CTNF 18/913,057 CTNF 87628 DETAILED ACTION This office action is in response to the application filed on 10/11/2024 . Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites “wherein a number of turns of the first coil is zero”. However, a coil by definition has at least 1 turn so a coil having zero turns is not a coil is a wire. Therefore, it is not clear what the applicant meant by having zero turn, is it that the coil is adjusted to reflect zero turns or is it a wire or another element. 07-36 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. 07-36-01 AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all t he limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15 recite limitations of the reference potential controller which is introduce in claim 14 not claim 1 therefore, claim 15 should depend from claim 14 . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 4 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin US 2023/0020726 in view of Tung US 2024/0275274 . Regarding Claim 1, Jin teaches (Figures 2-4 and 7) a power converter (1b), comprising: a first bridge arm (12) connected between an input power supply (vin+) and a reference potential (vin-), the first bridge arm including a first switch and a second switch connected in series (M1-M2), and the first switch is connected to the second switch to define a first connection point (b); a second bridge arm (16) connected in parallel with the first bridge arm (12) between the input power supply and the reference potential (vin+/-), the second bridge arm including a first capacitor (Cb1) and a second capacitor (Cb2) connected in series, and the first capacitor is connected to the second capacitor to define a second connection point (G and E); a coupling inductance connected (Lo) between the first connection point and the second connection point (A and E) such that a center tap of the coupling inductance is connected to a load (at Vo); and a first resonant inductor (Lr1) connected in series with the coupling inductance (Lo) between the first connection point (A) and the second connection point (E). (For Example: Par. 73-74) (Examiner’s Note: Node G and E are the same because there are no interleaving elements between them.) Jin does not teach the first resonant inductor defining a series resonant circuit with each of the first capacitor and the second capacitor. Tung teaches (Figure 1c) the first resonant inductor (Lr) defining a series resonant circuit with each of the first capacitor and the second capacitor (Cr1-Cr2). (For example: Par. 37-41) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Jin to include the first resonant inductor defining a series resonant circuit with each of the first capacitor and the second capacitor, as taught by Tung to improve frequency control and reduce unwanted harmonics. Regarding Claim 2, Jin teaches (Figures 2-4 and 7)wherein the coupling inductance (Lo) includes a first coil and a second coil magnetically coupled (Lo1-Lo2) with the first coil; an end of the first coil (Lo1) is connected to an end of the second coil (Lo2) to define the center tap (at Vo); the power converter further comprises an output filtering capacitor (Co), a third switch and a fourth switch each including a rectifier (M4 and M8); another end of the first coil is connected to the third switch (M8); another end of the second coil (Lo2) is connected to the fourth switch (M4); the third switch is connected to the fourth switch to define a third connection point (Vo-); and the output filtering capacitor is connected between the center tap and the third connection point (Co). (For Example: Par. 73-74) Regarding Claim 4, Jin teaches (Figures 2-4 and 7) the first and second capacitor (Cb1-Cb2). Jin does not teach wherein a capacitance of the first capacitor is equal to a capacitance of the second capacitor. Tung teaches (Figure 1c) wherein a capacitance of the first capacitor is equal to a capacitance of the second capacitor (Cr1-Cr2, par. 38). (For example: Par. 37-41) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Jin to include wherein a capacitance of the first capacitor is equal to a capacitance of the second capacitor, as taught by Tung to improve frequency control and reduce unwanted harmonics. Regarding Claim 10, Jin teaches (Figures 2-4 and 7) wherein a first group of switches includes the first switch and the third switch (M1 and M8); a second group of switches includes the second switch and the fourth switch (M2 and M4); the first group of switches are controlled to be turned on or off synchronously (Fig. 3); the second group of switches are controlled to be turned on or off synchronously (Fig. 3); and the first group of switches and the second group of switches are controlled to have an identical turn-on duty cycle (Fig. 3). (For Example: Par. 47-55) Regarding Claim 11, Jin teaches (Figures 2-4 and 7)wherein each of the first group of switches and the second group of switches is controlled to have a turn-on duty cycle of 50% without considering dead zone (par. 33 and 52); and a phase difference between a control signal of the first group of switches and a control signal of the second group of switches is 180 degrees (Fig. 3). (For Example: Par. 73-74 and 47-55) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin US 2023/0020726 in view of Tung US 2024/0275274 and further in view of Jin US 2022/0247303 (herein Jin2) . Regarding Claim 3, Jin teaches (Figures 2-4 and 7) the converter. Jin does not teach wherein the coupling inductance includes a third coil connected between the first coil and the second connection point. Jin2 teaches (Figures 9-11) wherein the coupling inductance (T1-T3) includes a third coil ()T3 connected between the first coil (T1) and the second connection point (p6). (For example: Par. 26-31) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Jin to include wherein the coupling inductance includes a third coil connected between the first coil and the second connection point, as taught by Jin2 to provide high power density. Regarding Claim 5, Jin teaches (Figures 2-4 and 7) the converter. Jin does not teach wherein the first resonant inductor includes a circuit parasitic inductance. Jin2 teaches (Figures 2b) wherein the first resonant inductor (Lr1 and Lm) includes a circuit parasitic inductance (Lm). (For example: Par. 33-36) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Jin to include wherein the first resonant inductor includes a circuit parasitic inductance, as taught by Jin2 to provide high power density. Regarding Claim 6, Jin teaches (Figures 2-4 and 7) the converter. Jin does not teach wherein a resonant frequency of the series resonant circuit is equal to an operating frequency of the power converter. Jin2 teaches (Figures 9-11) wherein a resonant frequency of the series resonant circuit is equal to an operating frequency of the power converter (eq. 2). (For example: Par. 36-41) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Jin to include wherein a resonant frequency of the series resonant circuit is equal to an operating frequency of the power converter, as taught by Jin2 to provide high power density . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin US 2023/0020726 in view of Tung US 2024/0275274 and further in view of Rizzolatti US 2020/0358352 . Regarding Claim 7, Jin teaches (Figures 2-4 and 7) the converter. Jin does not teach wherein a number of turns of the first coil is equal to a number of turns of the second coil. Rizzolatti teaches (Figure 1c) wherein a number of turns of the first coil is equal to a number of turns of the second coil (par. 51, N1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Jin to include the first resonant inductor defining a series resonant circuit with each of the first capacitor and the second capacitor, as taught by Tung to reduce switching losses and provides good power conversion efficiency . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 8, 12-13 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating Allowable Subject Matter: Claim 8; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…wherein the coupling inductance includes a first coil and a second coil magnetically coupled with the first coil; an end of the first coil is connected to an end of the second coil to define the center tap, another end of the first coil is connected to the second connection point, and another end of the second coil is connected to the first connection point; the power converter further comprises an output filtering capacitor, a first rectifier bridge arm and a second rectifier bridge arm, each of the first rectifier bridge arm and the second rectifier bridge arm being connected in parallel with the output filtering capacitor; the first rectifier bridge arm includes a third switch and a fifth switch connected in series, and a connection point at which the third switch is connected with the fifth switch is connected to the central tap; the second rectifier bridge arm includes a fourth switch and a sixth switch connected in series, and a connection point at which the fourth switch is connected with the sixth switch is connected to the first connection point; an end of the output filtering capacitor is connected to the fourth switch and the fifth switch; and another end of the output filtering capacitor is connected to the third switch and the sixth switch”. Claim 14; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…further comprising a reference potential controller configured or programmed to control a voltage of the reference potential; wherein the reference potential controller includes: a third capacitor connected between the reference potential and a standard potential; a third bridge arm connected between an input power supply and the standard potential, the third bridge arm including a fifth switch and a sixth switch connected in series, and the fifth switch is connected to the sixth switch to define a fourth connection point; and a second resonant inductor connected between the fourth connection point and the reference potential.” These features taken alone or in combination are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ whose telephone number is (571)270-7888. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MONICA LEWIS can be reached at 5712721838. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/913,057 Page 2 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/913,057 Page 3 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/913,057 Page 4 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/913,057 Page 5 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/913,057 Page 6 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/913,057 Page 8 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/913,057 Page 9 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/913,057 Page 10 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/913,057 Page 11 Art Unit: 2838