DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on June 24th 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to the drawings and claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on March 24th 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 – “provide signals of the NR frequency band of EN-DC” should be corrected to “provide signals of the NR frequency band of the EN-DC”.
Claim 5 – the distances as recited in the claim should be labeled to differentiate them for clarity as such “wherein a first distance between the second antenna and the camera is greater than a second distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera, and wherein a third distance between the third antenna and the camera is greater than the second distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera.”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 10 recite “provide signals of a NR frequency band of the EN-DC” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear as to what this NR frequency band is and how it relates to the first NR band and the second NR band. Would this band be the same as the first/second or would it have to be different band altogether. Based on the specifications it seems that that the NR band would be either the first NR band or the second NR band. For the purposes of examination, the examiner as best understood, will interpret claim 1 to mean “provide signals of a NR frequency band of the EN-DC wherein the NR frequency band being included in the at least one first NR frequency band or at least one second NR frequency band ” to bring the claim more in line with what is taught in the specifications.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1.
Claim 1 and 10 recite “provide signals of a NR frequency band” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 and 10 fail to recite a power/feed source or medium through which the signals would be provided and thus is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. Based on the specifications its seems like an RFIC is used to feed signals to the antennas and as such would be the omitted element in this case. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret claim 1/10 to mean “to control the wireless communication circuitry and a RFIC to” to bring the claim more in line with what is taught in the specifications.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (IDS Reference US 20210297103 A1) in view of Jain et al. (US 20220030479 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang discloses an electronic device (Electronic device of figure 10 of Kang) comprising:
wireless communication circuitry configured to support Evolved-Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA)-New Radio (NR)-dual connectivity (EN-DC) (Electronic device may be configured for ENDC communication wherein said device includes wireless communication circuity like wireless communication modules 110 and transceiver circuitry like 1200a-b; Paragraph 61-75 and 266 as well as figure 2a and 10 of Kang);
a first antenna configured for at least one first Long-term evolution (LTE) frequency band (First antenna ANT1 may be configured for a first LTE band like b5 or possible some other; Paragraph 258-278 and figure 10 of Kang);
a second antenna configured for at least one second LTE frequency band and at least one first new radio (NR) frequency band (Second antenna ANT2 can be configured for a LTE or NR of a second band wherein the LTE would serve as a second LTE band at b66 and the NR at nr66 would serve as a first NR band but bands are not just limited to these; Paragraph 258-278 and figure 10 of Kang) ;
a third antenna configured for at least one second NR frequency band (Third antenna ANT3 can be configured for a NR band in a third band wherein this NR at something like N79 or N71 would serve as the second NR band; Paragraph 208 and 258-278 as well as figure 10 of Kang);
an NR transmission/reception antenna configured for the at least one first NR frequency band and the at least one second NR frequency band (The fifth antenna ANT5 may be configured to operate in the NR bands of the second and third bands which are serving as the first NR and second NR and as such the Fifth antenna serves as an NR Transmission/Reception antenna and a fourth antenna also exists that can be operated in multiple bands and can possible serve as NR antenna; Paragraph 219 and 258-278 as well as figure 10 of Kang); and
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, wherein the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the wireless communication circuitry to: (Processors like baseband processor 1400 may be configured to control the antennas to enable ENDC operations by using multiple antennas at the same time wherein said processors would control wireless communication circuitry to supply correct signals as well as the antenna switches such that a first antenna can be used in LTE and a second antenna can be used in NR wherein antenna device would naturally identify the NR signal to be used like the NR of the second or third bands and these signals would be provided to the NR Transmission/Reception ANT 5 and ANT 2/ANT 3 which would serve as additional antennas ; Paragraph 19-25 and 223-264 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang).
provide signals of a NR frequency band of the EN-DC to both the NR transmission/reception antenna and an additional antenna being one of the second antenna and the third antenna (During ENDC operation, the first antenna may be configured to operate in a first LTE band like B5 while the second and fifth antenna serving as the NR Transmission/Reception antenna and additional antenna may operate in a NR66 band; Paragraph 219 and 258-278 as well as figure 10 of Kang), and
provide signals of the NR frequency band of EN-DC to both the NR transmission/reception antenna and the third antenna (During ENDC operation the second antenna may operate in a second LTE band like b66 while the third antenna can operate in a second/third NR transmission band like N66/N79 simultaneously wherein the NR Transmission/Reception antenna can also be configured to operate in a NR band like N66 or N71, Paragraph 23, 258-278, 304, and 328 as well as figure 10 of Kang).
Although Kang does not explicitly disclose in a case that the first antenna corresponds to an anchor antenna of the EN-DC and in a case the second antenna corresponds to the anchor antenna of the EN-DC. Kang does suggest that the first antenna corresponds to an anchor antenna of the EN-DC and the second antenna corresponds to the anchor antenna of the EN-DC (First and Second antennas ANT1/ANT2 can be configured to operate in LTE bands like B5/B66 wherein another antenna may simultaneously operate in a NR band such that ANT1 and ANT 2 would inherently serve as anchor antennas even if they are not referred to as such; Paragraphs 19-25, 246-278, and 328-340 as well as figures 7 and 10 of Kang)
However, Jain et al. does explicitly disclose in a case that the first antenna corresponds to an anchor antenna of the EN-DC and in a case the second antenna corresponds to the anchor antenna of the EN-DC. (ENDC operation may include selecting an LTE carrier as an anchor carrier wherein the LTE would be used by a first antenna of a plurality of antennas thus serving as an anchor antenna and also selecting NR carrier as the non-anchor carrier wherein NR would be used by a second antenna of the plurality which serves as an additional antenna which transmits in the NR band and thus would have to be fed those NR signals wherein the anchor carrier is chosen based on the best antenna so a second antenna or any antenna of the plurality of antennas may be chosen to be the anchor; Paragraph 100-114 and 134-138 as well as figure 4 of Jain et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang with the teachings of Jain et al. to have in a case that the first antenna corresponds to an anchor antenna of the EN-DC and in a case the second antenna corresponds to the anchor antenna of the EN-DC so one can select the best antennas to be used for LTE and NR bands which improve performance (Paragraph 101-103 and 129 of Jain et al.) and since Kang already suggest such functionality.
Regarding Claim 2, Kang does disclose wherein, the first antenna and the NR frequency band of the EN-DC being included in the at least one first NR frequency band, the additional antenna is identified as the second antenna, and wherein, the NR frequency band of the EN-DC being included in the at least one second NR frequency band, the additional antenna is identified as the third antenna(First antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the second or third antenna can operate in their respective NR bands thus serving as additional antennas, furthermore, the second antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the third antenna can operate in its NR band thus serving as the additional antenna; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang).
Although, Kang fails to explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna. Kang does implicitly disclose the anchor antenna being the first antenna (First antenna can operate in its own LTE band as NR signals are sent to an additional antenna for ENDC operation wherein the first antenna would inherently be an anchor antenna; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang)
However, Jain et al. does explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna (ENDC operation may include selecting an LTE carrier as an anchor carrier wherein the LTE would be used by a first antenna of a plurality of antennas thus serving as an anchor antenna and also selecting NR carrier as the non-anchor carrier wherein NR would be used by a second antenna of the plurality which serves as an additional antenna which transmits in the NR band and thus would have to be fed those NR signals; Paragraph 100-114 and 134-138 as well as figure 4 of Jain et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang with the teachings of Jain et al. to have wherein based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna, so one can select the best antennas to be used for LTE and NR bands which improve performance (Paragraph 101-103 and 129 of Jain et al.) and since Kang already suggest such functionality.
Regarding Claim 3, Kang does disclose wherein based on the LTE frequency band of the EN-DC being included in the at least one first LTE frequency band, and wherein based on the LTE frequency band of the EN-DC being included in the at least one second LTE frequency band (First antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the second or third antenna can operate in their respective NR bands thus serving as additional antennas, furthermore, the second antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the third antenna can operate in its NR band thus serving as the additional antenna; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang).
Although Kang fails to explicitly disclose the anchor antenna is identified as the first antenna and the anchor antenna is identified the second antenna. Kang does implicitly disclose the anchor antenna is identified as the first antenna and the anchor antenna is identified the second antenna (First antenna can operate in its own LTE band as NR signals are sent to an additional antenna for ENDC operation wherein the first antenna would inherently be an anchor antenna and the same is true for the second antenna in its own LTE Band; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang)
However, Jain et al. does explicitly disclose anchor antenna is identified as the first antenna and the anchor antenna is identified the second antenna (ENDC operation may include selecting an LTE carrier as an anchor carrier wherein the LTE would be used by a first antenna of a plurality of antennas thus serving as an anchor antenna and also selecting NR carrier as the non-anchor carrier wherein NR would be used by a second antenna of the plurality which serves as an additional antenna which transmits in the NR band and thus would have to be fed those NR signals wherein the anchor carrier is chosen based on the best antenna so a second antenna or any antenna of the plurality of antennas may be chosen to be the anchor; Paragraph 100-114 and 134-138 as well as figure 4 of Jain et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang with the teachings of Jain et al. to have anchor antenna is identified as the first antenna and the anchor antenna is identified the second antenna, so one can select the best antennas to be used for LTE and NR bands which improve performance (Paragraph 101-103 and 129 of Jain et al.) and since Kang already suggest such functionality.
Regarding Claim 4, Kang further discloses comprising switching circuitry configured for power distribution to the NR transmission/reception antenna and the additional antenna, wherein based on the NR frequency band being included in the at least one first NR frequency band, the switching circuitry is connected to the second antenna, and wherein based on the NR frequency band being included in the at least one second NR frequency band, the switching circuitry is connected to the third antenna (Electronic device further comprises a plurality of switches SW1-SW10 that are configured to be used for power distribution of the antenna units by either implement LTE or NR signals of the antenna wherein a switch is connected to the second and third antennas ANT2/ANT3 such an NR signal like the first or second can be transmitted through them, Paragraph 205-256 and figure 8-10 of Kang).
Regarding Claim 7, Kang does disclose the NR frequency band being included in the at least one first NR frequency band, the third antenna is used to receive an NR signal (First antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the second or third antenna can operate in their respective NR bands thus serving as additional antennas that can receive NR signals; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang).
Although, Kang fails to explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna. Kang does implicitly disclose the anchor antenna being the first antenna (First antenna can operate in its own LTE band as NR signals are sent to an additional antenna for ENDC operation wherein the first antenna would inherently be an anchor antenna; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang)
However, Jain et al. does explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna (ENDC operation may include selecting an LTE carrier as an anchor carrier wherein the LTE would be used by a first antenna of a plurality of antennas thus serving as an anchor antenna and also selecting NR carrier as the non-anchor carrier wherein NR would be used by a second antenna of the plurality which serves as an additional antenna which transmits in the NR band and thus would have to be fed those NR signals; Paragraph 100-114 and 134-138 as well as figure 4 of Jain et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang with the teachings of Jain et al. to have wherein based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna, so one can select the best antennas to be used for LTE and NR bands which improve performance (Paragraph 101-103 and 129 of Jain et al.) and since Kang already suggest such functionality.
Regarding Claim 8, Kang does disclose the NR frequency band being included in the at least one second NR frequency band, the second antenna is used to receive an NR signal (First antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the second or third antenna can operate in their respective NR bands thus serving as additional antennas that can receive NR signals; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang).
Although, Kang fails to explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna. Kang does implicitly disclose the anchor antenna being the first antenna (First antenna can operate in its own LTE band as NR signals are sent to an additional antenna for ENDC operation wherein the first antenna would inherently be an anchor antenna; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang)
However, Jain et al. does explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna (ENDC operation may include selecting an LTE carrier as an anchor carrier wherein the LTE would be used by a first antenna of a plurality of antennas thus serving as an anchor antenna and also selecting NR carrier as the non-anchor carrier wherein NR would be used by a second antenna of the plurality which serves as an additional antenna which transmits in the NR band and thus would have to be fed those NR signals; Paragraph 100-114 and 134-138 as well as figure 4 of Jain et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang with the teachings of Jain et al. to have wherein based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna, so one can select the best antennas to be used for LTE and NR bands which improve performance (Paragraph 101-103 and 129 of Jain et al.) and since Kang already suggest such functionality.
Regarding Claim 9, Although Kang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one first NR frequency band includes a 5th generation (5G) NR Band 3 having an uplink frequency range corresponding to a range of 1710 megahertz (MHz) to 1785 MHz. Kang does disclose wherein the at least one first NR frequency band includes a 5th generation (5G) NR Band having an uplink frequency range corresponding to a range of 1710 megahertz (MHz) to 1785 MHz (ANT2 first NR frequency band may be a n66 band having an uplink frequency of 1710-1780mhz; Paragraph 289 of Kang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang to have at least one first NR frequency band includes a 5th generation (5G) NR Band 3 having an uplink frequency range corresponding to a range of 1710 megahertz (MHz) to 1785 MHz since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact that band of operation may be changed depending on application (Paragraph 233 and 258 of Kang).
Regarding Claim 11, Kang discloses method performed by an electronic device (electronic device of figure 10 of Kang), the method comprising:
an anchor antenna of an Evolved-universal terrestrial radio access -New radio Dual Connectivity, EN-DC, among: (Processors like baseband processor 1400 may be configured to control the antennas to enable ENDC operations by using multiple antennas at the same time wherein said processors would control wireless communication circuitry to supply correct signals as well as the antenna switches such that a first antenna can be used in LTE as an anchor antenna and a second antenna can be used in NR wherein antenna device would naturally identify the NR signal to be used like the NR of the second or third bands and these signals would be provided to the NR Transmission/Reception ANT 5 and ANT 2/ANT 3 which would serve as additional antennas ; Paragraph 19-25 and 223-264 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang);
a first antenna configured for at least one first Long-term evolution, LTE, frequency band (First antenna ANT1 may be configured for a first LTE band like b5 or possible some other; Paragraph 258-278 and figure 10 of Kang), and
a second antenna configured for at least one second LTE frequency band and at least one first new radio, NR, frequency band (Second antenna ANT2 can be configured for a LTE or NR of a second band wherein the LTE would serve as a second LTE band at b66 and the NR at nr66 would serve as a first NR band but bands are not just limited to these; Paragraph 258-278 and figure 10 of Kang),
providing signals of a NR frequency band of the EN-DC to both the NR transmission/reception antenna and an additional antenna being one of the second antenna and a third antenna (During ENDC operation, the first antenna may be configured to operate in a first LTE band like B5 while the second and fifth antenna serving as the NR Transmission/Reception antenna and additional antenna may operate in a NR66 band; Paragraph 219 and 258-278 as well as figure 10 of Kang), and
providing signals of the NR frequency band of EN-DC to both the NR transmission/reception antenna and the third antenna (During ENDC operation the second antenna may operate in a second LTE band like b66 while the third antenna can operate in a second/third NR transmission band like N66/N79 simultaneously wherein the NR Transmission/Reception antenna can also be configured to operate in a NR band like N66 or N71, Paragraph 23, 258-278, 304, and 328 as well as figure 10 of Kang).
wherein the third antenna is configured to support at least one second NR frequency band (Third antenna ANT3 can be configured for a NR band in a third band wherein this NR at something like N79 would serve as the second NR band; Paragraph 208 and 258-278 as well as figure 10 of Kang),
wherein the NR transmission/reception antenna is configured to support the at least one first NR frequency band and the at least one second NR frequency band (The fifth antenna ANT5 may be configured to operate in the NR bands of the second and third bands which are serving as the first NR and second NR and as such the Fifth antenna serves as an NR Transmission/Reception antenna and a fourth antenna also exists that can be operated in multiple bands and can possible serve as NR antenna; Paragraph 219 and 258-278 as well as figure 10 of Kang).
Although Kang does not explicitly disclose identifying an anchor antenna, in a case that the first antenna corresponds to an anchor antenna of the EN-DC and in a case the second antenna corresponds to the anchor antenna of the EN-DC. Kang does suggest identifying an anchor antenna, that the first antenna corresponds to an anchor antenna of the EN-DC and the second antenna corresponds to the anchor antenna of the EN-DC (First and Second antennas ANT1/ANT2 can be configured to operate in LTE bands like B5/B66 wherein another antenna may simultaneously operate in a NR band such that ANT1 and ANT 2 would inherently serve as anchor antennas even if they are not referred to as such; Paragraphs 19-25, 246-278, and 328-340 as well as figures 7 and 10 of Kang)
However, Jain et al. does explicitly disclose identifying an anchor antenna, in a case that the first antenna corresponds to an anchor antenna of the EN-DC and in a case the second antenna corresponds to the anchor antenna of the EN-DC. (ENDC operation may include selecting an LTE carrier as an anchor carrier wherein the LTE would be used by a first antenna of a plurality of antennas thus serving as an anchor antenna and also selecting NR carrier as the non-anchor carrier wherein NR would be used by a second antenna of the plurality which serves as an additional antenna which transmits in the NR band and thus would have to be fed those NR signals wherein the anchor carrier is chosen based on the best antenna so a second antenna or any antenna of the plurality of antennas may be chosen to be the anchor; Paragraph 100-114 and 134-138 as well as figure 4 of Jain et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang with the teachings of Jain et al. to have identifying an anchor antenna, in a case that the first antenna corresponds to an anchor antenna of the EN-DC and in a case the second antenna corresponds to the anchor antenna of the EN-DC so one can select the best antennas to be used for LTE and NR bands which improve performance (Paragraph 101-103 and 129 of Jain et al.) and since Kang already suggest such functionality.
Regarding Claim 12, Kang does disclose wherein, the first antenna and the NR frequency band of the EN-DC being included in the at least one first NR frequency band, the additional antenna is identified as the second antenna, and wherein, the NR frequency band of the EN-DC being included in the at least one second NR frequency band, the additional antenna is identified as the third antenna(First antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the second or third antenna can operate in their respective NR bands thus serving as additional antennas, furthermore, the second antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the third antenna can operate in its NR band thus serving as the additional antenna; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang).
Although, Kang fails to explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna. Kang does implicitly disclose the anchor antenna being the first antenna (First antenna can operate in its own LTE band as NR signals are sent to an additional antenna for ENDC operation wherein the first antenna would inherently be an anchor antenna; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang)
However, Jain et al. does explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna (ENDC operation may include selecting an LTE carrier as an anchor carrier wherein the LTE would be used by a first antenna of a plurality of antennas thus serving as an anchor antenna and also selecting NR carrier as the non-anchor carrier wherein NR would be used by a second antenna of the plurality which serves as an additional antenna which transmits in the NR band and thus would have to be fed those NR signals; Paragraph 100-114 and 134-138 as well as figure 4 of Jain et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang with the teachings of Jain et al. to have wherein based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna, so one can select the best antennas to be used for LTE and NR bands which improve performance (Paragraph 101-103 and 129 of Jain et al.) and since Kang already suggest such functionality.
Regarding Claim 13, Kang does disclose wherein based on a LTE frequency band of the EN-DC being included in the at least one first LTE frequency band, and wherein based on the LTE frequency band of the EN-DC being included in the at least one second LTE frequency band (First antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the second or third antenna can operate in their respective NR bands thus serving as additional antennas, furthermore, the second antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the third antenna can operate in its NR band thus serving as the additional antenna; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang).
Although Kang fails to explicitly disclose the anchor antenna is identified as the first antenna and the anchor antenna is identified the second antenna. Kang does implicitly disclose the anchor antenna is identified as the first antenna and the anchor antenna is identified the second antenna (First antenna can operate in its own LTE band as NR signals are sent to an additional antenna for ENDC operation wherein the first antenna would inherently be an anchor antenna and the same is true for the second antenna in its own LTE Band; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang)
However, Jain et al. does explicitly disclose anchor antenna is identified as the first antenna and the anchor antenna is identified the second antenna (ENDC operation may include selecting an LTE carrier as an anchor carrier wherein the LTE would be used by a first antenna of a plurality of antennas thus serving as an anchor antenna and also selecting NR carrier as the non-anchor carrier wherein NR would be used by a second antenna of the plurality which serves as an additional antenna which transmits in the NR band and thus would have to be fed those NR signals wherein the anchor carrier is chosen based on the best antenna so a second antenna or any antenna of the plurality of antennas may be chosen to be the anchor; Paragraph 100-114 and 134-138 as well as figure 4 of Jain et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang with the teachings of Jain et al. to have anchor antenna is identified as the first antenna and the anchor antenna is identified the second antenna, so one can select the best antennas to be used for LTE and NR bands which improve performance (Paragraph 101-103 and 129 of Jain et al.) and since Kang already suggest such functionality.
Regarding Claim 14, Kang further discloses wherein the providing the signals of the NR frequency band of the EN-DC to the NR transmission/reception antenna and the additional antenna comprises performing power distribution to the NR transmission/reception antenna and the additional antenna through switching circuitry, wherein, based on the NR frequency band being included in the at least one first NR frequency band, the switching circuitry is connected to the second antenna, and wherein based on the NR frequency band being included in the at least one second NR frequency band, the switching circuitry is connected to the third antenna (Electronic device further comprises a plurality of switches SW1-SW10 that are configured to be used for power distribution of the antenna units by either implement LTE or NR signals of the antenna wherein a switch is connected to the second and third antennas ANT2/ANT3 such an NR signal like the first or second can be transmitted through them, Paragraph 205-256 and figure 8-10 of Kang).
Regarding Claim 17, Kang does disclose the NR frequency band being included in the at least one first NR frequency band, the third antenna is used to receive an NR signal (First antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the second or third antenna can operate in their respective NR bands thus serving as additional antennas that can receive NR signals; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang).
Although, Kang fails to explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna. Kang does implicitly disclose the anchor antenna being the first antenna (First antenna can operate in its own LTE band as NR signals are sent to an additional antenna for ENDC operation wherein the first antenna would inherently be an anchor antenna; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang)
However, Jain et al. does explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna (ENDC operation may include selecting an LTE carrier as an anchor carrier wherein the LTE would be used by a first antenna of a plurality of antennas thus serving as an anchor antenna and also selecting NR carrier as the non-anchor carrier wherein NR would be used by a second antenna of the plurality which serves as an additional antenna which transmits in the NR band and thus would have to be fed those NR signals; Paragraph 100-114 and 134-138 as well as figure 4 of Jain et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang with the teachings of Jain et al. to have wherein based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna, so one can select the best antennas to be used for LTE and NR bands which improve performance (Paragraph 101-103 and 129 of Jain et al.) and since Kang already suggest such functionality.
Regarding Claim 18, Kang does disclose the NR frequency band being included in the at least one second NR frequency band, the second antenna is used to receive an NR signal (First antenna can operate in its LTE band serving as an anchor antenna during which the second or third antenna can operate in their respective NR bands thus serving as additional antennas that can receive NR signals; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang).
Although, Kang fails to explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna. Kang does implicitly disclose the anchor antenna being the first antenna (First antenna can operate in its own LTE band as NR signals are sent to an additional antenna for ENDC operation wherein the first antenna would inherently be an anchor antenna; Paragraph 19-25, 250-260, and 328-342 as well as figure 3 and 10 of Kang)
However, Jain et al. does explicitly disclose based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna (ENDC operation may include selecting an LTE carrier as an anchor carrier wherein the LTE would be used by a first antenna of a plurality of antennas thus serving as an anchor antenna and also selecting NR carrier as the non-anchor carrier wherein NR would be used by a second antenna of the plurality which serves as an additional antenna which transmits in the NR band and thus would have to be fed those NR signals; Paragraph 100-114 and 134-138 as well as figure 4 of Jain et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang with the teachings of Jain et al. to have wherein based on the anchor antenna being the first antenna, so one can select the best antennas to be used for LTE and NR bands which improve performance (Paragraph 101-103 and 129 of Jain et al.) and since Kang already suggest such functionality.
Regarding Claim 19, Although Kang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one first NR frequency band includes a 5th generation (5G) NR Band 3 having an uplink frequency range corresponding to a range of 1710 megahertz (MHz) to 1785 MHz. Kang does disclose wherein the at least one first NR frequency band includes a 5th generation (5G) NR Band having an uplink frequency range corresponding to a range of 1710 megahertz (MHz) to 1785 MHz (ANT2 first NR frequency band may be a n66 band having an uplink frequency of 1710-1780mhz; Paragraph 289 of Kang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang to have at least one first NR frequency band includes a 5th generation (5G) NR Band 3 having an uplink frequency range corresponding to a range of 1710 megahertz (MHz) to 1785 MHz since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact that band of operation may be changed depending on application (Paragraph 233 and 258 of Kang).
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (IDS Reference US 20210297103 A1) in view of Jain et al. (US 20220030479 A1) and Won et al. (US 20210359392 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Kang further discloses comprising a camera (Electronic device may comprise an camera 121b; Paragraph 120-122 and figure 2 of Kang).
Kang and Jain et al. fail to disclose wherein a distance between the second antenna and the camera is greater than a distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera, and wherein a distance between the third antenna and the camera is greater than the distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera.
However, Won et al. does disclose wherein a distance between the second antenna and the camera is greater than a distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera, and wherein a distance between the third antenna and the camera is greater than the distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera (Antenna 4 may be configured for both NR bands n5 and n66 and may serve as an NR transmission/reception antenna that is closer to a camera than an additional antenna in the form of ANT1 and ANT2 that can operate in n5 and n66 bands wherein these additional antennas can be a second and third antenna spaced further away; Paragraph 411-434 and figure 18a-c of Won et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang and Jain et al. to have wherein a distance between the second antenna and the camera is greater than a distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera, and wherein a distance between the third antenna and the camera is greater than the distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera. as taught by Won et al. since the position of the antennas would affect the overall radiation pattern.
Regarding Claim 10, Kang further discloses wherein the at least one second LTE frequency band includes a frequency band for LTE in a high-band, wherein the at least one first NR frequency band includes a frequency band for NR in the mid-band, and wherein the at least one second NR frequency band includes a frequency band for NR in the high-band (The second LTE and first NR are included in a second band which may be either a mid-band or a high band thus allowing the second LTE and first NR to be either a mid or high band, furthermore, the third band for the second NR band may be a high band; Paragraph 211 and 233 of Kang).
Kang and Jain et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one first LTE frequency band includes a frequency band for LTE in a mid-band.
However, Won et al. does disclose wherein the at least one first LTE frequency band includes a frequency band for LTE in a mid-band (Electronic device can comprising an antenna ANT2 that can serve as a first antenna which can operate in a first LTE band which can be a midband like b41; Paragraph 411-434 and figure 18a-c of Won et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang and Jain et al. to have the at least one first LTE frequency band includes a frequency band for LTE in a mid-band as taught by Won et al. since the band of operation of the first antenna may be changed depending on application (Paragraph 233 and 258 of Kang) and to provide coverage over multiple bands.
Regarding Claim 15, Kang and Jain et al. fail to disclose wherein a distance between the second antenna and the camera is greater than a distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera, and wherein a distance between the third antenna and the camera is greater than the distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera.
However, Won et al. does disclose wherein a distance between the second antenna and the camera is greater than a distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera, and wherein a distance between the third antenna and the camera is greater than the distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera (Antenna 4 may be configured for both NR bands n5 and n66 and may serve as an NR transmission/reception antenna that is closer to a camera than an additional antenna in the form of ANT1 and ANT2 that can operate in n5 and n66 bands wherein these additional antennas can be a second and third antenna spaced further away; Paragraph 411-434 and figure 18a-c of Won et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang and Jain et al. to have wherein a distance between the second antenna and the camera is greater than a distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera, and wherein a distance between the third antenna and the camera is greater than the distance between the NR transmission/reception antenna and the camera. as taught by Won et al. since the position of the antennas would affect the overall radiation pattern.
Regarding Claim 20, Kang further discloses wherein the at least one second LTE frequency band includes a frequency band for LTE in a high-band, wherein the at least one first NR frequency band includes a frequency band for NR in the mid-band, and wherein the at least one second NR frequency band includes a frequency band for NR in the high-band (The second LTE and first NR are included in a second band which may be either a mid-band or a high band thus allowing the second LTE and first NR to be either a mid or high band, furthermore, the third band for the second NR band may be a high band; Paragraph 211 and 233 of Kang).
Kang and Jain et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one first LTE frequency band includes a frequency band for LTE in a mid-band.
However, Won et al. does disclose wherein the at least one first LTE frequency band includes a frequency band for LTE in a mid-band (Electronic device can comprising an antenna ANT2 that can serve as a first antenna which can operate in a first LTE band which can be a midband like b41; Paragraph 411-434 and figure 18a-c of Won et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kang and Jain et al. at least one first LTE frequency band includes a frequency band for LTE in a mid-band as taught by Won et al. since the band of operation of the first antenna may be changed depending on application (Paragraph 233 and 258 of Kang) and to provide coverage over multiple bands.
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 1 and 4, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6 and 16, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of a “wherein each of the first antenna, the second antenna, and the third antenna is closer to a bottom side of the electronic device among a top side of the electronic device and the bottom side of the electronic device, wherein the NR transmission/reception antenna is closer to the top side among the top side and the bottom side, and wherein the camera is adjacent to the top side among the top side and the bottom side” as recited in claim 6 and 16.
Kang, Jain et al. and Yeo et al. are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed invention including an electronic device comprising wireless communication circuitry to support ENDC, a first antenna, a second antenna, a third antenna, and a NR transmission/reception antenna, at least one processor, and a camera. Kang, Jain et al. and Yeo et al. fail to disclose wherein the first three antennas are located on a bottom side of the electronic device away from a camera and the camera as well as the NR transmission/Reception antenna are located on a top side of the device.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Claim 1 and 16 would also only be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
“Kang and Jain et al. at least fail to disclose 'in a case that the first antenna corresponds to an anchor antenna of the EN-DC, provide signals of a NR frequency band of the EN-DC to both the NR transmission/reception antenna and an additional antenna being one of the second antenna and the third antenna’ and ‘in a case that the second antenna corresponds to the anchor antenna of the EN-DC, provide signals of the NR frequency band of EN-DC to both the NR transmission/reception antenna and the third antenna' as recited in claim 1.
Kang and Jain et al. merely disclose one NR antenna. However, in claim 1, NR frequency band of EN-DC are provided to both antennas. Therefore, Kang and Jain et al. fail to disclose 'provide signals of a NR frequency band of the EN-DC to both the NR transmission/reception antenna and an additional antenna being one of the second antenna and the third antenna' and 'provide signals of the NR frequency band of EN-DC to both the NR transmission/reception antenna and the third antenna' as recited in claim 1.
Furthermore, which two antennas will be used for NR depends on the anchor antenna. Kang and Jain et al. further fail to disclose these features of claim 1. Thus, Kang and Jain et al. fail to disclose 'in a case that the first antenna corresponds to an anchor antenna of the EN-DC, provide signals of a NR frequency band of the EN-DC to both the NR transmission/reception antenna and an additional antenna being one of the second antenna and the third antenna' and 'in a case that the second antenna corresponds to the anchor antenna of the EN-DC, provide signals of the NR frequency band of EN-DC to both the NR transmission/reception antenna and the third antenna' in the claim 1.”
Applicant's arguments filed on June 24th 2026 in regards to claim 1 and 11 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner notes that Kang does disclose that when the anchor antenna is a first or second antenna, then NR signals can be provided to both a NR Transmission/Reception antenna like ANT5 and to an additional antenna like ANT2/ANT3. Paragraph 277 of Kang discloses that the first antenna can operate in the LTE band B5 while both the second and fifth antennas can operate in NR band 66 for an ENDC mode of operation. Furthermore, this paragraph also implies the second antenna can be at B5 and the third/fifth antennas can operate at N66. Paragraph 23/328 teach the second antenna being an anchor LTE wherein a third antenna may operate in a different NR band like N71 wherein a fifth antenna can also be designed to operate in the N71 band as part of an ENDC operation (Pg. 304). The examiner also notes that claim 1 also uses the language “configured to” when describing the operation of antennas, which is a broader term that only requires the antennas to able to do the operations and does not need to be explicitly disclosed. In this case since Antennas 1-5 are designed for ENDC operation with LTE/NR bands and Kang discloses that operation frequencies are not limitations of the invention and can be freely changed (Pg. 208-233), then it would be possible to read on the claims even without a specific teaching of bands since they can be configured to do so. This is especially true that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20210400748 A1 (SUBRAMANIAN; Sriram et al.) discloses a method of using an LTE as the main anchor carrier and a NR as the additional carrier for antenna operations.
US 11870472 B2 (Zhang; Sha) discloses an antenna array comprising four antennas wherein a switching device can be used to allow them to operate in multiple NR and LTE bands.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845