CTNF 18/912,967 CTNF 90892 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-18 are currently pending in the application. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 2, 9 & 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2, line 3, “the inner surface defining main cavity” should be revised to: -- the inner surface defining a main cavity-- . In claim 9 , line 1, “The system of claim 1” is believed to be in error for: --The system of claim 8 [[1]] --, otherwise claim 9 is an exact duplicate of claim 2; In claim 9 , line 3, “the inner surface defining main cavity” should be revised to: -- the inner surface defining a main cavity-- . In claim 18 , line 1, “The hydraulic accumulator of claim 2” is believed to be in error for: -- The hydraulic accumulator of claim 15 [[2]]--, otherwise claim 18 is an exact duplicate of claim 7; Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim s 4-5, 11-12, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claims 4, 11, 16 recite the limitation “ the second piston, in response to expansion and contraction of the expansion fluid, at least selectively applies a drive force to the first piston ”. This renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear what is supposed to be meant by the phrase “ at least selectively applies a drive force ”. It is unclear what feature of the second piston this is attempting to describe, as the claim language is attempting to describe a structural feature of the second piston by reciting the intended result of the feature rather than the feature itself. This limitation is unclear because it merely states a function (“ at least selectively ” applying a drive force to the first piston) without providing any indication about how the function is performed. The recited function does not follow from the structure recited in the claim, i.e., (the second piston is not described to have any structural feature(s) that would infer the function), so it is unclear whether the function requires some other structure or is simply a result of operating the second piston in a certain manner. The claim does not provide a discernable boundary on what performs the function or how it is performed by the second piston. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered by the claim. MPEP 2173.05(g). The instant specification appears to describe that the “ selective ” application of driving force is the result of structural features of a “ piston rod ” coupled only to the first piston and a “ piston rod cavity ” formed in the second piston that receives the piston rod (Specification Para. 0028), however, these features are not apparent or inherent in the claim language. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns , 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Claims 5, 12, 17 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 4, 11 & 16, respectively. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 6-10, 13-15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Ellsworth (US 2020/0102889 A1) . Regarding independent claim 1 , Ellsworth discloses a gas turbine engine fuel supply system (Fig. 1, 2, Para. 0014), comprising: a fuel manifold 218 adapted to receive fuel supplied thereto from a fuel source (implicit in a gas turbine engine fuel system, Para. 0016), the fuel manifold and fuel having first thermal expansion characteristics (implicit, Para. 0019, “ As heat from the engine causes fuel remaining in the fuel manifold lines to heat up and expand… ”); at least one fuel nozzle coupled to the fuel manifold, the at least one fuel nozzle adapted to inject the fuel supplied to the manifold into a combustor 108 (fuel nozzles providing fuel to a combustor are implicit in a gas turbine engine having a fuel system as shown in Fig. 1); and a hydraulic accumulator 120 (accumulator system, Fig. 2-3) thermally coupled to, and in fluid communication with, the manifold 218 (Para. 0015-16), the hydraulic accumulator configured to exhibit second thermal expansion characteristics (implicit), the second thermal expansion characteristics substantially equivalent to the first thermal expansion characteristics (the fuel within the manifold expands into the accumulator system, and thus the accumulator would “exhibit” the same thermal expansion characteristics as the fuel manifold and fuel since the same fuel is entering the accumulator; Para. 0019, “ As heat from the engine causes fuel remaining in the fuel manifold lines to heat up and expand, the opening of control valve 206 to fuel manifold passage 218 enables fuel expansion into accumulator system 120 . The expanding fuel increases the pressure in accumulator passage 222 working against ambient pressure in ambient passage 224, moving accumulator piston 214 to the open position solely by exerting a force strong enough to overcome the minimal resistance between accumulator piston 214 and o-ring seals 216. Expansion of the fuel into accumulator system 120 prevents pressure build-up in the manifold and thus, leakage of fuel vapors out of the engine ”). PNG media_image1.png 576 674 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2 , Ellsworth discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the hydraulic accumulator 120 comprises: a main body including an outer surface and an inner surface (see the accumulator 120 in Fig. 4, an outer surface is shown, and inner surfaces shown schematically in Fig. 2-3), the outer surface thermally coupled to the fuel manifold 218 (Fig. 2-3, since the fuel manifold is coupled to the accumulator as shown, and fuel thermally expands from the manifold into the accumulator, they are “ thermally coupled ” via the fuel), the inner surface defining main cavity 204, 212 (collectively formed by the chambers 204 & 212 housing pistons 206, 214); a separator wall (Fig. 2 below) extending radially inwardly from the inner surface into the main cavity (forming an “ accumulator passage 222 ” shown in Fig. 2 & 3, the wall extends radially inward relative to an axis of the piston 214), thereby separating the main cavity into a first piston chamber 204 (“ control valve chamber ”, Para. 0015, 0017) and a second piston chamber 212 (“ accumulation chamber ”, Para. 0015, 0017); a first piston 206 (control valve piston, Fig. 2-3, Para. 0018) disposed in the first piston chamber 204 and dividing the first piston chamber into a spring chamber (with spring 210) and a fuel chamber (adjacent the fuel manifold 218 and accumulator passage 222, Fig. 2 below), the first piston movable within the first piston chamber between a first position (an “ open ” position shown in Fig. 3, connecting the manifold 218 to the passage 222), in which the fuel chamber has a first fluid volume (Fig. 3, a spring 210 pushes the end of the piston 206 to essentially abut the end of the piston chamber, reducing the volume of the “ fuel chamber ”), and a plurality of second positions, in which the fuel chamber has a second fluid volume (for instance, a position shown in Fig. 2, where the first piston is moved upward by high pressure fuel during engine operation, overcoming the spring 210 such that the fuel manifold and passage 222 are no longer in communication, Para. 0018; the second positions of the first piston 206 would naturally vary based on the fuel pressure applied from passage 226 and the pressure in the vent passage 220, Para. 0016-18; the volume of the fuel chamber varies based on the position of the piston, as the piston occupies varying amounts of the chamber); a second piston 214 (accumulator piston) disposed within the second piston chamber 212 and dividing the second piston chamber into a vent chamber (at end 215, connected to ambient air passage 224) and an expansion fluid chamber (at end 217, near the passage 222), the second piston movable within the second piston chamber to a plurality of second piston positions (the second piston position is capable of taking a plurality of positions based on the fuel pressure, Para. 0017-19, Fig. 2-3); and an expansion fluid (fuel) disposed within the expansion fluid chamber and contacting the second piston (Fig. 2 below, at the end 217 of the second piston), the expansion fluid configured to expand and contract in response to variations in temperature thereof, to thereby move the second piston to the plurality of second piston positions (Para. 0017-19, when the fuel remaining in the fuel manifold 218 absorbs heat remaining in the engine and thermally expands, the fuel enters the expansion chamber via the passage 222 and moves the second piston from its closed position towards an open position; as the engine cools down, the fuel temperature drops and the fuel contracts, and the second piston moves back towards a closed position; multiple positions between fully open and fully closed would naturally occur during the cooldown period as the fuel temperature and fluid pressure upon the end 217 decreases). Regarding claim 3 , Ellsworth discloses the system of claim 2, wherein: when the fuel supplied to the fuel manifold 218 is at a fluid pressure of a least a predetermined magnitude (a pressure adequate to overcome the spring 210 i.e. when the overall fuel pressure in the overall fuel system is high when the engine is operating; the fuel in the fuel manifold would naturally have a similar fluid pressure during engine operation), the fuel applies a fluid force to the first piston 206 (via high pressure passage 226) to thereby (i) move the first piston to at least one of the plurality of second positions (such as shown in Fig. 2, a “ closed position ”) and (ii) allow additional fuel to flow into the fuel chamber (Fig. 2 above, fuel from the high pressure passage 226 at a predetermined magnitude applies an adequate fluid force on the first piston 206 to overcome the spring force from spring 210, and also enters a high-pressure side of the second piston 214 via orifice 228, and then flows back to the fuel chamber via orifice 230; hence an “additional fuel flow” enters the fuel chamber when the first piston is in the second/“ closed ” position; when the first piston is in the first/“ open ” position, the fuel does not apply adequate fluid force to keep the first piston closed, and the spring 210 forces the first piston open, and consequently the orifices 228, 230 are blocked from the passage 226; fuel from the manifold 218 then flows into passage 222 to the second piston chamber; Para. 0016-19). Regarding claim 6 , Ellsworth discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the hydraulic accumulator 120 further comprises: a spring 210 disposed within the spring chamber (Fig. 2 above) and contacting the first piston 206 and the inner surface of the main body (Fig. 2 above), the spring supplying a spring force to the first piston 206 that urges the first piston toward the first position (shown in Fig. 3, opening the fuel manifold 218 to the passage 222). Regarding claim 7 , Ellsworth discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the main body further includes: a fuel line opening extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, the fuel line opening in fluid communication the fuel manifold 218 and selectively in fluid communication with the first piston chamber (Fig. 2 above, the opening shown connecting to the manifold 218, which is communication with the fuel chamber); a spring chamber vent opening 220 extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, the spring chamber vent opening fluidly communicating the spring chamber with an ambient environment surrounding the main body (Para. 0016-18, the vent opening 220 is a low pressure “ drain passage ” leading to outside the environment of the main body of the accumulator, which could be broadly construed as an “ ambient environment surrounding the main body ” of the accumulator; the claim does not specify what fluid is in the spring chamber or its vent opening); and a vent chamber vent opening 224 extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, the vent chamber vent opening fluidly communicating the vent chamber with the ambient environment surrounding the main body (Para. 0017, the passage 224 is an air passage open to an ambient air environment; the claim does not specify what fluid is in the vent chamber or its vent opening). Regarding independent claim 8 , Ellsworth discloses a gas turbine engine system, comprising: a fuel source operable to supply fuel (implicit from the disclosure, Fig. 1, Para. 0014-16); and a gas turbine engine (Fig. 1) including at least a compressor 106, a combustor 108, and a turbine 112, and further including: a fuel manifold 218 in fluid communication with the fuel source (Para. 0016, the manifold is connected to the “ engine’s fuel system ”) to receive the fuel supplied thereby, the fuel manifold having first thermal expansion characteristics (implicit, Para. 0019, “ As heat from the engine causes fuel remaining in the fuel manifold lines to heat up and expand… ”); at least one fuel nozzle coupled to the fuel manifold, the at least one fuel nozzle adapted to inject the fuel supplied to the manifold into a combustor 108 (fuel nozzles providing fuel to a combustor are implicit in a gas turbine engine having a fuel system as shown in Fig. 1); and a hydraulic accumulator 120 (accumulator system, Fig. 2-3) thermally coupled to, and in fluid communication with, the manifold 218 (Para. 0015-16), the hydraulic accumulator configured to exhibit second thermal expansion characteristics (implicit), the second thermal expansion characteristics substantially equivalent to the first thermal expansion characteristics (the fuel within the manifold expands into the accumulator system, and thus the accumulator would “exhibit” the same thermal expansion characteristics as the fuel manifold and fuel since the same fuel is entering the accumulator; Para. 0019, “ As heat from the engine causes fuel remaining in the fuel manifold lines to heat up and expand, the opening of control valve 206 to fuel manifold passage 218 enables fuel expansion into accumulator system 120 . The expanding fuel increases the pressure in accumulator passage 222 working against ambient pressure in ambient passage 224, moving accumulator piston 214 to the open position solely by exerting a force strong enough to overcome the minimal resistance between accumulator piston 214 and o-ring seals 216. Expansion of the fuel into accumulator system 120 prevents pressure build-up in the manifold and thus, leakage of fuel vapors out of the engine ”). Regarding claim 9 , Ellsworth discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the hydraulic accumulator 120 comprises: a main body including an outer surface and an inner surface (see the accumulator 120 in Fig. 4, an outer surface is shown, and inner surfaces shown schematically in Fig. 2-3), the outer surface thermally coupled to the fuel manifold 218 (Fig. 2-3, since the fuel manifold is coupled to the accumulator as shown, and fuel thermally expands from the manifold into the accumulator, they are “ thermally coupled ” via the fuel), the inner surface defining main cavity 204, 212 (collectively formed by the chambers 204 & 212 housing pistons 206, 214); a separator wall (Fig. 2 below) extending radially inwardly from the inner surface into the main cavity (forming an “ accumulator passage 222 ” shown in Fig. 2 & 3, the wall extends radially inward relative to an axis of the piston 214), thereby separating the main cavity into a first piston chamber 204 (“ control valve chamber ”, Para. 0015, 0017) and a second piston chamber 212 (“ accumulation chamber ”, Para. 0015, 0017); a first piston 206 (control valve piston, Fig. 2-3, Para. 0018) disposed in the first piston chamber 204 and dividing the first piston chamber into a spring chamber (with spring 210) and a fuel chamber (adjacent the fuel manifold 218 and accumulator passage 222, Fig. 2 below), the first piston movable within the first piston chamber between a first position (an “open” position shown in Fig. 3, connecting the manifold 218 to the passage 222), in which the fuel chamber has a first fluid volume (Fig. 3, a spring 210 pushes the end of the piston 206 to essentially abut the end of the piston chamber, reducing the volume of the “ fuel chamber ”), and a plurality of second positions, in which the fuel chamber has a second fluid volume (for instance, a position shown in Fig. 2, where the first piston is moved upward by high pressure fuel during engine operation, overcoming the spring 210 such that the fuel manifold and passage 222 are no longer in communication, Para. 0018; the second positions of the first piston 206 would naturally vary based on the fuel pressure applied from passage 226 and the pressure in the vent passage 220, Para. 0016-18); a second piston 214 (accumulator piston) disposed within the second piston chamber 212 and dividing the second piston chamber into a vent chamber (at end 215, connected to ambient air passage 224) and an expansion fluid chamber (at end 217, near the passage 222), the second piston movable within the second piston chamber to a plurality of second piston positions (the second piston position is capable of taking a plurality of positions based on the fuel pressure, Para. 0017-19, Fig. 2-3); and an expansion fluid (fuel) disposed within the expansion fluid chamber and contacting the second piston (Fig. 2 below, at the end 217 of the second piston), the expansion fluid configured to expand and contract in response to variations in temperature thereof, to thereby move the second piston to the plurality of second piston positions (Para. 0017-19, when the fuel remaining in the fuel manifold 218 absorbs heat remaining in the engine and thermally expands, the fuel enters the expansion chamber via the passage 222 and moves the second piston from its closed position towards an open position; as the engine cools down, the fuel temperature drops and the fuel contracts, and the second piston moves back towards a closed position; multiple positions between fully open and fully closed would naturally occur during the cooldown period as the fuel temperature and fluid pressure upon the end 217 decreases). Regarding claim 10 , Ellsworth discloses the system of claim 9, wherein: when the fuel supplied to the fuel manifold 218 is at a fluid pressure of a least a predetermined magnitude (a pressure adequate to overcome the spring 210 i.e. when the overall fuel pressure in the overall fuel system is high when the engine is operating; the fuel in the fuel manifold would naturally have a similar fluid pressure during engine operation), the fuel applies a fluid force to the first piston 206 (via high pressure passage 226) to thereby (i) move the first piston to at least one of the plurality of second positions (such as shown in Fig. 2, a “ closed position ”) and (ii) allow additional fuel to flow into the fuel chamber (Fig. 2 above, fuel from the high pressure passage 226 at a predetermined magnitude applies an adequate fluid force on the first piston 206 to overcome the spring force from spring 210, and also enters a high-pressure side of the second piston 214 via orifice 228, and then flows back to the fuel chamber via orifice 230; hence an “additional fuel flow” enters the fuel chamber when the first piston is in the second/“ closed ” position; when the first piston is in the first/“ open ” position, the fuel does not apply adequate fluid force to keep the first piston closed, and the spring 210 forces the first piston open, and consequently the orifices 228, 230 are blocked from the passage 226; fuel from the manifold 218 then flows into passage 222 to the second piston chamber; Para. 0016-19). Regarding claim 13 , Ellsworth discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the hydraulic accumulator 120 further comprises: a spring 210 disposed within the spring chamber (Fig. 2 above) and contacting the first piston 206 and the inner surface of the main body (Fig. 2 above), the spring supplying a spring force to the first piston 206 that urges the first piston toward the first position (shown in Fig. 3, opening the fuel manifold 218 to the passage 222). Regarding claim 14 , Ellsworth discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the main body further includes: a fuel line opening extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, the fuel line opening in fluid communication the fuel manifold 218 and selectively in fluid communication with the first piston chamber (Fig. 2 above, the opening shown connecting to the manifold 218, which is communication with the fuel chamber); a spring chamber vent opening 220 extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, the spring chamber vent opening fluidly communicating the spring chamber with an ambient environment surrounding the main body (Para. 0016-18, the vent opening 220 is a low pressure “ drain passage ” leading to outside the environment of the main body of the accumulator, which could be broadly construed as an “ ambient environment surrounding the main body ” of the accumulator; the claim does not specify what fluid is in the spring chamber or its vent opening); and a vent chamber vent opening 224 extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, the vent chamber vent opening fluidly communicating the vent chamber with the ambient environment surrounding the main body (Para. 0017, the passage 224 is an air passage open to an ambient air environment; the claim does not specify what fluid is in the vent chamber or its vent opening). Regarding independent claim 15 , Ellsworth discloses a hydraulic accumulator 120 (Fig. 2 above), comprising: a main body including an outer surface and an inner surface (see the accumulator 120 in Fig. 4, an outer surface is shown, and inner surfaces shown schematically in Fig. 2-3), the outer surface adapted to be thermally coupled to a gas turbine engine fuel manifold 218 (Fig. 2-3, since the fuel manifold is coupled to the accumulator as shown, and fuel thermally expands from the manifold into the accumulator, they are “ thermally coupled ” via the fuel), the inner surface defining main cavity 204, 212 (collectively formed by the chambers 204 & 212 housing pistons 206, 214); a separator wall (Fig. 2 below) extending radially inwardly from the inner surface into the main cavity (forming an “ accumulator passage 222 ” shown in Fig. 2 & 3, the wall extends radially inward relative to an axis of the piston 214), thereby separating the main cavity into a first piston chamber 204 (“ control valve chamber ”, Para. 0015, 0017) and a second piston chamber 212 (“ accumulation chamber ”, Para. 0015, 0017); a first piston 206 (control valve piston, Fig. 2-3, Para. 0018) disposed in the first piston chamber 204 and dividing the first piston chamber into a spring chamber (with spring 210) and a fuel chamber (adjacent the fuel manifold 218 and accumulator passage 222, Fig. 2 below), the first piston movable within the first piston chamber between a first position (an “open” position shown in Fig. 3, connecting the manifold 218 to the passage 222), in which the fuel chamber has a first fluid volume (Fig. 3, a spring 210 pushes the end of the piston 206 to essentially abut the end of the piston chamber, leading to a reduced volume of the “ fuel chamber ”), and a plurality of second positions, in which the fuel chamber has a second fluid volume that is greater than the first fluid volume (for instance, a position shown in Fig. 2, where the first piston is moved upward by high pressure fuel during engine operation, overcoming the spring 210 such that the fuel manifold and passage 222 are no longer in communication, Para. 0018; the volume of the fuel chamber in the second position is greater than the first position’s volume, since the first piston is not partially occupying part of the fuel chamber; the second positions of the first piston 206 would naturally vary based on the fuel pressure applied from passage 226 and the pressure in the vent passage 220, Para. 0016-18); a spring 210 disposed within the spring chamber (Fig. 2 above) and contacting the first piston 206 and the inner surface of the main body (Fig. 2 above), the spring supplying a spring force to the first piston 206 that urges the first piston toward the first position (shown in Fig. 3, opening the fuel manifold 218 to the passage 222); a second piston 214 (accumulator piston) disposed within the second piston chamber 212 and dividing the second piston chamber into a vent chamber (at end 215, connected to ambient air passage 224) and an expansion fluid chamber (at end 217, near the passage 222), the second piston movable within the second piston chamber to a plurality of second piston positions (the second piston position is capable of taking a plurality of positions based on the fuel pressure, Para. 0017-19, Fig. 2-3); and an expansion fluid (fuel) disposed within the expansion fluid chamber and contacting the second piston (Fig. 2 below, at the end 217 of the second piston), the expansion fluid configured to expand and contract in response to variations in temperature thereof, to thereby move the second piston to the plurality of second piston positions (Para. 0017-19, when the fuel remaining in the fuel manifold 218 absorbs heat remaining in the engine and thermally expands, the fuel enters the expansion chamber via the passage 222 and moves the second piston from its closed position towards an open position; as the engine cools down, the fuel temperature drops and the fuel contracts, and the second piston moves back towards a closed position; multiple positions between fully open and fully closed would naturally occur during the cooldown period as the fuel temperature and fluid pressure upon the end 217 decreases); wherein, when the fuel supplied to the fuel manifold 218 is at a fluid pressure of a least a predetermined magnitude (a pressure adequate to overcome the spring 210 i.e. when the overall fuel pressure in the overall fuel system is high when the engine is operating; the fuel in the fuel manifold would naturally have a similar fluid pressure during engine operation), the fuel applies a fluid force to the first piston 206 (via high pressure passage 226) to thereby (i) move the first piston to at least one of the plurality of second positions (such as shown in Fig. 2, a “ closed position ”) and (ii) allow additional fuel to flow into the fuel chamber (Fig. 2 above, fuel from the high pressure passage 226 at a predetermined magnitude applies an adequate fluid force on the first piston 206 to overcome the spring force from spring 210, and also enters a high-pressure side of the second piston 214 via orifice 228, and then flows back to the fuel chamber via orifice 230; hence an “additional fuel flow” enters the fuel chamber when the first piston is in the second/“ closed ” position; when the first piston is in the first/“ open ” position, the fuel does not apply adequate fluid force to keep the first piston closed, and the spring 210 forces the first piston open, and consequently the orifices 228, 230 are blocked from the passage 226; fuel from the manifold 218 then flows into passage 222 to the second piston chamber; Para. 0016-19). Regarding claim 18 , Ellsworth discloses the hydraulic accumulator of claim 15 (see Claim Objection above), wherein the main body further includes: a fuel line opening extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, the fuel line opening in fluid communication the fuel manifold 218 and selectively in fluid communication with the first piston chamber (Fig. 2 above, the opening shown connecting to the manifold 218, which is selectively in communication with the fuel chamber depending on the first piston position); a spring chamber vent opening 220 extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, the spring chamber vent opening fluidly communicating the spring chamber with an ambient environment surrounding the main body (Para. 0016-18, the vent opening 220 is a low pressure “ drain passage ” leading to outside the environment of the main body of the accumulator, which could be broadly construed as an “ ambient environment surrounding the main body ” of the accumulator; the claim does not specify what fluid is in the spring chamber or its vent opening); and a vent chamber vent opening 224 extending between the inner surface and the outer surface, the vent chamber vent opening fluidly communicating the vent chamber with the ambient environment surrounding the main body (Para. 0017, the passage 224 is an air passage open to an ambient air environment; the claim does not specify what fluid is in the vent chamber or its vent opening) . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim s 4-5, 11-12, 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims . 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 4, 11, & 16 , the closest prior art of record fails to teach or suggest in combination with other claimed limitations, the second piston, in response to expansion and contraction of the expansion fluid, at least selectively applies a drive force to the first piston to thereby assist the fluid force (“ at least selectively applies a drive force ” interpreted as applying a drive force to the first piston during at least one of the expansion or contraction of the expansion fluid). Claims 5, 12, 17 would be allowable for the same reasons as claims 4, 11 & 16, respectively . Pertinent Prior Art The prior art made of record on the attached PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pora (US 20190367176 A1, US 11691751 B2), Eder (US 4612766 A), Coffinberry (US 6578362 B2), Adi (US 20150075633 A1, US 9377116 B2), Moore (US 2986881 A) teach fuel hydraulic accumulators for fuel systems in turbine engines. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALAIN CHAU whose telephone number is (571)272-9444. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9am-6pm PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Devon Kramer can be reached on 571 272 7118. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALAIN CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 2 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 3 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 4 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 5 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 6 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 7 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 8 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 9 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 10 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 11 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 12 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 13 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 14 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 15 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 16 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 17 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 18 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/912,967 Page 19 Art Unit: 3741