DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 7/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it recites “short-chain fluorine” in line 3. It is unclear how short a fluorine compound must be in order to be considered a short-chain fluorine. For the purposes of examination, a short-chain fluorine will be considered specifically formulas (1) and (2) wherein m is 3 to 20 and n is 4 to 21.
Claim(s) 2-11 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they ultimately depend on claim 1 and therefore inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated over WO2020/213691 to Okui et al. (as found on the IDS dated 10/11/2024). For the purposes of examination, citations for Okui are taken from a English translation equivalent of the document EP3957656 to Okui et al.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, Okui teaches a method for producing fluoropolymer powder [title] such as a low molecular weight PTFE powder having a molecular weight of 600,000 or less [0792] (reading on low molecular weight PTFE powder as defined as less than 600,000 g/mol in instant specification [I.S., 0022]) that is obtained by dispersing a polymerization initiator and surfactant in an aqueous medium [0793] (reading on emulsion radical polymerization of claim 4). Okui teaches that obtaining the fluoropolymer powder with a hydrocarbon surfactant causes the fluoropolymers to contain fluorine-containing compounds of general formula (1) and (2) [0077] (i.e., short chain fluorine compound) that are preferably removed from the fluoropolymer [0042]. General Formula (1) is
wherein m is 3 to 19, M1 is H, a metal atom, NR54, where R5 may be the same or different, H or an organic group having 1-10 carbon atoms, imidazolium optionally having a substituent, pyridinium optionally having a substituent, or phosphonium optionally having a substituent; and p is 1 or 2 [0003] (reading on instantly claimed formula (1)). General Formula (2) is
wherein m is 4 to 20, M2 is H, a metal atom, NR54, where R5 may be the same or different, H or an organic group having 1-10 carbon atoms, imidazolium optionally having a substituent, pyridinium optionally having a substituent, or phosphonium optionally having a substituent; and q is 1 or 2 [0003] (reading on instantly claimed formula (2)).
Okui’s synthesis example 2 [0976] is dried at 210°C [0978] (reading on heating at 170°C or higher of claim 5) producing the PTFE powder of Example 1 [0980] comprising general formula (1) and general formula (2) in amounts at quantification limit or lower [table 7] wherein quantification limit of the powder is 13 ppb/PTFE (thereby reading on 179 ppb or less of formula (1) and 6900 ppb or less of formula (2).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Okui teaches the method of claim 1, comprising a fluorine-containing surfactant in the aqueous medium of 10 ppm or less [0430] wherein the fluorosurfactant is perfluoropolyethercarboxylic acid [0449] (i.e., not perfluorooctanic acid and its salt).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Okui teaches the method of claim 1 comprising a chain transfer agent such as saturated hydrocarbons [0698].
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Okui teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the low-molecular weight has a melt viscosity at 380°C of 1 x 102 to 7 x 105 Pa*s [0797].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020/213691 to Okui et al. (as found on the IDS dated 10/11/2024). For the purposes of examination, citations for Okui are taken from a English translation equivalent of the document EP3957656 to Okui et al.
Regarding Claim(s) 7 and 8, Okui teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising 10 ppm or less of fluorine-containing surfactants such as perfluorocarboxylic acid as represented by formula (I) F(CF2)n1COOM wherein n1 is 3-14 and M is H or a metal atom [0430] (i.e., carboxylic acid and its salt that is not perfluorooctanoic acid).
Okui does not explicitly teach reducing the perfluorocarboxylic acid and its salt.
However, Okui teaches the polymerization of fluoropolymers without using the fluorine-containing surfactants.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to remove the fluorine-containing surfactant in Okui’s process.
The motivation would have been that Okui’s production method of the present disclosure allows for obtaining a fluoropolymer powder having a reduced content of the specific fluorine-containing compound without using the fluorine-containing surfactant.
Conclusion
should be directed to Devin Darling whose telephone number is (703) 756-5411. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-5:00.
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ARRIE L REUTHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764