DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 10-13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-6, 10-13, 17, and 18, for example see claim 2, line 5, the claim recites a fifth list and fourth satellite assistance information. The parent claim makes no mention of a first, second, third, or fourth list and first, second, and third satellite assistance information. The numbered lists and assistance information lacks consecutive numerical consistency and it is unclear as to whether intervening lists and assistance information is recited or referred to. The claim should be amended to properly recite the proper order of the lists and assistance information. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2022/0030478 A1), hereinafter referred to as D1, in view of Hoppe et al. (US 2024/0357454 A1), hereinafter referred to as D2.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 16, D1 discloses information processing and receiving for a method, device, and storage medium, which comprises:
obtaining, by a terminal, a second message, wherein the second message comprises satellite assistance information for a serving cell (Referring to Figures 2-5, intra-frequency neighboring cell information of a serving cell is broadcast via SIB3 and parameters relevant to inter-frequency reselection are broadcast via an SIB4 (second message comprises satellite assistance information for a serving cell) to a UE (terminal). See paragraphs 0065-0069.); and
determining, by the terminal, satellite assistance information for a target cell or a target frequency according to the first message or the second message, wherein the target cell is a neighboring cell of the serving cell, the target frequency is a neighboring frequency of a serving frequency, and the serving frequency is a frequency of the serving cell (Referring to Figures 2-5, in an NR system, intra-frequency neighboring cell (target cell) information of a serving cell (serving frequency is a frequency of the serving cell) is broadcast via SIB3, the intra-frequency neighboring cell information including an intra-frequency neighboring cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList) and an intra-frequency neighboring black cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqBlackCellList). The intra-frequency neighboring cell list is configured with a cell reselection parameter dedicated to each of the intra-frequency neighboring cells in the list. The intra-frequency neighboring black cell list is configured with intra-frequency neighboring cell information which is not allowed to be reselected by a UE. In this implementation, an intra-frequency neighboring cell list for NTN cells (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast in SIB3, wherein the intra-frequency neighboring cell list for the NTN cells includes the PCI of the NTN cells on a serving frequency. In an NR system, parameters relevant to inter-frequency reselection are broadcast via an SIB4, and information such as downlink frequency (ARFCN-Value) of each inter-frequency carrier frequency, a frequency band indicator of the frequency band to which the downlink frequency belongs, an interFreqNeighCellList, and an interFreqBlackCellList is broadcast in the SIB4. In this implementation, an inter-frequency neighboring cell list (target cell is a neighboring cell of the serving cell) for NTN cells (abbreviated as interFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast via the SIB4, wherein the interFreqNeighCellList-NTN includes the PCI of the NTN cells corresponding to the inter-frequency carrier frequencies (neighboring frequency of a serving frequency). See paragraphs 0065-0069.).
D1 does not disclose a first message comprising at least one piece of satellite assistance information and wherein, the satellite assistance information in the first message is associated with at least one cell, or the satellite assistance information in the first message is associated with at least one frequency.
D2 teaches a method, apparatus, and user equipment for cell-change assistance in non-terrestrial networks, which comprises generating, by the network element, cell change assistance information. The cell change assistance information (first message, at least one piece of satellite assistance information) identifies at least a subset of the plurality of moving cells (associated with at least one cell) and is indicative of a geometric layout of at least the subset of the plurality of moving cells. In the step 620 of method 600, the generated cell change assistance information indicates less than a full footprint of cells served by the satellite, i.e., merely a partial footprint. Considering the example layout of FIG. 5, the set of cells A, B, C, D, E constitutes less than the full footprint (which full footprint additionally comprises the five cells which are illustrated without identifier). The method 600 comprises a step 630 of providing, by a network element of the NTN to a user equipment, UE, the generated cell change assistance information for selecting at least one moving cell of the plurality of moving cells. For instance, the generated cell change assistance information may be provided by virtue of a message encoding the contents and structure of Table 1. The cell change assistance information may be broadcast via a broadcast channel, which allows to distribute the same assistance information to all UE within the cell. Broadcast information may be signaled implicitly by virtue of being linked to the overall mobile network operation configuration or it may be signaled explicitly, e.g. as being specific to the particular access network and/or to the particular satellite. See paragraphs 0076-0089.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the cell change assistance of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to improve handover by reducing the number of mobility events; thereby, reducing signaling overhead and improving throughput, as taught by D2. See paragraphs 0005-0008.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 17, the primary reference further teaches the determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to the first message or the second message comprises: determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell according to a fifth list, wherein the fifth list comprises fourth satellite assistance information, and the fourth satellite assistance information comprises satellite assistance information for at least one neighboring cell (Referring to Figures 2-5, in an NR system, intra-frequency neighboring cell (target cell) information of a serving cell (serving frequency is a frequency of the serving cell) is broadcast via SIB3, the intra-frequency neighboring cell information including an intra-frequency neighboring cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList) and an intra-frequency neighboring black cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqBlackCellList). The intra-frequency neighboring cell list is configured with a cell reselection parameter dedicated to each of the intra-frequency neighboring cells in the list. The intra-frequency neighboring black cell list is configured with intra-frequency neighboring cell information which is not allowed to be reselected by a UE. In this implementation, an intra-frequency neighboring cell list for NTN cells (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast in SIB3, wherein the intra-frequency neighboring cell list for the NTN cells includes the PCI of the NTN cells on a serving frequency. In an NR system, parameters relevant to inter-frequency reselection are broadcast via an SIB4, and information such as downlink frequency (ARFCN-Value) of each inter-frequency carrier frequency, a frequency band indicator of the frequency band to which the downlink frequency belongs, an interFreqNeighCellList, and an interFreqBlackCellList is broadcast in the SIB4. In this implementation, an inter-frequency neighboring cell list (target cell is a neighboring cell of the serving cell) for NTN cells (abbreviated as interFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast via the SIB4, wherein the interFreqNeighCellList-NTN includes the PCI of the NTN cells corresponding to the inter-frequency carrier frequencies (fifth list, comprising fourth satellite information assistance information for at least one neighboring cell). See paragraphs 0065-0069.)
D1 does not disclose wherein when the satellite assistance information in the first message is associated with the at least one cell.
D2 teaches a method, apparatus, and user equipment for cell-change assistance in non-terrestrial networks, which comprises generating, by the network element, cell change assistance information. The cell change assistance information (first message, at least one piece of satellite assistance information) identifies at least a subset of the plurality of moving cells (associated with at least one cell) and is indicative of a geometric layout of at least the subset of the plurality of moving cells. In the step 620 of method 600, the generated cell change assistance information indicates less than a full footprint of cells served by the satellite, i.e., merely a partial footprint. Considering the example layout of FIG. 5, the set of cells A, B, C, D, E constitutes less than the full footprint (which full footprint additionally comprises the five cells which are illustrated without identifier). The method 600 comprises a step 630 of providing, by a network element of the NTN to a user equipment, UE, the generated cell change assistance information for selecting at least one moving cell of the plurality of moving cells. For instance, the generated cell change assistance information may be provided by virtue of a message encoding the contents and structure of Table 1. The cell change assistance information may be broadcast via a broadcast channel, which allows to distribute the same assistance information to all UE within the cell. Broadcast information may be signaled implicitly by virtue of being linked to the overall mobile network operation configuration or it may be signaled explicitly, e.g. as being specific to the particular access network and/or to the particular satellite. See paragraphs 0076-0089.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the cell change assistance of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to improve handover by reducing the number of mobility events; thereby, reducing signaling overhead and improving throughput, as taught by D2. See paragraphs 0005-0008.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the primary reference further teaches the determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to the first message or the second message comprises: determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to a seventh list and an eighth list, wherein the seventh list comprises sixth satellite assistance information, the sixth satellite assistance information comprises satellite assistance information for at least one neighboring frequency, the neighboring frequency is different from the serving frequency, the eighth list comprises at least one piece of first information, and the first information indicates at least one neighboring cell corresponding to each of the at least one neighboring frequency; or determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to an eighth list and a ninth list, wherein the ninth list comprises seventh satellite assistance information, the seventh satellite assistance information comprises satellite assistance information for the serving frequency and satellite assistance information for at least one neighboring frequency, the neighboring frequency is different from the serving frequency, the eighth list comprises at least one piece of first information, and the first information indicates at least one neighboring cell corresponding to each of the at least one neighboring frequency (Referring to Figures 2-5, in an NR system, intra-frequency neighboring cell (target cell) information of a serving cell (serving frequency is a frequency of the serving cell) is broadcast via SIB3, the intra-frequency neighboring cell information including an intra-frequency neighboring cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList) and an intra-frequency neighboring black cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqBlackCellList). The intra-frequency neighboring cell list is configured with a cell reselection parameter dedicated to each of the intra-frequency neighboring cells in the list. The intra-frequency neighboring black cell list is configured with intra-frequency neighboring cell information which is not allowed to be reselected by a UE. In this implementation, an intra-frequency neighboring cell list for NTN cells (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast in SIB3, wherein the intra-frequency neighboring cell list for the NTN cells includes the PCI of the NTN cells on a serving frequency. In an NR system, parameters relevant to inter-frequency reselection are broadcast via an SIB4, and information such as downlink frequency (ARFCN-Value) of each inter-frequency carrier frequency, a frequency band indicator of the frequency band to which the downlink frequency belongs, an interFreqNeighCellList, and an interFreqBlackCellList is broadcast in the SIB4. In this implementation, an inter-frequency neighboring cell list (target cell is a neighboring cell of the serving cell) for NTN cells (abbreviated as interFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast via the SIB4, wherein the interFreqNeighCellList-NTN includes the PCI of the NTN cells corresponding to the inter-frequency carrier frequencies (seventh and eighth list, comprising sixth satellite assistance information for at least one neighboring frequency different from the serving frequency, eighth list comprises at least one piece of first information, indicates at least one neighboring cell to each of the least one neighboring frequency). See paragraphs 0065-0069.)
D1 does not disclose wherein when the satellite assistance information in the first message is associated with the at least one frequency.
D2 teaches a method, apparatus, and user equipment for cell-change assistance in non-terrestrial networks, which comprises generating, by the network element, cell change assistance information. The cell change assistance information (first message, at least one piece of satellite assistance information) identifies at least a subset of the plurality of moving cells (associated with at least one cell and frequency as the cells comprise a transmission frequency) and is indicative of a geometric layout of at least the subset of the plurality of moving cells. In the step 620 of method 600, the generated cell change assistance information indicates less than a full footprint of cells served by the satellite, i.e., merely a partial footprint. Considering the example layout of FIG. 5, the set of cells A, B, C, D, E constitutes less than the full footprint (which full footprint additionally comprises the five cells which are illustrated without identifier). The method 600 comprises a step 630 of providing, by a network element of the NTN to a user equipment, UE, the generated cell change assistance information for selecting at least one moving cell of the plurality of moving cells. For instance, the generated cell change assistance information may be provided by virtue of a message encoding the contents and structure of Table 1. The cell change assistance information may be broadcast via a broadcast channel, which allows to distribute the same assistance information to all UE within the cell. Broadcast information may be signaled implicitly by virtue of being linked to the overall mobile network operation configuration or it may be signaled explicitly, e.g. as being specific to the particular access network and/or to the particular satellite. See paragraphs 0076-0089.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the cell change assistance of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to improve handover by reducing the number of mobility events; thereby, reducing signaling overhead and improving throughput, as taught by D2. See paragraphs 0005-0008.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 18, D1 discloses wherein the determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell according to the fifth list comprises: determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell according to the fifth list, a thirteenth list, and a first cell list, wherein the thirteenth list comprises information about at least one neighboring cell, the first cell list comprises cell information corresponding to the satellite assistance information for the at least one neighboring cell, the cell information comprises at least one of the following: a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) or a frequency, the first cell list indicates that ith satellite assistance information in the fifth list corresponds to mth information in the thirteenth list, and m corresponds to indicated content of the first cell list, wherein i, j, m, and n are all positive integers (Referring to Figures 2-5, in an NR system, intra-frequency neighboring cell (target cell) information of a serving cell (serving frequency is a frequency of the serving cell) is broadcast via SIB3, the intra-frequency neighboring cell information including an intra-frequency neighboring cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList) and an intra-frequency neighboring black cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqBlackCellList). The intra-frequency neighboring cell list is configured with a cell reselection parameter dedicated to each of the intra-frequency neighboring cells in the list. The intra-frequency neighboring black cell list is configured with intra-frequency neighboring cell information which is not allowed to be reselected by a UE. In this implementation, an intra-frequency neighboring cell list for NTN cells (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast in SIB3, wherein the intra-frequency neighboring cell list for the NTN cells includes the PCI of the NTN cells on a serving frequency. In an NR system, parameters relevant to inter-frequency reselection are broadcast via an SIB4, and information such as downlink frequency (ARFCN-Value) of each inter-frequency carrier frequency, a frequency band indicator of the frequency band to which the downlink frequency belongs, an interFreqNeighCellList, and an interFreqBlackCellList is broadcast in the SIB4. In this implementation, an inter-frequency neighboring cell list (target cell is a neighboring cell of the serving cell) for NTN cells (abbreviated as interFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast via the SIB4, wherein the interFreqNeighCellList-NTN includes the PCI of the NTN cells corresponding to the inter-frequency carrier frequencies (fifth list, thirteenth list, and a first cell list, comprising cell information for at least one neighboring cell, comprising PCI). See paragraphs 0065-0069.)
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the primary reference further teaches wherein the determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to the seventh list and the eighth list comprises any one of the following: determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to the seventh list, the eighth list, and a fifteenth list, wherein the fifteenth list comprises information about at least one neighboring frequency, ith satellite assistance information in the seventh list corresponds to ith information in the fifteenth list, and information about an ith neighboring frequency in the fifteenth list corresponds to ith first information in the eighth list; determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to the seventh list, the eighth list, a fifteenth list, and a seventh indication list, wherein the fifteenth list comprises information about at least one neighboring frequency, the seventh indication list comprises an index or a bitmap corresponding to the at least one neighboring frequency, an ith index or bitmap in the seventh indication list indicates that information about an ith neighboring frequency in the fifteenth list corresponds to mth satellite assistance information in the seventh list, m corresponds to indicated content of the ith index or bitmap, and the information about the ith neighboring frequency in the fifteenth list corresponds to ith first information in the eighth list; or determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to the seventh list, the eighth list, a fifteenth list, and an eighth indication list, wherein the fifteenth list comprises information about at least one neighboring frequency, the eighth indication list comprises an index or a bitmap corresponding to the satellite assistance information for the at least one neighboring frequency, an ith index or bitmap in the eighth indication list indicates that ith satellite assistance information in the seventh list corresponds to information about an mth neighboring frequency in the fifteenth list, m corresponds to indicated content of the ith index or bitmap, and information about an ith neighboring frequency in the fifteenth list corresponds to ith first information in the eighth list, wherein, both i and m are positive integers (Referring to Figures 2-5, in an NR system, intra-frequency neighboring cell (target cell) information of a serving cell (serving frequency is a frequency of the serving cell) is broadcast via SIB3, the intra-frequency neighboring cell information including an intra-frequency neighboring cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList) and an intra-frequency neighboring black cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqBlackCellList). The intra-frequency neighboring cell list is configured with a cell reselection parameter dedicated to each of the intra-frequency neighboring cells in the list. The intra-frequency neighboring black cell list is configured with intra-frequency neighboring cell information which is not allowed to be reselected by a UE. In this implementation, an intra-frequency neighboring cell list for NTN cells (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast in SIB3, wherein the intra-frequency neighboring cell list for the NTN cells includes the PCI of the NTN cells on a serving frequency. In an NR system, parameters relevant to inter-frequency reselection are broadcast via an SIB4, and information such as downlink frequency (ARFCN-Value) of each inter-frequency carrier frequency, a frequency band indicator of the frequency band to which the downlink frequency belongs, an interFreqNeighCellList, and an interFreqBlackCellList is broadcast in the SIB4. In this implementation, an inter-frequency neighboring cell list (target cell is a neighboring cell of the serving cell) for NTN cells (abbreviated as interFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast via the SIB4, wherein the interFreqNeighCellList-NTN includes the PCI of the NTN cells corresponding to the inter-frequency carrier frequencies (the prior art list interpreted as the seventh and eighth list, and a fifteenth list, information about at least one neighboring frequency, satellite assistance information corresponds to information in the fifteenth list, and information about a neighboring frequency in the fifteenth list corresponds to first information in the eight list). See paragraphs 0065-0069.)
Regarding claim 6, D1 discloses wherein the determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to the eighth list and the ninth list comprises any one of the following: determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to the eighth list, the ninth list, and a sixteenth list, wherein the sixteenth list comprises information about the serving frequency and information about at least one neighboring frequency, ith satellite assistance information in the satellite assistance information for the at least one neighboring frequency in the ninth list corresponds to ith information in the information about the at least one neighboring frequency in the sixteenth list, and the ith information in the information about the at least one neighboring frequency in the sixteenth list corresponds to ith first information in the eighth list; determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to the eighth list, the ninth list, a sixteenth list, and a ninth indication list, wherein the sixteenth list comprises information about the serving frequency and information about at least one neighboring frequency, the ninth indication list comprises an index or a bitmap corresponding to the serving frequency and an index or a bitmap corresponding to the at least one neighboring frequency, the index or the bitmap corresponding to the serving frequency in the ninth indication list indicates that the information about the serving frequency in the sixteenth list corresponds to the satellite assistance information for the serving frequency in the ninth list, an ith index or bitmap in the index or the bitmap corresponding to the at least one neighboring frequency in the ninth indication list indicates that ith information in the information about the at least one neighboring frequency in the sixteenth list corresponds to mth satellite assistance information in the satellite assistance information for the at least one neighboring frequency in the ninth list, m corresponds to indicated content of the ith index or bitmap, and the ith information in the information about the at least one neighboring frequency in the sixteenth list corresponds to ith first information in the eighth list; or determining, by the terminal, the satellite assistance information for the target cell or the target frequency according to the eighth list, the ninth list, a sixteenth list, and a tenth indication list, wherein the sixteenth list comprises information about the serving frequency and information about at least one neighboring frequency, the tenth indication list comprises an index or a bitmap corresponding to the satellite assistance information for the serving frequency, and an index or a bitmap corresponding to the satellite assistance information for the at least one neighboring frequency, or a first frequency list, the index or the bitmap corresponding to the satellite assistance information for the serving frequency, or the first frequency list in the tenth indication list indicates that the information about the serving frequency in the sixteenth list corresponds to the satellite assistance information for the serving frequency in the ninth list, an ith index or bitmap in the index or the bitmap corresponding to the satellite assistance information for the at least one neighboring frequency, or the first frequency list in the tenth indication list indicates that ith satellite assistance information in the satellite assistance information for the at least one neighboring frequency in the ninth list corresponds to mth information in the information about the at least one neighboring frequency in the sixteenth list, satellite assistance information for an ith neighboring frequency in the ninth list corresponds to mth first information in the eighth list, m corresponds to indicated content of the ith index or bitmap, or the first frequency list, the first frequency list comprises frequency information of a cell, and ith information in the information about the at least one neighboring frequency in the sixteenth list corresponds to ith first information in the eighth list, wherein, both i and m are positive integers (Referring to Figures 2-5, in an NR system, intra-frequency neighboring cell (target cell) information of a serving cell (serving frequency is a frequency of the serving cell) is broadcast via SIB3, the intra-frequency neighboring cell information including an intra-frequency neighboring cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList) and an intra-frequency neighboring black cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqBlackCellList). The intra-frequency neighboring cell list is configured with a cell reselection parameter dedicated to each of the intra-frequency neighboring cells in the list. The intra-frequency neighboring black cell list is configured with intra-frequency neighboring cell information which is not allowed to be reselected by a UE. In this implementation, an intra-frequency neighboring cell list for NTN cells (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast in SIB3, wherein the intra-frequency neighboring cell list for the NTN cells includes the PCI of the NTN cells on a serving frequency. In an NR system, parameters relevant to inter-frequency reselection are broadcast via an SIB4, and information such as downlink frequency (ARFCN-Value) of each inter-frequency carrier frequency, a frequency band indicator of the frequency band to which the downlink frequency belongs, an interFreqNeighCellList, and an interFreqBlackCellList is broadcast in the SIB4. In this implementation, an inter-frequency neighboring cell list (target cell is a neighboring cell of the serving cell) for NTN cells (abbreviated as interFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast via the SIB4, wherein the interFreqNeighCellList-NTN includes the PCI of the NTN cells corresponding to the inter-frequency carrier frequencies (the prior art list interpreted as the eight list, ninth list, and a sixteenth list, information about the serving frequency and information about at least one neighboring frequency, satellite assistance information in the ninth list corresponds to information about the at least one neighboring frequency in the sixteenth list and the information about the at least one neighboring frequency in the sixteenth list corresponds to the first information in the eighth list). See paragraphs 0065-0069.)
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 19, the primary reference further teaches the second message comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, the first target System Information Block (SIB) (Referring to Figures 2-5, in an NR system, intra-frequency neighboring cell (target cell) information of a serving cell (serving frequency is a frequency of the serving cell) is broadcast via SIB3, the intra-frequency neighboring cell information including an intra-frequency neighboring cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList) and an intra-frequency neighboring black cell list (abbreviated as intraFreqBlackCellList). The intra-frequency neighboring cell list is configured with a cell reselection parameter dedicated to each of the intra-frequency neighboring cells in the list. The intra-frequency neighboring black cell list is configured with intra-frequency neighboring cell information which is not allowed to be reselected by a UE. In this implementation, an intra-frequency neighboring cell list for NTN cells (abbreviated as intraFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast in SIB3, wherein the intra-frequency neighboring cell list for the NTN cells includes the PCI of the NTN cells on a serving frequency. In an NR system, parameters relevant to inter-frequency reselection are broadcast via an SIB4, and information such as downlink frequency (ARFCN-Value) of each inter-frequency carrier frequency, a frequency band indicator of the frequency band to which the downlink frequency belongs, an interFreqNeighCellList, and an interFreqBlackCellList is broadcast in the SIB4. In this implementation, an inter-frequency neighboring cell list (target cell is a neighboring cell of the serving cell) for NTN cells (abbreviated as interFreqNeighCellList-NTN) is broadcast via the SIB4, wherein the interFreqNeighCellList-NTN includes the PCI of the NTN cells corresponding to the inter-frequency carrier frequencies (neighboring frequency of a serving frequency). See paragraphs 0065-0069.)
D1 does not disclose wherein when the first message and the second message are a same message, the obtaining, by the terminal, the first message.
D2 teaches a method, apparatus, and user equipment for cell-change assistance in non-terrestrial networks, which comprises generating, by the network element, cell change assistance information. The cell change assistance information (first message, at least one piece of satellite assistance information) identifies at least a subset of the plurality of moving cells (associated with at least one cell) and is indicative of a geometric layout of at least the subset of the plurality of moving cells. In the step 620 of method 600, the generated cell change assistance information indicates less than a full footprint of cells served by the satellite, i.e., merely a partial footprint. Considering the example layout of FIG. 5, the set of cells A, B, C, D, E constitutes less than the full footprint (which full footprint additionally comprises the five cells which are illustrated without identifier). The method 600 comprises a step 630 of providing, by a network element of the NTN to a user equipment, UE, the generated cell change assistance information for selecting at least one moving cell of the plurality of moving cells. For instance, the generated cell change assistance information may be provided by virtue of a message encoding the contents and structure of Table 1. The cell change assistance information may be broadcast via a broadcast channel, which allows to distribute the same assistance information to all UE within the cell. Broadcast information may be signaled implicitly by virtue of being linked to the overall mobile network operation configuration or it may be signaled explicitly, e.g. as being specific to the particular access network and/or to the particular satellite. See paragraphs 0076-0089.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the cell change assistance of D2 in the SIB of D1; thereby, comprising an SIB with the first and second message. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to improve handover by reducing the number of mobility events; thereby, reducing signaling overhead and improving throughput, as taught by D2. See paragraphs 0005-0008.
Regarding claims 8, 15, and 20, D1 does not disclose wherein the satellite assistance information comprises at least one of the following: ephemeris information; a common timing advance TA parameter; polarization information for downlink transmission; polarization information for uplink transmission; a timing advance reporting indication; timing advance related information; a scheduling offset provided by a network side when frame timing of a downlink is inconsistent with frame timing of an uplink on the network side; a scheduling offset for modifying a timing relationship in a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN); cell service stop time; a cell reference location; epoch time; or validity duration of uplink synchronization information.
D2 teaches the cell change assistance information may further be indicative of the movement of the plurality of cells. In some examples, the cell change assistance information may comprise an indication of the direction and velocity. For instance, such indication may be encoded as a vector, with the direction of the vector being indicative of the direction of cell movement and the magnitude of the vector being indicative of the velocity of cell movement. In other examples, the movement of the plurality of cells may be indicated by virtue of satellite ephemeris information. See paragraphs 0019-0021.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the cell change assistance of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to improve handover by reducing the number of mobility events; thereby, reducing signaling overhead and improving throughput, as taught by D2. See paragraphs 0005-0008.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ji et al. (US 2024/0235664 A1) - a user equipment (UE) may receive, from a first network node, a first indication of satellite assistance information that is associated with a second network node, a second indication of first timing information that is associated with the satellite assistance information, and a third indication of second timing information that is associated with the satellite assistance information. The UE may transmit an uplink signal to the second network node based at least in part on validating the satellite assistance information using the second timing information.
Wang et al. (US 20230092925 A1) - The method includes: a terminal device receives a first broadcast signal block of a first satellite; obtains a measurement value of the first broadcast signal block; obtains positioning assistance information, from the first satellite, indicating a frequency and a polarization direction of the second satellite, where a frequency and/or a polarization direction of the first satellite are/is different from the frequency and the polarization direction of the second satellite; receives a second broadcast signal block of the second satellite based on the positioning assistance information; obtains a measurement value of the second broadcast signal block; and obtains location information of the terminal device.
Fan et al. (US 2023/0412258 A1) - The method includes obtaining, by a terminal device, a priority relationship between a priority of at least one neighboring cell frequency and a priority of a serving cell frequency. The priority relationship includes the priority of a first neighboring cell frequency being higher or lower than the priority of the serving cell frequency, the at least one neighboring cell frequency including the first neighboring cell frequency.
DONALD L. MILLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/Donald L Mills/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462