Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments that (CN 102944950 A) does not disclose the absorption axis to be not parallel is not persuasive. Applicant cited paragraph [0694] in (CN 102944950 A). Examiner cited paragraph [0695] which cites the absorption axis are perpendicular. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by (CN 102944950 A)
Regarding Claim 1,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses A display device, comprising: a backlight (552), configured to provide an illumination light; a display panel (511), disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light to convert the illumination light into a display light; a viewing angle control panel (second liquid crystal), configured to control a light emission angle of the display device; a first polarizing unit (see Claim 9), disposed between the backlight and the display panel and having a first absorption axis; a second polarizing unit, disposed between the display panel and the viewing angle control panel and having a second absorption axis; and a third polarizing unit, disposed on the viewing angle control panel and having a third absorption axis, wherein the third absorption axis is perpendicular to the first absorption axis and the second absorption axis, and the first absorption axis and the second absorption axis are perpendicular to each other on a same plane, wherein the first absorption axis, the second absorption axis and the third absorption axis are not parallel to each other [0695].
Regarding Claim 2,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses a circular polarizer, disposed on the third polarizing unit [0701].
Regarding Claim 3,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the third polarizing unit comprises a polarizer [0693].
Regarding Claim 4,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the viewing angle control panel or the dye liquid crystal panel comprises: a first light transmitting electrode [0765], disposed in a first region; a second light transmitting electrode, disposed in a second region, wherein the first light transmitting electrode and the second light transmitting electrode belong to a same layer and are separated from each other; and a third light transmitting electrode (see fig. 53A, there are 3 128 separated from each other), disposed in the first region and the second region and located on one side of the first light transmitting electrode and the second light transmitting electrode.
Regarding Claim 5,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the viewing angle control panel comprises: a first light transmitting electrode [0765], disposed in a first region and a second region; a second light transmitting electrode, disposed in the first region and above the first light transmitting electrode; and a third light transmitting electrode, disposed in the first region and the second region and above the second light transmitting electrode (see fig. 53A, there are 3 128 separated from each other).
Regarding Claim 6,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses a backlight (552), configured to provide an illumination light; a display panel, disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light to convert the illumination light into a display light; a viewing angle control panel (second liquid crystal), configured to control a light emission angle of the display device; a first polarizing unit (see Claim 9), disposed between the backlight and the display panel and having a first absorption axis; a second polarizing unit, disposed between the display panel and the viewing angle control panel and having a second absorption axis; and a third polarizing unit, disposed on the display panel and having a third absorption axis, wherein the third absorption axis and the second absorption axis are perpendicular to each other on a same plane, and the first absorption axis is perpendicular to the second absorption axis and the third absorption axis , wherein the first absorption axis, the second absorption axis and the third absorption axis are not parallel to each other [00695].
Regarding Claim 7,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the first polarizing unit (see Claim 9), the viewing angle control panel (second liquid crystal), the second polarizing unit, the display panel, and the third polarizing unit are sequentially disposed on the backlight.
Regarding Claim 8,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses circular polarizer, disposed on the third polarizing unit [0701].
Regarding Claim 9,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the third polarizing unit comprises a polarizer [0701].
Regarding Claim 10,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses another viewing angle control panel, disposed between the viewing angle control panel (second liquid crystal) and the second polarizing unit [0701].
Regarding Claim 11,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the viewing angle control panel comprises a first liquid crystal, the another viewing angle control panel comprises a second liquid crystal, and the second liquid crystal is different from the first liquid crystal (see claim 9).
Regarding Claim 12,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein a light emission angle range controlled by the first liquid crystal is different from a light emission angle range controlled by the second liquid crystal (Claim 9).
Regarding Claim 13,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the viewing angle control panel or the dye liquid crystal panel comprises: a first light transmitting electrode [0765], disposed in a first region; a second light transmitting electrode, disposed in a second region, wherein the first light transmitting electrode and the second light transmitting electrode belong to a same layer and are separated from each other; and a third light transmitting electrode, disposed in the first region and the second region and located on one side of the first light transmitting electrode and the second light transmitting electrode (see fig. 53A, there are 3 128 separated from each other).
Regarding Claim 14,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the viewing angle control panel comprises: a first light transmitting electrode [0765], disposed in a first region and a second region; a second light transmitting electrode, disposed in the first region and above the first light transmitting electrode; and a third light transmitting electrode, disposed in the first region and the second region and above the second light transmitting electrode (see fig. 53A, there are 3 128 separated from each other)..
Regarding Claim 15,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses a backlight (552), configured to provide an illumination light; a display panel (511), disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light to convert the illumination light into a display light; a viewing angle control panel, configured to control a light emission angle of the display device; a first polarizing unit (see Claim 9), disposed between the backlight and the viewing angle control panel and having a first absorption axis; a second polarizing unit, disposed between the display panel and the viewing angle control panel and having a second absorption axis; and a third polarizing unit, disposed on the display panel and having a third absorption axis, wherein the third absorption axis and the second absorption axis are perpendicular to each other on a same plane, the viewing angle control panel with a liquid crystal layer is disposed between the first polarizing unit having the first absorption axis and the second polarizing unit having a second absorption axis, and the first absorption axis is parallel to the second absorption axis [0694].
Regarding Claim 16,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the first polarizing unit (see claim 9), the viewing angle control panel (second liquid crystal), the second polarizing unit, the display panel, and the third polarizing unit are sequentially disposed on the backlight.
Regarding Claim 17,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses a dye liquid crystal panel, disposed between the first polarizing unit and the backlight ([0695] and see claim 9).
Regarding Claim 18,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the viewing angle control panel or the dye liquid crystal panel comprises: a first light transmitting electrode [0765], disposed in a first region; a second light transmitting electrode, disposed in a second region, wherein the first light transmitting electrode and the second light transmitting electrode belong to a same layer and are separated from each other; and a third light transmitting electrode (see fig. 53A, there are 3 128 separated from each other), disposed in the first region and the second region and located on one side of the first light transmitting electrode and the second light transmitting electrode.
Regarding Claim 19,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses a circular polarizer, disposed on the third polarizing unit [0701].
Regarding Claim 20,
(CN 102944950 A) discloses wherein the viewing angle control panel comprises: a first light transmitting electrode (see fig. 53A, there are 3 128 separated from each other), disposed in a first region and a second region; a second light transmitting electrode, disposed in the first region and above the first light transmitting electrode; and a third light transmitting electrode, disposed in the first region and the second region and above the second light transmitting electrode.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871