DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows:
(a) Claims 1-20 remain pending.
Priority
The Applicant claims benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. §119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. §120, §121, §365(c), or §386(c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroki et al. JP2025039077A (hereinafter, Hiroki), in view of Naka et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 20200294329A1 (hereinafter, Naka).
Regarding Claim 1, Hiroki discloses an apparatus for controlling autonomous driving of a vehicle (apparatus (e.g., processor) for controlling an autonomous vehicle, Hiroki, Paragraphs 0002 0012, and 0082-0083 and Figure 1), the apparatus comprising:
-a processor operatively connected to a storage (processor connected to storage, Hiroki, Paragraph 0012 and Figure 1); the storage configured to store one or more instructions (storage configured to store one or more instructions, Hiroki, Paragraphs 0009-0013 and Figure 1), when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to:
-collect data associated with controlling autonomous driving of the vehicle (collect data associated with controlling the autonomous driving of the vehicle (e.g., sensor data), Hiroki, Paragraphs 0012-0014 and Figure 1);
-determine, based on a time point at which a trigger signal was generated while collecting the data, priority of collected data (system can determine at a time when a trigger signal is generated (e.g., flag triggered which helps controller determine a point in time), Hiroki, Paragraphs 0029-0040 and Figures 3, 7, and 8);
-store, based on the determined priority, the collected data, wherein data collected prior to the time point is given a priority higher than data collected after the time point (determining a storing priority of the collected data, Hiroki, Paragraphs 0015, 0034, 0039-0045 and Figures 8 and 9); and …
Hiroki does not specifically disclose the apparatus to include chang[ing], based on the stored data, controlling method of autonomous driving of the vehicle.
Naka discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation(s). Naka describes changing the controlling method of the autonomous vehicle based on the stored data (Naka, Paragraphs 0037-0041).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus of Hiroki to include changing, based on the stored data, controlling method of autonomous driving of the vehicle, as disclosed, taught, or at least suggested by Naka.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success because being efficient with the data collected and controlling the autonomous vehicle based on the stored data allows for adjusting vehicle control in an advantageous manner (Naka, Paragraphs 0037-00401).
Regarding Claim 2, Hiroki, as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: store data collected from the time point to a second time point that is earlier than the time point, wherein older data is stored before more recent data; and store data collected from the time point to a third time point that is later than the time point, wherein more recent data is stored before older data (able to store data that is before and after the trigger, thus able to collect data that is before, during, and after the trigger, Naka, Paragraphs 0028 and 0013).
Regarding Claim 3, Hiroki, as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to set, based on at least one of a functional safety (ASIL) level or a data size, a storage priority for the collected data (storing data passed on priority or data size, Hiroki, Paragraph 0042).
Regarding Claim 4, Hiroki, as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: store at least some of the collected data in a first memory included in the storage during autonomous driving of the vehicle, and move, based on the trigger signal, the data stored in the first memory to a second memory of the storage (store the data in a first memory (e.g., on-board storage), then based on a trigger signal (e.g., transfer command) send the data to a server (i.e., second memory), Hiroki, Paragraphs 0028, 0042, and 0051-0052 and Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Hiroki, as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: determine a priority of data stored in the first memory at the time point; and store, based on the determined priority, a highest priority data in the second memory, wherein the highest priority data is data collected from the time point to another time point that is earlier than the time point (moving data to the second memory per highest priority (e.g., emergency, thus highest priority), Hiroki, Paragraphs 0041-0042).
Regarding Claim 6, Hiroki, as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to extract, based on a temporal order, data from a memory, wherein the temporal order is different from an order by which data was stored (extracting data (e.g., transmitting data to a server) in a temporal order (e.g., FIFO), which can be different than the priority storage, Hiroki, Paragraphs 0041-0042).
Regarding Claim 7, Hiroki, as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Hiroki does not specifically disclose the apparatus to include that the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to determine, based on a change amount of data collected over a period from the time point to a second time point, a priority of the data collected over the period.
Naka discloses, teaches, or at least suggests the missing limitation(s). Naka describes changing the priority of data based on the amount of data collected over a period (Naka, Paragraphs 0037-0041).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus of Hiroki to include that the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to determine, based on a change amount of data collected over a period from the time point to a second time point, a priority of the data collected over the period., as disclosed, taught, or at least suggested by Naka.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success because being efficient with the data collected and changing the priority of data based on data collected allows for efficient storage of data (Naka, Paragraphs 0037-00401).
Regarding Claim 8, Hiroki, as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: determine, based on an increment of an average value of the change amount of data, a weight; and determine, based on at least one of the weight or a functional safety level, the priority by determining urgency or importance of data collected over the period (moving data to the second memory per highest priority (e.g., emergency, thus highest priority), Hiroki, Paragraphs 0041-0042).
Regarding Claim 9, Hiroki, as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: receive, based on the urgency or importance of data, feedback on priority information; and use, based on the weight, the priority information (determining urgency or importance of data, wherein data becomes a priority based on the information being critical (e.g., emergency, thus highest priority), Hiroki, Paragraphs 0041-0042).
Regarding Claim 10, Hiroki, as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to determine, based on whether a signal strength of data collected during a period from the time point to a second time point exceeding a threshold or based on whether the signal comprises a predetermined value or a predetermined pattern, a priority of data collected over the period (determining a storing trigger which can be a pre-determined value or threshold, Hiroki, Paragraphs 0015, 0034, 0039-0045 and Figures 8 and 9)
Regarding Claim 11, Hiroki, as modified, discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: receive, based on the urgency or importance of data, feedback on priority information; and use, based on the weight, the priority information (can receive information based on importance of data (i.e., emergency), Hiroki, Paragraph 0052).
Regarding Claim 12, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 1 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 13, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 2 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 14, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 2 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 15, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 3 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 16, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 4 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 17, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 7 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 18, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claim 5 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claim.
Regarding Claim 19, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claims 1-11 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claims.
Regarding Claim 20, the Applicant’s claim has similar limitations to claims 1 and 10 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons set forth by the Examiner in the rejection of said claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J CROMER/Examiner, Art Unit 3667