DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims [1+2+4, 3, 5-7, 8+9+11, 10 and 12-15] are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims [ 1, 2,5 -9 and 12-15] of U.S. Patent No [ 11,558,545] Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims [1+2+4, 3, 5, 8+9+11, 10 and 12-15] of the current application are an obvious variant and encompassed by claims [ 1, 2,5 -9 and 12-15] of U.S. Patent No [ 11,558,545].
Claims [1+2, 4+5, 8+9 and 15] are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims [ 1, 3-4, 6 and 11] of U.S. Patent No [ 12, 142, 021]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims [1+2, 4+5, 8+9 and 15] of the current application are an obvious variant and encompassed by claims [ 1, 3-4, 6 and 11] of U.S. Patent No [ 12, 142, 021].
Examiner note I: in the above Claim [a +b] signifies the addition of scope of the given claims
Below are the tables showing the conflicting claims.
US. 18/912,706
US. PAT. No. 11,558,545
1. An electronic apparatus comprising: a camera; a processor configured to control the camera; and a memory stores at least one instruction, wherein the processor is configured, by executing the at least one instruction, to: obtain a plurality of image frames, identify a best image frame from among the plurality of image frames by applying the plurality of image frames to a network model, and provide the identified best image frame, wherein the network model recognizes a plurality of features from the plurality of image frames, and identifies the best image frame based on a first feature recognized in a first image frame among the plurality of image frames, and wherein the first feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the first image. 2. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of image frames include image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined first time period before a user selection of a user interface button is received and image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined second time period after the user selection is received. 4. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the second feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the second image frame.
1. An electronic apparatus comprising: a camera; a processor configured to control the camera; and a memory configured to be electrically connected to the processor and to store at least one network model for recognizing a plurality of predetermined feature information in an input image frame, wherein the memory stores at least one instruction, wherein the processor is configured, by executing the at least one instruction, to: identify a best image frame from among the a_plurality of image frames, based on a first feature information recognized by the at least one network model in the best image frame, and provide the identified best image frame, and wherein the plurality of predetermined feature information comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person, and wherein the plurality of image frames include image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined first time period before a user selection of a user interface button to capture an image is received and image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined second time period after the user selection is received.
3. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: identify another best image frame from among the plurality of image frames, wherein the network model identifies the other best image frame based on a second feature recognized in a second image frame among the plurality of image frames, and provide the identified best image frame and the identified other best image frame on a display of the electronic apparatus.
2. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: identify another best image frame from among the plurality of image frames, based on a second feature information recognized by the at least one network model in the other best image frame, and provide the identified best image frame and the identified other best image frame on a display of the electronic apparatus.
5. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the body feature is a feature indicative of a jumping movement of a body.
5. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the body feature is a feature indicative of a jumping movement of a body.
6. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: control the camera to stop capturing in response to the predetermined second time period elapsing.
6. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: control the camera to stop capturing in response to the predetermined second time period elapsing.
7. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: control the camera to capture the plurality of image frames without notifying a user that recording of plural frames has started.
7. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to control the camera to capture the plurality of image frames without notifying a user that recording of plural frames has started.
8. A controlling method of an electronic apparatus comprising a camera, the controlling method comprising: capturing, via the camera, a plurality of image frames; identifying a best image frame from among the plurality of image frames by applying the plurality of image frames to a network model; and providing the identified best image frame; and wherein the network model recognizes a plurality of features from the plurality of image frames, and identifies a first image frame as the best image frame based on a first feature recognized in the first image frame among the plurality of image frames, and wherein the first feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the first image.
9. The controlling method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the plurality of image frames include image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined first time period before a user selection of a user interface button is received and image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined second time period after the user selection is received. 11. The controlling method as claimed in claim 10, wherein the second feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the second image frame.
8. A controlling method of an electronic apparatus comprising a camera, the controlling method comprising: capturing, via the camera, a plurality of image frames; identifying a best image frame from among the plurality of image frames, based on a first feature information recognized in the best image frame by at least one network model for recognizing a plurality of predetermined feature information in an input image frame; and providing the identified best image frame, wherein the plurality of predetermined feature information comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person, and wherein the plurality of image frames include image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined first time period before a user selection of a user interface button to capture an image is received and image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined second time period after the user selection is received.
10. The controlling method as claimed in claim 8, further comprising: identifying another best image frame from among the plurality of image frames; providing the identified best image frame and the identified other best image frame on a display of the electronic apparatus; and wherein the network model identifies the other best image frame based on a second feature recognized in a second image frame among the plurality of image frames.
9. The controlling method as claimed in claim 8, further comprising: identifying another best image frame from among the plurality of image frames, based on a second feature information recognized by the at least one network model in the other best image frame, wherein the providing the identified best image frame comprises providing the identified best image frame and the identified other best image frame on a display of the electronic apparatus.
12. The controlling method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the body feature is a feature indicative of a jumping movement of a body.
12. The controlling method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the body feature is a feature indicative of a jumping movement of a body.
13. The controlling method as claimed in claim 9, further comprising: controlling the camera to stop capturing in response to the predetermined second time period elapsing.
13. The controlling method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the capturing the plurality of image frames comprises: controlling the camera to stop capturing in response to the predetermined second time period elapsing.
14. The controlling method as claimed in claim 9, further comprising: controlling the camera to capture the plurality of image frames without notifying a user that recording of plural frames has started.
14. The controlling method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the capturing the plurality of image frames comprises controlling the camera to capture the plurality of image frames without notifying a user that recording of plural frames has started.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded therein instructions executable by a processor to perform a controlling method of an electronic apparatus comprising a camera, the controlling method comprising: capturing, via the camera, a plurality of image frames; identifying a best image frame from among the plurality of image frames by applying the plurality of image frames to a network model; and providing the identified best image frame; and wherein the network model recognizes a plurality of features from the plurality of image frames, and identifies a first image frame as the best image frame based on a first feature recognized in the first image frame among the plurality of image frames, and wherein the first feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the first image
. 15. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded therein instructions executable by a processor to perform a controlling method of an electronic apparatus comprising a camera, the controlling method comprising: capturing, via the camera, a plurality of image frames; identifying a best image frame from among the plurality of image frames, based on a first feature information recognized in the best image frame by at least one network model for recognizing a plurality of predetermined feature information in an input image frame; and providing the identified best image frame, wherein the plurality of predetermined feature information comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person, and wherein the plurality of image frames include image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined first time period before a user selection of a user interface button to capture an image is received and image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined second time period after the user selection is received.
US. 18/912,706
US. PAT. No. 12,142,021
1. An electronic apparatus comprising: a camera; a processor configured to control the camera; and a memory stores at least one instruction, wherein the processor is configured, by executing the at least one instruction, to: obtain a plurality of image frames, identify a best image frame from among the plurality of image frames by applying the plurality of image frames to a network model, and provide the identified best image frame, wherein the network model recognizes a plurality of features from the plurality of image frames, and identifies the best image frame based on a first feature recognized in a first image frame among the plurality of image frames, and wherein the first feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the first image. 2. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of image frames include image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined first time period before a user selection of a user interface button is received and image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined second time period after the user selection is received.
1. An electronic apparatus comprising: a camera; a memory storing one or more instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory, wherein the at least one processor, by executing the one or more instructions, is further configured to: obtain feature information corresponding to each of a plurality of image frames using the at least one network model, identify one of the plurality of image frames as a best image frame, based on feature information corresponding to the best image frame recognized by the at least one network model, and provide the identified best image frame, wherein the at least one network model is a model trained to output feature information corresponding to an input image frame based on facial expression feature and body feature of a person included in the input image frame, and wherein the plurality of image frames include image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined first time period before a user selection of a user interface button to capture an image is received and image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined second time period after the user selection is received.
3. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: identify another best image frame from among the plurality of image frames, wherein the network model identifies the other best image frame based on a second feature recognized in a second image frame among the plurality of image frames, and provide the identified best image frame and the identified other best image frame on a display of the electronic apparatus.
3. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to: identify another best image frame from among the plurality of image frames, based on feature information corresponding to other best image frame recognized by the at least one network model, and provide the identified best image frame and the identified other best image frame on a display of the electronic apparatus.
. 4 The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the second feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the second image frame. . 5 The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the body feature is a feature indicative of a jumping movement of a body
4. The electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the facial expression feature is a feature indicative of a smiling of the person, and wherein the body feature is a feature indicative of a jumping movement of a body.
8. A controlling method of an electronic apparatus comprising a camera, the controlling method comprising: capturing, via the camera, a plurality of image frames; identifying a best image frame from among the plurality of image frames by applying the plurality of image frames to a network model; and providing the identified best image frame; and wherein the network model recognizes a plurality of features from the plurality of image frames, and identifies a first image frame as the best image frame based on a first feature recognized in the first image frame among the plurality of image frames, and wherein the first feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the first image. 9. The controlling method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the plurality of image frames include image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined first time period before a user selection of a user interface button is received and image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined second time period after the user selection is received.
6. A controlling method of an electronic apparatus comprising a camera, the controlling method comprising: obtaining feature information corresponding to each of a plurality of image frames using at least one network model, identifying one of the plurality of image frames as a best image frame, based on feature information corresponding to the best image frame recognized by the at least one network model, and providing the identified best image frame, wherein the at least one network model is a model trained to output feature information corresponding to an input image frame based on facial expression feature and body feature of a person included in the input image frame, and wherein the plurality of image frames include image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined first time period before a user selection of a user interface button to capture an image is received and image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined second time period after the user selection is received.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded therein instructions executable by a processor to perform a controlling method of an electronic apparatus comprising a camera, the controlling method comprising: capturing, via the camera, a plurality of image frames; identifying a best image frame from among the plurality of image frames by applying the plurality of image frames to a network model; and providing the identified best image frame; and wherein the network model recognizes a plurality of features from the plurality of image frames, and identifies a first image frame as the best image frame based on a first feature recognized in the first image frame among the plurality of image frames, and wherein the first feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the first image.
11. A non-transitory computer readable recording medium including a program for executing a method of controlling an electronic apparatus comprising a camera, the method comprising: obtaining feature information corresponding to each of a plurality of image frames using at least one network model, identifying one of the plurality of image frames as a best image frame, based on feature information corresponding to the best image frame recognized by the at least one network model, and providing the identified best image frame, wherein the at least one network model is a model trained to output feature information corresponding to an input image frame based on facial expression feature and body feature of a person included in the input image frame, and wherein the plurality of image frames include image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined first time period before a user selection of a user interface button to capture an image is received and image frames obtained by the camera during a predetermined second time period after the user selection is received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
. Claim(s) [1, 3-5, 8, 10-12 and 15 ]] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha (US. 2019/0180109) in view of Desnoyer (US. 2016/0188997).
Re Claim[1], Sinha discloses an electronic apparatus (see 8 fig. 1) comprising: a camera (see ¶0035, digital cameras); a processor configured to control the camera (see 24 fig. 8, by the virtue of controlling the network interface 29 as described in the text of ¶0035); and a memory (27 fig. 8) stores at least one instruction (see ¶0034, the memory 27, which may include ROM or flash memory (neither shown), and RAM (not shown), as previously noted. The RAM is generally the main memory into which the operating system and application programs are loaded), wherein the processor (24) is configured, by executing the at least one instruction (see fig. 7) to obtain a plurality of image frames (see step 710 fig. 7),
identify a best image frame from among the plurality of image frames (see step 780 fig. 7) by applying the plurality of image frames to a network model(see ¶0020, The machine learning algorithm may be trained on a data set that includes the images that were scored by the human scorers (e.g., the image frames have label data), and provide the identified best image (see step 790 fig. 7), wherein the network model recognizes a plurality of features from the plurality of image frames (see ¶0020, the machine learning algorithm may be trained on a dataset that includes image frames having the highest probability of being a good image (e.g., the image is more often than not selected as being the better image in pairwise comparisons) to identify features associated with desirable images), and identifies the best image frame based on a first feature recognized in a first image frame among the plurality of image frames (see step 790 fig. 7 and ¶0032, FIG. 7 is an example of the disclosed process for scoring image frames by the model), and
Sinha doesn’t seem to explicitly discloses the first feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the first image.
Nonetheless in the same field of endeavor Desnoyer discloses an image processing system as Sinha (see for example Desnoyer fig. 9A). Desnoyer further discloses a first feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the first image (see ¶00135, whether faces or people are depicted, and if so, their location, relative size, or orientation in the image; whether any depicted objects are in motion; contrast and blur values; or any other suitable feature that may be determined from the image data).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have been motivated to modify Sinha before the effective filling date of the claimed invention by the teachings of Desnoyer since this would allow to evaluate each region of an image.
Reclaim [3], Sinha as modified further discloses, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to: identify another best image frame from among the plurality of image frames, wherein the network model identifies the other best image frame based on a second feature recognized in a second image frame among the plurality of image frames, and provide the identified best image frame and the identified other best image frame on a display of the electronic apparatus (see Sinha fig. 7, all steps and ¶0032, FIG. 7 is an example of the disclosed process for scoring image frames by the model, computing distance, and applying a suppressor curve. The disclosed functions may be stored, for example, on a computer readable medium that are read by a processor as a series of instructions, [by the virtue of selecting another best image based on a scoring model, since the steps as depicted in fig 7 are performed for every video capture]).
Reclaim [4], Sinha as modified further discloses, wherein the second feature comprises a facial recognition feature and a body feature of a person recognized in the second image frame. (see Desnoyer ¶00135, whether faces or people are depicted, and if so, their location, relative size, or orientation in the image; whether any depicted objects are in motion; contrast and blur values; or any other suitable feature that may be determined from the image data [ the claim language doesn’t explicitly require the second feature to be different from the first feature, the second feature can a face feature of another subject]).
Reclaim [5], Sinha as modified further discloses wherein the body feature is a feature indicative of a jumping movement of a body (see Desnoyer ¶ 0059, In particular embodiments, the scoring engine 314 may calculate the valence scores for image frames based on actions depicted in the image frames. As an example and not by way of limitation, certain actions such as running, jumping, etc. may be considered favorable).
Reclaim [8], except changes in wording claim 28 has substantially same limitation as claim [1] above thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Reclaim [10], claim [10] has substantially same limitation as claim [3] above thus analyzed and rejected by same reasoning.
Reclaim [11], claim [11] has substantially same limitation as claim [4] above thus analyzed and rejected by same reasoning.
Reclaim [12], claim [12] has substantially same limitation as claim [5] above thus analyzed and rejected by same reasoning.
Reclaim[15], is a program implicit to a function of claim [1] and a step of claim [8] , and thus analyzed and rejected by the same reasoning.
Examiner note II: claims [2, 6-7, 9 and 13-14] are only rejected based on the above obvious double rejection, no art has been found that reasonably address the scope of their limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Van (US. Pat. No. 9, 020, 244) discloses: the trained machine learning engine generates model-generated scores for the images. To select a representative image for a particular video item, candidate images for that particular video item may be ranked based on their model-generated scores, and the candidate image with the top model-generated score may be selected as the representative image for the video item. In col. 3 lines 12-19.
/AHMED A BERHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639