DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chin et al. (US PUB 2017/0285834), hereinafter Chin.
With respect to claim 1, Chin discloses an electronic device comprising: a grip sensor (See paragraph [0065] of Chin); memory storing one or more computer programs (See paragraph [0034] in view of paragraph [0046] of Chin); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the grip sensor and the memory (See paragraph [0034] in view of paragraph [0046] and further in view of claim 1 of Chin), wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that (See paragraph [0034] in view of paragraph [0046] of Chin), when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: adjust a capacitance of a capacitor in the grip sensor (See paragraph [0033] in view of paragraph [0057] of Chin) to change a voltage outputted from the grip sensor (See paragraph [0045] of Chin), based on a first capacitance stored in the memory (See paragraph [0040] of Chin), after the capacitance of the capacitor is adjusted to a second capacitance greater than the first capacitance (See paragraphs [0059] and [0065] in view of claim 1 of Chin), detect a grip on the electronic device using the voltage changed by the capacitor (See paragraph [0024] of Chin), based on identifying that the capacitance of the capacitor is decreased to a third capacitance smaller than the first capacitance (See claim 5 in view of claim 14 of Chin), change the first capacitance stored in the memory to the third capacitance (See claim 5 in view of claim 14 of Chin), and based on a number of the capacitance of the capacitor adjusted smaller than the second capacitance (See claim 5 in view of claim 14 of Chin), change the first capacitance stored in the memory to the second capacitance (See claim 5 in view of claim 14 of Chin).
With respect to claim 2, Chin discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions (See paragraph [0034] in view of paragraph [0046] of Chin), that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively (See paragraph [0033] in view of paragraph [0057] of Chin), cause the electronic device to: in response to occurrence of a preset event that the capacitance of the capacitor adjusted to the second capacitance (See paragraph [0059] in view of paragraph [0060] of Chin), detect the grip based on the first capacitance stored in the memory (See paragraph [0056] in view of paragraph [0065] of Chin), and the voltage outputted from the grip sensor (See paragraph [0024] of Chin).
With respect to claim 3, Chin discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying the voltage greater than a preset voltage, detect the grip (See claim 5 of Chin), and in a state detecting the grip (See claim 5 of Chin), detect a release of the grip based on identifying that the voltage is decreased to the preset voltage (See claim 5 of Chin).
With respect to claim 4, Chin discloses the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the preset event occurred based on at least one of an establishment of a connection by a port of the electronic device, booting of the electronic device, or identification of an external object being contacted on the electronic device (See paragraph [0074] of Chin).
With respect to claim 12, Chin discloses a method of operating an electronic device, the method comprising: adjusting a capacitance of a capacitor in a grip sensor to change a voltage outputted from the grip sensor (See paragraphs [0059] and [0065] in view of claim 1 of Chin), based on a first capacitance stored in memory (See claim 5 in view of claim 14 of Chin); after the capacitance of the capacitor is adjusted to a second capacitance greater than the first capacitance (See paragraphs [0059] and [0065] in view of claim 1 of Chin), detecting a grip on the electronic device using the voltage changed by the capacitor (See paragraph [0024] of Chin); based on identifying that the capacitance of the capacitor is decreased to a third capacitance smaller than the first capacitance (See claim 5 in view of claim 14 of Chin), changing the first capacitance stored in the memory to the third capacitance (See claim 5 in view of claim 14 of Chin); and based on a number of the capacitance of the capacitor adjusted smaller than the second capacitance (See claim 5 in view of claim 14 of Chin), changing the first capacitance stored in the memory to the second capacitance (See claim 5 in view of claim 14 of Chin).
With respect to claim 13, Chin discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: while the capacitance of the capacitor adjusted to the second capacitance is changed based on occurrence of a preset event (See paragraph [0059] in view of paragraph [0060] of Chin), detecting the grip based on the first capacitance stored in the memory (See paragraph [0056] in view of paragraph [0065] of Chin), and the voltage outputted from the grip sensor (See paragraph [0024] of Chin).
With respect to claim 14, Chin discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: based on identifying the voltage greater than a preset voltage, detecting the grip; and in a state detecting the grip (See claim 5 of Chin), detecting a release of the grip based on identifying that the voltage is decreased to the preset voltage (See claim 5 of Chin).
With respect to claim 17, Chin discloses an electronic device comprising: a grip sensor (See paragraph [0065] of Chin); memory storing one or more computer programs (See paragraph [0034] in view of paragraph [0046] of Chin); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the grip sensor and the memory (See paragraph [0034] in view of paragraph [0046] and further in view of claim 1 of Chin), wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that (See paragraph [0034] in view of paragraph [0046] of Chin), when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
adjust a capacitance of a capacitor in the grip sensor (See paragraph [0033] in view of paragraph [0057] of Chin), in a range indicated by a first capacitance stored in the memory (See paragraph [0040] of Chin), based on whether a voltage outputted from the grip sensor (See paragraph [0045] of Chin) maintains a preset voltage by a second capacitance in the range (See paragraphs [0059] and [0065] in view of claim 1 of Chin), detect a grip on the electronic device independently from the first capacitance (See paragraph [0067] of Chin), and while the capacitance of the capacitor is adjusted based on occurrence of a preset event, detect a grip on the electronic device based on the first capacitance and the voltage (See paragraph [0024] of Chin).
With respect to claim 18, Chin discloses the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the preset event occurred based on at least one of an establishment of a connection by a port of the electronic device, booting of the electronic device, or identification of an external object being contacted on the electronic device (See paragraph [0074] of Chin).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of D' Souza et al. (US PUB 2018/0101711), hereinafter D'Souza.
With respect to claim 15, Chin discloses the method of claim 12, but fails to disclose further comprising: identifying a temperature of the grip sensor from a temperature sensor; and identifying the first capacitance based on a parameter corresponding to the identified temperature among parameters mapped to different temperatures which are stored in the memory. However, D’Souza does disclose identifying a temperature of the grip sensor from a temperature sensor (See paragraphs [0010] in view of [0106] of D’Souza); and identifying the first capacitance based on a parameter corresponding to the identified temperature among parameters mapped to different temperatures which are stored in the memory (See paragraph [0004] of D’Souza). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method disclosed by Chin to include the method steps disclosed by D’Souza because doing so enhances detection accuracy and stability.
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Chin and D’Souza discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: based on identifying that the capacitance of the capacitor is decreased to the third capacitance, changing a parameter, corresponding to the identified temperature among the parameters, based on the third capacitance (See paragraphs [0106]-[0109] of D’Souza).
With respect to claim 19, Chin discloses the electronic device of claim 17, but fails to disclose further comprises a temperature sensor to measure a temperature of the grip sensor. However, D’Souza does disclose a temperature sensor to measure a temperature of the grip sensor (See paragraphs [0010] in view of [0106] of D’Souza). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Chin to include the feature disclosed by D’Souza because doing so enhances detection accuracy and stability.
With respect to claim 20, the combination of Chin and D’Souza discloses the electronic device of claim 19, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that (See paragraph [0062] of D’Souza), when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device (See paragraph [0143] of D’Souza) to: identify a temperature of the grip sensor from the temperature sensor (See paragraphs [0010] in view of [0106] of D’Souza), and identify the first capacitance based on a parameter corresponding to the identified temperature among parameters mapped to different temperatures which are stored in
the memory (See paragraph [0004] of D’Souza).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5- objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 5, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: based on that the establishment of a connection by the port of the electronic device is disconnected, maintain one of the first capacitance or the third capacitance.
Claims 6-8 depend from objected to claim 5 and are therefore also objected to.
With respect to claim 9, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein the grip sensor include: an amplifier including a noninverted input that is grounded, an inverted input connected to an end of the capacitor which is a first capacitor, and an output node connected to a preset node; a second capacitor including an end connected to the inverted input, and another end connected to the preset node; a third capacitor including an end connected to the inverted input, and another end that is grounded; integrated circuitry including an end connected to the preset node, and another end connected to the one or more processors; and a controller to charge the first capacitor.
Claims 10 and 11 depend from objected to claim 9 and are therefore also objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US .
/TEMILADE S RHODES-VIVOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858