DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 11 recites “where relation of position between the object and the vehicle”, which Examiner suggests amending to “where a relation of position between the object and the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 recites “based on speed of the vehicle”, which Examiner suggests amending to “based on a speed of the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 recite “includes moving object”, which Examiner suggests amending to “includes a moving object”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 9 recites “where relation of position between the object and the vehicle”, which Examiner suggests amending to “where a relation of position between the object and the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 recites “based on speed of the vehicle”, which Examiner suggests amending to “based on a speed of the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 recite “includes moving object”, which Examiner suggests amending to “includes a moving object”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 10 recites “where relation of position between the object and the vehicle”, which Examiner suggests amending to “where a relation of position between the object and the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 recites “based on speed of the vehicle”, which Examiner suggests amending to “based on a speed of the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 recite “includes moving object”, which Examiner suggests amending to “includes a moving object”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 recite “wherein the at least one processor further configured”, which examiner suggests amending to “wherein the at least one processor is further configured”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 8 recites “where relation of position between the object and the vehicle”, which Examiner suggests amending to “where a relation of position between the object and the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 recites “based on speed of the vehicle”, which Examiner suggests amending to “based on a speed of the vehicle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 recite “includes moving object”, which Examiner suggests amending to “includes a moving object”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-9, 17-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hotta et al. (WO 2011108091, see translated version).
With regards to claim 6, Hotta et al. discloses a method comprising:
acquiring weather information (Page 31: Para. 4 line 1, Page 32: Para. 1 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-4, Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, "weather" "post-movement position");
detecting an object in front of a vehicle used by a camera, the camera being equipped with the vehicle (Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Para. 4 lines 1-3, Page 45: Para. 1 lines 1-2, "obstacle position" "cameras"); and
displaying, on a display which is equipped with the vehicle, an image in response to detecting the object, the image showing information indicating a position of the object and information indicating a position of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 1 lines 1-5, Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 41: Para. 2 lines 1-5, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "position" "in-vehicle display device"),
wherein the information indicating the position of the object is emphasized in a case where relation of position between the object and the vehicle satisfies a predetermined condition, the predetermined condition being related to a collision between the object and the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "high risk of colliding" "green" "red").
With regards to claim 7, Hotta et al. discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the information indicating the position of the object is displayed based on an appearance of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 41: Para. 2 lines 1-5, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "position" "other vehicle" "figure 180").
With regards to claim 8, Hotta et al. discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the information indicating the position of the object is emphasized based on speed of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, "speed" "green" "red").
With regards to claim 9, Hotta et al. discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the object includes moving object (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Para. 4 lines 1-3, Page 45: Para. 1 lines 1-2, "another vehicle").
With regards to claim 17, Hotta et al. discloses a method comprising:
detecting an object in front of a vehicle used by a camera without radar, the camera being equipped with the vehicle (Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Para. 4 lines 1-3, Page 45: Para. 1 lines 1-2, "obstacle position" "cameras"); and
displaying, on a display which is equipped with the vehicle, an image in response to detecting the object, the image showing information indicating a position of the object and information indicating a position of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 1 lines 1-5, Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 41: Para. 2 lines 1-5, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "position" "in-vehicle display device"),
wherein the information indicating the position of the object is emphasized in a case where relation of position between the object and the vehicle satisfies a predetermined condition, the predetermined condition being related to a collision between the object and the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "high risk of colliding" "green" "red").
With regards to claim 18, Hotta et al. discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the information indicating the position of the object is displayed based on an appearance of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 41: Para. 2 lines 1-5, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "position" "other vehicle" "figure 180").
With regards to claim 19, Hotta et al. discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the information indicating the position of the object is emphasized based on speed of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, "speed" "green" "red").
With regards to claim 20, Hotta et al. discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the object includes moving object (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Para. 4 lines 1-3, Page 45: Para. 1 lines 1-2, "another vehicle").
With regards to claim 22, Hotta et al. discloses the method according to claim 17, further comprising acquiring weather information (Page 31: Para. 4 line 1, Page 32: Para. 1 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-4, Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, "weather" "post-movement position").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotta et al. (WO 2011108091, see translated version).
With regards to claim 1, Hotta et al. discloses a vehicle comprising:
instructions to: acquire weather information (Page 31: Para. 4 line 1, Page 32: Para. 1 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-4, Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, "weather" "post-movement position");
detect an object in front of the vehicle used by a camera, the camera being equipped with the vehicle (Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Para. 4 lines 1-3, Page 45: Para. 1 lines 1-2, "obstacle position" "cameras"); and
display, on a display which is equipped with the vehicle, an image in response to detecting the object, the image showing information indicating a position of the object and information indicating a position of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 1 lines 1-5, Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 41: Para. 2 lines 1-5, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "position" "in-vehicle display device"),
wherein the information indicating the position of the object is emphasized in a case where relation of position between the object and the vehicle satisfies a predetermined condition, the predetermined condition being related to a collision between the object and the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "high risk of colliding" "green" "red").
Hotta et al. does not explicitly teach at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform the functions.
However, Official Notice is taken that the use of a processor and a memory storing instructions for the processor to execute to perform computations and complex algorithms on images is well known and expected in the art since it is more practical and efficient to perform the instructions with a processor and a memory storing the instructions than to perform them manually.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the instructions with a processor executing the instructions stored in a memory as is well known in the art since it is more practical and efficient, where instructions are stored in a memory, than to perform them manually.
With regards to claim 2, Hotta et al. discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the information indicating the position of the object is displayed based on an appearance of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 41: Para. 2 lines 1-5, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "position" "other vehicle" "figure 180").
With regards to claim 3, Hotta et al. discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the information indicating the position of the object is emphasized based on speed of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, "speed" "green" "red").
With regards to claim 4, Hotta et al. discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the object includes moving object (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Para. 4 lines 1-3, Page 45: Para. 1 lines 1-2, "another vehicle").
With regards to claim 11, Hotta et al. discloses a vehicle comprising:
instructions to: detect an object in front of the vehicle used by a camera without radar, the camera being equipped with the vehicle (Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Para. 4 lines 1-3, Page 45: Para. 1 lines 1-2, "obstacle position" "cameras"); and
display, on a display which is equipped with the vehicle, an image in response to detecting the object, the image showing information indicating a position of the object and information indicating a position of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 1 lines 1-5, Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 41: Para. 2 lines 1-5, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "position" "in-vehicle display device"),
wherein the information indicating the position of the object is emphasized in a case where relation of position between the object and the vehicle satisfies a predetermined condition, the predetermined condition being related to a collision between the object and the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "high risk of colliding" "green" "red").
Hotta et al. does not explicitly teach at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform the functions.
However, Official Notice is taken that the use of a processor and a memory storing instructions for the processor to execute to perform computations, and complex algorithms on images is well known and expected in the art since it is more practical and efficient to perform the instructions with a processor and a memory storing the instructions than to perform them manually.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the instructions with a processor executing the instructions stored in a memory as is well known in the art since it is more practical and efficient, where instructions are stored in a memory, than to perform them manually.
With regards to claim 12, Hotta et al. discloses the vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the information indicating the position of the object is displayed based on an appearance of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 41: Para. 2 lines 1-5, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, Fig. 13, Fig. 14, "position" "other vehicle" "figure 180").
With regards to claim 13, Hotta et al. discloses the vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the information indicating the position of the object is emphasized based on speed of the vehicle (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Page 45: Para. 2 lines 1-4, Para. 3 lines 1-7, "speed" "green" "red").
With regards to claim 14, Hotta et al. discloses the vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the object includes moving object (Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, Page 42: Para. 2 lines 5-9, Page 44: Para. 3 lines 1-9, Para. 4 lines 1-3, Page 45: Para. 1 lines 1-2, "another vehicle").
With regards to claim 16, Hotta et al. discloses the vehicle according to claim 11, wherein the at least one processor further configured to execute the instructions to acquire weather information (Page 31: Para. 4 line 1, Page 32: Para. 1 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-4, Page 40: Para. 2 lines 1-3, Para. 3 lines 1-3, "weather" "post-movement position").
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotta et al. (WO 2011108091, see translated version) in view of Yang et al. (US 10,643,473).
With regards to claim 5, Hotta et al. discloses the vehicle according to claim 1.
Hotta et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the object includes a bicycle.
However, Yang et al. discloses that an object which may be photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle could be a bicycle (Col. 6 lines 5-8, "bicycle"). While Hotta et al. discloses an object photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle to be another vehicle, Yang et al. teaches an object which may be photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle to be a bicycle. In both cases, an object in the vicinity of the vehicle is obtained and detected by a camera.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the vehicle of Hotta et al. to replace the other vehicle detected by the camera with a bicycle detected by the camera as taught by Yang et al. since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to obtain and detect an object in the vicinity of the vehicle.
With regards to claim 10, Hotta et al. discloses the method according to claim 6.
Hotta et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the object includes a bicycle.
However, Yang et al. discloses that an object which may be photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle could be a bicycle (Col. 6 lines 5-8, "bicycle"). While Hotta et al. discloses an object photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle to be another vehicle, Yang et al. teaches an object which may be photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle to be a bicycle. In both cases, an object in the vicinity of the vehicle is obtained and detected by a camera.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Hotta et al. to replace the other vehicle detected by the camera with a bicycle detected by the camera as taught by Yang et al. since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to obtain and detect an object in the vicinity of the vehicle.
With regards to claim 15, Hotta et al. discloses the vehicle according to claim 11.
Hotta et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the object includes a bicycle.
However, Yang et al. discloses that an object which may be photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle could be a bicycle (Col. 6 lines 5-8, "bicycle"). While Hotta et al. discloses an object photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle to be another vehicle, Yang et al. teaches an object which may be photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle to be a bicycle. In both cases, an object in the vicinity of the vehicle is obtained and detected by a camera.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the vehicle of Hotta et al. to replace the other vehicle detected by the camera with a bicycle detected by the camera as taught by Yang et al. since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to obtain and detect an object in the vicinity of the vehicle.
With regards to claim 21, Hotta et al. discloses the method according to claim 17.
Hotta et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the object includes a bicycle.
However, Yang et al. discloses that an object which may be photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle could be a bicycle (Col. 6 lines 5-8, "bicycle"). While Hotta et al. discloses an object photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle to be another vehicle, Yang et al. teaches an object which may be photographed in the vicinity of the vehicle to be a bicycle. In both cases, an object in the vicinity of the vehicle is obtained and detected by a camera.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Hotta et al. to replace the other vehicle detected by the camera with a bicycle detected by the camera as taught by Yang et al. since one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results from the substitution would be predictable to obtain and detect an object in the vicinity of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
Contact Information
/CAROL W CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672