DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 1-18 are rejected herein. This is a First Action on the Merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 8: Claim 1 recites “wherein the mounting ring is adapted to have an external structure affixed thereto to provide a watertight connection between the sensor and the external structure.” This limitation is indefinite because it is attempting to define a structure based on its intended use. Any external structure could be affixed to the mounting ring in any known way (e.g. molding, welding, adhesives, O-rings, crimping, etc.). Therefore it is unclear what structural limitations it places on the structure of claim 1 and on the mounting ring such that it is “adapted to have an external structure affixed thereto.” The limiting structure must be recited in more definite terms for the scope of the claim to be clear. This indefiniteness extends to claim 8, wherein it is not clear what structure this requires, especially when pretty much anything can be affixed to something else with an adhesive.
Regarding claims 2-8: These claims are rejected as indefinite for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as being anticipated by SUGANUMATA (US 20130234264).
Regarding claim 1: As best understood, SUGANUMATA discloses: A sensor (FIG. 18D) comprising: a substrate (18) having first and second opposing major sides (top and bottom of 18 in FIG. 18D); a cover (67, except for 67b) affixed to the first major side of the substrate (top of 18) to define a chamber (inside of 67 and filled with sealing material 70), the cover defining an opening (unnamed in 18D but clearly visible at the top of 67) to the chamber on a side of the cover opposite the first major side of the substrate (FIG. 18D), the cover sized and positioned such that a portion of the substrate extends beyond a perimeter of the cover (FIG. 18D shows that substrate 18 extends out beyond the perimeter of 67.); a sense die (30) mounted on the first major side of the substrate (FIG. 18D) within the chamber (FIG. 18D); and a mounting ring (67b) disposed on the portion of the first major side of the substrate that extends beyond the perimeter of the cover (FIG. 18D); wherein the mounting ring (67b) is adapted to have an external structure (94) affixed thereto to provide a watertight connection between the sensor and the external structure (sealing with O-ring in para. 92).
Regarding claims 3 and 11: As best understood, SUGANUMATA discloses: a plurality of lands (pads 40 in FIGS. 3-11) disposed on the substrate and adapted to provide a plurality of electrical connections to an external device (FIGS. 3-11).
Regarding claims 6 and 16: As best understood, SUGANUMATA discloses: the sensor comprises a force sensor or a pressure sensor (para. 4).
Regarding claims 7 and 17: As best understood, SUGANUMATA discloses: a potting gel (70 in FIG. 18D; para. 61) contained within the chamber (FIG. 18D).
Regarding claim 9: SUGANUMATA discloses: A method of providing a waterproof seal between a sensor and a structure external to the sensor, the method comprising: affixing an external structure (94 in FIG. 18D) along an entire length of a mounting ring (67b) of a sensor (Housing 94 extends the entire circumference of the ring 67b.) to provide a watertight connection between the sensor and the external structure (sealed at the O-ring sitting on 67c); wherein the sensor comprises: a substrate (18) having first (top) and second (bottom) opposing major sides (FIG. 18D); a cover (67, not including 67b) affixed to the first major side (top) of the substrate (18) to define a chamber (filled with sealant 70), the cover (67 not including 67b) defining an opening (96 in FIG. 18B) to the chamber on a side of the cover opposite the first major side of the substrate (FIG. 18D), the cover sized and positioned such that a portion of the substrate extends beyond a perimeter of the cover (FIG. 18D shows that substrate 18 extends out beyond the perimeter of 67.); and a sense die (30) mounted on the first major side of the substrate (FIG. 18D) within the chamber (FIG. 18D); and wherein the mounting ring (67b) is disposed on the portion of the first major side of the substrate that extends beyond the perimeter of the cover (FIG. 18D).
Regarding claim 13: SUGANUMATA discloses: the external structure is a case of a mobile device (para. 128).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as being anticipated by YOSHIDA et al. (US 20200381371).
Regarding claims 1 and 8: As best understood, YOSHIDA discloses: A sensor (FIG. 3A) comprising: a substrate (12) having first (top of 12) and second (bottom of 12) opposing major sides (FIG. 3A); a cover (central part of 22 from 22c inward) affixed to the first major side of the substrate (FIG. 3A) to define a chamber (central area inside 22 including 22a), the cover defining an opening (22a) to the chamber on a side of the cover opposite the first major side of the substrate (FIG. 3A), the cover sized and positioned such that a portion of the substrate extends beyond a perimeter of the cover (12 extends out beyond the edge of 22c); a sense die (16) mounted on the first major side of the substrate within the chamber (FIG. 3A); and a mounting ring (22d) disposed on the portion of the first major side of the substrate that extends beyond the perimeter of the cover (FIG. 3A); wherein the mounting ring is adapted to have an external structure (6) affixed thereto to provide a watertight connection between the sensor and the external structure (para. 62).
Regarding claim 3: As best understood, YOSHIDA discloses: a plurality of lands (12c in FIG. 3A) disposed on the substrate (12) and adapted to provide a plurality of electrical connections to an external device (para. 51).
Regarding claim 4: As best understood, YOSHIDA discloses: the plurality of lands (12c in FIG. 3A) is disposed on the second major side (bottom) of the substrate (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGANUMATA in view of BITTNER et al. (US 20240279049) and DEHE et al. (WO 2025056573). Please note that a machine translation of DEHE has been included with this office action. All references to text in DEHE are to the attached machine translation.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18: As best understood, SUGANUMATA does not disclose a solder ring.
BITTNER however does disclose using solder rings (19 in FIG. 2B as discussed in para. 180.)
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use a solder ring as taught by BITTNER to attach the sensor of SUGANUMATA external structure of SUGANUMATA because it provides both an electrical connection and a hermetic seal (para. 72, 134). Furthermore, DEHE teaches that solder rings are advantageous because they provide a long-lasting fixed connection (page 9 lines 17-25), they can be used to provide an electrical connection (page 9 lines 17-25), and they are simple to implement (page 9 lines 17-25) allowing for manufacturing efficiency and cost savings.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUGANUMATA in view of WAGNER et al. (US 20250076141).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 14: As best understood, SUGANUMATA discloses: the plurality of lands (pads 40 in FIGS. 3-11) is disposed on the first major side (top) of the substrate (10).
SUGANUMATA does not disclose that the lands are between the mounting ring and a perimeter of the substrate.
WAGNER however does teach a set of lands (contact pads 412 in FIG. 1) that are near the perimeter of a substrate (410) outside a cover (440) containing a sensor die (420 in FIG. 2).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to locate the pads/lands of a sensor such as that of WAGNER, SUGANUMATA, or the present application in any suitable location for the signal to be read by the external circuit (para. 28 of WAGNER). Please note that the present application teaches that the lands/pads can be on the top or bottom of the invention. WAGNER uses lands/pads (412 in FIG. 2) outside the cover on the substrate or uses pins (550 in FIG. 5). SUGANUMATA uses lands/pads inside the cover that connect with through-holes through the substrate (para. 8). Therefore all such known locations are an obvious rearrangement of parts. Regarding the rearrangement of parts, MPEP 2144.04 VI C states:
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). However, “The mere fact that a worker in the art could rearrange the parts of the reference device to meet the terms of the claims on appeal is not by itself sufficient to support a finding of obviousness. The prior art must provide a motivation or reason for the worker in the art, without the benefit of appellant’s specification, to make the necessary changes in the reference device.” Ex parte Chicago Rawhide Mfg. Co., 223 USPQ 351, 353 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1984).
In the present application there is no new or unexpected result resulting from the placement of the lands/pads. It is simply the electrical connection to the external circuit that will be placed in a convenient location based on the geometry of the apparatus into which the sensor is installed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Dependent claim 15 contains allowable subject matter. None of the prior art of record teaches or suggests the claimed invention. Specifically not found in the prior art of record are the limitations of affixing the sensor to a motherboard of a mobile device such that the cover of the sensor device protrudes through a hole defined in the motherboard.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL J KOLB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855