DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 80-99 in the reply filed on 03 Aug 2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Preliminary Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 20 Nov 2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 80-81, 87-90, 92-98, 100-102, 105-107, and 110-111 have been amended, claims 1-79 have been canceled, claims 100-111 have been withdrawn, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 80-99 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 89 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 89: “the second side” in line 7 should read “a second side”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 80-99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “proximate” in claims 80 and 93 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “proximate” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to how near/far the electrodes are positioned relative to the target nerves. For the purposes of examination, “proximate” will be omitted from the claims.
Claims 81-99 are also rejected because they are dependent on claim 80.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 80, 87-88, 96, and 98-99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mashiach (US 20130085558 A1).
Regarding claim 80, Mashiach discloses an implantable system for neuromodulation of cranial or cervical nerves comprising (paragraph [0051], implant unit 110; paragraph [0132], cranial nerve XII/hypoglossal nerve; paragraph [0051], "any nerve of the peripheral nervous system (both spinal and cranial)"; paragraph [0054], "implant electrodes 158a and 158b may be configured for implantation into the body of a subject in the vicinity of one or more nerves"; paragraphs [0073]-[0076]):
a device configured for implantation in a cervical region of a patient (Fig. 2, paragraph [0037], "implant unit 110 may be located on a genioglossus muscle of a patient. ... subcutaneous implantation in the back of the neck, near the hairline of a subject, or behind the ear of a subject"; paragraph [0051], "implant unit 110 may be configured to be implanted for modulation of a nerve associated with a muscle of the subject's tongue 130"; paragraph [0095], "a neuromodulator implanted in a subcutaneous location in a patient's neck"; Fig. 12, paragraph [0133], "implant unit 110...may be configured for implantation through derma (i.e. skin) on an underside of a subject's chin"; paragraph [0134], "implant unit 110 is located proximate to the medial terminal fibers 1054"; paragraph [0138]);
a first electrode lead coupled to the device (paragraph [0056], "Various circuit components and connecting wires (discussed further below) may be used to connect secondary antenna with implant electrodes 158a and 158b"), the first electrode lead comprising at least one electrode circuit (Figs. 3-6, 10A-C, 11-13, paragraphs [0054]-[0057], electrodes 158a and 158b) configured to be disposed proximate a first nerve of the patient, the first nerve comprising a cranial nerve or a cervical nerve of the patient (paragraph [0132], cranial nerve XII/hypoglossal nerve; paragraph [0051], "any nerve of the peripheral nervous system (both spinal and cranial)"; paragraph [0054], "implant electrodes 158a and 158b may be configured for implantation into the body of a subject in the vicinity of one or more nerves"; paragraphs [0073]-[0076]);
a second electrode lead coupled to the device (paragraph [0056], "Various circuit components and connecting wires (discussed further below) may be used to connect secondary antenna with implant electrodes 158a and 158b"), the second electrode lead comprising at least one electrode configured to be disposed proximate a second nerve of the patient, the second nerve comprising a cranial nerve or a cervical nerve of the patient (paragraph [0132], cranial nerve XII/hypoglossal nerve; paragraph [0051], "any nerve of the peripheral nervous system (both spinal and cranial)"; paragraph [0054], "implant electrodes 158a and 158b may be configured for implantation into the body of a subject in the vicinity of one or more nerves"; paragraphs [0073]-[0076]); and
a signal generator circuit disposed in the device (Figs. 4 and 6, paragraph [0056], "circuitry 180...may be mounted on or integrated with flexible carrier 161"; paragraphs [0056], [0064]-[0065], [0101]-[0102], [0104]) configured to generate electrical neuromodulation signals for delivery to one or more of the first nerve or the second nerve using the at least one electrode of the first electrode lead or the second electrode lead (paragraph [0064], "circuitry 180 connecting secondary antenna 152 with implant electrodes 158a and 158b may cause a voltage potential across implant electrodes 158a and 158b"; paragraph [0087], "implant unit 110 may be constructed with circuitry 180 specifically chosen to generate signals at the electrodes of at least the lower power threshold").
Regarding claim 87, Mashiach discloses the implantable system of claim 80, as explained above. Mashiach further discloses that:
the signal generator circuit is configured to generate one or more first electrical neuromodulation signals for delivery to the first nerve using the at least one electrode of the first electrode lead (paragraph [0066], "the magnitude, orientation, and/or duration of the generated electric field resulting from the field inducing signal may be sufficient to modulate one or more nerves in the vicinity of electrodes 158a and 158b"; paragraph [0068], "implant electrodes 158a and 158b may be configured to generate an electric field with field lines extending generally in the longitudinal direction of one or more nerves to be modulated"; paragraph [0073]); and
the signal generator circuit is configured to generate one or more second electrical neuromodulation signals for delivery to the second nerve using the at least one electrode of the second electrode lead (paragraph [0066], "the magnitude, orientation, and/or duration of the generated electric field resulting from the field inducing signal may be sufficient to modulate one or more nerves in the vicinity of electrodes 158a and 158b"; paragraph [0068], "implant electrodes 158a and 158b may be configured to generate an electric field with field lines extending generally in the longitudinal direction of one or more nerves to be modulated"; paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 88, Mashiach discloses the implantable system of claim 87, as explained above. Mashiach further discloses that
the one or more first electrical neuromodulation signals delivered to the first nerve are configured to treat a first disorder of the patient (paragraph [0116], "processor 144 may select parameters for a particular modulation control signal or series of modulation control signals for addressing a specific condition relating to the determined physiologic data. If the physiologic data indicates that the tongue is vibrating, for example, processor 144 may determine that a sleep apnea event is likely to occur and may issue a response by delivering power to implant unit 110 in an amount selected to address the particular situation"); and
the one or more second electrical neuromodulation signals delivered to the second nerve are configured to treat a second disorder of the patient (paragraph [0116], "Alternatively, processor 144 may deliver a small amount of power to implant unit 110 (e.g., especially where a determined rate of movement indicates that the tongue is moving slowly away from the patient's airway) to encourage the tongue to continue moving away from the patient's airway or to speed its progression away from the airway").
Regarding claim 96, Mashiach discloses the implantable system of claim 80, as explained above. Mashiach further discloses that the first nerve and the second nerve are on the same side of the sagittal midline of the patient (paragraph [0037], unilateral implantation).
Regarding claim 98, Mashiach discloses the implantable system of claim 96, as explained above. Mashiach further discloses that:
the first nerve comprises a hypoglossal nerve located on a first side of a sagittal midline of the patient (paragraphs [0037], [0132]-[0135], [0139]); and
the second nerve comprises a glossopharyngeal nerve (paragraphs [0037], [0051], [0095], [0143]).
Regarding claim 99, Mashiach discloses the implantable system of claim 80, as explained above. Mashiach further discloses:
one or more sensors configured to sense a physiologic status-indicating signal from the patient (paragraph [0119], "Such a processor may also be configured to monitor various sensors associated with the implant unit"); and
a processor circuit configured to use information from the one or more sensors to control the signal generator circuit to generate the electrical neuromodulation signals (paragraph [0120], "the processor of implant unit 110 could be configured to monitor conditions in the body of a subject (via one or more sensors or other means), determining when those conditions warrant modulation of a nerve, and generate a signal to the electrodes to modulate a nerve").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 81, 89-95, and 97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashiach (US 20130085558 A1), in view of Bolea et al. (US 20080103545 A1), hereinafter Bolea.
Regarding claim 81, Mashiach discloses the implantable system of claim 80, as explained above. Mashiach further discloses that the stimulation nerve targets may be modulated bilaterally (paragraph [0037]). Mashiach does not explicitly disclose that the first nerve is on a first side of a sagittal midline of the patient; and the second nerve is on a second side of the sagittal midline of the patient opposite the first side.
However, Bolea teaches an implantable system for neuromodulation of cranial nerves (Fig. 1, paragraph [0047], neurostimulator system 10; paragraphs [0082], [0093]) comprising electrodes configured for implantation in an anterior cervical region of a patient (Fig. 2, paragraph [0046], nerve electrode cuff 64; Fig. 12, paragraph [0086], sites A-E) wherein the first and second cranial nerve targets are on opposite sides of a sagittal midline of the patient (stimulation electrodes are implanted bilaterally on both left and right sides of the body for bilateral stimulation of nerve targets, paragraphs [0059], [0075], [0077], [0082], [0177], [0297]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Bolea so that the first nerve is on a first side of a sagittal midline of the patient; and the second nerve is on a second side of the sagittal midline of the patient opposite the first side, because doing so enables bilateral stimulation (Bolea, paragraph [0059]).
Furthermore, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component (such as the shape/size of the implant or electrodes). A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 89, Mashiach discloses the implantable system of claim 80, as explained above. Although Mashiach further discloses that the first and second nerves comprise a hypoglossal nerve, an accessory nerve, a vagus nerve, a glossopharyngeal nerve, a facial nerve, or a trigeminal nerve (paragraphs [0037], [0051], [0094]-[0095], [0112]-[0135], [0139], [0143]), and that the stimulation nerve targets may be modulated bilaterally (paragraph [0037]), Mashiach does not explicitly disclose that the first nerve is located on a first side of a sagittal midline of the patient; and the second nerve is located on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient.
However, Bolea teaches an implantable system for neuromodulation of cranial nerves (Fig. 1, paragraph [0047], neurostimulator system 10; paragraphs [0082], [0093]) comprising electrodes configured for implantation in an anterior cervical region of a patient (Fig. 2, paragraph [0046], nerve electrode cuff 64; Fig. 12, paragraph [0086], sites A-E) wherein the first and second cranial nerve targets are on opposite sides of a sagittal midline of the patient (stimulation electrodes are implanted bilaterally on both left and right sides of the body for bilateral stimulation of nerve targets, paragraphs [0059], [0075], [0077], [0082], [0177], [0297]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Bolea so that the the first nerve is on a first side of a sagittal midline of the patient; and the second nerve is on a second side of the sagittal midline of the patient opposite the first side, because doing so enables bilateral stimulation (Bolea, paragraph [0059]).
Furthermore, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component (such as the shape/size of the implant or electrodes). A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 90, the implantable system of claim 89 is obvious over Mashiach and Bolea, as explained above. Bolea further teaches that the signal generator circuit is configured to:
generate a first electrical neuromodulation signal for delivery to the first nerve; and generate a second electrical neuromodulation signal for delivery to the second nerve (paragraph [0347], "different parts of the genioglossus muscle and/or different muscles involved with establishing patency of the upper airway can be alternately stimulated. For example, using two or more nerve or muscle electrode cuffs, the left and right side genioglossus muscles can be alternately stimulated").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Bolea so that the signal generator circuit is configured to: generate a first electrical neuromodulation signal for delivery to the first nerve; and generate a second electrical neuromodulation signal for delivery to the second nerve, because doing so increases the ability of the upper airway to open during a (sensed) apnea/hypopnea through neurostimulation (Bolea, paragraph [0347]).
Regarding claim 91, the implantable system of claim 90 is obvious over Mashiach and Bolea, as explained above. Bolea further teaches that the signal generator circuit is configured to generate the first electrical neuromodulation signal and generate the second electrical neuromodulation signal concurrently (paragraph [0347], "different parts of the genioglossus muscle and/or different muscles involved with establishing patency of the upper airway can be simultaneously stimulated. For example, using two or more nerve or muscle electrode cuffs, the left and right side genioglossus muscles can be simultaneously stimulated").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Bolea so that the signal generator circuit is configured to generate the first electrical neuromodulation signal and generate the second electrical neuromodulation signal concurrently, because doing so increases the ability of the upper airway to open during a (sensed) apnea/hypopnea through neurostimulation (Bolea, paragraph [0347]).
Regarding claim 92, the implantable system of claim 89 is obvious over Mashiach and Bolea, as explained above. Bolea further teaches that:
the first nerve comprises the hypoglossal nerve located on the first side of the sagittal midline of the patient; the second nerve comprises the hypoglossal nerve located on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient (paragraph [0082], "The genioglossus muscle is typically innervated by a distal or medial branch (or braches) of the right and left hypoglossal nerve"); and
the signal generator circuit is configured to:
generate a first neuromodulation signal for delivery to the hypoglossal nerve located on the first side of the sagittal midline of the patient; and generate a second neuromodulation signal for delivery to the hypoglossal nerve located on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient (paragraph [0346], "different parts of the genioglossus muscle and/or different muscles involved with establishing patency of the upper airway can be alternately stimulated. For example, using two or more nerve or muscle electrode cuffs, the left and right side genioglossus muscles can be alternately stimulated"; paragraph [0347], "different parts of the genioglossus muscle and/or different muscles involved with establishing patency of the upper airway can be simultaneously stimulated. For example, using two or more nerve or muscle electrode cuffs, the left and right side genioglossus muscles can be simultaneously stimulated").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Bolea so that the first nerve comprises the hypoglossal nerve located on the first side of the sagittal midline of the patient; the second nerve comprises the hypoglossal nerve located on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient; and the signal generator circuit is configured to: generate a first neuromodulation signal for delivery to the hypoglossal nerve located on the first side of the sagittal midline of the patient; and generate a second neuromodulation signal for delivery to the hypoglossal nerve located on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient, because doing so avoids fatigue using a normal duty cycle or extends the time that the upper airway is opened through neurostimulation (Bolea, paragraph [0346]), or increases the ability of the upper airway to open during a (sensed) apnea/hypopnea through neurostimulation (Bolea, paragraph [0347]).
Regarding claim 93, the implantable system of claim 92 is obvious over Mashiach and Bolea, as explained above. Bolea further teaches that:
the first electrode lead comprises a first electrode configured to be disposed proximate the hypoglossal nerve located on the first side of the sagittal midline of the patient and a second electrode configured to be disposed proximate a third nerve on the first side of the sagittal midline of the patient (paragraph [0059], "One or more electrodes may be used for attachment to one or more portions of nerves on one side (unilateral) of the body, or one or more electrodes may be used for attachment to one or more portions of nerves on both sides (bilateral) of the body"), the third nerve being a cranial nerve or a cervical nerve of the patient (Fig. 12, paragraph [0086]); and
the second electrode lead comprises a third electrode configured to be disposed proximate the hypoglossal nerve located on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient and a fourth electrode configured to be disposed proximate a fourth nerve on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient (paragraph [0059], "One or more electrodes may be used for attachment to one or more portions of nerves on one side (unilateral) of the body, or one or more electrodes may be used for attachment to one or more portions of nerves on both sides (bilateral) of the body"), the fourth nerve being a cranial nerve of a cervical nerve of the patient (Fig. 12, paragraph [0086]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Bolea so that the first electrode lead comprises a first electrode configured to be disposed proximate the hypoglossal nerve located on the first side of the sagittal midline of the patient and a second electrode configured to be disposed proximate a third nerve on the first side of the sagittal midline of the patient, the third nerve being a cranial nerve or a cervical nerve of the patient; and the second electrode lead comprises a third electrode configured to be disposed proximate the hypoglossal nerve located on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient and a fourth electrode configured to be disposed proximate a fourth nerve on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient, the fourth nerve being a cranial nerve or a cervical nerve of the patient, because doing so enables bilateral stimulation (Bolea, paragraph [0059]).
Furthermore, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component (such as the shape/size of the implant or electrodes). A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 94, the implantable system of claim 93 is obvious over Mashiach and Bolea, as explained above. Bolea further discloses that the third nerve comprises the glossopharyngeal nerve on the first side of the sagittal midline and the fourth nerve comprises the glossopharyngeal nerve on the second side of the sagittal midline (paragraph [0093]; paragraph [0059], "One or more electrodes may be used for attachment to one or more portions of nerves on one side (unilateral) of the body, or one or more electrodes may be used for attachment to one or more portions of nerves on both sides (bilateral) of the body").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Bolea so that the third nerve comprises the glossopharyngeal nerve on the first side of the sagittal midline and the fourth nerve comprises the glossopharyngeal nerve on the second side of the sagittal midline, because doing so increases efficiency (Bolea, paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 95, the implantable system of claim 93 is obvious over Mashiach and Bolea, as explained above. Bolea further teaches that the third nerve comprises an ansa cervicalis on the first side of the sagittal midline and the fourth nerve comprises an ansa cervicalis on the second side of the sagittal midline (paragraph [0086]; paragraph [0059], "One or more electrodes may be used for attachment to one or more portions of nerves on one side (unilateral) of the body, or one or more electrodes may be used for attachment to one or more portions of nerves on both sides (bilateral) of the body").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Bolea so that the third nerve comprises an ansa cervicalis on the first side of the sagittal midline and the fourth nerve comprises an ansa cervicalis on the second side of the sagittal midline, because doing so increases efficiency (Bolea, paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 97, Mashiach discloses the implantable system of claim 96, as explained above. Mashiach further discloses that:
the first nerve comprises a hypoglossal nerve located on a first side of a sagittal midline of the patient (paragraphs [0037], [0132]-[0135], [0139]).
Mashiach does not explicitly disclose that the second nerve comprises an ansa cervicalis.
However, Bolea teaches an implantable system for neuromodulation of cranial nerves (Fig. 1, paragraph [0047], neurostimulator system 10; paragraphs [0082], [0093]) configured to stimulate an ansa cervicalis (paragraphs [0086], [0089]-[0091]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Bolea so that the second nerve comprises an ansa cervicalis, because doing so enables innervation of the sternohyoid muscle (Bolea, paragraph [0082]).
Claims 82-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashiach (US 20130085558 A1), in view of Kast et al. (US 20090112282 A1), hereinafter Kast.
Regarding claim 82, Mashiach discloses the implantable system of claim 80, as explained above. Mashiach does not explicitly disclose that the device is a segmented device and comprises a first housing and a second housing.
However, Kast teaches implantable medical devices for delivery of electrical stimulation therapy (paragraph [0002]), wherein the device is a segmented device and comprises a first housing and a second housing (Fig. 3A, paragraph [0051], connector blocks 75A and 75B).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Kast so that the device is a segmented device and comprises a first housing and a second housing, because doing so allows easier implantation, improved cosmetic appearance and patient comfort (Kast, paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 83, the implantable system of claim 82 is obvious over Mashiach and Kast, as explained above. Kast further teaches that the first electrode lead is coupled to the first housing of the segmented device and the second electrode lead is coupled to the second housing of the segmented device (Fig. 3A, paragraph [0051], leads 14 are connected to connector blocks 75).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Kast so that the first electrode lead is coupled to the first housing of the segmented device and the second electrode lead is coupled to the second housing of the segmented device, because doing so allows the leads to lie flat against the skull of the patient after implantation (Kast, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 84, the implantable system of claim 83 is obvious over Mashiach and Kast, as explained above. Kast further teaches that the first housing is configured to be implanted on a first side of a sagittal midline of the patient and the second housing is configured to be implanted on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient (Figs. 1A-1B, paragraph [0037], stimulator 12 is placed in pocket 36 which spans across sagittal midline 9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Kast so that the first housing is configured to be implanted on a first side of a sagittal midline of the patient and the second housing is configured to be implanted on the second side of the sagittal midline of the patient, because doing so allows the leads to lie flat against the skull of the patient after implantation (Kast, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 85, the implantable system of claim 83 is obvious over Mashiach and Kast, as explained above. Mashiach further discloses that the device is configured to be implanted in one of a submandibular triangle, a submental triangle, or a carotid triangle (paragraphs [0039], [0133]-[0134], [0138]).
Neither Mashiach nor Kast explicitly discloses that the first housing is configured to be implanted in a first one of a submandibular triangle, a submental triangle, or a carotid triangle; and the second housing is configured to be implanted in a second one of the submandibular triangle, the submental triangle, or the carotid triangle different from the first.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first housing to be implanted in a first one of a submandibular triangle, a submental triangle, or a carotid triangle; and the second housing to be implanted in a second one of the submandibular triangle, the submental triangle, or the carotid triangle different from the first, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of the implant components. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Furthermore, it is noted that there are no limitations in the system that structurally limit the first and second housings to be implanted in this particular region. The location of implantation of the first and second housings is considered to be intended use. The recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 86, the implantable system of claim 82 is obvious over Mashiach and Kast, as explained above. Kast further discloses that the second housing is electrically coupled to at least one of the first housing and the first electrode lead via an electrical coupling, the electrical coupling comprising one or more leads configured to carry power and/or data between the first housing and the second housing (Fig. 2, therapy delivery module 40 electrically connects leads 14A and 14B).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mashiach with the teachings of Kast so that the second housing is electrically coupled to at least one of the first housing and the first electrode lead via an electrical coupling, the electrical coupling comprising one or more leads configured to carry power and/or data between the first housing and the second housing, because doing so allows delivery of neurostimulation signals to selected subsets of electrodes, and thus to selected sites (Kast, paragraph [0046]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE SISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/PAMELA M. BAYS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796