DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YAO et al (US 2020/0126731).
Regarding claim 17, YAO discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor (Fig. 1-3) comprising: a multilayer body (Fig. 1, 11) including: a multilayer body chip (Fig. 2-3, 11 where internal electrodes are) and side margin portions (Fig. 3, sides outside internal electrodes) on both side of the multilayer body chip in a width direction (Fig. 3, W); and two external electrodes (Fig. 2, 14a/b) on end surfaces (Fig. 2, 15a/b) of the multilayer body in a length direction (Fig. 2, L) intersecting a lamination direction (Fig. 2, T); wherein the multilayer chip includes an inner layer portion (Fig. 2, 122) and two outer layer portions (Fig. 2, 121 (considered different portions because they have different aspects to their materials [0029]) on both side of the inner layer portion in the lamination direction (Fig. 2); the inner layer portion includes internal electrode layers in the lamination direction (Fig. 2); the inner layer portion and the side margin portions each include ceramic grains ([0029]); a difference between an average grain size of the ceramic grains in the inner layer portion and an average grain size of the ceramic grains in the side margin portions is about 100 nm or less ([0029] 10% of 220 = 22nm which teaches the claim limitations), and a grain size of the ceramic grains is about 140 nm or more and about 270 nm or less ([0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO et al (US 2020/0126731) in view of Hashimoto (US 2020/0411248)
Regarding claim 18, YAO fails to teach the claim limitations.
Hashimoto teaches that the internal electrode layers include Ni as a main component ([0066]); and tin is located on an interface between the internal electrode layers and a dielectric layer ([0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Hashimoto to the invention of YAO, in order to provide a multilayer electronic component having high flexural strength (Hashimoto [0006].
Regarding claim 19, YAO, as modified by Hashimoto, further teaches that the tin is solidly dissolved in the internal electrode layers (Hashimoto [0063-0066]).
Regarding claim 20, YAO, as modified by Hashimoto, further teaches that the tin is solidly dissolved in the dielectric layer (Hashimoto [0057]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 1, the prior art fails to teach or suggest, alone or in combination:
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising: a multilayer body including: a multilayer body chip and side margin portions on both sides of the multilayer body chip in a width direction; and two external electrodes on end surfaces of the multilayer body in a length direction intersecting a lamination direction; wherein the multilayer body chip includes an inner layer portion and two outer layer portions on both sides of the inner layer portion in the lamination direction; the inner layer portion includes internal electrode layers in the lamination direction; the inner layer portion and the side margin portions each include ceramic grains; a difference between an average grain size of the ceramic grains in the inner layer portion and an average grain size of the ceramic grains in the side margin portions is about 100 nm or less; the inner layer portion and the side margin portions each include Si and Ti; and a molar ratio of Si to Ti in the inner layer portion is higher than a molar ratio of Si to Ti in the side margin portions.
Specifically, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious, alone or in combination, the limitation of “the inner layer portion and the side margin portions each include Si and Ti; and a molar ratio of Si to Ti in the inner layer portion is higher than a molar ratio of Si to Ti in the side margin portions” in combination with the other claim limitations.
Cited Prior Art
Tsuru et al (US 2020/0303125) teaches relevant art in Table 2.
SIM et al (US 2022/0139624) teaches relevant art in Fig. 3.
Nishimura et al (US 2015/0155099) teaches relevant art in [0038].
Yamaguchi (US 2014/0268489) teaches relevant art in [0029].
TERAOKA et al (US 2020/0111613) teaches relevant art in Fig. 3.
SUGITA et al (US 2016/0049255) teaches relevant art in [0062-0096].
HASHIMOTO et al (US 2020/0105468) teaches relevant art in Fig. 3.
PARK et al (US 2021/0005382) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicants arguments that the prior art fails to teach distinct inner and outer layer portions the examiner notes that as shown in the prior art the material for the inner and outer layer portions is different (YAO [0029]) this would show a distinction between the sections.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that there is a shown boundary between the layers and they are not in any way uniform) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant therefore does not provide any persuasive evidence that the limitations as claimed are not taught by the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL P MCFADDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847