DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species (a) (illustrated in Figures 1-5) in the reply filed on July 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be additional (i.e., more than the one required) spaces between terms and punctuation throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is an open (mismatched) parenthesis at the end of Line 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there should be a comma after the phrase “in the axial plane (AE)” and the term “and” in Line 24. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: (a) “retaining portion” in claim 1; and “cutting portion” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “at least one cutting portion” in Lines 2-3. It is unclear what constitutes the cutting portion as there is only one cutting portion in the disclosed invention. Moreover, the claims do not provide for more than one cutting portion comprising the elements therefor. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 2 recites “the at least one cutting portion is designed so as to be mirror-symmetrical” in Lines 1-2. The metes and bounds of the phrase “designed so as to be” are not clearly delineated. This phrase creates vagueness as to whether the at least one cutting portion is mirror-symmetrical or is merely designed to be without necessarily actually being mirror-symmetrical. Appropriate correction required.
Claim 5 recites “the first end face portion abuts the first end face via a first end edge and the second end face portion abuts the second end face via a second end edge.” It is unclear how the first end face portion and the second end face portion, which are each part of the end face, abut respective end faces. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of “the first end face” and “the second end face.” As such, it is unclear where the respective end edges are located. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujii et al. (US Patent No. 9,205,495 B2).
Fujii et al. (“Fujii”) discloses a turning bit (1; Figs. 1-20) for face-grooving and parting, having a body that extends along a longitudinal axis and includes a retaining portion (7) and at least one cutting portion (10). The retaining portion has a maximum width that is less than a maximum width of the at least one cutting portion (Fig. 1(b)). The at least one cutting portion includes an upper face (2), a lower face (3) arranged opposite the upper face, a first lateral face (5), a second lateral face (5) arranged opposite the first lateral face, and an end face (4). The first lateral face and the second lateral face each extend from the lower face to the upper face (Figs. 1-20). The first lateral face abuts the upper face via a first lateral edge (63) and the second lateral face abuts the upper face via a second lateral edge (63; Figs. 1-20). The end face extends from the lower face to the upper face as well as from the first lateral face to the second lateral face (Figs. 1a, 6a, 11, 13, 16, 17). The end face abuts the upper face via a cutting edge (6, 60). The cutting edge abuts the first lateral edge via a first cutting corner and abuts the second lateral edge via a second cutting corner (Figs. 2, 3). The first cutting corner and the second cutting corner are arranged mirror-symmetrically to a vertical plane (Translation; Fig. 3) extending along the longitudinal axis. The cutting edge has a center-point arranged on the vertical plane (Fig. 3). The center-point is distanced from an axial plane towards the retaining portion, wherein the first cutting corner and the second cutting corner are arranged in the axial plane and the axial plane extends orthogonally to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 2780385 Y), or alternatively, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 2780385 Y) in view of Tagstrom et al. (US Patent No. 5,827,017).
(Claim 1) Liu et al. (“Liu”) discloses a turning bit (Figs. 1-3) for face-grooving and parting, having a body that extends along a longitudinal axis and includes a retaining portion (11) and at least one cutting portion (12). The retaining portion has a maximum width that is less than a maximum width of the at least one cutting portion (shown in Fig. 1 by the radial expansion of surface 7 relative to surface portion 5). The at least one cutting portion includes an upper face (3), a lower face (4) arranged opposite the upper face, a first lateral face (7, 5), a second lateral face (8, 5) arranged opposite the first lateral face, and an end face (10, 9a-9c). The first lateral face and the second lateral face each extend from the lower face to the upper face (Fig. 1). The first lateral face abuts the upper face via a first lateral edge and the second lateral face abuts the upper face via a second lateral edge (Fig. 1). The end face extends from the lower face to the upper face as well as from the first lateral face to the second lateral face (Fig. 1). The end face abuts the upper face via a cutting edge (1a, 1b, 2). The cutting edge abuts the first lateral edge via a first cutting corner and abuts the second lateral edge via a second cutting corner (Figs. 1, 2). The first cutting corner and the second cutting corner are arranged mirror-symmetrically to a vertical plane (Translation; Fig. 2) extending along the longitudinal axis. The cutting edge has a center-point arranged on the vertical plane (Fig. 2). The center-point is distanced from an axial plane towards the retaining portion, wherein the first cutting corner and the second cutting corner are arranged in the axial plane and the axial plane extends orthogonally to the longitudinal axis (annotated Fig. 2).
In the alternative, if the retaining portion is not considered to have a maximum width that is less than a maximum width of the at least one cutting portion, such an arrangement is well-known in the art. Tagstrom et al. (“Tagstrom”) discloses a cutting insert (1) with a retaining portion (2) that has a maximum width that is less than a maximum width of the at least one cutting portion (Figs. 1-4). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the bit disclosed in Liu with a retaining portion having a maximum width les than the maximum width of the cutting portion as suggested by Tagstrom in order to cut a groove while providing clearance behind the cutting portion such that a groove with a depth greater than the axial length of the cutting portion may be cut, as is well-known in the art, the fact of which examiner takes official notice thereof. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007) (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness).
(Claim 2) As best understood, the at least one cutting portion is designed so as to be mirror symmetrical to the vertical plane (Figs. 1, 2; Translation).
(Claim 3) The end face (at 10) forms a tool flank for the cutting edge. The tool flank has a relief angle, but the reference does not explicitly disclose a relief angle within the claim range.
Tagstrom discloses a tool flank having a relief angle (α) overlapping the claimed range (Col. 2, Lines 66-67; Col. 3, Lines 1-4; Fig. 2). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the bit disclosed in Liu with a relief angle within the claimed range as suggested by Tagstrom in order to provide adequate clearance (Col. 2, Lines 66-67). As such, the disclosed range anticipates the claimed range, and “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” MPEP § 2144.05 I. citing In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257 (CCPA 1976).
(Claim 4) The end face includes a first end face portion (10 above 9a) and a second end face portion (10 above 9b), which respectively abut the cutting edge (Fig. 1). Each end face portion extends at a setting angle (α) in the range of 5° to 8° in relation to the axial plane (Translation; Fig. 2). As such, the disclosed range anticipates the claimed range, and “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” MPEP § 2144.05 I. citing In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257 (CCPA 1976).
(Claim 5) As best understood, the first end face portion abuts the first end face via a first end edge and the second end face portion abuts the second end face via a second end edge (Fig. 1).
(Claim 6) The cutting edge, the first lateral edge, and the second lateral edge extend in a common plane (Fig. 1). It is worth noting here that the entirety of each of the edges are not claimed as extending in the plane. Instead, merely a portion of each need to extend into the plane.
(Claim 7) The center-point is distanced from a horizontal plane towards the lower face (Fig. 1 shows the center-point at 2 dipping below the edges at 1a, 1b). The first cutting corner and the second cutting corner are arranged in the horizontal plane and the horizontal plane extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 1).
(Claim 8) The cutting edge has a concave shape (Figs. 1, 2). In either view, the cutting edge has a concave shape.
(Claims 9 and 10) The upper face forms a concave chip well (Fig. 1). That is, the upper face is concavely curved. The claim does not set forth explicitly the physical boundaries of a chip well. The chip well extends up to the cutting edge (Fig. 1). In the event the upper face is not considered to include a concave chip well, Tagstrom discloses a concave chip well (10) that extends up to the cutting edge (Figs. 1-4). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the bit disclosed in Liu with a concave chip well as taught by Tagstrom in order to guide for cut chips (Col. 3, Lines 13-16).
(Claim 11) As best understood, the first end edge abuts the first cutting corner and the second end edge abuts the second cutting corner (Figs. 1, 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Zinner (GB 1440883 A) (Figs. 4-7) (disclosing cutting bit that anticipates claim 1); Goeberl (AT 9194 U1) (Figs. 1-3) (disclosing a cutting portion that reads upon the claimed invention); and Bandura et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0314333 A1) (Figs. 1-11) (disclosing a center-point of a cutting portion set back from the axial plane).1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN RUFO whose telephone number is (571)272-4604. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Singh Sunil can be reached at (571) 272-3460.
/RYAN RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
1 It is worth noting that the vertical plane is recited as being along the longitudinal axis, but that is not the same as coincident thereto and/or being centrally located between the lateral sides of the bit while being parallel to an axial direction defined by the longitudinal axis.