DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/912,850 filed on 10/11/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lauridsen et al. (US 20240196371, Jun. 13, 2024) in view of AI et al. (US 20230292288, Sep. 14, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Lauridsen discloses a communication method, comprising receiving, by a terminal device, first information from a first network device (page 4, par (0045), line 1-10, the first device and the terminal devices operate in eDRX mode (wherein first information of monitoring in eDRX cycle)); and
determining, by the terminal device, whether to monitor a paging using a first
Extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) parameter based on the first information (page 4, par (0045), line 1-2, the first device operate in eDRX mode, and in the RRC inactive state(eDRX parameter), the first device monitor the paging channel for paging messages during the PTW configured by the second device).
Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first eDRX parameter comprises a first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window (PTW), and the first eDRX cycle is greater than a predefined cycle.
AI is the same field of invention teaches the first eDRX parameter comprises a first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window (PTW), and the first eDRX cycle is greater than a predefined cycle (page 10, par (0255), line 1-10, a length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle (wherein DRX cycle is a predefined cycle)).
Lauridsen and AI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify prior to the first eDRX parameter comprises a first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window (PTW), and the first eDRX cycle is greater than a predefined cycle the teaching of Lauridsen to include the length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle of AI because it providing configuration of eDRX and paging occasion determination for UE which is configured with eDRX.
Regarding Claim 2, Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first eDRX parameter is configured by a second network device for the terminal device, and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message from the second network device, the RRC release message carrying the first eDRX parameter.
AI is the same field of invention teaches the first eDRX parameter is configured by a second network device for the terminal device, and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message from the second network device, the RRC release message carrying the first eDRX parameter (page 6, par (0160), line 1-5, the eDRX mechanism is introduced for a UE in both the RRC idle state and RRC inactive state. Separate configurations configured for these two RRC state, i.e. one set of eDRX configuration (eDRX parameters) is used for a UE in the RRC idle state and another set of eDRX configuration is used for a UE in RRC inactive state).
Regarding Claim 3, Lauridsen discloses monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging without using the first cDRX parameter, comprising one of monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging without using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle; monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging without using an eDRX cycle;
monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging using a second cDRX parameter; or
monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging without using the first eDRX parameter
and the second cDRX parameter, wherein the second eDRX parameter comprises a second eDRX cycle, and the second cDRX cycle is less than or equal to the predefined cycle (page 6, par (0075), line 1-10, the paging-related condition a reception mode of the first device the DRX mode, if the reception mode of the
first device is the DRX mode, the paging-related condition is met, and the paging procedure is to be performed based on the first paging scheme. Otherwise, if the reception mode of the first device is the eDRX mode, the paging-related condition is not met, and the paging procedure is to be performed based on the second paging scheme).
Regarding Claim 4, Lauridsen discloses monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging without using the RAN eDRX cycle, or monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging without using the first eDRX parameter and the second eDRX parameter comprises: monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging using a Core Network (CN) eDRX cycle and/or a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle; and/or monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging without using the eDRX cycle comprises: monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging using the DRX cycle(page 6, par (0075), line 1-10, the paging-related condition a reception mode of the first device the DRX mode, if the reception mode of the first device is the DRX mode, the paging-related condition is met, and the paging procedure is to be performed based on the first paging scheme. Otherwise, if the reception mode of the first device is the eDRX mode, the paging-related condition is not met (without using the eDRX), and the paging procedure is to be performed based on the second paging scheme).
Regarding Claim 5, Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining, by the terminal device, whether to monitor the paging using the first eDRX parameter based on the first information comprises when the terminal device is configured with the first eDRX parameter, and the first information indicates that the terminal device is allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging using the first eDRX parameter, or when the terminal device is configured with the first eDRX parameter, and the first information indicates that the terminal device is not allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging without using the first eDRX parameter.
AI is the same field of invention teaches determining, by the terminal device, whether to monitor the paging using the first eDRX parameter based on the first information comprises when the terminal device is configured with the first eDRX parameter, and the first information indicates that the terminal device is allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging using the first eDRX parameter, or when the terminal device is configured with the first eDRX parameter, and the first information indicates that the terminal device is not allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, monitoring, by the terminal device, the paging without using the first eDRX parameter (page 10, par (0255-0256), line 1-10, a length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle(wherein DRX cycle is a predefined cycle), a length of the extended DRX cycle is greater than or equal to 10.24 seconds).
Regarding Claim 7, Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the second eDRX parameter is sent to the terminal device from a second network device, and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message from the second network device, the RRC release message carrying the second eDRX parameter.
AI is the same field of invention teaches the second eDRX parameter is sent to the terminal device from a second network device, and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message from the second network device, the RRC release message carrying the second eDRX parameter (page 6, par (0160), line 1-5, the eDRX mechanism is introduced for a UE in both the RRC idle state and RRC inactive state. Separate configurations configured for these two RRC state, i.e. one set of eDRX configuration (eDRX parameters) is used for a UE in the RRC idle state and another set of eDRX configuration is used for a UE in RRC inactive state).
Regarding Claim 8, Lauridsen discloses the terminal device is in an inactive state (page 4, par (0045), line 1-2, the first device operates in eDRX mode, and in the RRC inactive state (eDRX parameter), the first device monitors the paging channel for paging messages during the PTW configured by the second device).
Regarding Claim 9, Lauridsen discloses a communication method, comprising sending, by a first network device, first information to a terminal device (page 4, par (0045), line 1-10, the first device and the terminal devices operate in eDRX mode (wherein first information of monitoring in eDRX cycle));
and determining, by the first network device, whether to send a paging using a first Extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) parameter based on the first information (page 4, par (0045), line 1-2, the first device operate in eDRX mode, and in the RRC inactive state (eDRX parameter), the first device monitor the paging channel for paging messages during the PTW configured by the second device).
Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first eDRX parameter comprises a first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window (PTW), and the first eDRX cycle is greater than a predefined cycle.
AI is the same field of invention teaches the first eDRX parameter comprises a first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window (PTW), and the first eDRX cycle is greater than a predefined cycle (page 10, par (0255), line 1-10, a length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle (wherein DRX cycle is a predefined cycle)).
Lauridsen and AI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify prior to the first eDRX parameter comprises a first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window (PTW), and the first eDRX cycle is greater than a predefined cycle the teaching of Lauridsen to include the length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle of AI because it providing configuration of eDRX and paging occasion determination for UE which is configured with eDRX.
Regarding Claim 10, Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first eDRX parameter is sent to the first network device from a second network device, and the method further comprises receiving, by the first network device, a paging carrying the first eDRX parameter from the second network device.
AI is the same field of invention teaches the first eDRX parameter is sent to the first network device from a second network device, and the method further comprises receiving, by the first network device, a paging carrying the first eDRX parameter from the second network device (page 6, par (0160), line 1-5, the eDRX mechanism is introduced for a UE in both the RRC idle state and RRC inactive state. Separate configurations configured for these two RRC state, i.e. one set of eDRX configuration (eDRX parameters) is used for a UE in the RRC idle state and another set of eDRX configuration is used for a UE in RRC inactive state).
Regarding Claim 11, Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving, by the first network device, the paging carrying the first eDRX parameter from the second network device comprises when the first information sent to the second network device from the first network device indicates that the terminal device is allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, receiving, by the first network device, the paging carrying the first eDRX parameter from the second network device.
AI is the same field of invention teaches receiving, by the first network device, the paging carrying the first eDRX parameter from the second network device comprises when the first information sent to the second network device from the first network device indicates that the terminal device is allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, receiving, by the first network device, the paging carrying the first eDRX parameter from the second network device (page 10, par (0255-0256), line 1-10, a length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle(wherein DRX cycle is a predefined cycle), a length of the extended DRX cycle is greater than or equal to 10.24 seconds).
Regarding Claim 12, Lauridsen discloses sending, by the first network device, the paging without using the first eDRX parameter, comprising sending, by the first network device, the paging using a Core Network (CN) eDRX cycle and/or a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle(page 6, par (0075), line 1-10, the paging-related condition a reception mode of the first device the DRX mode, if the reception mode of the first device is the DRX mode, the paging-related condition is met, and the paging procedure is to be performed based on the first paging scheme. Otherwise, if the reception mode of the first device is the eDRX mode, the paging-related condition is not met(without using the eDRX), and the paging procedure is to be performed based on the second paging scheme).
Regarding Claim 13, Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first information indicates that the terminal device is allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle; or the first information indicates that the terminal device is not allowed to monitor the paging using the RAN eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle.
AI is the same field of invention teaches the first information indicates that the terminal device is allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle; or the first information indicates that the terminal device is not allowed to monitor the paging using the RAN eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle (page 10, par (0255-0256), line 1-10, a length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle(wherein DRX cycle is a predefined cycle), a length of the extended DRX cycle is greater than or equal to 10.24 seconds).
Regarding Claim 14, Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining, by the first network device, whether to send the paging using the first eDRX parameter based on the first information comprises when a second network device configures the first cDRX parameter for the first network device, and the first information indicates that the terminal device is allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, sending, by the first network device, the paging using the first eDRX parameter, or when a second network device configures the first eDRX parameter for the first network device, and the first information indicates that the terminal device is not allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, sending, by the first network device, the paging without using the first eDRX parameter.
AI is the same field of invention teaches determining, by the first network device, whether to send the paging using the first eDRX parameter based on the first information comprises when a second network device configures the first cDRX parameter for the first network device, and the first information indicates that the terminal device is allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, sending, by the first network device, the paging using the first eDRX parameter, or when a second network device configures the first eDRX parameter for the first network device, and the first information indicates that the terminal device is not allowed to monitor the paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, sending, by the first network device, the paging without using the first eDRX parameter (page 10, par (0255-0256), line 1-10, a length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle(wherein DRX cycle is a predefined cycle), a length of the extended DRX cycle is greater than or equal to 10.24 seconds).
Regarding Claim 16, Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the second eDRX parameter is sent to the first network device from a second network device, and the method further comprises receiving, by the first network device from the second network device, a paging carrying the first eDRX parameter and the second eDRX parameter, or a paging carrying the second eDRX parameter.
AI is the same field of invention teaches the second eDRX parameter is sent to the first network device from a second network device, and the method further comprises receiving, by the first network device from the second network device, a paging carrying the first eDRX parameter and the second eDRX parameter, or a paging carrying the second eDRX parameter (page 6, par (0160), line 1-5, the eDRX mechanism is introduced for a UE in both the RRC idle state and RRC inactive state. Separate configurations configured for these two RRC state, i.e. one set of eDRX configuration (eDRX parameters) is used for a UE in the RRC idle state and another set of eDRX configuration is used for a UE in RRC inactive state).
Regarding Claim 17, Lauridsen discloses a communication method, comprising sending, by a second network device (page 4, par (0045), line 1-10, the first device and the terminal devices operate in eDRX mode (wherein first information of monitoring in eDRX cycle)), a paging carrying a first Extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) parameter to a first network device(page 4, par (0045), line 1-2, the first device operate in eDRX mode, and in the RRC inactive state(eDRX parameter), the first device monitor the paging channel for paging messages during the PTW configured by the second device).
Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the first eDRX parameter comprises a first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window (PTW), and the first eDRX cycle is greater than a predefined cycle.
AI is the same field of invention teaches the first eDRX parameter comprises a first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window (PTW), and the first eDRX cycle is greater than a predefined cycle (page 10, par (0255), line 1-10, a length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle (wherein DRX cycle is a predefined cycle)).
Lauridsen and AI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify prior to the first eDRX parameter comprises a first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window (PTW), and the first eDRX cycle is greater than a predefined cycle the teaching of Lauridsen to include the length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle of AI because it providing configuration of eDRX and paging occasion determination for UE which is configured with eDRX.
Regarding Claim 18, Lauridsen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except sending, by the second network device, the paging carrying the first eDRX parameter to the first network device comprises when first information received by the second network device from the first network device indicates that a terminal device is allowed to monitor a paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, or indicates that a terminal device configured with the first eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle is allowed to monitor the paging using an eDRX, sending, by the second network device, the paging carrying the first eDRX parameter to the first network device.
AI is the same field of invention teaches sending, by the second network device, the paging carrying the first eDRX parameter to the first network device comprises when first information received by the second network device from the first network device indicates that a terminal device is allowed to monitor a paging using a Radio Access Network (RAN) eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle, or indicates that a terminal device configured with the first eDRX cycle greater than the predefined cycle is allowed to monitor the paging using an eDRX, sending, by the second network device, the paging carrying the first eDRX parameter to the first network device (page 10, par (0255-0256), line 1-10, a length of the eDRX cycle is greater than a length of the DRX cycle(wherein DRX cycle is a predefined cycle), a length of the extended DRX cycle is greater than or equal to 10.24 seconds).
Regarding Claim 20, Lauridsen discloses configuring, by the second network device, the first eDRX parameter and/or a second eDRX parameter for a terminal device, the first eDRX parameter and/or the second eDRX parameter being used for the terminal device to monitor a paging, wherein the second eDRX parameter comprises a second eDRX cycle, and the second eDRX cycle is less than or equal to the predefined cycle, wherein configuring, by the second network device, the first eDRX parameter and/or the second eDRX parameter for the terminal device comprises sending, by the second network device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message to the terminal device, the RRC release message carrying the first eDRX parameter and/or the second eDRX parameter(page 6, par (0075), line 1-10, the paging-related condition a reception mode of the first device the DRX mode, if the reception mode of the first device is the DRX mode, the paging-related condition is met, and the paging procedure is to be performed based on the first paging scheme. Otherwise, if the reception mode of the first device is the eDRX mode, the paging-related condition is not met, and the paging procedure is to be performed based on the second paging scheme).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claim 6 is incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 9 would be allowable if (i) claim 6 is incorporated into the independent claim 9.
Claim 17 would be allowable if (i) claim 19 is incorporated into the independent claim 17.
The claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 17 and 20 have the limitation “first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window” and “first eDRX cycle and/or a Paging Time Window” and “and/or monitoring” and “first eDRX parameter and/or a second eDRX parameter”, please clarify the language features from the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent
to applicant's disclosure are:
Wang et al. (US 20200229226, Jul. 16, 2020) teaches Data Transmission Method, Network Device and Terminal Device.
from the examiner should be directed to IQBAL ZAIDI whose telephone number
is 571-270-3943. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30a.m to 5:00p.m.
examiner’s supervisor, NGO RICKY can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax
phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is
assigned is 571-273-8300.
the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information
for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public
PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through
Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see
http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the
Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-
9197 (toll-free).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464