DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues claim 1 has been amended to recite a “metal bracket” and the metal bracket is not a mere structural support but a thermal carrier that integrate other parts not taught by the prior art as a single device. This argument is found persuasive and claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, and 9 are allowed.
Regarding claim 10, Applicant argues that the “features correspond to those features of the method of claim 1”. Firstly, both claims 1 and 10 are apparatus claims. However, claim 10 is directed to controls of an apparatus while not reciting the “metal bracket” of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of claims 10-12 is maintained.
Regarding claim 13, Applicant argues the “claim 13 is directed to a control method that has features that correspond to those features of the system of claim 1” but this is not found persuasive. Claim 13 does not recite a majority of the features of claim 1 including a “metal bracket. Therefore, the rejection of claims 13-14 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anegawa (US 2021/0402687 A1).
Regarding clam 13, Anegawa meets the claimed control method, comprising: preheating a previous layer of a current layer; (Anegawa teaches in a second embodiment hot air HA is blown from the first heating and cooling unit 250A passing over the (n−1)th layer Ln-1, so that the upper surface of the (n−1)-th layer Ln-1 is heated to a temperature equal to or higher than a glass transition point, [0074], Fig. 12) and controlling a material extrusion apparatus to extrude a molten material to print the current layer. (A plasticized material is ejected from each of the nozzles 68A to 68D of the ejection unit 60 passing over the (n−1)-th layer [0074]) flattening the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed, so that the current layer keeps flat. (The n-th layer Ln flattened by the first flattening unit 230A [0074]).
Regarding clam 14, Anegawa meets the claimed control method according to claim 13, further comprising: cooling the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed. (The n-th layer Ln flattened by the first flattening unit 230A is cooled by cold air CA sent from the second heating and cooling unit 250B to promote curing [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anegawa (US 2021/0402687 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Anegawa meets the claimed 3D printing system, comprising: a material extrusion apparatus, (three-dimensional shaping device, Fig. 14-16, [0079]) configured to extrude a molten material to print a current layer; (the ejection unit 60, [0083]) a first layer processing system, disposed on a side of the material extrusion apparatus and moving following a motion of the material extrusion apparatus; (heater 233 is provided inside the roller 231. A temperature of the heater 233 is controlled by the control unit 500, [0082], Fig. 14) a second layer processing system, disposed on another side of the material extrusion apparatus and moving following a motion of the material extrusion apparatus; (flattening unit 230D, Fig. 14-16) and a control apparatus, connected to the first layer processing system and the second layer processing system; ( control unit 500 Fig. 14) wherein the first layer processing system comprises: a first preheating apparatus, (first surface activation unit 210A) and a first roller apparatus, (roller 231, Fig. 14) located between the first preheating apparatus (first surface activation unit 210A) and the material extrusion apparatus and configured to flatten the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed; (flattening unit 230D) and wherein the second layer processing system comprises: a second preheating apparatus, (210B, Fig. 14) and a second roller apparatus, (230C, Fig. 14) located between the second preheating apparatus and the material extrusion apparatus and configured to flatten the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed; (second flattening unit 230D passes over the (n−1)-th layer Ln-1 while being in contact with the upper surface of the (n−1)-th layer [0084]) and wherein the control apparatus is configured to perform following operations: in response to the material extrusion apparatus moving towards a side on which the first layer processing system is located, controlling the first preheating apparatus and the second roller apparatus to be in an operating state, (temperature of the heater 233 is controlled by the control unit 500, [0082], Fig. 16) and the second preheating apparatus and the first roller apparatus to be in a non-operating state; ( the control unit 500 turns on the heater 233 of the second flattening unit 230D and turns off the heater 233 of the first flattening unit 230C, [0083]) and in response to the material extrusion apparatus moving towards a side on which the second layer processing system is located, controlling the second preheating apparatus and the first roller apparatus to be in an operating state, and the first preheating apparatus and the second roller apparatus to be in a non-operating state. ( the control unit 500 turns on the heater 233 of the first flattening unit 230C and turns off the heater 233 of the second flattening unit 230D, [0085]).
Anegawa does not teach in a single embodiment a first preheating apparatus, configured to preheat a previous layer of the current layer before the current layer is printed, and a second preheating apparatus configured to preheat the previous layer of the current layer before the current layer is printed.
Anegawa teaches in the third embodiment first surface activation unit 210A and second activation unit 210B on each side of the extrusion nozzle to treat upper surface of each layer to be chemically activated by being irradiated with the plasma PL, [0086].
Anegawa teaches in a second embodiment hot air HA is blown from the first heating and cooling unit 250A passing over the (n−1)th layer Ln-1, so that the upper surface of the (n−1)-th layer Ln-1 is heated to a temperature equal to or higher than a glass transition point, [0074], Fig. 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the hot air device 250A on each side of the extrusion apparatus of Anegawa in order to improve layer compaction by heating the upper surface of the (n−1)-th layer Ln-1 to a temperature equal to or higher than a glass transition point, [0074].
Regarding claim 11, Anegawa does not teach in a single embodiment 3D printing system according to claim 10, wherein the first roller apparatus or the second roller apparatus or both the first roller apparatus and the second roller apparatus are further provided with: a cooling apparatus, configured to cool the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed.
Anegawa teaches in the second embodiment wherein the first roller apparatus or the second roller apparatus or both the first roller apparatus and the second roller apparatus are further provided with: a cooling apparatus, configured to cool the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed. (second flattening unit 230B is cooled by the cold air CA sent from the first heating and cooling unit 250A to promote curing [0076], Fig. 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the cooling apparatus of the second embodiment of Anegawa with the rollers of the third embodiment of Anegawa because it promotes curing of the layer, see [0076].
Regarding claim 12, Anegawa meets the claimed 3D printing system according to claim 10, further comprising: a lifting mechanism, connected to the first preheating apparatus and the second preheating apparatus; (Examiner notes the rejection of 10 combined the second and third embodiments of Anegawa such that the preheating mechanism is met by a combination of the heated rollers 230C/230D Fig. 14 and second embodiment hot air HA is blown from the unit 250A, Fig. 10) wherein the control apparatus is further configured to perform following operations: in response to the material extrusion apparatus moving towards the side on which the first layer processing system is located, controlling the lifting mechanism to make the first preheating apparatus located at a position closer to the previous layer than the second preheating apparatus; ( prior to a movement of the shaping unit 200b with respect to the stage 300, the control unit 500 controls the roller support unit 232 of the second flattening unit 230B to raise the roller 231 of the second flattening unit 230B to the +Z direction side with respect to each of the nozzles 68A to 68D, [0073]. Examiner notes the combination above renders the claim step obvious) and in response to the material extrusion apparatus moving towards the side on which the second layer processing system is located, controlling the lifting mechanism to make the second preheating apparatus located at a position closer to the previous layer than the first preheating apparatus. (second flattening unit 230B to the −Z direction side with respect to each of the nozzles 68A to 68D, and controls the roller support unit 232 of the first flattening unit 230A to raise the roller 231 of the first flattening unit 230A to the +Z direction side, [0075] Examiner notes the combination above renders the claim step obvious).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, and 9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Anegawa (US 2021/0402687 A1) teaches hot air HA is blown from the first heating and cooling unit 250A passing over the (n−1)th layer Ln-1, so that the upper surface of the (n−1)-th layer Ln-1 is heated to a temperature equal to or higher than a glass transition point, [0074], Fig. 12).
Fetfatsidis (US 2021/0154889 A1) teaches [0024] a 3D printer with a second printer head and consolidate the resulting laminate with a combination of heat and/or applied force 180, [0070] a device for actively cooling the rollers (e.g., the compaction rollers of a printer head). The cooling device 199 may, in certain embodiments, be capable of directing fluid toward the rollers.
Yamamoto (US 2016/0221261 A1) levelling roller 190 as a planarizing section that levels shaping material 182, scraping member 192, [0045], Fig. 5 and 10.
Regarding claim 1, the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed apparatus configured to preheat a previous layer of the current layer before the current layer is printed; and a flattening apparatus, configured to: after printing of the current layer is completed, flatten the current layer, so that the current layer keeps flat; wherein the flattening apparatus comprises a roller apparatus, the roller apparatus comprises a roller, a heating apparatus and a heat dissipation apparatus, the roller, the heating apparatus and the heat dissipation apparatus are mounted in a metal bracket, and wherein the heating apparatus is configured to perform temperature control on the metal bracket, and wherein the heat dissipation apparatus is configured to prevent a temperature of the metal bracket and the roller from being excessively high to affect the current layer.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 7, and 9 are allowed because each depends from claim 1 and requires all the limitations of allowed claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744