DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
In communications filed on 3/20/2026, claims 1-3, 5 are presented for examination. Claim 1 is independent.
Amended claim(s): 1, 2, 5.
Applicants’ arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks filed 3/20/2026, with respect to claim(s) rejected under prior art have been fully considered and are persuasive in so far as the amendments are concerned. Newly cited art Khouri (US 20100100370 A1) teaches modifying the first email to include the first tag; and (Khouri: Figs. 4-5C, ¶28-¶33, ¶38, modifying the email subject line with the associated topic tag).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160014151 A1 (hereinafter ‘Prakash’) in view of US 20180219823 A1 (hereinafter ‘Mohan’) in view of US 20100100370 A1 (hereinafter ‘Khouri’).
As regards claim 1, Prakash (US 20160014151 A1) discloses: A method comprising (Prakash: Abstract, ¶55, i.e., system/method for detecting phishing in emails): intercepting a first email addressed to a target recipient within an organization, the first email received from a first sender at a first email address comprising a first email domain; (Prakash: ¶11, ¶25, i.e., the received message is intercepted at a proxy server for analysis from a sender to a recipient)
extracting a set of features from the first email; (Prakash: Figs 5A, 520a, 5B, 8, 13, 15, ¶55-¶57, ¶71, ¶99, ¶250)
calculating a risk score for the first email based on the set of features; (Prakash: Figs 5A, 520a, 5B, 8, 13, 15, ¶55-¶57, ¶71, ¶99, ¶196, ¶250)
in response to the risk score falling below a threshold risk score (Prakash: Figs 5A, 520a, 5B, 8, 13, 15, ¶55-¶57, ¶71-74, ¶99, ¶137, ¶196, ¶250, i.e., calculating the threshold porbability)
However Prakash does not but in analogous art, Mohan (US 20180219823 A1) teaches: querying a rules engine, administered by the organization, for tags associated with elements of the first email address; (Mohan: Figs. 2-4, ¶22-¶29, ¶38, i.e., rule manager applies rules based on keywords associated with the incoming messages to categorize the messages)
receiving a first tag, associated with the first email address, from the rules engine; and (Mohan: Figs. 2-4, ¶22-¶29, ¶38, i.e., rule manager applies rules based on keywords associated with the incoming messages to categorize the messages, wherein, based on the keywords the message is categorized i.e., annotated)
in response to receiving the first tag, associated with the first email address, from the rules engine: (Mohan: Figs. 2-4, ¶22-¶29, ¶38, i.e., rule manager applies rules based on keywords associated with the incoming messages to categorize the messages, wherein, based on the keywords the message is categorized i.e., annotated)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Prakash to include generating rules based on keywords in incoming emails to categorize and file the messages to appropriate folders for a recipient as taught by Mohan with the motivation to improve productivity and efficiency in managing emails (Mohan: ¶1)
However, Prakash et al do not but in analogous art, Khouri (US 20100100370 A1) teaches: modifying the first email to include the first tag; and (Khouri: Figs. 4-5C, ¶28-¶33, ¶38, modifying the email subject line with the associated topic tag)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Prakash et al to include modifying an email with associated topic tag in the subject line of the email as taught by Khouri with the motivation to maintain and track header information in emails (Khouri: ¶1)
Prakash et al combination further teaches: transmitting the first email with the first tag presented with the first email to an email client of the target recipient. (Mohan: Figs. 2-4, 7, ¶22-¶29, ¶38, i.e., rule manager applies rules based on keywords associated with the incoming messages to categorize the messages, wherein, based on the keywords the message is categorized i.e., annotated, and filing the email message to a particular folder for the recipient. See also, Khouri: Figs. 4-5C, ¶28-¶33, ¶38)
As regards claim 2, Prakash et al combination teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein modifying the first email to include the first tag comprises prepending a subject line of the first email with the first tag; and (Khouri: Figs. 4-5C, ¶28-¶33, ¶38)
wherein transmitting the first email comprises transmitting the first email to the target recipient with the first tag contained within the subject line of the first email rendered within an email client of the target recipient. (Mohan: Figs. 2-4, ¶22-¶29, ¶38. See also, Khouri: Figs. 4-5C, ¶28-¶33, ¶38)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash in view of Mohan in view of Khouri in view of US 20080141346 A1 (hereinafter ‘Kay’).
As regards claim 3, Prakash et al combination teaches the method of Claim 2. However, Prakash et al do not but in analogous art, Kay (US 20080141346 A1) teaches: further comprising, for a second email sent by the target recipient addressed to the first sender in response to the first email: detecting the first tag in a second subject line of the second email; (Kay: Fig. 4, ¶15, checking for metadata in the header and removing it based on recipient/sender information in the header)
removing the first tag from the second subject line of the second email; and (Kay: Fig. 4, ¶15, checking for metadata in the header and removing it based on recipient/sender information in the header)
transmitting the second email, absent the first tag in the second subject line of the second email, to the first sender. (Kay: Fig. 4, ¶15, checking for metadata in the header and removing it based on recipient/sender information in the header based on authorization)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Prakash et al to include removing/modifying header metadata from sending/receiving emails as taught by Kay with the motivation to provide authorization information (Kay: Fig. 4, ¶15)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prakash in view of Mohan in view of Khouri in view of US 20050144245 A1 (hereinafter ‘Lowe’).
As regards claim 5, Prakash et al in combination with Lowe (US 20050144245 A1) teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein modifying the first email to include the first tag comprises: in response to detecting an association between the first email domain and a valid contracted external legal organization, appending a subject line of the first email with "[LEGAL]"; (Prakash: ¶17. Mohan: Fig. 4. See also, Khouri: Figs. 4-5C, ¶28-¶33, ¶38, modifying the email subject line with the associated topic tag. See also, Lowe: Figs. 10-12, ¶66, i.e., tagging the email header with specific categories of the type of email such as legal, finance, client, and so forth)
in response to detecting an association between the first email address and a financial contact within a valid external contract, appending the subject line of the first email with "[FINANCE]"; (Prakash: ¶17. Mohan: Fig. 4. Khouri: Figs. 4-5C, ¶28-¶33, ¶38, modifying the email subject line with the associated topic tag. See also, Lowe: Figs. 10-12, ¶66, i.e., tagging the email header with specific categories of the type of email such as legal, finance, client, and so forth)
in response to detecting an association between the first email domain and a valid contracted external vendor, appending the subject line of the first email with "[VENDOR]"; and (Prakash: ¶17. Mohan: Fig. 4. Khouri: Figs. 4-5C, ¶28-¶33, ¶38, modifying the email subject line with the associated topic tag. See also, Lowe: Figs. 10-12, ¶66, i.e., tagging the email header with specific categories of the type of email such as legal, finance, client, and so forth)
in response to detecting an association between the first email domain and a valid external client, appending the subject line of the first email with "[CLIENT]". (Prakash: ¶17. Mohan: Fig. 4. Khouri: Figs. 4-5C, ¶28-¶33, ¶38, modifying the email subject line with the associated topic tag. See also, Lowe: Figs. 10-12, ¶66, i.e., tagging the email header with specific categories of the type of email such as legal, finance, client, and so forth)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Prakash et al to include tagging the email header with specific categories of the type of email such as legal, finance, client, and so forth as taught by Lowe with the motivation to assist in classifying emails with appropriate categories (Lowe: Figs. 10-12, ¶66)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED A ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432