DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s Amendment/Response to Restriction Requirement filed 7/21/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 10-16 have been amended. No claims were cancelled or newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-16 remain pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I drawn to the composition in the reply filed on 7/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant remarks are acknowledged that amended claims 10 and 16 depend on an elected claim, however, due to the claim amendments Group II now includes claims 10-14 and is drawn to a method of making and Group III (claim 16) is drawn to a method of using. The Restriction Requirement dated 6/9/2026 is still applicable to the claims as amended for the reasons of record.
Claims 10-14 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/21/2026.
Accordingly, claims 1-9 and 15 are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 2/20/2025 has been considered. A signed copy is enclosed herewith.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: said claims recite the terms “Quercetin” and/or “Poloxamer”. Said terms should be in lowercase form. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3 include periods in the middle of the claim (i.e., a., b., c., d.). MPEP 608.01(m) states, “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations”. The claims are indefinite because it is unclear whether the language following the periods further limits the claimed invention.
Dependent claims 4-9 and 15 do not remedy the indefinite issue and as such said dependent claims suffer from the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 106137981 A, Nov. 23, 2016, machine translation, hereafter as “Ding”) in view of Bhargava et al. (IN 202011046762 A, Nov. 6, 2020; hereafter as “Bhargava”) and Birbara (WO 2011/049629 A2, Apr. 28, 2011, hereafter as “Birbara”).
The instant claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition of quercetin nanosuspension comprising: quercetin dihydrate, about 0.1% w/w to 10% w/w of poloxamer, about 0.1% w/w to 10% w/w of polyvinyl pyrrolidone, and about 0.1% w/w to 10% w/w of polyethylene glycol.
Regarding instant claims 1-3, Ding teaches a nanosuspension composition comprising dabigatran etexilate (a poorly water-soluble active agent) and one or more stabilizing agents including sodium dodecyl sulfate, poloxamer, polyvinylpyrrolidone K30, lecithin, polyethylene glycol, Tween 80 and one kind of or the combination of more than two, the dosage thereof is 0.1 - 2% % (w/v) (abstract; page 3, 2nd para.; page 5, 1st para.).
Ding is silent to an embodiment combining a poloxamer, polyvinyl pyrrolidone and polyethylene glycol, however Ding teaches each of the aforementioned in a finite group of suitable stabilizing agents as well as “combinations”. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the particular stabilizing agents, a poloxamer, polyvinyl pyrrolidone and polyethylene glycol with a reasonable expectation of success because Ding teaches each stabilizing agent in a finite group (and combinations thereof) as suitable stabilizing agents for the purpose of stabilizing a nanosuspension formulation.
Ding is silent to quercetin dihydrate.
Bhargava teaches quercetin nanosuspension formulations comprising quercetin and surfactants, sodium lauryl sulfate and polyvinyl pyrrolidone for the purpose of improving aqueous solubility of quercetin ([0021]-[0022]; Table 1).
Birbara teaches compositions comprising flavonoids including nanosuspension formulations (abstract; page 21, last para.). Birbara teaches the particular flavonoid, quercetin (page 4, last para.). Birbara teaches that quercetin forms a dihydrate and is a poorly water-soluble active agent (paragraph bridging pages 8-9; page 76, last para.). Birbara also teaches the inclusion of poloxamers, polyethylene glycol and polyvinyl pyrrolidone (page 31, 1st para.; page 34, 3rd para.; page 46).
The references are all drawn to nanosuspension formulations, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute quercetin dihydrate for dabigatran etexilate in Ding, as suggested by Bhargava/Birbara, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because the prior art teaches that quercetin dihydrate and dabigatran etexilate are both known as poorly water-soluble active agents, nanosuspensions, in general, and quercetin nanosuspensions, in particular, are known to improve water solubility, and substituting one poorly water-soluble active agent for another in a known nanosuspension formulation for the purpose of improving the solubility of the active agent is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.06(II). One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a nanosuspension comprising quercetin dihydrate with improved solubility.
Regarding instant claim 4, The references teach the elements discussed above. Birbara further teaches that the microparticulate flavonoid (e.g., quercetin) has an average (particle) size of 200-500 nanometers, or advantageously an average size of 250 nanometers (page 9, 1st para.). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a particle size below 400 nanometers, as suggested by Birbara, with a reasonable expectation of success because Birbara teaches an overlapping particle size of 200-500 nm (MPEP 2144.05(I)) and, preferably, 250 nm is a suitable particle size for quercetin in a nanosuspension formulation.
Regarding instant claim 5, Ding further does not teach nor require cellulosic polymers.
Regarding instant claim 6, The references teach the elements discussed above. Bhargava further teaches a composition comprising 125 mg of quercetin (4th para.). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include quercetin in an amount of 125 mg, as suggested by Bhargava, with a reasonable expectation of success because Bhargava teaches quercetin in an amount of 125 mg is a suitable amount of quercetin in a nanosuspension formulation.
Regarding instant claim 7, Ding further teaches the particular poloxamer, poloxamer F68 which is also known as P-188 (Example 3).
Regarding instant claim 8, Ding, as discussed above, teaches the particular polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyvinylpyrrolidone K30 (PVP K30) (page 5, 1st para.).
Regarding instant claim 9, Ding further teaches the particular polyethylene glycol, polyethylene glycol 400 (PEG 400) (Example 5).
Regarding instant claim 15, Ding further teaches the inclusion of freeze-dried supporting agents including glucose, sucrose and lactose (cryoprotectants) (page 5, 2nd para.).
Thus, the combined teachings of Ding, Bhargava and Birbara render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/CASEY S HAGOPIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1617