DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This action is in response to the amendment dated 9/24/2026 that was entered with the submission of the request for continued examination dated 9/24/2026. Claims 1, 2, 5, and 7-9 are currently amended. Claims 16-20 are newly added. No claims have been canceled. Presently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the 35 USC 112(f) Treatment section on pages 12-13 of the response dated 9/24/2026, with respect to the interpretation of “means of an electromagnetic drive” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The term is no longer being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) since functional language is not present within the limitation. The interpretation of the term “means of an electromagnetic drive” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as provided in the Office action dated 6/26/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see the 35 USC 102(a)(1) Rejections section on page 13 of the response dated 9/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) ass being anticipated by Jabcon (US 6,405,757) have been fully considered and are persuasive. It is considered that the amendment to recite the features relating to “wherein the damping element is made of an elastically hardenable and initially shapeless material and is introduced into the second channel as an initially shapeless mass and is hardened within the second channel whereby the damping element is positively retained within the second channel and therefore within the piston” overcomes the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jabcon as provided in the Office action dated 6/26/2026. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly applied combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference (US 3,861,646).
It is considered that the Jabcon reference discloses wherein the second channel (see “second channel” in the annotated figure 5 below) widens toward at least one of the end-face regions (at the ends of the second channel proximate 68 and 70 as depicted in figure 18 and figure 5).
It is considered that the Douglas reference teaches a plunger (20) having a channel (45) and wherein a material is provided and held within the channel (45) by introducing an elastically hardenable and initially shapeless material (65) into the channel (45) as an initially shapeless mass and is hardened within the channel (col. 3, line 38 to col. 4, line 30).
Therefore, it is considered that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the damping element of the Jabcon reference within the second channel in the piston by providing the material of the damping element as an elastically hardenable and initially shapeless material and is introduced into the second channel as an initially shapeless mass and is hardened within the second channel as taught by the Douglas reference in order to provide a process to introduce the material of the damping element within the second channel of the piston.
Further, it is considered that the process of injection molding is old and well known in the art and that one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of performing a method of injecting / introducing the material of the damping element into the second channel as a shapeless mass that is hardened.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the interpretation of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph in the 35 USC 112(f) Treatment section on pages 12-13 of the response dated 9/24/2026.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the specific examples mentioned regarding the terms “damping element” (claim 1 and 5), “compensating element” (claim 4 and 5) and “means of a clamping force” (claim 5) are just examples and that those of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the present invention as claimed can comprise various other known means that are not these specific examples.
Here, each of these limitations satisfy the three-prong test as described in MPEP § 2181 including:
the use of “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder (nonce term or non-structural term) including the term “element”;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that” which would include the functional language including “damping”, “compensating” and “clamping force”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function since the sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claimed function are not provided within the claim.
Therefore, it is considered that the terms “damping element”, “compensating element” and “means of a clamping force” should still be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and these terms will be interpreted to cover the corresponding structure describe in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Although specific recitations to the disclosure were mentioned as covering the terms being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), those terms do include the “equivalents thereof”.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jabcon (US 6,405,757) on page 13, last paragraph of the response dated 9/24/2026.
Applicant argues that the Jabcon reference does not disclose or suggest the features of wherein the electromagnetic drive is structured to create an electromagnetic field involving the compensating element and the partial bridging of the annular gap, thereby maintaining a magnetic field having sufficient force to displace the piston as recited in the amended claim 5.
However, it is considered that Jabcon reference discloses an electromagnetic drive (it is considered that the solenoid coil 22 constitutes an electromagnetic drive) is structured to create an electromagnetic field involving the compensating element (it is considered that the extensions 92 of the element 56 constitutes at least one compensating element) and the partial bridging of the annular gap, thereby maintaining a magnetic field having sufficient force to displace the piston (it is considered that the magnetic field provided by the operation of the coil 22 such that the piston 26 is displaceable by the magnetic force). Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Since new grounds of rejection were necessitated by applicant’s amendment that was entered with the submission of the request for continued examination, the instant Office action is made non-final.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “damping element” in claim 1, line 9; “compensating element” in claim 4, line 2; “damping element” in claim 5, line 10; and “compensating element” in claim 5, line 13.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of an electromagnetic drive” in claim 5.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “damping element” in line 9. The recitation of “damping element” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the originally filed disclosure dated 10/11/2024 indicates that the recitation of “damping element” includes “a material that is softer than the piston 3, in order to effectively mitigate an impact of the movable piston” (see paragraph [0051] and wherein the “damping element” is received within the channel in the piston (see paragraph [0052]) or equivalents thereof.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “drive means” in line 2. The recitation of “drive means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the originally filed disclosure dated 10/11/2024 indicates that the recitation of “drive means” includes “an electromagnetic drive” (see at least paragraph [0015]) or equivalents thereof.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “compensating element” in line 2. The recitation of “compensating element” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the originally filed disclosure dated 10/11/2024 indicates that the recitation of “compensating element” includes “a portion of the piston or the sealing seat or the end stop that partially bridges the annular gap” (see element 9 in figure 4 and figure 5) or equivalents thereof.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “damping element” in line 10. The recitation of “damping element” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the originally filed disclosure dated 10/11/2024 indicates that the recitation of “damping element” includes “a material that is softer than the piston 3, in order to effectively mitigate an impact of the movable piston” (see paragraph [0051] or equivalents thereof and wherein the “damping element” is received within the channel in the piston (see paragraph [0052]).
Claim 5 recites the limitation “compensating element” in line 12. The recitation of “compensating element” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the originally filed disclosure dated 10/11/2024 indicates that the recitation of “compensating element” includes “a portion of the piston or the sealing seat or the end stop that partially bridges the annular gap” (see element 9 in figure 4 and figure 5) or equivalents thereof.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “means of a clamping force” in line 15. The recitation of “means of a clamping force” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. A review of the originally filed disclosure dated 10/11/2024 indicates that the recitation of “means of a clamping force element” includes “a spring element, preferably a helical spring” (see at least the originally filed claim 10) or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jabcon (US 6,405,757).
Regarding claim 5, the Jabcon reference discloses a solenoid valve (10) that comprises at least one fluid actuator (it is considered that the operation of the solenoid valve 10 controls a fluid flow through the housing element 13), the valve comprising:
a base body (it is considered that the combination of 13, 13e and 12 constitutes a base body) having a first channel (see “first channel” in the annotated figure 5 below);
a piston (26) having two sides in a longitudinal direction (X) of the piston, at least one end-face region (see “first end-face region” and “second end-face region” in the annotated figure 5 below) and a second channel (see “second channel” in the annotated figure 5 below) extending completely through the piston in the longitudinal direction (X) of the piston (see figure 5);
a sealing seat (108) for interacting with a first of the two sides of the piston (at the “first end-face region” in the annotated figure 5 below);
an end stop (24) for interacting with a second of the two sides of the piston (at the “second end-face region” in the annotated figure 5 below); and
a damping element (it is considered that the elastomeric material 66 constitutes a damping element) arranged within the second channel (see figure 5) and extending from a first end of the second channel to a second end of the second channel (see figure 5); and
a compensating element (it is considered that the extensions 92 of the element 56 constitutes at least one compensating element),
wherein the piston is linearly movable within the first channel and is reversibly displaceable within the first channel in a first direction towards the sealing seat (108) by means of a clamping force (it is considered that the spring 44 provides the clamping force) into a closed position pressing the piston against the sealing seat (108) and, for reaching an open position, by means of an electromagnetic drive (it is considered that the solenoid coil 22 constitutes an electromagnetic drive) against the clamping force in the direction towards the end stop (24),
wherein the damping element is structured to provide an impact-mitigating function of the piston on the end stop and on the sealing seat when the piston moves within the first channel and approaches the sealing seat and the end stop (it is considered that the elastomeric material 66 constitutes a damping element that would provide an impact-mitigating function based on the elastomeric material and the hardness of the material),
wherein the damping element protrudes relative to the at least one end-face region of the piston, so as to form an annular gap (it is considered that the spacing surrounding the piston within the base body constitutes an annular gap) spacing the piston in the closed position away from the sealing seat or/and in the open position away from the end stop,
wherein the compensating element is structured to partially bridge the annular gap, such that, with respect to a longitudinal direction of the piston (26), a length of a portion (considered the length that each of the end face regions 68 and 70 extends from the associated end faces of the piston 26) of the damping element protruding relative to the at least one end-face region of the piston is less than a width (considered the length extensions of the of the portions 92 away from the surface on which the seat 108 is located) of the compensating element; and
wherein the electromagnetic drive (it is considered that the solenoid coil 22 constitutes an electromagnetic drive) is structured to create an electromagnetic field involving the compensating element (it is considered that the extensions 92 of the element 56 constitutes at least one compensating element) and the partial bridging of the annular gap, thereby maintaining a magnetic field having sufficient force to displace the piston (it is considered that the magnetic field provided by the operation of the coil 22 such that the piston 26 is displaceable by the magnetic force).
Regarding the recitations of “for a seat comfort system” and “which is equipped with such a seat comfort system”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of preforming the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In regards to claim 6, the Jabcon reference discloses wherein at least part of the compensating element is arranged or formed on the sealing seat (on the element 56 that forms the sealing seat 108).
In regards to claim 7, the Jabcon reference discloses wherein the damping element (66) is arranged or formed within the second channel, wherein the protruding portion of the damping element is located outside of the piston (see figure 5).
In regards to claim 10, the Jabcon reference discloses the clamping force acting on the piston is generated by a spring element (44; see figure 5).
In regards to claim 11, the Jabcon reference discloses wherein the piston has two end-face regions (see “first end-face region” and “second end-face region” in the annotated figure 5 above), a first of the end-face regions being located on a first of the two sides of the piston and a second of the end-face regions being located on a second of the two sides of the piston, wherein the second channel (see “second channel” in the annotated figure 5 above) extends through the piston between the two end-face regions, wherein the damping element is arranged within the second channel (see figure 5).
In regards to claim 12, the Jabcon reference discloses wherein the second channel widens toward at least one of the two end-face regions of the piston (see figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jabcon (US 6,405,757) in view of Douglas (US 3,861,646).
Regarding claim 1, the Jabcon reference discloses a solenoid valve (10) which comprises at least one fluid actuator (it is considered that the operation of the solenoid valve 10 controls a fluid flow through the housing element 13), the valve comprising:
a base body (it is considered that the combination of 13, 13e and 12 constitutes a base body) having a first channel (see “first channel” in the annotated figure 5 below);
a piston (26) having two end-face regions (see “first end-face region” and “second end-face region” in the annotated figure 5 below) and a second channel (see “second channel” in the annotated figure 5 below) extending completely through the piston between the two end-face regions of the piston (see figure 5);
a sealing seat (108) for interacting with a first of the end-face regions (at the “first end-face region” in the annotated figure 5 below);
an end stop (24) for interacting with a second of the end-face regions (at the “second end-face region” in the annotated figure 5 below); and
a damping element (it is considered that the elastomeric material 66 constitutes a damping element) arranged within the second channel (see figure 5) and extending from the first of the end-face regions to the second of the end-face regions (see figure 5),
wherein the piston is linearly movable within the first channel and is reversibly displaceable within the first channel in a first direction towards the sealing seat (108) and in a second direction towards the end stop (27), the first direction being opposite the second direction,
wherein the damping element is structured to provide an impact-mitigating function of the piston on the end stop and on the sealing seat when the piston moves within the first channel and approaches the sealing seat and the end stop (it is considered that the elastomeric material 66 constitutes a damping element that would provide an impact-mitigating function based on the elastomeric material and the hardness of the material);
wherein the second channel widens toward at least one of the end-face regions (see figure 5 for the second channel widening proximate the second end-face region and the first end-face region);
wherein the damping element (66) is made of an elastic material (see col. 7, lines 34-43) and is positively retained within the second channel and therefore within the piston.
The Jabcon reference does not expressly disclose wherein the damping element (66) is made of an elastically hardenable and initially shapeless material and is introduced into the second channel as an initially shapeless mass and is hardened within the second channel.
However, the Douglas reference teaches a plunger (20) having a channel (45) and wherein a material is provided and held within the channel (45) by introducing an elastically hardenable and initially shapeless material (65) into the channel (45) as an initially shapeless mass and is hardened within the channel (col. 3, line 38 to col. 4, line 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the damping element of the Jabcon reference within the second channel in the piston by providing the material of the damping element as an elastically hardenable and initially shapeless material and is introduced into the second channel as an initially shapeless mass and is hardened within the second channel as taught by the Douglas reference in order to provide a process to introduce the material of the damping element within the second channel of the piston.
Further, it is considered that the process of injection molding is old and well known in the art and that one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of performing a method of injecting / introducing the material of the damping element into the second channel as a shapeless mass that is hardened.
Regarding the recitations of “for a seat comfort system” and “which is equipped with such a seat comfort system”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of preforming the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In regards to claim 16, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference discloses wherein the damping element (Jabcon: 66) has an unsupported protruding end portion (Jabcon: 68, 70 as depicted in figure 19) protruding out of the piston from at least one of the two end-face regions into the first channel (Jabcon: see figure 19 and figure 5).
In regards to claim 2, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference discloses wherein at least one of the unsupported end portions (Jabcon: 68, 70) of the damping element (Jabcon: 66) that protrudes relative to the at least one of the two end-face regions of the piston so as to form an annular gap (Jabcon: it is considered that the spacing surrounding the piston within the base body constitutes an annular gap) spacing the piston from the sealing seat (Jabcon: 108) in the closed position (Jabcon: see the position depicted in figure 5) and away from the end stop Jabcon: (24) in the open position (Jabcon: considered when the piston is translated in the vertical position from the positioned depicted in figure 5 in which the end-face region 70 is in contact with the seat of the end stop 24).
In regards to claim 3, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference discloses wherein the piston is reversibly displaceable within the first channel by a drive means (Jabcon: it is considered that the operation of the electromagnetic drive having a solenoid coil 22 constitutes a “drive means”) against a clamping force (Jabcon: considered the force provided by the spring 44) in the direction of the end stop for reaching an open position of the piston and wherein the clamping force biases the piston in the direction of the sealing seat (Jabcon: 108) for reaching a closed position.
In regards to claim 4, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference discloses at least one compensating element (Jabcon: it is considered that the extensions 92 of the element 56 constitutes at least one compensating element) structured to partially bridge the annular gap, such that, with respect to a longitudinal direction of the piston (Jabcon: 26), a length of a portion (Jabcon: considered the length that each of the end face regions 68 and 70 extends from the associated end faces of the piston 26 Jabcon:) of the damping element that protrudes relative to the at least one of the end-face regions of the piston is less than a width (Jabcon: considered the length extensions of the of the portions 92 away from the surface on which the seat 108 is located) of the in particular associated compensating element.
In regards to claim 8, the Jabcon reference does not expressly disclose wherein the damping element (66) is made of an elastically hardened and initially shapeless material and is introduced into the second channel.
However, the Douglas reference teaches a plunger (20) having a channel (45) and wherein a material is provided and held within the channel (45) by introducing an elastically hardenable and initially shapeless material (65) into the channel (45) as an initially shapeless mass and is hardened within the channel (col. 3, line 38 to col. 4, line 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the damping element of the Jabcon reference within the second channel in the piston by providing the material of the damping element as an elastically hardenable and initially shapeless material and is introduced into the second channel as an initially shapeless mass and is hardened within the second channel as taught by the Douglas reference in order to provide a process to introduce the material of the damping element within the second channel of the piston.
Further, it is considered that the process of injection molding is old and well known in the art and that one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of performing a method of injecting / introducing the material of the damping element into the second channel as a shapeless mass that is hardened.
In regards to claim 9, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference discloses wherein the compensating element is a one piece component of the sealing seat (Jabcon: element 92 is on the element 56 that forms the sealing seat 108) and made of the same material (Jabcon: see at least figure 5) as the sealing seat.
In regards to claim 13, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference discloses wherein the second channel widens toward at least one of the end-face regions of the piston (Jabcon: see figure 5).
In regards to claim 18, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference discloses wherein the second channel (Jabcon: see “second channel” in the annotated figure 5 above) widens toward both of the end-face regions (Jabcon: see figure 18 and figure 5 for the second channel widening at both ends of the second channel) of the piston (Jabcon: 26) in a substantially bone-shaped configuration (Jabcon: it is considered that the shape of the second channel as depicted in figure 18, figure 19 and figure 5 constitutes a “bone-shaped configuration” in as much as the second channel widens at both ends of the second channel), wherein the damping element has unsupported protruding end portions protruding out of the piston from each of the two end-face regions (Jabcon: at 68 and 70) into the first channel.
In regards to claim 20, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference discloses comprising an electromagnetic drive (Jabcon: coil 22) for creating an electromagnetic field having sufficient force to displace the piston.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jabcon (US 6405757) in view of Ellison (US 3670274) and in view of Douglas (US 3,861,646).
In regards to claim 14, the Jabcon reference discloses wherein the piston has two end-face regions (see “first end-face region” and “second end-face region” in the annotated figure 5 above), a first of the end-face regions being located on a first of the two sides of the piston and a second of the end-face regions being located on a second of the two sides of the piston, wherein the second channel (see “second channel” in the annotated figure 5 above) extends through the piston between the two end-face regions.
Firstly, the Jabcon reference does not disclose wherein the piston has an access opening, which is connected to the second channel.
However, the Ellison reference teaches a valve assembly (10) having a piston (70) wherein a channel within the piston is filled a damping material (considered the material of 72, 74) wherein the channel includes an access opening (see “access opening” in the annotated figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the second channel of the Jabcon reference with an access opening as taught by the Ellison reference in order to provide an additional channel to support the damping material within the piston.
Secondly, the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Ellison reference do not expressly disclose the damping material is introduced into the second channel through the access opening as an initially shapeless material.
However, the Douglas reference teaches a plunger (20) having a channel (45) and wherein a material is provided and held within the channel (45) by introducing an elastically hardenable and initially shapeless material (65) into the channel (45) as an initially shapeless mass and is hardened within the channel (col. 3, line 38 to col. 4, line 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the damping element of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Ellison reference within the second channel as an initially shapeless material as taught by the Douglas reference in order to provide a process to introduce the material of the damping element within the second channel of the piston.
Further, it is considered that the process of injection molding is old and well known in the art and that one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of performing a method of injecting / introducing the material of the damping element into the second channel through the access port as an initially shapeless mass.
In regards to claim 15, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference, the Ellison reference and the Douglas reference discloses wherein the damping element (Jabcon: 66) completely fills the second channel (Jabcon: see figure 5).
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jabcon (US 6,405,757) in view of Douglas (US 3,861,646) as applied to claims 16 and 18 above, and further in view of Burrola et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2003/0030018).
In regards to claim 17, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference does not expressly disclose wherein the unsupported end portions of the damping element are radially deformable.
However, the Burrola et al. reference teaches a valve assembly having a plunger (72) that includes a channel that receives a damping element (102) with the damping element (94) is made of rubber (see paragraph [0018]) wherein the damping element (94) extends beyond the channel (see figure 3) wherein the rubber material of the damping element permits the damping element to deform (compress) and to absorb more energy of the impact so that signal noise can be reduced (see at least paragraph [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to permit the unsupported end portions of the damping element of the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference to compress when impacted as taught by the Burrola et al. reference in order to absorb more energy of the impact so that signal noise can be reduced.
Further, it is considered that the compression (as taught by the Burrola et al. reference) of the unsupported end portions of the damping element of the Jabcon reference would deform the unsupported end portions in a radial direction as the unsupported end portions are compressed in the axial direction.
In regards to claim 19, the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference does not expressly disclose wherein the unsupported end portions of the damping element are radially deformable.
However, the Burrola et al. reference teaches a valve assembly having a plunger (72) that includes a channel that receives a damping element (102) with the damping element (94) is made of rubber (see paragraph [0018]) wherein the damping element (94) extends beyond the channel (see figure 3) wherein the rubber material of the damping element permits the damping element to deform (compress) and to absorb more energy of the impact so that signal noise can be reduced (see at least paragraph [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to permit the unsupported end portions of the damping element of the Jabcon reference of the combination of the Jabcon reference and the Douglas reference to compress when impacted as taught by the Burrola et al. reference in order to absorb more energy of the impact so that signal noise can be reduced.
Further, it is considered that the compression (as taught by the Burrola et al. reference) of the unsupported end portions of the damping element of the Jabcon reference would deform the unsupported end portions in a radial direction as the unsupported end portions are compressed in the axial direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weiss et al. (US 6,523,570), Tackett et al. (US 6,065,734), Burrola et al. (US 6,830,232) and Cloud (US Pre-Grant Publication 2010/0090141) disclose various valve assemblies having a plunger that includes a channel in which a damping element is received.
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/MICHAEL R REID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753