DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant' s election without traverse of Group I (claim 1-12) in the reply filed on 08/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacAdam et al. (US 2008/0281391) in view of Mathur et al. (US 2013/0282084).
Regarding claim 1, MacAdam discloses a catheter system (fig.1), comprising: a shaft (fig.1; shaft portion 12) including a proximal end portion (proximal end portion of shaft portion 12) and a distal end portion (distal end portion of shaft portion 12) opposite the proximal end portion (fig.1); an ablation electrode (fig.1; braided conductive member 28) at the distal end portion of the shaft including a deformable portion (fig.1, see also [0044]), wherein the deformable portion of the ablation electrode is movable between a compressed state and an uncompressed state [0044]. MacAdam discloses various imaging or localization means [0008]. However, MacAdam does not disclose at least one image sensor within a volume at least partially defined by the ablation electrode or mounted to the deformable portion of the ablation electrode, and a catheter interface comprising one or more processors and a non-transitory, computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions for causing the one or more processors to at least: receive at least one image from the at least one image sensor representative of tissue of an anatomic structure; determine thickness of tissue of the anatomic structure based on the at least one image; and display an indication of the thickness on a graphical user interface.
Mathur teaches at least one image sensor (fig.2; imaging catheter 34 with an atherosclerotic material detector 36) within a volume at least partially defined by the ablation electrode or mounted to the deformable portion of the ablation electrode (fig.7B; see also [0144]), and a catheter interface comprising one or more processors and a non-transitory, computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions for causing the one or more processors to at least: receive at least one image from the at least one image sensor representative of tissue of an anatomic structure ([0150]-[0150]) and ; determine thickness of tissue of the anatomic structure based on the at least one image; and display an indication of the thickness on a graphical user interface [0144]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the Application was effectively filed to modify as taught by MacAdam with one or more processors and a non-transitory, computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions for causing the one or more processors to at least: receive at least one image from the at least one image sensor representative of tissue of an anatomic structure; determine thickness of tissue of the anatomic structure based on the at least one image as taught by Mathur for the purpose of having the desired feedback in order to have accurate treatment.
Regarding claim 2, MacAdam/Mathur teaches the catheter system of claim 1, wherein the thickness defines a distance from one surface of tissue to another surface of the tissue ([0191] of Mathur).
Regarding claim 3, MacAdam/Mathur teaches the catheter system of claim 2, wherein the anatomic structure includes a cavity of a heart, and the thickness is the distance between endocardial tissue and epicardial tissue. The imaging catheter with detector 36 is configured to provide imaging signals of the thicknesses being the distance between any two tissues including endocardial tissue and epicardial tissue (fig.7B, see also [0144] of Mathur).
Regarding claim 4, MacAdam/Mathur teaches the catheter system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: generate a graphical representation of an anatomic structure based on the at least one image; and send the graphical representation of the anatomic structure to a graphical user interface ([0191] of Mathur).
Regarding claim 5, MacAdam/Mathur teaches the catheter system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to determine the thickness of tissue of the anatomic structure based on information from one or more previous positions of the image sensor. The imaging catheter with detector 36 is configured to provide imaging signals of the thicknesses about the axis 20 of previous or current positions (fig.7B, see also [0144] of Mathur).
Regarding claim 6, MacAdam/Mathur teaches the catheter system of claim 5, wherein the information from the one or more previous positions of the image sensor comprises a smoothing of the determined thickness of tissue. The imaging catheter with detector 36 is configured to provide imaging signals of the thicknesses about the axis 20 of previous or current positions (fig.7B, see also [0144] of Mathur).
Regarding claim 7, MacAdam/Mathur teaches the catheter system of claim 5, wherein the information from one or more previous positions of the image sensor comprises one or more three-dimensional locations associated with the respective one or more previous positions of the image sensor. The imaging catheter with detector 36 is configured to provide imaging signals of the thicknesses about the axis 20 (fig.7B, see also [0144] of Mathur).
Regarding claim 8, MacAdam/Mathur teaches the catheter system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to detect an anatomical boundary based on the at least one image (fig.7B, see also [0144] of Mathur).
Regarding claim 9, MacAdam/Mathur teaches the catheter system of claim 1, wherein the deformable portion of the ablation electrode is movable in a direction away from the at least one image sensor as the deformable portion moves from the compressed state to the uncompressed state (fig.7B, see also [0144] of Mathur).
Regarding claim 10, MacAdam/Mathur teaches the catheter system of claim 1, wherein the at least one image sensor is spaced from the inner portion of the ablation electrode by a distance greater than a focal length of the at least one image sensor (fig.7B,see also [0144] of Mathur).
Regarding claim 11, the catheter system of claim 10, wherein the at least one image sensor comprises at least one camera or at least one ultrasound transducer (fig.7B,see also [0144] of Mathur).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rajagopalan et al. (US 2013/0345670) teaches imaging device may be included, such as: a body inserted visualization device such as a visible light camera integral to or inserted into an endoscope, an ultrasound imager; and/or an OCT imager [0040].
/TIGIST S DEMIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794