DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-25 filed 10/11/2024 are pending in the application and are hereby examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Celsius degree is not correctly formatted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 depends from claim 1 and recites that the vegetable protein comprises soy protein. However, given that claim 1 recites both a textured vegetable protein and a vegetable protein, it is unclear the vegetable protein corresponds to which of the vegetable protein of claim 1. For the purpose of examination, the vegetable protein of claim 5 means the one in the emulsified gel. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 14 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 and 18 of copending Application No. 18/911,419 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9 and claim 18 recite a frozen emulsified gel comprising vegetable, fat, and water, and a processed meat-like food product comprising the frozen emulsified gel.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato JP2018029565A (cited in the IDS submitted 12/04/2024, English translation of the specification relied upon for reference, hereinafter referred to as Sato).
Regarding claims 14-21, Sato teaches a method of making an emulsion curd which is used to impart juiciness to a frozen meat-like processed food, the method comprising homogenizing a mixture of a vegetable protein (e.g., soy protein isolate, 0007 and 0033), water, oil (e.g., rapeseed oil which is canola oil, rice oil, corn oil, palm oil, etc., 0012) and a polysaccharide (e.g., methylcellulose) to form an emulsion, and heating the emulsion to form the emulsion curd (0007; 0033). Further, Sato teaches freezing the emulsion curd (0033).
The emulsion curd as disclosed by Sato is interpreted to read on the limitation about the “emulsion gel” as recited in claim 14, given that Sato teaches that the process of making the emulsion curd includes forming an emulsion of vegetable protein, water and oil, followed by heat setting the emulsion at a temperature of 70 to 95°C for 40 to 70 minutes (0021), which is consistent with the process of making an emulsified gel as recited in the instant specification (see para. 0006 and 0046). Further, para. 0004 of the instant specification appears to admit that the emulsion curd as disclosed by Sato is an emulsified gel.
Further, Sato teaches that the amount of vegetable protein in the emulsified gel is 1-10%, the amount of water in the emulsified gel is 10-50%, the amount of oil in the emulsified gel is 45-85%, and the amount of polysaccharide in the emulsified gel is 0.1-5% (0007; 0014). As such, the amounts of water and oil as disclosed by Sato fall within the ranges as recited in claims 15-16, the amount of polysaccharide as disclosed by Sato overlaps with the range as recited in claim 20, and the amount of vegetable protein relative to the amount of oil as disclosed by Sato overlaps with the range as recited in claim 14 (calculation, Sato teaches 1-10% soy protein and 45-85% oil, thus the ratio of protein/oil is 1%/85%- 10%/45% which is 1.2-22%). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Further, Sato teaches that the soy protein isolate used is New Fuji Pro SEH (0032), which according to para. 0081 of the instant specification is a low-denatured vegetable protein.
Claims 1-10 and 12-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato JP2018029565A (cited in the IDS submitted 12/04/2024, English translation of the specification relied upon for reference, hereinafter referred to as Sato) in view of Dreher WO 2021/009043 A1 (cited in the IDS submitted 12/04/2024, hereinafter referred to as Dreher) and Sun US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0197904 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Sun).
Regarding claims 1-10 and 12-25, Sato teaches a method of making a frozen meat-like processed food such as burgers, patties, ham, frankfurters, etc.(0010), the method comprising adding an emulsion curd to a meat-like food dough to form a mixture, followed by heating and freezing (0006-0007) the mixture to form the frozen meat-like processed food, wherein the emulsion curd imparts juiciness to the frozen meat-like processed food (0007), and wherein the emulsion curd is made by homogenizing a mixture of a vegetable protein (e.g., soy protein isolate, 0007 and 0033), water, oil (e.g., rapeseed oil which is canola oil, rice oil, corn oil, palm oil, etc., 0012) and a polysaccharide (e.g., methylcellulose) to form an emulsion, and heating the emulsion at a temperature of 70 to 95°C to form the emulsion curd (0007; 0033).
The emulsion curd as disclosed by Sato is interpreted to read on the limitation about the “emulsion gel” as recited in claims 1 and 14, given that Sato teaches that the process of making the emulsion curd includes forming an emulsion of vegetable protein, water and oil, followed by heat setting the emulsion at a temperature of 70 to 95°C for (0021), which is consistent with the process of making an emulsified gel as recited in the instant specification (see para. 0006 and 0046). Further, para. 0004 of the instant specification appears to admit that the emulsion curd as disclosed by Sato is an emulsified gel.
Further, Sato teaches that the amount of vegetable protein in the emulsified gel is 1-10%, the amount of water in the emulsified gel is 10-50%, the amount of oil in the emulsified gel is 45-85%, and the amount of polysaccharide in the emulsified gel is 0.1-5% (0007; 0014). As such, the amounts of water and oil as disclosed by Sato fall within the ranges as recited in claims 3-4 and 15-16, the amount of polysaccharide as disclosed by Sato overlaps with the range as recited in claims 8 and 20, and the amount of vegetable protein relative to the amount of oil as disclosed by Sato overlaps with the range as recited in claims 2 and 14 (calculation, Sato teaches 1-10% soy protein and 45-85% oil, thus the ratio of protein/oil is 1%/85%- 10%/45% which is 1.2-22%). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Further, Sato teaches adding 1-50% the emulsion curd to the meat-like food dough (0007), thus the amount of emulsion gel in the frozen meat-like processed food overlaps the range as recited in claims 9 and 24. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Further, Sato teaches that the soy protein isolate used is New Fuji Pro SEH (0032), which according to para. 0081 of the instant specification is a low-denatured vegetable protein.
Sato teaches mixing the emulsion curd (e.g., emulsified gel) with a meat-like food dough that includes protein (e.g., granola soy protein) followed by heating and freezing to form a frozen meat-like processed food such as hamburgers, patties, ham, frankfurters, etc.(0010; 0040), thus being silent regarding a textured vegetable protein (TVP).
Dreher in the same field of endeavor teaches that hydrated TVP of pea can be combined with oil and a binder to make a plant-based meat analogue (e.g., burgers) (page 1,” Background of the invention”; example 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato by including TVP of pea in the meat-like food dough with reasonable expectation of success, for the reason that prior art has established that TVP can be used to make a plant-based meat analogue such as a burger.
Sato teaches mixing the emulsion curd (e.g., emulsified gel) with a meat-like food dough followed by heating and freezing to form a frozen meat-like processed food, but is silent regarding that the emulsified gel is frozen in the step of mixing. What Sato teaches is that the emulsified gel is gently mixed with the dough so as not to break down the emulsified gel (0039).
Sun teaches that freezing a gel could enhance the gel strength the gel (0025).
Both Sato and Sun are directed to a gel, and where Sato teaches mixing the emulsified gel with the dough gently to avoid breakage, Sun teaches that freezing a gel could improve the gel strength. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato by freezing the emulsified gel before mixing it with the dough. Doing so would have improved the gel strength of the emulsified gel and prevented breakage or rupture of the emulsified gel during mixing.
Given that Sato in view of Dreher and Sun arrives at the method of claim 1 and the product of claim 22, it logically follows that prior art product has the deliquoring rate at break of claim 25, which measures the juiciness of the processed meat-like food product. See In re Best. Note that Sato teaches that including the emulsified gel in the frozen meat-like processed food will increase the juiciness.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Art of record fails to teach freezing the ungelled emulsion to obtain an emulsified gel. To this end, Sato in view of and Sun teaches freezing a gel of the emulsion, and there is no motivation to freeze the emulsion before heat setting.
Conclusion
/CHANGQING LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791