DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vornehm (US PG Pub No. 2007/0142141) in view of Houle (US PG Pub No. 2019/0316532)
Regarding claim 8, Vornehm teaches
A vehicle, comprising:
a continuously variable transmission (CVT) comprising a drive belt, a drive member, and a driven member, wherein: (4 figure 1 conical disk pair)
the an output shaft of the power source is operably coupled to the drive member, (10 figure 1)
an output shaft of the CVT is operably coupled to the plurality of ground- engaging members, and (figure 1)
the drive belt operably couples the drive member and the driven member; (38 figure 1)
a sensor that detects at least one of an engine-based parameter or a driveline-based parameter of the vehicle; and (pressure sensor 34, 46 figure 1 OR temperature inferred fro P and S measured directly paragraph 34)
a controller operably coupled to the sensor and configured to:
determine, based on an output of the sensor, whether a remaining life of the drive belt is below a threshold; and (damage model paragraph 36 and 72 figure 2 cumulative damage value ascertained in step 70 is compared with predefined critical damage Sv)
when it is determined the remaining life of the drive belt is below the threshold,
provide indication when it was determined the remaining life of the drive belt is below the threshold. (74 figure 2 critical damage reached display; paragraph 36 change in control of transmission; paragraph 13 modify operation of transmission)
Vornehm does not explicitly teach however Houle teaches
a plurality of ground-engaging members; (70 figure 3)
a power source (44 figure 3 paragraph 48-52) supported by the plurality of ground-engaging members;
to limit function of the power source when it was determined that the remaining life of drive belt is below threshold (paragraph 74 limit power and torque)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Vornehm based on the teachings of Houle to teach a plurality of ground-engaging members; a power source supported by the plurality of ground-engaging members; to limit function of the power source when it was determined that the remaining life of drive belt is below threshold. The motivation would be to preserve the transmission (Houle paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 9, Vornehm teaches wherein the remaining life of the belt is determined as a cumulative value based on the output of the sensor (74 figure 2 paragraph 28-31 and 36).
Regarding clam 10, Vornehm does not explicitly teach however Houle teaches wherein limiting the function of the power source comprises limiting a speed of the vehicle (paragraph 74 power = torque * speed and limit power = limit speed also)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Vornehm based on the teachings of Houle to teach wherein limiting the function of the power source comprises limiting a speed of the vehicle. The motivation would be to preserve the transmission (Houle paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 11, Vornehm does not explicitly teach however Houle teaches wherein limiting the function of the power source comprises limiting an output of the power source of the vehicle. (paragraph 74)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Vornehm based on the teachings of Houle to teach wherein limiting the function of the power source comprises limiting an output of the power source of the vehicle. The motivation would be to preserve the transmission (Houle paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 12, Vornehm does not explicitly teach however Houle teaches wherein the limited output of the power source comprises a limit of at least one of an engine speed or an engine torque of the power source. (paragraph 74)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Vornehm based on the teachings of Houle wherein the limited output of the power source comprises a limit of at least one of an engine speed or an engine torque of the power source. The motivation would be to preserve the transmission (Houle paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 13, Vornehm teaches wherein the controller is further configured to:
provide, via a display of the vehicle, an indication that the remaining life of the belt is below the threshold. (74 figure 2 paragraph 76)
Regarding claim 14, Vornehm teaches wherein the indication comprises an audio, textual, or graphical indicator. (74 figure 2 paragraph 76)
Regarding claim 15, Vornehm teaches wherein the indication comprises at least one of a temperature of the drive belt, an estimated number of miles to drive belt failure, a percentage of drive belt life remaining, or a percentage of drive belt life used. (paragraph 28, 30, 31-36)
Regarding claim 16, Vornehm teaches to provide the indication (74 figure 2)
Vornehm does not explicitly teach however Houle teaches wherein the controller is configured to limiting the function of the power source. (paragraph 74-76)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Vornehm based on the teachings of Houle to teach wherein the controller is configured to limiting the function of the power source. The motivation would be to preserve the transmission (Houle paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 17, Vornehm does not explicitly teach however Houle teaches wherein the engine-based parameter is related to at least one of an engine load signal, an engine torque signal, a transmission speed signal, and an engine power signal. (paragraph 74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Vornehm based on the teachings of Houle to teach wherein the engine-based parameter is related to at least one of an engine load signal, an engine torque signal, a transmission speed signal, and an engine power signal. The motivation would be to preserve the transmission (Houle paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 18, Vornehm does not explicitly teach however Houle teaches wherein the driveline-based parameter is related to at least one of a vehicle speed signal, an engine speed signal, and a wheel speed signal (paragraph 74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Vornehm based on the teachings of Houle to teach wherein the driveline-based parameter is related to at least one of a vehicle speed signal, an engine speed signal, and a wheel speed signal. The motivation would be to preserve the transmission (Houle paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 19-27, see the rejection of claim 8-11, 13, 15-18 as the limitations are substantially similar.
Conclusion
/GEORGE C JIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747