DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a first action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 35 USC 111(a) filing that claims benefit under 35 USC 120 as a continuation of US application No. 17/831,698 filed on 3 Jun. 2022, which is a continuation of US application No. 16/447,155 filed on 20 Jun. 2019, now US 11,351,276, which claims benefit under 35 USC 119(e) to US provisional application No. 62/688,470 filed on 22 Jun. 2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement (IDS) has not been filed with the instant application No.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claims 1-2 and 13, the periods at “5±3oC.” and “-78±3oC.” should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, it is not clear if claim 2 further limits claim 1 since claim 1 requires a radiochemical purity of at least 97% following 4 d of storage at 5±3oC after its preparation.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charleson (US 4,880,615 A; published 14 Nov. 1989; see attached 892), in view of Janssen et al. (US 2009/0005595 A1; published 1 Jan. 2009; see attached 892) and Kvaternik et al. (NuklearMedizin; published 2011; see attached 892).
Charleson teaches stabilized radiopharmaceutical compositions (see title). Charleson teaches that ascorbic acid, nicotinic acid or nicotinamide either alone or in combination when incorporated into radiopharmaceutical containing radioactive iodine unexpectedly retard radiolytic decomposition caused by radioactive decay of iodine thereby prolonging their useful shelf-life (see col. 1). Charleson teaches antimicrobial agents (col. 1). Charleson teaches that in combination with nicotinic acid or nicotinamide, ascorbic acid is added in equimolar amounts with nicotinic acid or nicotinamide (ratio 1:1)(col. 2). Charleson teaches solution 33-6 having activity 54.8 mCi, 6.8 mL, specific concentration 8 mCi/mL, stabilizer nicotinamide at 16 mg/mL wherein the solution maintained a radiochemical purity of 94% up to 11 d and wherein the solution has 0.005 M acetate buffer pH 5.0 and is stored at room temperature and wherein the radiochemical purity is at least 98% immediately following its preparation (table 1).
(reads on a sterile aqueous radiopharmaceutical composition, comprising 123I-m-iodobenzylguanidine (131I-mIBG); an acetate buffering agent wherein the radioactivity concentration is 8 mCi/mL wherein the composition has a radiochemical purity of at least 98% at the time immediately following its preparation from its constituent ingredients wherein the composition has a radiochemical purity of a least 95% at following 4 d of storage at room temperature after preparation from its constituent ingredients; and wherein the composition is from of any other radioprotectant selected from parabens, ascorbic acid, and gentisic acid and wherein the nicotinamide is present in a 0.0016 g/mL and wherein the composition is a solution and wherein the container is a vial.)
The compounds will act as scavengers for radicals produced by radiolytic decomposition (col. 1).
Charleson does not disclose the claim compositions further comprising benzyl alcohol so that the combination of benzyl alcohol and nicotinamide is in a ratio of about 1:0.8 to 1:32 by weight as a radioprotectant; a sodium chloride isotonic agent; a radioactivity concentration of about 20 mCi to about 1 Ci/mL, a radiochemical purity of at least 99% immediately following preparation, and a radiochemical purity of 97% following 4 d of storage at 5oC optionally wherein the radiochemical purity 2 d after its preparation is at least 95% when stored between -78±3oC and 25±3oC optionally wherein 131I-mIBG is at 0.1 mg/mL to 10 mg/mL, optionally wherein the benzyl alcohol is at from 0.9% (v/v) to 2.0% (v/v), optionally wherein the nicotinamide is present from 0.5 g/100 mL to 10 g/100 mL, optionally wherein the benzyl alcohol and niacinamide is in the ratio of 1:1 to 1:5 by wt or 1:1.8 by weight. Charleson does not teach that the composition is prepared by a method comprising the steps of (i) combining benzyl alcohol with water to form a solution, (ii) adding niacinamide to the solution of step (i), and mixing; (iii) adjusting the pH of the solution from 4 to 6; (iv) adding 131I-m-iodobenzylguanidine to the pH adjusted solution of step (iii), and (v) aseptically filtering the solution of step (iv) through a membrane filter and dispensing the filtered solution into vials under asceptic conditions.
Janssen et al. teach gentisic acid for stabilizing 123-I radiopharmaceuticals (see title). Janssen et al. teach that suitable antimicrobial preservatives include benzyl alcohol ([0046]). Radioiodinated phenols may be stabilized with benzyl alcohol ([0005]). The radiopharmaceuticals of the invention may be prepared by asceptic manufacture to give the desired sterile, pyrogen free product. The radiopharmaceuticals may be prepared under non-sterile conditions, following terminal sterilization using membrane filtration (sometimes called sterile filtration) ([0050]). Janssen et al. teach example 5 where to each vial an aliquot of 0.5 cm3 of freshly prepared 123I-mIBG in stabilizer free phosphate buffer was added and subsequently an aliquot of an aqueous phosphate buffer solution containing a stabilizer as specified in table 4 followed by mixing. Vials A1 to E1 were stored at 40oC and vials A2 to E2 at 20oC. The RCP was determined at the EOS and at 3, 20, and 45 h thereafter. Vials A1 and A2 contained 0.8% benzyl alcohol (example 4). Janssen et al. teach a preferred pH between 5.4 and 7 and storage in the dark at 2 to 8o C([0067]-[0068]). Janssen et al. teach radioactivity concentrations between 8 to 1000 MBq/cm3 ([0042]). Janssen et al. teach sodium chloride ([0048]) and isotonic saline ([0040]). Janssen et al. teach a Teflon coated rubber stopper ([0085]).
Kvaternik et al. teach an improvement in the synthesis of NCA 131ImIBG (see title). Kvaternik et al. teach that for stabilization, 0.3 mg of dihydrobenzoic acid was added to the isolated phosphate buffered saline pH 4.5/ethanol/benzyl alcohol 10 mg/mL. The radiochemical purity in all preparations were almost >99% and the formulations were stable over a period of more than 20 h (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compositions of Charleson (a sterile aqueous radiopharmaceutical composition comprising 131I-mIBG, phosphate buffer, niacinamide at 16 mg/mL wherein the radioactivity of the composition is about 8 mCi/mL wherein the composition has a radiochemical purity of at least 98% at the time immediately following its preparation from its constituent ingredients, wherein a composition has a radiochemical purity of at least 95% following 4 d of storage at room temperature after is preparation from its constituent ingredients, wherein the composition is at pH 5, and wherein the composition is free of other radioprotectant selected from parabens, ascorbic acid and gentisic acid and wherein the composition is in a vail and the optional composition wherein niacinamide and second anti-radiolytic stabilizer are in a 1:1 molar ratio) so that the niacinamide is combined with benzyl alcohol such that the benzyl alcohol and niacinamide are in about an equimolar ratio such as 1:1 or 1:1.8 by weight and so that the composition comprises isotonic sodium chloride as taught by Charleson., Janssen et al., and Kvaternik et al. because the benzyl alcohol would have been expected to advantageously provide an antimicrobial and radiostabilization by an additional mechanism and because the sodium chloride would have been expected to provide isotonicity. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the compositions of Charleson so that the composition has a radiochemical purity of at least 99% at the time immediately following its preparation from its ingredients as taught by Janssen et al. and Kvaternik et al. because it would have been expected to enable high radiochemical purity from the outset whereby prolonging composition shelf-life A composition and its properties are inseparable. The compositions taught and motivated by Charleson, Janssen et al., and Kvaternik et al. is the same as the compositions disclosed in the specification that enable a radiochemical purity of at least 97% following 4 d of storage at 5±3oC after its preparation and the radiochemical purity 2 d after its preparation is at least 95% when stored between -78±3oC and 25±3oC. Differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at a 131I-mIBG concentration from 0.1 mg/mL to 10 mg/mL in order to arrive at an effective amount of the 131I-mIBG. A person of ordinary skill would have arrived at a benzyl alcohol concentration from 0.9% (v/v) to 2% (v/v) in order to arrive at an effective amount of benzyl alcohol for radiostabilization and antimicrobial activity. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at a niacinamide concentration from 0.5 g/100 mL to 10 g/100 mL in order to arrive at effective amount that retards radiolytic decomposition of the 131I-mIBG. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at a ratio of benzyl alcohol and niacinamide of about 1:1 or 1:1.8 through routine experimentation in order to provide optimal radiolysis inhibition. Claim 7 is a product by process claim. Product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. MPEP 2113. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Charleson by further aseptically filtering the solution of step (iv) through a membrane filter and dispensing the filtered solution into vials under asceptic conditions as taught by Janssen et al. because the filtering and dispensing would have been expected to enable terminal sterilization and composition suitable for administration to mammalian subjects. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Charleson so that the composition is in vial containing a Teflon coated stopper as taught by Janssen et al. because that vial would have been expected to enable a container suitable for containing the obvious radiopharmaceutical composition.
Claim(s) 1-10, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charleson (US 4,880,615 A; published 14 Nov. 1989; see attached 892), in view of Janssen et al. (US 2009/0005595 A1; published 1 Jan. 2009; see attached 892) and Kvaternik et al. (NuklearMedizin; published 2011; see attached 892) in further view of Sharp et al. (Radiographics; published 12 Jan. 2016; see attached 892).
Charleson teaches as discussed above.
Charleson does not further teach a method for diagnosing, detection or localization in a subject of neuroblastoma, the method comprising administering to the subject the radiopharmaceutical composition and performing scintigraphic imaging.
Janssen et al. teach as discussed above.
Kvaternik et al. teach as discussed above.
Sharp et al. teach MIBG in neuroblastoma diagnostic imaging and therapy (see title). Sharp et al. teach 125I-MIBG is the first line functional imaging agent used in neuroblastoma imaging. MIBG uptake is seen in 90% of neuroblastomas, identifying both primary and sites of metastatic disease. Therapeutic use of MIBG labeled with iodine-131 (131I) is being investigated as part of research trials, both as a single agent and in conjunction with other therapies (see abstract). Sharp et al. teach administration of 123I-MIBG and 131I-MIBG and scinitgraphic imaging (pg. 262, Fig. 1; pg. 265, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Charleson by further administering the 131I-mMIBG radiopharmaceutical composition made obvious by Charleson, Janssen et al. and Kvaternik et al. to the subject having neuroblastoma and imaging the subject by scintigraphy as taught by Sharp et al. because it would have been expected to advantageously enable identifying or treating neuroblastoma in the subject using a composition with optimal RCP and shelf-life.
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charleson (US 4,880,615 A; published 14 Nov. 1989; see attached 892), in view of Janssen et al. (US 2009/0005595 A1; published 1 Jan. 2009; see attached 892) and Kvaternik et al. (NuklearMedizin; published 2011; see attached 892), in further view of Ahlem et al. (US 2006/0079492 A1; published 13 Apr. 2006; see attached 892).
Charleson teaches as discussed above.
Charleson does not further teach a 30 mL type I glass vial with a Teflon-coated butyl rubber stopper.
Janssen et al. teach as discussed above.
Kvaternik et al. teach as discussed above.
Ahlem et al. teach compositions and treatment methods (see title). Ahlem et al. teach 131I-labeled compounds ([0563]). Ahlem et al. teach drug solution dispensing into type I glass vials with Teflon coated stoppers (example 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Charleson so that the obvious composition is packed in a 30 mL type I glass vial capped with Teflon-coated, butyl rubber stopper as taught by Ahlem et al. because the that vial would have been expected to provide an pharmaceutical vial suitable for containing an effective amount of the obvious compositions. MPEP 2144.05.II.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,351,276 B2, in view of Janssen et al. (US 2009/0005595 A1; published 1 Jan. 2009; see attached 892), and Ahlem et al. (US 2006/0079492 A1; published 13 Apr. 2006; see attached 892).
Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,351,276 B2 claim a pharmaceutical composition comprising 131I-mIBG and radioprotectants benzyl alcohol and niacinamide, wherein the benzyl alcohol and niaincamide are present in the ratio of about 1:0.8 to 1:32, optionally 1:1 or 1:1.8 wherein the composition has a pH of 5, wherein the radioactivity concentration of the composition is about 20 mCi/mL to about 1 Ci/mL, wherein the composition has a radiochemical purity of at least 99% at the time immediately following its preparation from its constituent ingredients and wherein the composition has a radiochemical purity of at least 97% following 4 d of storage at 5±3oC wherein the composition does not include paraben, optionally wherein the benzyl alcohol is present from 0.9% (v/v) to 2.0% (v/v), optionally wherein the solution comprises sodium chloride and wherein composition is provide in a vial. Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,351,276 B2 claim a method for diagnosing, detection and localization in a subject a neuroblastoma comprising administering the subject the radiopharmaceutical composition according to claim 1 and performing scintigraphic imaging.
Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,351,276 B2 do not claim a radiochemical purity of the composition 2 d after is preparation is at least 95% when stored between -78±3oC and 25±3oC or wherein the 131I-mIBG is at 0.1 mg/mL to 10 mg/mL or wherein the niacinamide is present from 0.5 g/100 mL to 10 g/100 mL. Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,351,276 B2 do not claim that the composition is prepared by a method comprising the step (v) aseptically filtering the solution of step (iv) through a membrane filter and dispensing the filtered solution into vials under asceptic conditions. Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,351,276 B2 do not claim that the composition is packed in a 30 mL type I glass vial capped with Teflon-coated rubber stopper.
Janssen et al. teach as discussed above.
Ahlem et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,351,276 B2 so that it has a radiochemical purity of at least 95% 2 d following preparation when stored between -78±3oC and 25±3oC and so that the he 131I-mIBG is at 0.1 mg/mL to 10 mg/mL and so that the niacinamide is present from 0.5 g/100 mL to 10 g/100 mL and so that the composition is prepared comprising the step of asceptically filtering the solution of step (iv) through a membrane filter and dispensing the filtered solution into vials under asceptic conditions as taught by Janssen et al. because it would have been expected to effective composition of 131ImIBG having an optimal shelf-life while being suitable for administration to subjects. MPEP 2144.05.II. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,351,276 B2 so that the composition is packed in a 30 mL Type I glass vial capped with Teflon coated, butyl rubber stopper as taught by Ahlem et al. because the that vial would have been expected to provide an pharmaceutical vial suitable for containing an effective amount of the obvious compositions. MPEP 2144.05.II.
Conclusion
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618