DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsutsui et al. (US 2024/0336788 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsutsui teaches a resin composition (Item 12) having electromagnetic wave permeability/transparency (Abstract; Paragraph 0019) comprising a base resin and filler particles added to the base resin (Paragraph 0025-0030). Tsutsui teaches the filler particles are aluminum flake, which will have a conductivity. (Paragraph 0031). Tsutsui teaches the filler particles are unevenly distributed in the resin composition. (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsutsui teaches the filler particles are aluminum flake, which are metal particles having conductivity. (Paragraph 0026-0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsui
Regarding Claim 2, Tsutsui teaches resin composition has electromagnetic permeability and attenuation at 76.5 GHz, which is millimeter wave (Paragraph 0104). Tsutsui teaches the resin composition has a thickness of 6 microns or less. (Paragraph 0034). This overlaps the claimed range. Tsutsui teaches the resin composition has two-way millimeter wave transmission attenuation (Fig. 2). Tsutsui teaches the two-way millimeter wave transmission attenuation of the resin can be 3 dB or less or 2 dB or less. (Paragraph 0104). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding Claim 3-4, Tsutsui teaches the resin composition have a thickness of less than 6 microns and flakes have a thickness of 0.1 to 07 microns, which allows for multiple flakes next to and adjacent to each other (Paragraph 0034-0036). Tsutsui teaches the flakes are arranged on top and adjacent to each other. (Fig. 1) Tsutsui teaches the resin composition should be arranged so that each flake should not be contacting another flake. (Paragraph 0028, 0031). Thus, the resin composition of Tsutsui would have a distribution of an inter-particle distance, which is a distance between adjacent ones of the filler particles, has a peak, regions in the resin composition in which adjacent ones of the filler particles are spaced apart by an inter-particle distance greater than the inter-particle distance at the peak are defined as separation regions, and the separation regions are dispersed throughout the entire resin composition in both a thickness direction of the resin composition and a planar direction along an imaginary plane orthogonal to the thickness direction and regions in the resin composition in which adjacent ones of the filler particles are spaced apart by an inter-particle distance less than or equal to the inter-particle distance at the peak are defined as proximity regions, and the proximity regions are dispersed throughout the entire resin composition in both the thickness direction and the planar direction along the imaginary plane, orthogonal to the thickness direction. (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0034-0036)
Regarding Claim 6, Tsutsui teaches the filler particles are aluminum flake (Paragraph 0025). Tsutsui teaches the particle size/average length of the aluminum flake is 9 microns or less. (Paragraph 0027). Tsutsui teaches the content of the aluminum is 45% or less. (Paragraph 0030). Tsutsui teaches the are occupancy rate of the aluminum flakes is more than 75% to 100%. (Paragraph 0011). This ranges overlap the claimed ranges. This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsui in view Yamane et al. (US 2025/0303444 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsutsui teaches the composition is applied as a coating onto an automobile and should have high flip flop (FF) values, which means a better metallic appearance. (Paragraph 0105) Tsutsui does not specifically teach the L* value in LAB color space is 40 or greater.
Yamane teaches a coating for a car, where a high FF value is desired and an L* value can be 120 or more. (Paragraph 0042; Abstract). Yamane teaches this L*range allows a suitable high FF, which allows for a good metallic texture. (Paragraph 0039-0042). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to set the L* value of the composition of Tsutsui to the claimed range to ensure desired luster and metallic appearance.
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781