DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Referring to claims 2-6 and 12-16, claims 2 and 12 recite the limitation “provide output audio signal”. It is unclear if this is the same audio output signal as in claims 1 and 9, respectively. Examiner interprets as provide the output audio signal. Claims 3-6 and 13-16 depend from claims 2 and 12, respectively, therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Referring to claims 7-8 and 17-18, claims 7-8 and 17-18 recite the limitations “the controller”, “the first terminal”, “the second terminal”, and “the third terminal”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Examiner interprets as the at least one controller and the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal of the first switch with one of the second terminal of the first switch or the third terminal of the first switch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 12-15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuells US Publication No. 20150365774.
Referring to claim 1, Kuells teaches an audio system in a vehicle (para 0002: “distributed audio systems” – Examiner notes that “in a vehicle” is merely an intended use of the audio system and holds no weight) comprising:
at least one controller including one or more processors (Fig. 1: self-diagnostic speaker load testing system 100; Figs. 9A-9B show circuits, which serve as one or more processors, of PHD testing signal source 110) being programmed to provide an output audio signal (abstract: “test signal source that replaces the normal audio input to the amplifier during test”);
a first integrated circuit (IC) configured to drive a first loudspeaker (Fig. 1: mixer 104 drives amplifier 114 and speaker load 124; para 0023: “The first section 102 includes mixer 104 that comprises an interface assembly that accepts analog audio signals from multiple sources such as microphones and CD players, combines them into a mono signal, and delivers them through the second section 106 to the amplifier 114 in the third section 112.”); and
a first switch including:
a first terminal being operably coupled to a first feedback wire from the first loudspeaker (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to feedback wire of speaker load 124 via 126),
a second terminal being operably coupled to a component of the first IC (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to output of mixer 104), and
a third terminal being operably coupled with the one or more processors (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to PHD testing signal source 110; Figs. 9A-9B show circuit components of 110), wherein the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal to one of the second terminal or the third terminal (abstract: “The system includes a test signal source that replaces the normal audio input to the amplifier during test.” – Examiner notes that switch 108 allows the speaker load/amplifier (first terminal) to switch between the normal mixer input (second terminal) and the testing signal source (third terminal)).
Referring to claim 2, Kuells teaches the controller is programmed to: responsive to the first terminal being connected to the second terminal, provide output audio signal to the first loudspeaker; and responsive to detecting a first switching signal that is indicative of a user intent to access the one or more processors for debugging, operate the first switch to connect the first terminal with the third terminal such that the first feedback wire is connected to the one or more processors (abstract: “The system includes a test signal source that replaces the normal audio input to the amplifier during test.” – Examiner notes that switch 108 allows the speaker load/amplifier (first terminal) to switch between the normal mixer input (second terminal) and the testing signal source (third terminal); para 0004: “feature a mixer amplifier Self Diagnostic Speaker load Impedance Testing System, also known as a Push Here Diagnostic (PHD) system. The PHD feature of the AAPHD Series mixer amplifiers is simple to use and is very effective for running a self-diagnostic system test to assure the amplifier of the mixer amplifier has the proper speaker load/impedance applied”).
Referring to claim 4, Kuells teaches the first switching signal is automatically detected by a signal variance on the first feedback wire, and wherein the first switching signal is indicative of the first feedback wire being connected to an external device (para 0025).
Referring to claim 5, Kuells teaches the first switching signal is detected after the signal variance has been detected for a length of time that exceeds a predefined time threshold (para 0025).
Referring to claim 9, Kuells teaches an audio system (para 0002: “distributed audio systems”) comprising:
at least one controller including one or more processors (Fig. 1: self-diagnostic speaker load testing system 100; Figs. 9A-9B show circuits, which serve as one or more processors, of PHD testing signal source 110) being programmed to provide an output audio signal (abstract: “test signal source that replaces the normal audio input to the amplifier during test”);
a first integrated circuit (IC) configured to drive a first loudspeaker (Fig. 1: mixer 104 drives amplifier 114 and speaker load 124; para 0023: “The first section 102 includes mixer 104 that comprises an interface assembly that accepts analog audio signals from multiple sources such as microphones and CD players, combines them into a mono signal, and delivers them through the second section 106 to the amplifier 114 in the third section 112.”); and
a first switch including:
a first terminal being operably coupled to the first loudspeaker (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to feedback wire of speaker load 124 via 126),
a second terminal being operably coupled to the first IC (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to output of mixer 104), and
a third terminal being operably coupled with the one or more processors (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to PHD testing signal source 110; Figs. 9A-9B show circuit components of 110), wherein the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal to one of the second terminal or the third terminal (abstract: “The system includes a test signal source that replaces the normal audio input to the amplifier during test.” – Examiner notes that switch 108 allows the speaker load/amplifier (first terminal) to switch between the normal mixer input (second terminal) and the testing signal source (third terminal)).
Referring to claim 10, Kuells teaches the first terminal is coupled to a first feedback wire from the first loudspeaker (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to feedback wire of speaker load 124 via 126).
Referring to claim 12, Kuells teaches the controller is programmed to: responsive to the first terminal being connected to the second terminal, provide output audio signal to the first loudspeaker; and responsive to detecting a first switching signal that is indicative of a user intent to access the one or more processors for debugging, operate the first switch to connect the first terminal with the third terminal such that the first feedback wire is connected to the one or more processors (abstract: “The system includes a test signal source that replaces the normal audio input to the amplifier during test.” – Examiner notes that switch 108 allows the speaker load/amplifier (first terminal) to switch between the normal mixer input (second terminal) and the testing signal source (third terminal); para 0004: “feature a mixer amplifier Self Diagnostic Speaker load Impedance Testing System, also known as a Push Here Diagnostic (PHD) system. The PHD feature of the AAPHD Series mixer amplifiers is simple to use and is very effective for running a self-diagnostic system test to assure the amplifier of the mixer amplifier has the proper speaker load/impedance applied”).
Referring to claim 13, Kuells teaches the first switching signal is generated via a manual input to audio system by the user (para 0025).
Referring to claim 14, Kuells teaches the first switching signal is automatically detected by a signal variance on the first feedback wire, and wherein the first switching signal is indicative of the first feedback wire being connected to an external device (para 0025).
Referring to claim 15, Kuells teaches the first switching signal is detected after the signal variance has been detected for a length of time that exceeds a predefined time threshold (para 0025).
Referring to claim 19, Kuells teaches an audio system for an automobile (para 0002: “distributed audio systems” – Examiner notes that “for an automobile” is merely an intended use of the audio system and holds no weight), the audio system comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 1: self-diagnostic speaker load testing system 100; Figs. 9A-9B show circuits, which serve as one or more processors, of PHD testing signal source 110) being programmed to provide an output audio signal (abstract: “test signal source that replaces the normal audio input to the amplifier during test” – Examiner notes that the test signal source is the audio output of 110);
a first integrated circuit (IC) configured to drive a first loudspeaker (Fig. 1: mixer 104 drives amplifier 114 and speaker load 124; para 0023: “The first section 102 includes mixer 104 that comprises an interface assembly that accepts analog audio signals from multiple sources such as microphones and CD players, combines them into a mono signal, and delivers them through the second section 106 to the amplifier 114 in the third section 112.”); and
a first switch including:
a first terminal being operably coupled to a first feedback wire from the first loudspeaker (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to feedback wire of speaker load 124 via 126),
a second terminal being operably coupled to a component of the first IC (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to output of mixer 104), and
a third terminal being operably coupled with the one or more processors (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to PHD testing signal source 110; Figs. 9A-9B show circuit components of 110), wherein the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal to one of the second terminal or the third terminal (abstract: “The system includes a test signal source that replaces the normal audio input to the amplifier during test.” – Examiner notes that switch 108 allows the speaker load/amplifier (first terminal) to switch between the normal mixer input (second terminal) and the testing signal source (third terminal)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuells as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Schmidt US Publication No. 20170280242.
Referring to claim 3, Kuells teaches the first switching signal is generated via a manual input by the user (para 0025). However, Kuells does not teach a vehicle audio system, but Schmidt teaches an audio system in the vehicle (para 0030). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an audio system in a vehicle, as taught in Schmidt, in the system of Kuells because “each amplifier can be positioned closer to the speaker(s) that are driven by the amplifier”, “speaker cable lengths can be significantly reduced”, and “locating multiple audio amplifiers throughout the vehicle allows the size and weight of the hardware components to be more evenly distributed, reducing space-related constraints and enabling heat to be dissipated from the various components more efficiently.”
Claim(s) 6-8 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuells as applied to claims 1-2, 9-10, and 12 above, and further in view of Smyth US Publication No. 20060045294.
Referring to claim 6, Kuells teaches the controller is further programmed to: operate the first switch to connect the first terminal with the second terminal (abstract). However, Kuells does not specify what the switch does when testing is complete, but Smyth teaches the controller is further programmed to: responsive to detecting a second switching signal, operate the first switch to connect the first terminal with the second terminal, the second switching signal being indicative of the debugging being complete (para 0181). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch back after testing is complete, as taught in Smyth, in the system of Kuells because it allows the normal “audio signals to again pass to the loudspeakers.”
Referring to claim 7, Kuells teaches the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal with one of the second terminal or the third terminal (abstract). However, Kuells does not teach driving multiple speakers with multiple switches, but Smyth teaches the first IC is further configured to drive a second loudspeaker; and the controller further comprises: a second switch including a first terminal being operably coupled to a second feedback wire from the second loudspeaker, a second terminal being operably coupled to a component of the first integrated circuit, and a third terminal being operably coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal with one of the second terminal or the third terminal (para 0181; Fig. 26: switches 132 for respective loudspeakers). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switches for respective loudspeakers, as taught in Smyth, in the system of Kuells because it allows diagnostic testing to be performed on an individual speaker basis, which can help to isolate where a problem may be occurring.
Referring to claim 8, Kuells teaches the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal with one of the second terminal or the third terminal (abstract). However, Kuells does not teach driving multiple speakers with multiple switches, but Smyth teaches the controller further comprising: a second integrated circuit (IC) configured to drive a second loudspeaker; and a second switch including: a first terminal in electrical connection with a second feedback wire from the second loudspeaker, a second terminal in electrical connection with a component of the second integrated circuit, and a third terminal in electrical connection with the one or more processors, wherein the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal with one of the second terminal or the third terminal (para 0181; Fig. 26: switches 132 for respective loudspeakers). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switches for respective loudspeakers, as taught in Smyth, in the system of Kuells because it allows diagnostic testing to be performed on an individual speaker basis, which can help to isolate where a problem may be occurring.
Referring to claim 16, Kuells teaches the controller is further programmed to: operate the first switch to connect the first terminal with the second terminal (abstract). However, Kuells does not specify what the switch does when testing is complete, but Smyth teaches the controller is further programmed to: responsive to detecting a second switching signal, operate the first switch to connect the first terminal with the second terminal, the second switching signal being indicative of the debugging being complete. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch back after testing is complete, as taught in Smyth, in the system of Kuells because it allows the normal “audio signals to again pass to the loudspeakers.”
Referring to claim 17, Kuells teaches the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal with one of the second terminal or the third terminal (abstract). However, Kuells does not teach driving multiple speakers with multiple switches, but Smyth teaches the first IC is further configured to drive a second loudspeaker; and the controller further comprises: a second switch including a first terminal being operably coupled to a second feedback wire from the second loudspeaker, a second terminal being operably coupled to a modulator of the first integrated circuit, and a third terminal being operably coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal with one of the second terminal or the third terminal (para 0181; Fig. 26: switches 132 for respective loudspeakers). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switches for respective loudspeakers, as taught in Smyth, in the system of Kuells because it allows diagnostic testing to be performed on an individual speaker basis, which can help to isolate where a problem may be occurring.
Referring to claim 18, Kuells teaches the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal with one of the second terminal or the third terminal (abstract). However, Kuells does not teach driving multiple speakers with multiple switches, but Smyth teaches the controller further comprising: a second integrated circuit (IC) configured to drive a second loudspeaker; and a second switch including: a first terminal in electrical connection with a second feedback wire from the second loudspeaker, a second terminal in electrical connection with a component of the second integrated circuit, and a third terminal in electrical connection with the one or more processors, wherein the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal with one of the second terminal or the third terminal (para 0181; Fig. 26: switches 132 for respective loudspeakers). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switches for respective loudspeakers, as taught in Smyth, in the system of Kuells because it allows diagnostic testing to be performed on an individual speaker basis, which can help to isolate where a problem may be occurring.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuells as applied to claims 9-10 above, and further in view of Mun US Publication No. 20060039572.
Referring to claim 11, Kuells teaches the second terminal is operably coupled to the first IC (Fig. 1: switch 108 connected to output of mixer 104). However, Kuells does not teach a modulator, but Mun teaches a modulator (para 0012). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a modulator, as taught in Mun, in the system of Kuells because it can help to “limit a current of an audio amplifier”.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuells as applied to claims 19 above, and further in view of Smyth and Mun.
Referring to claim 20, Kuells teaches the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal with one of the second terminal or the third terminal (abstract). However, Kuells does not teach driving multiple speakers with multiple switches, but Smyth teaches a second switch including: a first terminal being operably coupled to a second feedback wire from a second loudspeaker, a second terminal being operably coupled to the first integrated circuit, and a third terminal being operably coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the first switch is configured to selectively connect the first terminal with one of the second terminal or the third terminal (para 0181; Fig. 26: switches 132 for respective loudspeakers). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switches for respective loudspeakers, as taught in Smyth, in the system of Kuells because it allows diagnostic testing to be performed on an individual speaker basis, which can help to isolate where a problem may be occurring.
However, Kuells and Smyth do not teach a modulator, but Mun teaches a modulator (para 0012). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a modulator, as taught in Mun, in the system of Kuells and Smyth because it can help to “limit a current of an audio amplifier”.
Conclusion
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/KATHERINE A FALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693