DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anegawa (US 2021/0402687 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Anegawa meets the claimed 3D printing system, comprising: a material extrusion apparatus, (three-dimensional shaping device, Fig. 10-13, [0073]) configured to extrude a molten material (the ejection unit 60, [0073]) to print a current layer; (layer Ln, Fig. 12) and a preheating apparatus, configured to preheat a previous layer of the current layer before the current layer is printed. (Hot air HA is blown from the first heating and cooling unit 250A passing over the (n−1)th layer Ln-1, so that the upper surface of the (n−1)-th layer Ln-1 is heated to a temperature equal to or higher than a glass transition point, [0074], Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 2, Anegawa meets the claimed 3D printing system according to claim 1, further comprising: a cooling apparatus, configured to cool the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed. (Ln+1 flattened by the second flattening unit 230B is cooled by the cold air CA sent from the first heating and cooling unit 250A to promote curing, [0076], Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 3, Anegawa meets the claimed 3D printing system according to claim 1, further comprising: a flattening apparatus, configured to: after printing of the current layer is completed, flatten the current layer, so that the current layer keeps flat. (Ln+1 flattened by the second flattening unit 230B, [0076], Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 5, Anegawa meets the claimed 3D printing system according to claim 3, wherein the flattening apparatus comprises a roller apparatus. (Ln+1 flattened by the second flattening unit 230B including roller 231, [0073]).
Regarding clam 13, Anegawa meets the claimed control method, comprising: preheating a previous layer of a current layer; (Anegawa teaches in a second embodiment hot air HA is blown from the first heating and cooling unit 250A passing over the (n−1)th layer Ln-1, so that the upper surface of the (n−1)-th layer Ln-1 is heated to a temperature equal to or higher than a glass transition point, [0074], Fig. 12) and controlling a material extrusion apparatus to extrude a molten material to print the current layer. (A plasticized material is ejected from each of the nozzles 68A to 68D of the ejection unit 60 passing over the (n−1)-th layer [0074]).
Regarding clam 14, Anegawa meets the claimed control method according to claim 13, further comprising: cooling the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed. (The n-th layer Ln flattened by the first flattening unit 230A is cooled by cold air CA sent from the second heating and cooling unit 250B to promote curing [0074]).
Regarding clam 15, Anegawa meets the claimed control method according to claim 13, further comprising: flattening the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed, so that the current layer keeps flat. (The n-th layer Ln flattened by the first flattening unit 230A [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anegawa (US 2021/0402687 A1) in view of Fetfatsidis (US 2021/0154889 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Anegawa meets the claimed 3D printing system according to claim 3, and the cooling apparatus is configured to cool the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed. Anegawa teaches a separate flattening apparatus and cooling apparatus. Ln+1 flattened by the second flattening unit 230B is cooled by the cold air CA sent from the first heating and cooling unit 250A to promote curing, [0076], Fig. 13.
Anegawa does not meet the claimed wherein the flattening apparatus comprises a cooling apparatus.
Fetfatsidis teaches [0024] a 3D printer with a second printer head and consolidate the resulting laminate with a combination of heat and/or applied force 180, [0070] a device for actively cooling the rollers (e.g., the compaction rollers of a printer head). The cooling device 199 may, in certain embodiments, be capable of directing fluid toward the rollers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present application to combine the cooling and flattening apparatus of Anegawa into a single device as taught by Fetfatsidis because it achieves faster cooling of the compaction rollers, see [0071].
Regarding claim 8, Anegawa teaches the 3D printing system according to claim 5, wherein the roller apparatus comprises a roller, (roller 231, [0073]) a heating apparatus (Hot air HA is blown from the first heating and cooling unit 250A, Fig. 12) the roller, the heating apparatus and the heat dissipation apparatus (roller support unit 232 [0072])
Anegawa is silent on a heat dissipation apparatus.
Fetfatsidis teaches and a heat dissipation apparatus. Fetfatsidis teaches [0024] a 3D printer with a second printer head and consolidate the resulting laminate with a combination of heat and/or applied force 180, [0061] heat is transferred from compaction roller 150d and/or heatsink 192b to fluid F1 after it is directed by first device 185b,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present application to combine the heating and flattening apparatus of Anegawa with the heatsink of Fetfatsidis because it improves temperature control of the compaction roller.
Anegawa is silent on mounted in a metal bracket.
Anegawa teaches a roller support unit 232 [0072] to support the roller.
Fetfatsidis teaches the roller body comprises a metal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present application to select the metal material of Fetfatsidis as the generic material for the roller support unit of Anegawa because selecting a material, such a metal or other materials, having a high thermal conductivity may, in accordance with certain embodiments, allow for faster cooling of the rollers, see [0051].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anegawa (US 2021/0402687 A1) in view of Yamamoto (US 2016/0221261 A1).
Regarding, claim 6, Anegawa is silent on the printing system according to claim 5, wherein the roller apparatus further comprises: a material scraping plate, wherein a scraping end of the material scraping plate is in contact with a roller surface of the roller apparatus, so as to scrape off a material on the roller surface.
Yamamoto meets the wherein the roller apparatus further comprises: a material scraping plate, wherein a scraping end of the material scraping plate is in contact with a roller surface of the roller apparatus, so as to scrape off a material on the roller surface. (levelling roller 190 as a planarizing section that levels shaping material 182, scraping member 192, [0045], Fig. 5 and 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present application to combine the scraping member 192 of Yamamoto with the leveling roller of Anegawa because it cleans the roller and ensures the next shaping material layer can be precisely formed and stacked, see [0046].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anegawa (US 2021/0402687 A1) in view of Yamamoto (US 2016/0221261 A1) and Debora (US 2020/0061920 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Anegawa as modified does not meet the claimed 3D printing system according to claim 6, wherein the roller apparatus further comprises: a brush, wherein a brush end of the brush is in contact with the roller surface of the roller apparatus, so as to apply a release agent on the roller surface.
Debora meets the claimed wherein the roller apparatus further comprises: a brush, wherein a brush end of the brush is in contact with the roller surface of the roller apparatus, (Debora teaches an auxiliary material handling unit (AMHU) for use with an additive manufacturing (AM) system, [0005] Wipers (e.g., scrapers) 322 can remove material from the rollers, wipers 322 can be of rigid material (e.g., steel) or flexible material (e.g., rubber) and/or can include a brush, [0114]) so as to apply a release agent on the roller surface. (Examiner notes that the release agent is considered the intended use of the claimed apparatus, see MPEP 2114. The brush of Debora is capable of applying release agent by an end user).
The courts have held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application, see MPEP § 2143(I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present application substitute the brush of Debora as the generic scraping member of Yamamoto because a brush can remove material from a roller for 3D printing applications, see Debora [0114].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anegawa (US 2021/0402687 A1) in view of Fetfatsidis (US 2021/0154889 A1) and Dunn (US 2018/0056608 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Anegawa as modified does not meet the claimed 3D printing system according to claim 8, wherein a surface of the roller is knurled.
Dunn meets the claimed wherein a surface of the roller is knurled. (the roller 200 is configured to contact the recently deposited road of extrudate and flatten the extrudate to substantially the same level as other roads of extrudate, the roller 200 can have a textured surface which can impart a design into the extruded layer [0062] Examiner notes that textured meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of knurled.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present application substitute the textured roller of Debora in place of the generic roller of Anegawa because the textured roller may aid in adhesion between layers and or provide a desired finish to an exterior surface of the three-dimensional part, see [0062]
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anegawa (US 2021/0402687 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Anegawa meets the claimed 3D printing system, comprising: a material extrusion apparatus, (three-dimensional shaping device, Fig. 14-16, [0079]) configured to extrude a molten material to print a current layer; (the ejection unit 60, [0083]) a first layer processing system, disposed on a side of the material extrusion apparatus and moving following a motion of the material extrusion apparatus; (heater 233 is provided inside the roller 231. A temperature of the heater 233 is controlled by the control unit 500, [0082], Fig. 14) a second layer processing system, disposed on another side of the material extrusion apparatus and moving following a motion of the material extrusion apparatus; (flattening unit 230D, Fig. 14-16) and a control apparatus, connected to the first layer processing system and the second layer processing system; ( control unit 500 Fig. 14) wherein the first layer processing system comprises: a first preheating apparatus, (first surface activation unit 210A) and a first roller apparatus, (roller 231, Fig. 14) located between the first preheating apparatus (first surface activation unit 210A) and the material extrusion apparatus and configured to flatten the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed; (flattening unit 230D) and wherein the second layer processing system comprises: a second preheating apparatus, (210B, Fig. 14) and a second roller apparatus, (230C, Fig. 14) located between the second preheating apparatus and the material extrusion apparatus and configured to flatten the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed; (second flattening unit 230D passes over the (n−1)-th layer Ln-1 while being in contact with the upper surface of the (n−1)-th layer [0084]) and wherein the control apparatus is configured to perform following operations: in response to the material extrusion apparatus moving towards a side on which the first layer processing system is located, controlling the first preheating apparatus and the second roller apparatus to be in an operating state, (temperature of the heater 233 is controlled by the control unit 500, [0082], Fig. 16) and the second preheating apparatus and the first roller apparatus to be in a non-operating state; ( the control unit 500 turns on the heater 233 of the second flattening unit 230D and turns off the heater 233 of the first flattening unit 230C, [0083]) and in response to the material extrusion apparatus moving towards a side on which the second layer processing system is located, controlling the second preheating apparatus and the first roller apparatus to be in an operating state, and the first preheating apparatus and the second roller apparatus to be in a non-operating state. ( the control unit 500 turns on the heater 233 of the first flattening unit 230C and turns off the heater 233 of the second flattening unit 230D, [0085]).
Anegawa does not teach in a single embodiment a first preheating apparatus, configured to preheat a previous layer of the current layer before the current layer is printed, and a second preheating apparatus configured to preheat the previous layer of the current layer before the current layer is printed.
Anegawa teaches in the third embodiment first surface activation unit 210A and second activation unit 210B on each side of the extrusion nozzle to treat upper surface of each layer to be chemically activated by being irradiated with the plasma PL, [0086].
Anegawa teaches in a second embodiment hot air HA is blown from the first heating and cooling unit 250A passing over the (n−1)th layer Ln-1, so that the upper surface of the (n−1)-th layer Ln-1 is heated to a temperature equal to or higher than a glass transition point, [0074], Fig. 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the hot air device 250A on each side of the extrusion apparatus of Anegawa in order to improve layer compaction by heating the upper surface of the (n−1)-th layer Ln-1 to a temperature equal to or higher than a glass transition point, [0074].
Regarding claim 11, Anegawa does not teach in a single embodiment 3D printing system according to claim 10, wherein the first roller apparatus or the second roller apparatus or both the first roller apparatus and the second roller apparatus are further provided with: a cooling apparatus, configured to cool the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed.
Anegawa teaches in the second embodiment wherein the first roller apparatus or the second roller apparatus or both the first roller apparatus and the second roller apparatus are further provided with: a cooling apparatus, configured to cool the current layer after printing of the current layer is completed. (second flattening unit 230B is cooled by the cold air CA sent from the first heating and cooling unit 250A to promote curing [0076], Fig. 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine the cooling apparatus of the second embodiment of Anegawa with the rollers of the third embodiment of Anegawa because it promotes curing of the layer, see [0076].
Regarding claim 12, Anegawa meets the claimed 3D printing system according to claim 10, further comprising: a lifting mechanism, connected to the first preheating apparatus and the second preheating apparatus; (Examiner notes the rejection of 10 combined the second and third embodiments of Anegawa such that the preheating mechanism is met by a combination of the heated rollers 230C/230D Fig. 14 and second embodiment hot air HA is blown from the unit 250A, Fig. 10) wherein the control apparatus is further configured to perform following operations: in response to the material extrusion apparatus moving towards the side on which the first layer processing system is located, controlling the lifting mechanism to make the first preheating apparatus located at a position closer to the previous layer than the second preheating apparatus; ( prior to a movement of the shaping unit 200b with respect to the stage 300, the control unit 500 controls the roller support unit 232 of the second flattening unit 230B to raise the roller 231 of the second flattening unit 230B to the +Z direction side with respect to each of the nozzles 68A to 68D, [0073]. Examiner notes the combination above renders the claim step obvious) and in response to the material extrusion apparatus moving towards the side on which the second layer processing system is located, controlling the lifting mechanism to make the second preheating apparatus located at a position closer to the previous layer than the first preheating apparatus. (second flattening unit 230B to the −Z direction side with respect to each of the nozzles 68A to 68D, and controls the roller support unit 232 of the first flattening unit 230A to raise the roller 231 of the first flattening unit 230A to the +Z direction side, [0075] Examiner notes the combination above renders the claim step obvious).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miloskovska (US 2020/0180217 A1) teaches [0085] Roller 150 may move build powder 180 from a first powder source area defined between walls 162 and 164; walls 162 and 164 may in fact be a single circular wall that defines a cylindrical volume. A platform 166 may move powder 160 upward such that some of powder 160 advances to the position of build powder 180, where the build powder 180 is moved by roller 150 to the building area such that build powder 180 becomes powder 178.
Nakamura (US 2021/0114096 A1) teaches [0008] According to one embodiment of the disclosure, a lamination molding apparatus is provided, which includes: a material layer forming device that forms a material layer in a molding region in which a desired three-dimensional molded object is formed. [0045] The wiper 63 is arranged on the recoater head 42. More specifically, the wiper 63 is mounted on the mounting member 66 connected to the recoater head 42. The wiper 63 is preferably a flat-plate shaped wiper having flexibility or a brush shaped wiper.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744