Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/24 and 6/18/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al., United States Patent Publication 2017/014504 (hereinafter “Jeong”).
Claim 1:
Jeong discloses:
A display method, wherein the display method comprises:
generating, by an electronic device, a first page based on first page data corresponding to a to-be-displayed application interface, wherein the first page data comprises original element data, original layout data, and an original rendering size (see paragraph [0050] and [0056]). Jeong teaches generating a first page having a first display size and original element with the original layout;
in response to determining that a size of a display of the electronic device does not match the original rendering size, generating, by the electronic device, a second page after proportionally zooming in or out a size of the first page, the original element data, and the original layout data based on a zoom-in/out ratio, wherein the zoom-in/out ratio is determined based on the size of the display and the original rendering size (see paragraph [0206]). Jeong teaches in response to having a change and the rendering size does not match, providing a zoom to the content to be displayed correctly,
generating, by the electronic device, third page data based on the size of the display, a preset page rearrangement rule, and second page data comprised in the second page (see paragraphs [0010]-[0014], [0206] and [0207]). Jeong teaches generating a new page based on a preset size and the changing of the size of the screen;
generating, by the electronic device, a third page based on the third page data; and displaying, by the electronic device, the third page on the display (see paragraphs [0014] and [0015]). Jeon teaches generating another display according to the changed sizes on the display.
Claim 2:
Jeong discloses:
wherein a value of the original rendering size is a preset value (see paragraph [0056]). Jeong teaches a first preset size.
Claim 3:
Jeong discloses:
wherein the display method further comprises:
parsing preset code in a process of rendering the first page to obtain the preset value; and setting the value of the original rendering size to the preset value (see paragraphs [0056], [0057] and [0098]). Jeong teaches parsing the preset code to determine the configuration for displaying the first page.
Claim 4:
Jeong discloses:
wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the third page on the display, the display method further comprises:
determining, by the electronic device, that the size of the display changes from a first size to a second size, wherein the second size is greater than the first size (see paragraph [0205]-[0208]). Jeong teaches determining to the change to the display during the unrolling;
generating, by the electronic device, a fourth page after proportionally zooming in, based on a zoom-in ratio, a size of the third page and the third page data comprised in the third page, wherein the zoom-in ratio is determined based on the second size and the first size (see paragraphs [0206]-[0208). Jeong teaches generating a new page data based on the increased size;
generating, by the electronic device, fifth page data based on the second size, the preset page rearrangement rule, and fourth page data comprised in the fourth page (see paragraphs [0206]-[0208]). Jeong teaches generating layout data based on the rules and rendering based on the new size;
generating, by the electronic device, a fifth page based on the fifth page data; and displaying, by the electronic device, the fifth page on the display (see paragraphs [0206]-[0209]). Jeong teaches generating and displaying new page data base on the new size information and displaying the new page.
Claim 5:
Jeong discloses:
wherein the display of the electronic device is a foldable display (see paragraph [0051]). Jeong teaches a rollable display; and
the determining, by the electronic device, that the size of the display changes from a first size to a second size comprises:
determining, by the electronic device, that the display changes from a folded state to an expanded state, wherein a size of the display in the folded state is the first size, a size of the display in the expanded state is the second size, and the third page is a page displayed by the electronic device when the display is in the folded state (see paragraph [0052]). Jeong teaches determining the roll/unrolling of the display increases/decreases the size of the display.
Claim 6:
Jeong discloses:
wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the third page on the display, the display method further comprises:
determining, by the electronic device, that the size of the display changes from a first size to a second size, wherein the second size is less than the first size (see paragraph [00206]). Jeong teaches if the display area decreases according to a rolling interaction, the processor may provide the zoom-out function of zooming out the image displayed in the display area;
determining, by the electronic device, the second page corresponding to the third page (see paragraph [0119]). Jeong teaches determining the second pages based on the rolling of the display;
generating, by the electronic device, a fourth page after proportionally zooming out the second page and the second page data based on a zoom-out ratio, wherein the zoom-out ratio is determined based on the second size and the first size (see paragraph [0119]. [0205]-[0208]). Jeon teaches generating a new page based on the zooming out from the original and previous sizes; and
displaying, by the electronic device, the fourth page on the display (see paragraphs [0206]-[0209]). Jeong teaches generating and displaying new page data base on the new size information and displaying the new page,
Claim 7:
Jeong discloses:
the determining, by the electronic device, that the size of the display changes from a first size to a second size comprises:
determining, by the electronic device, that the display changes from an expanded state to a folded state, wherein a size of the display in the expanded state is the first size, a size of the display in the folded state is the second size, and the third page is a page displayed by the electronic device when the display is in the expanded state (see paragraphs [0052] and [0200]-[0203]). Jeong teaches determining that the display changes from unrolled to rolled out state and the display size increases and the display is displayed in the unrolled/expanded state.
Claim 8:
Jeong discloses:
wherein at least one of the following factors exists:
the zoom-in/out ratio is a ratio of a width of the display to a width in the original rendering size; or
the zoom-in/out ratio is a ratio of a height of the display to a height in the original rendering size (see paragraph [0205] and [0206]). Jeong teaches the zooming in/out changes the width/height of the rollable display.
Claim 9:
Jeong discloses:
wherein that a size of a display of the electronic device does not match the original rendering size comprises at least one of the following:
a width of the display of the electronic device is greater than a width in the original rendering size; or
a height of the display of the electronic device is greater than a height in the original rendering size (see paragraph [0052]). Jeon teaches the height/width of the display change due to the unrolling of the display.
Claims 10-18:
Although Claims 10-18 are electronic device claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the method of Claims 1-9, respectively.
Claims 19-20:
Although Claims 19-20 are non-transitory computer readable storage medium claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same as the method of Claims 1, 4, respectively.
Conclusion
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 7/11/26