DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulzacki (US 2017/0161987 A1) in view of Tran (US 2005/0272501 A1).
1. Bulzacki discloses a system comprising: a game table having a chip tray and a plurality of placement areas arranged vertically and horizontally for placement of chips, [0028], [0035], [0045], (Figs. 1-3);
a plurality of client hardware devices, each including one or more imaging components (cameras) positioned on or proximate to the gaming table to capture images of chip stacks in the betting areas, [0035]–[0040], [0055]–[0065];
the cameras are configured to capture images from diagonally/offset angles (substantially horizontal with a small offset angle relative to the table surface) to view the sidewalls of stacked chips, with multiple cameras providing complementary/overlapping fields of view of the same chip stacks, [0058]–[0062], [0070]–[0075];
use of depth sensors in combination with the cameras to generate 3D models, detect obstructions, and handle blind spots/occlusions by aggregating multiple frames over time, [0070]–[0080], [0085]–[0090];
image analysis (bounding-box detection for chip stacks and individual chips, feature extraction via histograms/waveforms, Fourier transforms, and matching against reference libraries) to determine, for each chip stack: position, number of chips, and type/value of the chips using machine learning, neural networks, and trained classifiers, [0095]–[0145].
a game monitoring server (management control device) that processes the multi-camera image data, [0045], [0120]–[0130]).
Bulzacki does not expressly disclose the precise use of first and second cameras both configured to capture from diagonally above in combination with explicit triangulation across significantly divergent angles to determine chip stack geometry and number.
Tran teaches a primary (first) overhead camera and one or more supplemental (second) cameras positioned at significantly different angles to capture the same chip stacks from complementary directions, [0063]–[0064], [0083]–[0088], (Claims 1, 4, 11). It uses triangulation between the views to determine position, center of mass, thickness, diameter, and number of chips, along with image processing (difference imaging, clustering, template matching, color analysis) to determine number and type/value of chips while handling occlusions, [0092]–[0107], [0134]–[0140], [0154], (Claims 18, 32–33). It would have been obvious to combine the multi-angle, depth-aware, machine-learning-based chip stack analysis of Bulzacki with the explicit primary + supplemental camera triangulation and geometric feature extraction of Tran to achieve more robust determination of position, number, and type of chips despite blind spots. The combination yields predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. Regarding “deep learning techniques,” Bulzacki’s machine learning and neural networks would obviously be upgraded to deep learning (CNNs) by the effective filing date for superior performance on occluded stacked chips.
2. Bulzacki and Tran discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein Bulzacki teaches determining chip stacks across multiple images from different cameras/views that correspond to the same betting position, [0070]–[0075], [0095]–[0105]. Tran further teaches correlating the same chip stacks across primary and supplemental camera views using triangulation to determine the number of chips, [0064], [0093], [0106]–[0107], (Claim 18).
3. Bulzacki and Tran discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of placement areas includes at least a player area and a banker area provided vertically for each of a plurality of player positions provided horizontally, Bulzacki [0028], [0035], (Figs. 1–3).
4. Bulzacki and Tran discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of placement areas include placement areas adjacent to each other by being separated by a single line, Bulzacki [0028], [0035], (Figs. 1–3).
5-7. Bulzacki and Tran discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the first camera or the second camera is installed on a pole on the game table, such that a top of the topmost chip in the chip stack can be captured or such that each of the first camera and the second camera are configured to capture a top surface of the topmost chip in the chip stack. Bulzacki teaches cameras positioned on or proximate to the table (including elevated/offset mounting) to capture tops and sides of stacks, [0058]-[0062]. Tran teaches overhead primary camera explicitly configured to capture the top of chip stacks, [0083], [0092]. One of ordinary skill would obviously mount one or both cameras on a pole or elevated structure to achieve clear top-surface and angled views.
8. Bulzacki and Tran discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the management control device is configured to identify a predetermined portion of a chip in the first image and the second image, Bulzacki [0105]–[0125].
9. Bulzacki and Tran discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the management control device is configured to determine an amount of the chip stack based on the determination of the position where the chip stack is placed, the number of chips included in the chip stack, and the type of chips included in the chip stack, Bulzacki [0120]–[0130], [0145]).
10-12. Bulzacki and Tran discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the first camera, the second camera, or a third camera that is different from the first camera and the second camera, is configured to capture one or more chips housed in the chip tray of the game table, wherein the management control device is configured to recognize a total amount of chips housed in the chip tray and determine whether an increase or decrease in the total amount of chips in the chip tray after a collection and redemption of a set of chips in a game corresponds to one or more amounts to be collected and redeemed and is configured to determine an amount to be collected and an amount to be redeemed based on the position, type, and number of chip stacks placed by a player and a game result. Bulzacki teaches monitoring the dealer’s chip tray (or equivalent chip holding areas) with imaging components and performing balance/reconciliation analysis against bets and game outcomes, [0035], [0045], [0120]–[0130]. Tran further supports monitoring chip areas and payouts, [0154]. The combination renders obvious the full tray reconciliation functionality, including post-game comparison to player bets and win/loss results.
13-14. Bulzacki and Tran discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the first camera or the second camera is configured to acquire video images including a plurality of images, wherein the management control device is configured to, based on fraud, record the video images with an index or time to enable identification of a scene of the fraud Bulzacki [0055], [0070], [0120]–[0130].
15-18. Bulzacki and Tran discloses a system comprising: a game table having a chip tray and a plurality of placement areas arranged vertically and horizontally for placement of chips; a first camera configured to capture to capture a plurality of chip stacks placed in the same position a or in adjacent positions from diagonally above to generate a first image, the plurality of chip stacks including a chip stack including one or more chips; a second camera, different from the first camera, configured to capture the chip stack from diagonally above to generate a second image of the chip stack positioned on the game table, wherein the first camera and the second camera are configured to capture images of the same chip stack from different directions; and a management control device configured to use deep learning techniques to perform image analysis for the first image and the second image, and based on the image analysis: if a portion of a first chip included in the chip stack is not visible due to a blind spot in either of the first image or the second image, determine, based on the first image and the second image: a position where the chip stack is located, a number of chips included in the chip stack, and a type of chips included in the chip stack as similarity discussed above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,112, claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11, 798362, claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11, 475,733, claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,957,156.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all sets of claims are directed to similar system for automated monitoring and management of gaming chips on a game table comprising: a game table having a chip tray and a plurality of placement areas arranged vertically and horizontally for placement of chips; a first camera configured to generate a first image of a chip stack comprising one or more chips positioned on the game table, the first camera configured to capture the chip stack from diagonally above to generate the first image; a second camera, different from the first camera, configured to generate a second image of the chip stack positioned on the game table, the second camera configured to capture the chip stack from diagonally above to generate the second image; and a management control device configured to use deep learning techniques to perform image analysis for the first image and the second image to determine, for the same chip stack included in the first image and the second image: a position where the chip stack is located, a number of chips included in the chip stack, and a type of chips included in the chip stack,
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached USPTO form PTO-892.
Filing of New or Amended Claims
The examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the original disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. See Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 263, 191 USPQ at 97 (“[T]he PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.”). However, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Please see MPEP 2163 (II) 3. (b)
Correspondence
/Seng H Lim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715