0128 – The BAT corresponding to the second DCI is used which is signaled by the base station. See additionally Figure 4, paragraphs 0167-0169).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches,
A base station (BS), comprising:
a processor; and (paragraph 0043 – The node-Bs contain a cell for handling decision making).
a transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to: (paragraph 0042 – The node-Bs contain a transceiver).
transmit, in a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state activation/deactivation medium access control control element (MAC CE) command, L activated TCI codepoints, where L≥1, (figure 2, labels 209-216, paragraph 0107 – The use of 8 codepoints. Paragraph 0201 – The selection of the codepoints is indicated by a MAC-CE control signal. Figure 3, Paragraph 0131 – “After 300, the example scenario of FIG. 3 may begin where a base station may send one or more DCIs to a WTRU.”) wherein each of the L activated TCI codepoints is mapped to a first or second TCI state used for transmission and reception; (figure 2, labels 201-208 paragraph 0107 – Each of the codepoints received by the UE from the base station are mapped to a first UTCI instance or a second UTCI instance with each instance having multiple TCI). and
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) with a TCI field having S TCI codepoints, where S≥1, (Figure 3, paragraph 0131 – The 8 codepoints are mapped to the 2 UTCI instances).
wherein the L activated TCI codepoints are mapped to the S TCI codepoints; and (Figure 3, paragraph 0131 – The WTRU receives DCI1 and DCI2 where TCI3 and TCI7 are selected from DCI1 and TCI5 and TCI8 are selected from DCI2).
transmit, in a first DCI and a second DCI, a first indication of the first TCI state and a second indication of the first TCI state, respectively, wherein, based on a time of reception of the first and second DCIs, the first or second indication of the first TCI state indicates to update the first TCI state after a beam application time. (Figure 3, paragraph 0134 – Following the reception of the DCI in the PDSCH2 from the base station the beam application time (BAT) is shown. The prior TCI state of {TCI3, TCI7} is updated to the new TCI state of {TCI5, TCI8} following the BAT).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches,
The BS of claim 8, wherein: when S is less than L, , (Figure 2, paragraph 0131 – The codepoints containing S TCI are mapped to the L UTCI instances) first S of the L activated TCI codepoints are mapped to the TCI field, (Figure 2, paragraph 0131 – The codepoints containing S TCI are mapped to the L UTCI instances)
and at least one of the first S of the L activated TCI codepoints includes a joint TCI state or a downlink (DL) TCI state. (Figure 2, label 200, paragraph 0131 – The example TCI field of a DCI includes the S activated codepoints mapped to the L TCI codepoints in a DCI field indicating they are a DL TCI state).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches,
The BS of claim 8, wherein:
when the time of reception of the first DCI is later than the second DCI, the first indication of the first TCI state indicates to update the first TCI state; and (In figure 3 the first DCI occurs before the second DCI and it is not clear how a first DCI could occur after a second DCI and a first DCI occur before a second DCI, see 112(b) rejection).
when the time of reception of the second DCI is later than the first DCI, (Figure 3, label 302, 303 – The first DCI is received before the second DCI). the second indication of the first TCI state indicates to update the first TCI state. (Figure 3, labels 302, 306, 321 – The first indication of the first TCI in the first DCI is used to update the state. Figure 3, labels 302, 306, 322 – The second indication of the first TCI in the first DCI is used to update the first TCI state).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches,
The BS of claim 8, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit, in a third DCI and a fourth DCI, a first indication of the second TCI state and a second indication of the second TCI state; and (paragraphs 0249-0252 – The reception of a fourth DCI which contains a second TCI state. Figure 7 – The reception of a third DCI which contains the first and second indication for the second TCI state from a base station).
based on a time of reception of the third and fourth DCIs, the first or second indication of the second TCI state indicates to update the second TCI state after the beam application time. (Figure 7, labels 704, 712, 719 – The third DCI with a first and second TCI indication are applied after the BAT).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches,
The BS of claim 11, wherein: when the time of reception of the third DCI is later than the fourth DCI, the first indication of the second TCI state is used to update the second TCI state; and (In figure 7 the third DCI is implied to occur before the fourth DCI and it is not clear how a third DCI could occur after a fourth DCI and a third DCI occur before a fourth DCI see 112(b) rejection).
when the time of reception of the fourth DCI is later than the third DCI, the second indication of the second TCI state is used to update the second TCI state. . (Figure 7, paragraph 0291, label 719 – The third DCI occurs where the TCI set from the third DCI is used. Paragraphs 0249-0252 – A fourth DCI is received: “where the fourth DCI indicates, informs, and/or enables the WTRU to perform an action, the third DCI comprising one or more of the following: schedules a PUSCH to be transmitted in CC (e.g., based on a carrier indicator (e.g., by a CIF)) in the fourth DCI as a cross-carrier scheduling; and/or selects a TCI (e.g., by a UL-TCI-selection field or one or more of existing DCI fields of the fourth DCI) among either the first one or more TCI states or the second one or more TCI states, based on the CC-determination rule.”
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches,
The BS of claim 8, wherein: when the time of reception of the first DCI is later than the second DCI, the beam application time is based on the first DCI; and (In figure 3 the first DCI occurs before the second DCI and it is not clear how a first DCI could occur after a second DCI and a first DCI occur before a second DCI, see 112(b) rejection).
when the time of reception of the second DCI is later than the first DCI, the beam application time is based on the second DCI. (Figure 3 Paragraph 0128 – The BAT corresponding to the second DCI is used which is signaled by the base station. See additionally Figure 4, paragraphs 0167-0169).
Claim 15 is rejected as a method of claim 1.
Claim 16 is rejected as a method of claim 2.
Claim 17 is rejected as a method of claim 3.
Claim 18 is rejected as a method of claim 4.
Claim 19 is rejected as a method of claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Xu et al. (US 20250016795 A1), hereinafter Xu.
Regarding claim 6, Park, fails to teach,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the first and second DCIs are received in control resource sets (CORESETs) associated with a same value of coresetPoolIndex.
However, Xu teaches,
The UE of claim 1, wherein the first and second DCIs are received in control resource sets (CORESETs) associated with a same value of coresetPoolIndex. (paragraph 0093 – the first and second DCI are grouped to have a singular identical coreset ID).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate the CORESET same value teachings of Xu. The purpose of doing so is to identify association between DCI stages (paragraphs 0029-0031, Xu).
Regarding claim 13, Park fails to teach,
The BS of claim 8, wherein the first and second DCIs are received in control resource sets (CORESETs) associated with a same value of coresetPoolIndex.
However, Xu teaches,
The BS of claim 8, wherein the first and second DCIs are received in control resource sets (CORESETs) associated with a same value of coresetPoolIndex. (paragraph 0093 – the first and second DCI are grouped to have a singular identical coreset ID).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate the CORESET same value teachings of Xu. The purpose of doing so is to identify association between DCI stages (paragraphs 0029-0031, Xu).
Claim 20 is rejected as a method of claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Wu et al. (US 20260040241 A1) – paragraph 0156 – Receiving a first and second DCI with the associated CORESET.
Cirik et al. (US 20230199773 A1) – Figure 20, paragraph 0257 – Receiving four DCIs with associated coreset pools.
Zhou et al. (US 20230300604 A1) – Paragraph 0149 – use of joint UL and DL TCI states across coreset pool indexes.
/RYAN CRIGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472