DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
2. Claims 1-13 are pending.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to because, where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation "FIG." must not appear (see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(u)(1) and MPEP § 608.02(V)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Per claim 1, it is unclear if the limitation “the aeriation level” line 12 refers to the limitation “the aeration level” recited in line 1. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the aeriation level” is interpreted as referring to “the aeration level.” Claims 2-6 are consequently rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Aspelund et al. (US 6,655,221 – hereinafter “Aspelund”) in view of Fougere (US 2010/0188111).
Per claim 1, Aspelund teaches a device for measuring the aeration level of a fluid comprising:
a fluid entrance and fluid exit (A pipe 11 has an entrance for fluid flow and an exit for fluid flow arranged in a flow direction (Fig. 1; col. 10, line 48));
a first dielectric separator (Fig. 1; entrance section 2; col. 10, lines 48-49) wherein fluid can impinge upon said first dielectric separator and proceed into an annular space (Fig. 2; spaced formed between electrode 12 and electrode 7a; col. 11, line 63 – col. 12, line 3) and a second dielectric separator (Fig. 1; exit section 4; col. 10, line 52) that merges fluid received from said annular space when exiting said device;
a cylindrical shaped outer electrode (Fig. 2; electrode 12; col. 11, line 64) having an inner diameter and a cylindrical shaped inner electrode (Fig. 2; electrode 7a; col. 11, lines 14-15) having an outer diameter wherein said annular space for fluid flow is provided between said outer electrode inner diameter and said inner electrode outer diameter (An annular space is formed between a cylindrical electrode 12 and a sensor body 1 formed of cylindrical elements 6 made from an electrically insulating material, and cylindrical, metallic electrodes 7a-d. Fluid 14 may flow through the annular space (Fig. 2; col. 11, line 63 – col. 12, line 3));
wherein said electrodes are configured to measure the conductivity or capacitance of said fluid to determine the aeriation level of said fluid (An electric field is measured between the electrodes 12 and 7a to determine the electrical characteristics of a flowing medium 14. The electrical characteristics of the flowing medium 14 depend on the fraction ratio between oil, water, and gas in the flowing medium 14. Conductivity may be used to represent the measured electrical characteristics. A gas fraction of the flowing medium 14 can be calculated (col. 12, line 3 – col. 13, line 10)).
However, Aspelund does not explicitly teach the device wherein said outer electrode and said inner electrode provide a cell constant value in the range of 0.1 to 0.001. In contrast, Fougere teaches a sensor 50 of measuring the electrical conductivity and dielectric constant of high impedance fluids comprising coaxial electrodes 6, 7 that form a measurement cell 52 that holds a fluid F to be measured. The cell constant of the measurement sensor 50 is about 0.1 or lower (Fig. 1; ¶22 and 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Aspelund such that the outer electrode and the inner electrode provide a cell constant value in the range of 0.1 to 0.001. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a measurement cell suitable for measuring electrical properties of high impedance fluids (Fougere; ¶22).
Per claim 2, Aspelund in view of Fougere teaches the device of claim 1, wherein said annular space for fluid flow defines a cross-sectional area that does not vary by more than +/−5.0% (An annular space is formed between a cylindrical electrode 12 and a sensor body 1 that is coaxial with respect to the cylindrical electrode 12. Therefore, the annular space is defined by uniform cross-sectional areas that are arranged in the direction of fluid flow (Aspelund; col. 11, lines 30-36)).
Per claim 3, Aspelund in view of Fougere teaches the device of claim 1, wherein said electrodes measure a conductivity in the range of 1×10-15 S/m to 1×10-4 S/m (Fougere states that the sensor 50 can measure the conductivity of lubricating oils in the range of 0 to 2000 pS/cm (¶22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Aspelund in view of Fougere such that the electrodes measure a conductivity in the range of 1×10-15 S/m to 1×10-4 S/m. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of measuring a conductivity of a lubricating oil (Fougere; ¶9)).
Per claim 4, Aspelund in view of Fougere teaches the device of claim 1, wherein said electrodes measure a capacitance in the range of 1 pF to 100 pF (Fougere states that the sensor 50 can have a cell bulk capacitance of greater than 4 pF with hydrocarbon fluid inside (¶35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Aspelund in view of Fougere such that the electrodes measure a capacitance in the range of 1 pF to 100 pF. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of measuring a dielectric constant of a hydrocarbon fluid (Fougere; Abstract)).
Per claim 6, Aspelund in view of Fougere teaches the device of claim 1, wherein said annular space has a cross-sectional area that does not vary by more than +/−5.0% (An annular space is formed between a cylindrical electrode 12 and a sensor body 1 that is coaxial with respect to the cylindrical electrode 12. Therefore, the annular space is defined by uniform cross-sectional areas that are arranged in the direction of fluid flow (Aspelund; col. 11, lines 30-36)).
Per claim 7, Aspelund teaches a method for measuring the aeration level of a fluid comprising:
supplying a device having a fluid entrance and fluid exit (A pipe 11 has an entrance for fluid flow and an exit for fluid flow arranged in a flow direction (Fig. 1; col. 10, line 48)),
a first dielectric separator (Fig. 1; entrance section 2; col. 10, lines 48-49) wherein fluid can impinge upon said first dielectric separator and proceed into an annular space (Fig. 2; spaced formed between electrode 12 and electrode 7a; col. 11, line 63 – col. 12, line 3) and a second dielectric separator (Fig. 1; exit section 4; col. 10, line 52) that merges fluid received from said annular space when exiting said device;
a cylindrical shaped outer electrode (Fig. 2; electrode 12; col. 11, line 64) having an inner diameter and a cylindrical shaped inner electrode (Fig. 2; electrode 7a; col. 11, lines 14-15) having an outer diameter wherein said annular space for fluid flow is provided between said outer electrode inner diameter and said inner electrode outer diameter (An annular space is formed between a cylindrical electrode 12 and a sensor body 1 formed of cylindrical elements 6 made from an electrically insulating material, and cylindrical, metallic electrodes 7a-d (Fig. 2; col. 11, line 63 – col. 12, line 3));
introducing fluid to said annular space between said electrodes (Fluid 14 may flow through the annular space (Fig. 2; col. 11, line 63 – col. 12, line 3);
measuring the conductivity or capacitance of said fluid in said annular space between said electrodes and determining the level of aeration of said fluid (An electric field is measured between the electrodes 12 and 7a to determine the electrical characteristics of a flowing medium 14. The electrical characteristics of the flowing medium 14 depend on the fraction ratio between oil, water, and gas in the flowing medium 14. Conductivity may be used to represent the measured electrical characteristics. A gas fraction of the flowing medium 14 can be calculated (col. 12, line 3 – col. 13, line 10)).
However, Aspelund does not explicitly teach the method wherein said outer electrode and said inner electrode provide a cell constant value in the range of 0.1 to 0.001. In contrast, Fougere teaches a device of measuring the electrical conductivity and dielectric constant of high impedance fluids comprising coaxial electrodes 6, 7 that form a measurement cell 52 that holds a fluid F to be measured. The cell constant of the measurement sensor 50 is about 0.1 or lower (Fig. 1; ¶22 and 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aspelund such that the outer electrode and the inner electrode provide a cell constant value in the range of 0.1 to 0.001. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a measurement cell suitable for measuring electrical properties of high impedance fluids (Fougere; ¶22).
Per claim 8, Aspelund in view of Fougere teaches the method of claim 7, wherein said annular space for fluid flow defines a cross-sectional area that does not vary by more than +\−5.0% (An annular space is formed between a cylindrical electrode 12 and a sensor body 1 that is coaxial with respect to the cylindrical electrode 12. Therefore, the annular space is defined by uniform cross-sectional areas that are arranged in the direction of fluid flow (Aspelund; col. 11, lines 30-36)).
Per claim 9, Aspelund in view of Fougere teaches the method of claim 7, wherein said electrodes measure a conductivity in the range of 1×10 -15 S/m to 1×10-4 S/m (Fougere states that the sensor 50 can measure the conductivity of lubricating oils in the range of 0 to 2000 pS/cm (¶22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aspelund in view of Fougere such that the electrodes measure a conductivity in the range of 1×10-15 S/m to 1×10-4 S/m. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of measuring a conductivity of a lubricating oil (Fougere; ¶9)).
Per claim 10, Aspelund in view of Fougere teaches the method of claim 7, wherein said electrodes measure a capacitance in the range of 1 pF to 100 pF (Fougere states that the sensor 50 can have a cell bulk capacitance of greater than 4 pF with hydrocarbon fluid inside (¶35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aspelund in view of Fougere such that the electrodes measure a capacitance in the range of 1 pF to 100 pF. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of measuring a dielectric constant of a hydrocarbon fluid (Fougere; Abstract)).
8. Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Aspelund in view of Fougere, in further view of Williams et al. (US 2008/0053842 – hereinafter “Williams”).
Per claim 5, Aspelund in view of Fougere does not explicitly teach the device of claim 1, wherein said first and second dielectric separators are composed of poly(etheretherketone) (Aspelund states that the entrance and exit sections 2, 4 are made of a material having the property of high resistance toward mechanical wear (col. 10, lines 61-66)).
In contrast, Williams teaches a conductivity cell formed from two cell blocks halves 10 made of a corrosion resistance polymer material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (Fig. 1; ¶19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Aspelund in view of Fougere such that the said first and second dielectric separators are composed of poly(etheretherketone). One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a corrosion resistant material in a flow path (Williams; ¶19).
Per claim 13, Aspelund in view of Fougere does not explicitly teach the method of claim 7, wherein said first and said second dielectric separators are composed of poly(etheretherketone).
In contrast, Williams teaches a conductivity cell formed from two cell blocks halves 10 made of a corrosion resistance polymer material such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK) (Fig. 1; ¶19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aspelund in view of Fougere such that the said first and second dielectric separators are composed of poly(etheretherketone). One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a corrosion resistant material in a flow path (Williams; ¶19).
9. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Aspelund in view of Fougere, in further view of Fang (US 5,518,590).
Per claim 11, Aspelund in view of Fougere does not explicitly teach the method of claim 7, wherein said fluid introduced into said device has a viscosity in the range of 4 cSt to 100 cSt.
In contrast, Fang teaches an electrochemical sensor for determining properties of motor oil and other lubricants having, for example, a viscosity of 6 centistokes (col. 6, lines 23-30). The
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aspelund in view of Fougere such that the fluid introduced into the device has a viscosity in the range of 4 cSt to 100 cSt. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of determining a degree of deterioration of motor oil (Fang; Abstract).
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Aspelund in view of Fougere, in further view of Matsumoto et al. (US 5,690,895 – hereinafter “Matsumoto”).
Per claim 12, Aspelund in view of Fougere does not explicitly teach the method of claim 7, wherein said fluid flow has a velocity that does not vary by more than +/−5.0%.
In contrast, Matsumoto teaches a flow cell apparatus wherein stable flow is achieved to enable accurate measurements (col. 3, lines 50-63 and col. 18, lines 28-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aspelund in view of Fougere such that the fluid flow has a velocity that does not vary by more than +/−5.0%. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of enabling accurate measurements of a liquid (Matsumoto; col. 3, lines 50-63).
Conclusion
/JAS A SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852