DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/25 have been fully read and considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s current amendment cancels previous claims 1-20 due to statutory double patenting rejection from previous Office Action mailed 9/18/25. Applicant provides new claims 21-40 and asserts that they should be deemed allowable.
However, an obviousness double patenting rejection is performed in that claims 21, 23-28, 30-35 and 37-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,824 in view of Holcomb (US 2015/0334416). Peruse the rejection below for elaboration.
Also, claim 40 is also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) since claim 40 is dependent on canceled claim 1. However, it appears that claim 40 has a typographical error in that claim 40 should be changed from “method of claim 1” to “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35” because it appears that Applicant meant for claim 40 to be dependent under independent claim 35.
And, claims 35-40 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) in view of Kadono (US 2004/0076237). And since claim 40 was meant to be a “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” claim, thus claim 40 will also be rejected in view of Kadono. Peruse the rejection below for elaboration.
Dependent claims 22 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 is dependent on canceled claim 1. Thus, it is improper to have a dependent claim dependent on a canceled claim.
Also, it appears that claim 40 has a typographical error in that Applicant intended to have claim 40 being dependent on claim 35. Thus, in order to overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejection, in line 1 of claim 40, Applicant needs to change “method of claim 1” to “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadono (US 2004/0076237).
Kadono discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), the video encoding method comprising: determining a first variable indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; determining, based on the first variable indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, a second variable indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of a current picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the current picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, encoding the current picture in the video bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.).
Note claim 35 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising: determining a first variable indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; determining, based on the first variable indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, a second variable indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of a current picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the current picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, encoding the current picture in the video bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode”. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 35 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 35.
Regarding claim 36, Kadono discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35 (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), wherein based on the first variable indicating that reference picture resampling is enabled, the third variable indicates whether output pictures have a constant output picture size indicated in the video bitstream, based on the second variable indicating that reference pictures, including the reference picture, have a constant reference picture size, the reference picture is to be generated by resampling a decoded picture decoded from the current picture and stored in a decoded picture buffer, based on the third variable indicating that the output pictures have the constant output picture size, an output picture, of the output pictures, is to be generated by resampling the decoded picture to have the constant output picture size, and outputting the output picture, the first variable, the second variable, and the third variable are indicated by the video bitstream, the first variable indicates whether the reference picture resampling is enabled, the second variable indicates whether the reference pictures have the constant reference picture size indicated in the video bitstream (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc. for storing the contents of a bitstream).
Since claim 36 is dependent on claim 35, the reasons for rejecting claim 35 also apply to claim 36 because the claim 35 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising: determining a first variable indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; determining, based on the first variable indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, a second variable indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of a current picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the current picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, encoding the current picture in the video bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode”.
Thus, for similar reasons as stated above for claim 35, the claim 36 limitation “…wherein based on the first variable indicating that reference picture resampling is enabled, the third variable indicates whether output pictures have a constant output picture size indicated in the video bitstream, based on the second variable indicating that reference pictures, including the reference picture, have a constant reference picture size, the reference picture is to be generated by resampling a decoded picture decoded from the current picture and stored in a decoded picture buffer, based on the third variable indicating that the output pictures have the constant output picture size, an output picture, of the output pictures, is to be generated by resampling the decoded picture to have the constant output picture size, and outputting the output picture, the first variable, the second variable, and the third variable are indicated by the video bitstream, the first variable indicates whether the reference picture resampling is enabled, the second variable indicates whether the reference pictures have the constant reference picture size indicated in the video bitstream” is also devoid of functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim 36. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 36 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 36.
Regarding claim 37, Kadono discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35 (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a first mode, interpolated pixels in the reference picture are not additionally filtered for motion compensation (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc. for storing the contents of a bitstream).
Since claim 37 is dependent on claim 35, the reasons for rejecting claim 35 also apply to claim 37 because the claim 35 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising: determining a first variable indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; determining, based on the first variable indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, a second variable indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of a current picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the current picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, encoding the current picture in the video bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode”.
Thus, for similar reasons as stated above for claim 35, the claim 37 limitation “…wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a first mode, interpolated pixels in the reference picture are not additionally filtered for motion compensation” is also devoid of functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim 37. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 37 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 37.
Regarding claim 38, Kadono discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35 (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a second mode, interpolated pixels in a reference picture are additionally filtered for motion compensation (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc. for storing the contents of a bitstream).
Since claim 38 is dependent on claim 35, the reasons for rejecting claim 35 also apply to claim 38 because the claim 35 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising: determining a first variable indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; determining, based on the first variable indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, a second variable indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of a current picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the current picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, encoding the current picture in the video bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode”.
Thus, for similar reasons as stated above for claim 35, the claim 38 limitation “…wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a second mode, interpolated pixels in a reference picture are additionally filtered for motion compensation” is also devoid of functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim 38. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 38 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 38.
Regarding claim 39, Kadono discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35 (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a third mode, pixels in the reference picture are filtered and interpolated for motion compensation (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc. for storing the contents of a bitstream).
Since claim 39 is dependent on claim 35, the reasons for rejecting claim 35 also apply to claim 39 because the claim 35 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising: determining a first variable indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; determining, based on the first variable indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, a second variable indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of a current picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the current picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, encoding the current picture in the video bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode”.
Thus, for similar reasons as stated above for claim 35, the claim 39 limitation “…wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a third mode, pixels in the reference picture are filtered and interpolated for motion compensation” is also devoid of functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim 39. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 39 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 39.
Regarding claim 40, Kadono discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35 (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc.), further comprising determining a list of picture sizes based on the video bitstream, an index indicating a picture size within the list of picture sizes, the list of picture sizes is indicated in a sequence parameter set, and the index is indicated in a picture parameter set (paragraph [257], Kadono discloses a computer readable data medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, hard disk drive, etc. for storing the contents of a bitstream).
Since claim 40 is dependent on claim 35, the reasons for rejecting claim 35 also apply to claim 40 because the claim 35 is directed to “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’'. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium without functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim “…storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising: determining a first variable indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; determining, based on the first variable indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, a second variable indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of a current picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the current picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, encoding the current picture in the video bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode”.
Thus, for similar reasons as stated above for claim 35, the claim 40 limitation “…further comprising determining a list of picture sizes based on the video bitstream, an index indicating a picture size within the list of picture sizes, the list of picture sizes is indicated in a sequence parameter set, and the index is indicated in a picture parameter set” is also devoid of functional relationship between the computer readable medium and the rest of recited features of the claim 40. When determining the scope of the claim, the above features of claim 40 were not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 (III). Thus, the computer-readable data recording medium such as CD-ROM, floppy disk, or a hard disk drive disclosed in Kadono meets Applicant’s claim 40.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 23-28, 30-35 and 37-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,381,824 in view of Holcomb (US 2015/0334416).
Regarding claim 21, claim 1 of Patent ‘824 discloses most of the limitations of claim 21 of present Application ‘261 in that “first flag” of claim 1 of Patent ‘824 is similar to “first variable” of claim 21 of present Application ‘261, and “syntax element” of claim 1 of Patent ‘824 is similar to “second variable” of claim 21 of present Application ‘261. Peruse the table below.
Claim 1 of Patent ‘824 does not disclose receiving a video bitstream comprising a current picture. However, Holcomb teaches receiving a video bitstream (paragraph [40], fig.3, Holcomb discloses element 390 is a buffer that receives encoded bitstream to be decoded by entropy decoder 380) comprising a current picture (paragraph [35], Holcomb discloses current frame is obtained and readied to be encoded by encoder, wherein paragraph [37], Holcomb discloses entropy coder 280 compresses video bitstream including the current frame to form an encoded bitstream, and paragraph [40], fig.3, Holcomb discloses element 390 is a buffer that receives encoded bitstream to be decoded by entropy decoder 380). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of Patent ‘824 and Holcomb together as a whole for accurately compress video data for data transmission in an efficient manner.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 of present Application ‘261 is similar to the combination of claims 2 and 3 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 23 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by the combination of claims 2 and 3 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 4 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 24 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by claim 4 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 5 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 25 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by claim 5 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 6 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 26 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by claim 6 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 of present Application ‘261 is similar to the combination of claims 7-9 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 27 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by the combination of claims 7-9 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 1 of Patent ‘824 with similar limitations with the exception that claim 28 of present Application ‘261 is an encoding embodiment and claim 1 of Patent ‘824 is a decoding embodiment. Also, note that “first flag” of claim 1 of Patent ‘824 is similar to “first variable” of claim 28 of present Application ‘261, and “syntax element” of claim 1 of Patent ‘824 is similar to “second variable” of claim 28 of present Application ‘261. Claim 1 of Patent ‘824 does not disclose a method of video encoding, receiving a video data comprising a current picture, and encoding the current picture in a bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode. However, Holcomb discloses a method of video encoding (paragraph [29], Holcomb discloses a method for video encoding that comprises encoding a current frame, wherein paragraph 40, fig.3, Holcomb discloses element 390 is a buffer that receives encoded bitstream to be decoded by entropy decoder 380), receiving a video data comprising a current picture (paragraph [29], Holcomb discloses a method for video encoding that comprises encoding a current frame), and encoding the current picture in a bitstream (paragraph [29], Holcomb discloses a method for video encoding that comprises encoding a current frame).
Since claim 1 of Patent ‘824 discloses most of the limitations of claim 28 of present Application ‘261, and Holcomb discloses that there is an encoding embodiment that can perform the opposite operation of a decoding embodiment, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of Patent ‘824 and Holcomb together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…encoding the current picture in a bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode” in order to accurately encode video data in an efficient manner.
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 of present Application ‘261 is similar to the combination of claims 2 and 3 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 30 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by the combination of claims 2 and 3 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 4 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 31 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by claim 4 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 5 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 32 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by claim 5 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 6 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 33 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by claim 6 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 of present Application ‘261 is similar to the combination of claims 7-9 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 34 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by the combination of claims 7-9 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 1 of Patent ‘824 with similar limitations with the exception that claim 35 of present Application ‘261 is an encoding embodiment with a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and claim 1 of Patent ‘824 is a decoding embodiment. Also, note that “first flag” of claim 1 of Patent ‘824 is similar to “first variable” of claim 35 of present Application ‘261, and “syntax element” of claim 1 of Patent ‘824 is similar to “second variable” of claim 35 of present Application ‘261. Claim 1 of Patent ‘824 does not disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, and encoding the current picture in the video bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode. However, Holcomb discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (paragraph [87], Holcomb discloses data or information can be stored in a computer readable storage medium) storing a bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method (paragraph [29], Holcomb discloses a method for video encoding that comprises encoding a current frame, wherein paragraph 40, fig.3, Holcomb discloses element 390 is a buffer that receives encoded bitstream to be decoded by entropy decoder 380), and encoding the current picture in the video bitstream (paragraph [29], Holcomb discloses a method for video encoding that comprises encoding a current frame).
Since claim 1 of Patent ‘824 discloses most of the limitations of claim 35 of present Application ‘261, and Holcomb discloses that there is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that comprises an encoding embodiment that can perform the opposite operation of a decoding embodiment, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of Patent ‘824 and Holcomb together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…encoding the current picture in the video bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode” in order to accurately encode video data in an efficient manner.
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 4 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 37 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by claim 4 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 38, claim 38 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 5 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 38 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by claim 5 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 39, claim 39 of present Application ‘261 is similar to claim 6 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 39 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by claim 6 of Patent ‘824.
Regarding claim 40, claim 40 of present Application ‘261 is similar to the combination of claims 7-9 of Patent ‘824. Thus, claim 40 of present Application ‘261 is anticipated by the combination of claims 7-9 of Patent ‘824.
Peruse the table below.
Present Application 18/913,261
US Patent No. 11,381,824
Claim 21.
A method for video decoding in a decoder, the method comprising: receiving a video bitstream comprising a current picture; determining, based on a first variable, whether reference picture resampling is enabled; based on the first variable indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, obtaining a second variable indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of the current picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the current picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, reconstructing the current picture according to the reference picture resampling mode.
Claim 1.
A method of decoding an encoded video bitstream using at least one processor, the method comprising: obtaining a coded picture from the encoded video bitstream; obtaining from the encoded video bitstream a first flag indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; based on the first flag indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, obtaining a syntax element indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of the coded picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture for decoding the coded picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the coded picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, decoding the coded picture according to the reference picture resampling mode to obtain a decoded picture.
Claim 23.
The method of claim 21, wherein at least one of: the first variable is indicated in a sequence parameter set, and the second variable is indicated in a picture parameter set.
Claim 2.
The method of claim 1, wherein the first flag is signaled in a sequence parameter set included in the encoded video bitstream.
Claim 3.
The method of claim 1, wherein the syntax element is signaled in a picture parameter set included in the encoded video bitstream.
Claim 24.
The method of claim 21, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a first mode, interpolated pixels in the reference picture are not additionally filtered for motion compensation.
Claim 4.
The method of claim 1, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a first mode, interpolated pixels in the reference picture are not additionally filtered for motion compensation in order to perform the decoding.
Claim 25.
The method of claim 21, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a second mode, interpolated pixels in a reference picture are additionally filtered for motion compensation.
Claim 5.
The method of claim 1, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a second mode, interpolated pixels in a reference picture are additionally filtered for motion compensation in order to perform the decoding.
Claim 26.
The method of claim 21, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a third mode, pixels in the reference picture are filtered and interpolated for motion compensation.
Claim 6.
The method of claim 1, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a third mode, pixels in the reference picture are filtered and interpolated for motion compensation in order to perform the decoding.
Claim 27.
The method of claim 21, further comprising obtaining a list of picture sizes based on the video bitstream, an index indicating a picture size within the list of picture sizes, the list of picture sizes is indicated in a sequence parameter set, and the index is indicated in a picture parameter set.
Claim 7.
The method of claim 1, further comprising obtaining a list of picture sizes from the encoded video bitstream.
Claim 8.
The method of claim 7, further comprising obtaining an index indicating a picture size of the decoded picture within the list of picture sizes.
Claim 9.
The method of claim 8, wherein the list of picture sizes is signaled in a sequence parameter set included in the encoded video bitstream, and wherein the index is signaled in a picture parameter set included in the encoded video bitstream.
Claim 28.
A method of video encoding, the method comprising: receiving a video data comprising a current picture; determining a first variable indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; determining, based on the first variable indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, a second variable indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of the current picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the current picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, encoding the current picture in a bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode.
Claim 1.
A method of decoding an encoded video bitstream using at least one processor, the method comprising: obtaining a coded picture from the encoded video bitstream; obtaining from the encoded video bitstream a first flag indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; based on the first flag indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, obtaining a syntax element indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of the coded picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture for decoding the coded picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the coded picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, decoding the coded picture according to the reference picture resampling mode to obtain a decoded picture.
Claim 30.
The method of claim 28, wherein at least one of: the first variable is indicated in a sequence parameter set, and the second variable is indicated in a picture parameter set.
Claim 2.
The method of claim 1, wherein the first flag is signaled in a sequence parameter set included in the encoded video bitstream.
Claim 3.
The method of claim 1, wherein the syntax element is signaled in a picture parameter set included in the encoded video bitstream.
Claim 31.
The method of claim 28, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a first mode, interpolated pixels in the reference picture are not additionally filtered for motion compensation.
Claim 4.
The method of claim 1, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a first mode, interpolated pixels in the reference picture are not additionally filtered for motion compensation in order to perform the decoding.
Claim 32.
The method of claim 28, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a second mode, interpolated pixels in a reference picture are additionally filtered for motion compensation.
Claim 5.
The method of claim 1, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a second mode, interpolated pixels in a reference picture are additionally filtered for motion compensation in order to perform the decoding.
Claim 33.
The method of claim 28, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a third mode, pixels in the reference picture are filtered and interpolated for motion compensation.
Claim 6.
The method of claim 1, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a third mode, pixels in the reference picture are filtered and interpolated for motion compensation in order to perform the decoding.
Claim 34.
The method of claim 28, further comprising obtaining a list of picture sizes based on the video bitstream, an index indicating a picture size within the list of picture sizes, the list of picture sizes is indicated in a sequence parameter set, and the index is indicated in a picture parameter set.
Claim 7.
The method of claim 1, further comprising obtaining a list of picture sizes from the encoded video bitstream.
Claim 8.
The method of claim 7, further comprising obtaining an index indicating a picture size of the decoded picture within the list of picture sizes.
Claim 9.
The method of claim 8, wherein the list of picture sizes is signaled in a sequence parameter set included in the encoded video bitstream, and wherein the index is signaled in a picture parameter set included in the encoded video bitstream.
Claim 35.
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, the video encoding method comprising: determining a first variable indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; determining, based on the first variable indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, a second variable indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of a current picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the current picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, encoding the current picture in the video bitstream according to the reference picture resampling mode.
Claim 1.
A method of decoding an encoded video bitstream using at least one processor, the method comprising: obtaining a coded picture from the encoded video bitstream; obtaining from the encoded video bitstream a first flag indicating whether reference picture resampling is enabled; based on the first flag indicating that the reference picture resampling is enabled, obtaining a syntax element indicating a reference picture resampling mode; determining whether a resolution of the coded picture is different from a resolution of a reference picture for decoding the coded picture; and based on determining that the resolution of the coded picture is different from the resolution of the reference picture, decoding the coded picture according to the reference picture resampling mode to obtain a decoded picture.
Claim 37.
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a first mode, interpolated pixels in the reference picture are not additionally filtered for motion compensation.
Claim 4.
The method of claim 1, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a first mode, interpolated pixels in the reference picture are not additionally filtered for motion compensation in order to perform the decoding.
Claim 38.
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a second mode, interpolated pixels in a reference picture are additionally filtered for motion compensation.
Claim 5.
The method of claim 1, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a second mode, interpolated pixels in a reference picture are additionally filtered for motion compensation in order to perform the decoding.
Claim 39.
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 35, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a third mode, pixels in the reference picture are filtered and interpolated for motion compensation.
Claim 6.
The method of claim 1, wherein based on the reference picture resampling mode being a third mode, pixels in the reference picture are filtered and interpolated for motion compensation in order to perform the decoding.
Claim 40.
The method of claim 1, further comprising determining a list of picture sizes based on the video bitstream, an index indicating a picture size within the list of picture sizes, the list of picture sizes is indicated in a sequence parameter set, and the index is indicated in a picture parameter set.
Claim 7.
The method of claim 1, further comprising obtaining a list of picture sizes from the encoded video bitstream.
Claim 8.
The method of claim 7, further comprising obtaining an index indicating a picture size of the decoded picture within the list of picture sizes.
Claim 9.
The method of claim 8, wherein the list of picture sizes is signaled in a sequence parameter set included in the encoded video bitstream, and wherein the index is signaled in a picture parameter set included in the encoded video bitstream.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488