DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/18/2026 with respect to claim 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endozo et al (US Publication No. 20160141862) in view of Buckeridge (US Patent No. 3335324).
Regarding claim 7, Endozo teaches a method (i.e., such as method 300; see for example fig. 3, para. [0039]- [0059]), comprising: (i) coupling a monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) to a power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), wherein the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) is coupled to an equipment (i.e., such as equipment LOAD; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]); (ii) applying a voltage potential (i.e., such as voltage potential at the gate of TRIAC 208; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) across (i.e., such as the snubber CKT 207 plus 209 is clamped across 206 via the main terminals of the TRIAC 208; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) an actuator (i.e., such as actuator 206; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]); (iii) limiting (i.e., such as limiting current at the gate of TRIAC 208 via snubber CKT 207, 209; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), by the monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), a current (i.e., such as current at the gate of TRIAC 208; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) flowing through (i.e., such as the current flowing through main terminal/node/junction of TRIAC 208, snubber resistor 207, and coil 206; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the actuator (i.e., such as actuator 206; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) to prevent actuation (i.e., such as prevent actuation as of preventing early energization to solenoid 206; for instance, in some embodiments, a “snubber” circuit including a resistor 207 and a capacitor 209 may be required to prevent TRIAC 208 from turning on prematurely in the presence of high voltage transients on the AC voltage received from the SOURCE. As shown in FIG. 2, one terminal of TRIAC 208 may be electrically coupled to one terminal of resistor 207, while the other terminal of resistor 207 may be electrically coupled to one terminal of capacitor 209. The other terminal of capacitor 209 may be electrically coupled to the other terminal of TRIAC 208, forming the snubber circuit; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]); (iv) determining (i.e., such as determining via fault circuitry 216; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), by the monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), a circuit integrity (i.e., such as circuit integrity as of normal operation of the CB 200, thence the CB is ON via closing trip switch 205; for instance, during normal operation (i.e., where no fault conditions are detected), trip switch 205 may be closed, electrically coupling the SOURCE to the LOAD; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]); and (v) continuously generating (i.e., such as continuously generating via CKT 222; for instance, note that self-test controller 222, PTT pin 224, and PTT button 226 may operate and/or function identically or substantially similarly as self-test controller 122, PTT pin 124, and PTT button 126 except that pressing manually-operated PTT button 226 may electrically couple PTT pin 224 to +5 VDC (instead of electronics ground potential as in electronic circuit breaker 100A) to which self-test controller 222 may respond by momentarily outputting a signal at test pin 228; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), by the monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), an output signal indicative (i.e., such as output signal indicative from CKT 222 to indicate whether the CB 200 is ON/switch 205 is closed or OFF/TRIPPED/switch 205 is opened; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the circuit integrity (i.e., such as circuit integrity as of normal operation of the CB 200, thence the CB is ON via closing trip switch 205; for instance, during normal operation (i.e., where no fault conditions are detected), trip switch 205 may be closed, electrically coupling the SOURCE to the LOAD; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]).
Endozo does not teach wherein a current flowing through the actuator to a level that is detectable by the monitoring circuit and that is not capable of triggering the trip device to prevent actuation of the power removal circuit; wherein the circuit integrity comprises a continuity of the power removal circuit that renders the power removal circuit operable to remove the system power from the equipment upon activation of the actuator.
Buckeridge teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power protection applications (i.e., monitoring circuit 10, 12; fig. 1); a current flowing (current flowing in lines 42, 46; fig. 1) through the actuator (the actuator 58) to a level that is detectable (level that is detectable and monitored by capacitor 44 and resistor 56; fig. 1) by the monitoring circuit (monitoring circuit 10, 12) and that is not capable of triggering the trip device (the actuator 58 is to be maintained de-energized to maintain the trip device 50; fig. 1) to prevent actuation of the power removal circuit (the power removal circuit 20; fig. 1) (e.g., Relay 58 is actuatable by the DC current output of the rectifier means 54 to maintain the contacts 20 closed; Col. 3 lines 25+); wherein the circuit integrity (the circuit integrity 10; fig. 1) comprises a continuity (continuity of normal operation with no fault on the ground wire or the check wire; Col. 4 lines 21+) of the power removal circuit that renders the power removal circuit operable to remove (the power removal circuit 20 is OFF/OPEN) the system power (the system power supply AC 4.16 kV) from the equipment (the equipment laod 32) upon activation of the actuator (implicit, as seen in fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the monitoring circuit scheme in Endozo, as taught by Buckeridge, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 8, Endozo in view of Buckeridge and the teachings of Endozo as modified by Buckeridge have been discussed above.
Endozo further teaches the method; wherein the monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) comprises: an impedance device (i.e., such as impedance device resistor 207 plus capacitor 209; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]); and a current detection device (i.e., such as current detection device 210; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) coupled (i.e., such as coupled via TRIP pin 218; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) to the impedance device (i.e., such as impedance device resistor 207 plus capacitor 209; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Endozo in view of Buckeridge and the teachings of Endozo as modified by Buckeridge have been discussed above.
Endozo further teaches the method; wherein limiting (i.e., such as limiting current at the gate of TRIAC 208 via snubber CKT 207, 209; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the current (i.e., such as current at the gate of TRIAC 208; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) flowing through (i.e., such as the current flowing through main terminal/node/junction of TRIAC 208, snubber resistor 207, and coil 206; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the actuator (i.e., such as actuator 206; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) comprises coupling (i.e., such as the snubber CKT 207 plus 209 is clamped across 206 via the main terminals of the TRIAC 208; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the impedance device (i.e., such as impedance device resistor 207 plus capacitor 209; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) across (i.e., such as the snubber CKT 207 plus 209 is clamped across 206 via the main terminals of the TRIAC 208; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the actuator (i.e., such as actuator 206; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) to limit (i.e., such as limiting the current to prevent actuation as of preventing early energization to solenoid 206; for instance, in some embodiments, a “snubber” circuit including a resistor 207 and a capacitor 209 may be required to prevent TRIAC 208 from turning on prematurely in the presence of high voltage transients on the AC voltage received from the SOURCE. As shown in FIG. 2, one terminal of TRIAC 208 may be electrically coupled to one terminal of resistor 207, while the other terminal of resistor 207 may be electrically coupled to one terminal of capacitor 209. The other terminal of capacitor 209 may be electrically coupled to the other terminal of TRIAC 208, forming the snubber circuit; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the current (i.e., such as current at the gate of TRIAC 208; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]).
Regarding claim 10, Endozo in view of Buckeridge and the teachings of Endozo as modified by Buckeridge have been discussed above.
Endozo further teaches the method; wherein determining (i.e., such as determining via fault circuitry 216; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the circuit integrity (i.e., such as circuit integrity as of normal operation of the CB 200, thence the CB is ON via closing trip switch 205; for instance, during normal operation (i.e., where no fault conditions are detected), trip switch 205 may be closed, electrically coupling the SOURCE to the LOAD; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) comprises detecting (i.e., such as detecting via TRIP pin 218, CT current lines 202, and TEST pin 228; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), by the current detection device (i.e., such as current detection device 210; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), a current flowing (i.e., such as current flowing in the input lines of block 210 and these current lines are TRIP line 218, current transformer lines 202, and TEST line 228, respectively; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) in the monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Endozo in view of Buckeridge and the teachings of Endozo as modified by Buckeridge have been discussed above.
Endozo further teaches the method; wherein the output signal indicates (i.e., such as output signal indicative from CKT 222 to indicate whether the CB 200 is ON/switch 205 is closed or OFF/TRIPPED/switch 205 is opened; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) a lack of circuit integrity (i.e., such as lack of circuit integrity as of the CB 200 is OFF/TRIPPED due to a fault event; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) in response (i.e., such as in response to a fault event the CB 200 is to be TRIPPED/OPENED/SW 205 is OFF; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) to the current detection device (i.e., such as current detection device 210; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) detecting (i.e., such as detecting via TRIP pin 218, CT current lines 202, and TEST pin 228; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) an absence (i.e., such as absence as of no input current to block 210 due to a fault/failure event; for instance, to accommodate the increased current requirements of TRIAC 208 and also remedy a potentially dangerous situation caused by a failure in AC/DC switching power supply 274 and/or detection circuit 210, electronic circuit breaker 200 may include a monitoring circuit 252. Monitoring circuit 252 may be configured to monitor and respond to a power supply and/or detection circuit failure within electronic circuit breaker 200. In particular, monitoring circuit 252 may be configured to monitor a regulated DC voltage within electronic circuit breaker 200. More particularly, in some embodiments, monitoring circuit 252 may be configured to monitor the regulated DC voltage at a DC output pin 232 of detection circuit 210. In other embodiments, a regulated DC voltage may be monitored at other suitable circuit nodes, terminals, or pins within electronic circuit breaker 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the current flowing (i.e., such as current flowing in the input lines of block 210 and these current lines are TRIP line 218, current transformer lines 202, and TEST line 228, respectively; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) in the monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]).
Regarding claim 12, Endozo in view of Buckeridge and the teachings of Endozo as modified by Buckeridge have been discussed above.
Endozo further teaches the method; wherein the output signal indicates (i.e., such as output signal indicative from CKT 222 to indicate whether the CB 200 is ON/switch 205 is closed or OFF/TRIPPED/switch 205 is opened; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) presence (i.e., such as presence as of no-fault event; for instance, electronic circuit breaker 200 may include a current transformer 202, a trip mechanism 204, a TRIAC 208, a transistor switches 230, and a detection circuit 210, which may be fabricated as, or part of, an ASIC. Detection circuit 210 may be configured to detect ground faults and/or, alternatively or additionally, other types of fault conditions, such as, e.g., arc faults, over currents, and/or short circuits. Current transformer 202 may be coupled to a power conductor 212 and a neutral conductor 214. Trip mechanism 204 may include a trip switch 205 and a trip solenoid 206, wherein trip switch 205 may be configured to electrically couple and decouple AC power from the SOURCE to the LOAD via power conductor 212 (i.e., trip switch 205 may be configured to open and close a current path in power conductor 112 between the SOURCE and the LOAD). During normal operation (i.e., where no fault conditions are detected), trip switch 205 may be closed, electrically coupling the SOURCE to the LOAD; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of circuit integrity (i.e., such as circuit integrity as of normal operation of the CB 200, thence the CB is ON via closing trip switch 205; for instance, during normal operation (i.e., where no fault conditions are detected), trip switch 205 may be closed, electrically coupling the SOURCE to the LOAD; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) in response (i.e., such as in response to keep trip switch 205 closed during normal operation as of no fault nor internal failure; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) to the current detection device (i.e., such as current detection device 210; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) detecting (i.e., such as detecting via TRIP pin 218, CT current lines 202, and TEST pin 228; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the current flowing (i.e., such as current flowing in the input lines of block 210 and these current lines are TRIP line 218, current transformer lines 202, and TEST line 228, respectively; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) in the monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Endozo in view of Buckeridge and the teachings of Endozo as modified by Buckeridge have been discussed above.
Endozo further teaches the method; further comprising repeating steps (iv) determining (i.e., such as determining via fault circuitry 216; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), by the monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), a circuit integrity (i.e., such as circuit integrity as of normal operation of the CB 200, thence the CB is ON via closing trip switch 205; for instance, during normal operation (i.e., where no fault conditions are detected), trip switch 205 may be closed, electrically coupling the SOURCE to the LOAD; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) and (v) continuously generating (i.e., such as continuously generating via CKT 222; for instance, note that self-test controller 222, PTT pin 224, and PTT button 226 may operate and/or function identically or substantially similarly as self-test controller 122, PTT pin 124, and PTT button 126 except that pressing manually-operated PTT button 226 may electrically couple PTT pin 224 to +5 VDC (instead of electronics ground potential as in electronic circuit breaker 100A) to which self-test controller 222 may respond by momentarily outputting a signal at test pin 228; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), by the monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), an output signal indicative (i.e., such as output signal indicative from CKT 222 to indicate whether the CB 200 is ON/switch 205 is closed or OFF/TRIPPED/switch 205 is opened; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the circuit integrity (i.e., such as circuit integrity as of normal operation of the CB 200, thence the CB is ON via closing trip switch 205; for instance, during normal operation (i.e., where no fault conditions are detected), trip switch 205 may be closed, electrically coupling the SOURCE to the LOAD; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) in response (i.e., such as in response to close/ON trip switch 205 during normal operation and to open/OFF trip switch 205 in case of a fault event; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) to the current detection device (i.e., such as current detection device 210; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) detecting (i.e., such as detecting via TRIP pin 218, CT current lines 202, and TEST pin 228; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the current (i.e., such as current flowing in the input lines of block 210 and these current lines are TRIP line 218, current transformer lines 202, and TEST line 228, respectively; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) flowing in the monitoring circuit (i.e., such as monitoring circuit 252; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Endozo in view of Buckeridge and the teachings of Endozo as modified by Buckeridge have been discussed above.
Endozo further teaches the method; further comprising continuously generating (i.e., such as continuously generating notifications via CKT 222; for instance, note that self-test controller 222, PTT pin 224, and PTT button 226 may operate and/or function identically or substantially similarly as self-test controller 122, PTT pin 124, and PTT button 126 except that pressing manually-operated PTT button 226 may electrically couple PTT pin 224 to +5 VDC (instead of electronics ground potential as in electronic circuit breaker 100A) to which self-test controller 222 may respond by momentarily outputting a signal at test pin 228; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) notifications (i.e., such as continuously generating notifications via CKT 222; for instance, note that self-test controller 222, PTT pin 224, and PTT button 226 may operate and/or function identically or substantially similarly as self-test controller 122, PTT pin 124, and PTT button 126 except that pressing manually-operated PTT button 226 may electrically couple PTT pin 224 to +5 VDC (instead of electronics ground potential as in electronic circuit breaker 100A) to which self-test controller 222 may respond by momentarily outputting a signal at test pin 228; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of operational status (i.e., such as operational status of the CB 200 in terms of CB status is ON during normal operation, and CB status is OFF due to a fault event; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) based on the output signal (i.e., such as output signal indicative from CKT 222 to indicate whether the CB 200 is ON/switch 205 is closed or OFF/TRIPPED/switch 205 is opened; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Endozo in view of Buckeridge and the teachings of Endozo as modified by Buckeridge have been discussed above.
Endozo further teaches the method; further comprising in response (i.e., such as in response to a fault event the CB 200 is to be TRIPPED/OPENED/SW 205 is OFF; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) to the output signal indicating (i.e., such as output signal indicative from CKT 222 to indicate whether the CB 200 is ON/switch 205 is closed or OFF/TRIPPED/switch 205 is opened; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the lack of circuit integrity (i.e., such as lack of circuit integrity as of the CB 200 is OFF/TRIPPED due to a fault event; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) of the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]), removing system power (i.e., such as system power SOURCE; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) from the equipment (i.e., such as equipment LOAD; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) by actuating (i.e., such as actuating as of energizing CKT 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]) the power removal circuit (i.e., such as power removal circuit 204; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]).
Regarding claim 16, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 15. {See rejection of claim 15}
Regarding claim 17, Endozo in view of Buckeridge and the teachings of Endozo as modified by Buckeridge have been discussed above.
Endozo further teaches the method; by actuating (i.e., such as by actuating as of via energizing CKT 274; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]); another power removal circuit (i.e., such as another power removal circuit 274; see for example fig. 2, para. [0039]- [0059]). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 15. {See rejection of claim 15}
Claims 1-6 and 18-20 are not elected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838