DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “axial openings” which was already recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 13-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a stator (2) for an electric machine (FIG. 1), the stator (2) comprising:
a stator core (21) including a plurality of stator slots (211) with axial openings to the slots (211);
windings (22) positioned on the stator core (21), the windings (22) including a plurality of interconnected conductors (FIG. 23) extending through the plurality of stator slots (211); and
an end ring (23) coupled to the stator core (21), the end ring (23) comprising a plurality of openings (231) arranged circumferentially around the end ring (23), wherein the plurality of openings (231) in the end ring (23) are aligned with the axial openings to the stator slots (211; FIG. 5); and
a sealant (216) positioned between the stator core (21) and the end ring (23).
Regarding claim 2/1, Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang further discloses the sealant (216) is a sealing gasket (gasket is defined a material or a part used to prevent a joint from leaking, Merriam-Webster).
FIG. 7 discloses the coolant being sealed by the sealant 216 to only flow through the nozzle 232.
Regarding claim 13/1, Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang further discloses a cured insulative filler material (¶ [0119] resin) provided on the end ring (23).
Yang discloses the motor is covered in resin through trickle impregnation process, where resin is dripped on the coil winding and into the coil slot, indicating the resin would cover not only the coil winding but the end ring as well.
Regarding claim 14/1, Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang further discloses the end ring (23) is a first insulative end ring (23; ¶ [0100]) positioned on a crown end (FIG. 4 left end) of the stator core (21), and the sealant (216) is a first sealant (216; FIG. 7),
the stator (2) further comprising a second insulative end ring (24; ¶ [0100]) positioned on a weld end (FIG. 4 right end) of the stator core (21) and a second sealant (216; ¶ [0094]) positioned between the stator core (21) and the second end ring (24).
Regarding claim 15/14, Yang was discussed above in claim 14. Yang further discloses the first sealant (216) is a first sealing gasket and the second sealant (216) is a second sealing gasket (gasket is defined a material or a part used to prevent a joint from leaking, Merriam-Webster).
Regarding claim 16/1, Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang further discloses the stator (2) is comprised of a bonded lamination stack (¶ [0094]).
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses a stator (2) for an electric machine (FIG. 1), the stator (2) comprising:
a stator core (21) including a plurality of stator slots (211) with axial openings to the stator slots (211);
windings (22) positioned on the stator core (21), the windings (22) including a plurality of interconnected conductors (FIG. 23) extending through the plurality of stator slots (211); and
an end ring (23) adhesively bonded to the stator core (21), the end ring (23) comprising a plurality of openings (231) arranged circumferentially around the end ring (23), wherein the plurality of openings (231) in the end ring (23) are aligned with the axial openings to the stator slots (211; FIG. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) in view of Hays et al. (US 2020/0368575 A1).
Regarding claim 3/2, Yang was discussed above in claim 2. Yang does not disclose the sealing gasket is provided by an adhesive tape structure.
Hays discloses the sealing gasket (236) is provided by an adhesive tape structure (¶ [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Hays to disclose the sealing gasket is provided by an adhesive tape structure, as disclosed by Hays in ¶ [0039], replacing a gasket with an adhesive or tape is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 20/19, Yang was discussed above in claim 19. Yang further discloses the end ring is adhesively bonded (¶ [0107] discloses adhesively bonding the second silicon steel sheet, which can also be used to bond the first end plate, the second silicon steel sheet and the stator core) to the stator core with a gasket (23), the gasket (23) comprising a plurality of openings (231) aligned with the plurality of openings in the end ring (23; FIG. 12) and the axial openings to the stator slots (211; FIG. 5).
Yang does not disclose the gasket is an adhesive gasket.
Hays discloses the gasket (236) is an adhesive gasket (¶ [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Hays to disclose the gasket is an adhesive gasket, as disclosed by Hays in ¶ [0039], replacing a gasket with an adhesive or tape is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) in view of Hays et al. (US 2020/0368575 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Maughan et al. (US 5,365,388 A).
Regarding claim 4/3, Yang in view of Hays was discussed above in claim 3. Yang further discloses the gasket (216) having a shape that is similar to an axially-inward-facing surface of the end ring (23; FIG. 12).
Yang in view of Hays does not disclose the adhesive tape structure is provided by a double-sided sticky tape.
Maughan discloses the adhesive tape structure is provided by a double-sided sticky tape (col. 3 ll. 54-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Hays, further in view of Maughan to disclose the adhesive tape structure is provided by a double-sided sticky tape, as disclosed by Maughan, the use of double coated tape is a simple substitution for one known element (adhesive applied on gasket) for another (double coated acrylic foam tape) to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 5/4, Yang in view of Hays and Maughan was discussed above in claim 4. Yang further discloses the sealing gasket (216) includes a plurality of radial ribs (see annotation below) arranged circumferentially around the end ring (23) and a plurality of openings (211) positioned between the radial ribs.
Claims 6-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) in view of Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 A1).
Regarding claim 6/1, Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang further discloses the end ring (23) includes an axially-outward-facing side (FIG. 7; left side face) and an axially-inward-facing side (FIG. 7; right side face).
Yang does not disclose wherein a chamfer is formed around a perimeter of each opening on the axially-inward-facing side.
Kaiser discloses a chamfer (36) is formed around a perimeter of each opening on the axially-inward-facing side (FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Kaiser to disclose a chamfer is formed around a perimeter of each opening on the axially-inward-facing side, for the advantages of guiding and preventing damage to the slot liner during assembly (¶ [0022]).
Regarding claim 7/1, Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang does not disclose the stator slots include axial openings, and wherein the openings in the end ring are greater in size than the axial openings to the stator slots.
Kaiser discloses the stator slots (14) include axial openings (FIG. 2), and wherein the openings in the end ring (22A) are greater in size than the axial openings to the stator slots (14; FIG. 2; the opening at the top of the chamfer 38 of the end ring is larger than the slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Kaiser to disclose the stator slots include axial openings, and wherein the openings in the end ring are greater in size than the axial openings to the stator slots, for the advantages of guiding the conductors during assembly (¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 18/1, Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang does not disclose a pocket floor and an outer edge and the outer edge has a ring shape which extends outwardly axially from the pocket floor.
Kaiser discloses a pocket floor (stator surface between sides 34 and slot liner 30) and an outer edge (see annotation below) and the outer edge has a ring shape which extends outwardly axially from the pocket floor (FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Kaiser to disclose a pocket floor and an outer edge and the outer edge has a ring shape which extends outwardly axially from the pocket floor, for the advantages of guiding the conductors, and preventing damage to the slot liners.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) in view of Hays et al. (US 2020/0368575 A1) and Maughan et al. (US 5,365,388 A) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 A1).
Regarding claim 8/5, Yang was discussed above in claim 5. Yang in view of Hays and Maughan does not disclose a plurality of slot liners arranged in the plurality of slots, the plurality of slot liners extending axially through the slots, the openings in the gasket, and through the openings in the end ring, each of the plurality of slot liners positioned between walls of a slot and the conductors extending through the slot.
Kaiser discloses a plurality of slot liners (30) arranged in the plurality of slots (14), the plurality of slot liners (30) extending axially through the slots (14), and through the openings in the end ring (22A), each of the plurality of slot liners (30) positioned between walls of a slot (14) and the conductors (16) extending through the slot (14).
Yang would be modified by Kaiser to insert slot liners in the slots, which would extend axially through the end rings, and in turn also extend through the openings of the gasket that is located between the end rings and the stator core.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Hays and Maughan, further in view of Kaiser to disclose a plurality of slot liners arranged in the plurality of slots, the plurality of slot liners extending axially through the slots, the openings in the gasket, and through the openings in the end ring, each of the plurality of slot liners positioned between walls of a slot and the conductors extending through the slot, for the advantages of isolating the conductors from the stator stack (¶ [0019]).
Regarding claim 9/8, Yang in view of Hays, Maughan and Kaiser was discussed above in claim 8. Kaiser further discloses each of the plurality of slot liners (30) extends in an axial direction past an end of the stator core (12).
While Kaiser does not explicitly disclose the slot liners extend at least 2.8 mm past an axial end of the stator core, it would be obvious to try for one of ordinary skill in the art, as there is a finite amount of length the slot liners can extends past an axial end of the stator core, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the appropriate length of the slot liners to extend from the stator core without causing damage to the slot liner during assembly.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) in view of Hays et al. (US 2020/0368575 A1), Maughan et al. (US 5,365,388 A) and Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Katou et al. (US 6,674,211 B2).
Regarding claim 10/8, Yang in view of Hays, Maughan and Kaiser was discussed above in claim 8. Yang in view of Hays, Maughan and Kaiser does not disclose each of the plurality of slot liners include an overlapping potion arranged along a radially outward wall of the slot.
Katou discloses each of the plurality of slot liners (3) include an overlapping potion (37) arranged along a radially outward wall of the slot (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Hays, Maughan and Kaiser, further in view of Katou to disclose each of the plurality of slot liners include an overlapping potion arranged along a radially outward wall of the slot, for the advantages of keeping the slot liner firmly kept in the slot without movement during insertion of conductors.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) in view of Ito (US 2023/0069321 A1).
Regarding claim 11/1, Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang further discloses an outer edge extending around an outer diameter of the end ring (23; FIG. 11).
Yang does not disclose the end ring further comprising an inner lip extending around an inner diameter of the end ring.
Ito discloses the end ring (53) further comprising an inner lip (52) extending around an inner diameter of the end ring (53; FIG. 15A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Ito to disclose the end ring further comprising an inner lip extending around an inner diameter of the end ring, for the advantages of separating stator coolant away from the rotor.
Regarding claim 12/11, Yang in view of Ito was discussed above in claim 11. Yang further discloses an inner lip seal (silicon steel sheet 216 acts as an inner seal) engaging the inner diameter of the end ring (23) and an outer lip seal (¶ [0084] sealed in connection to the housing 1) engaging the outer diameter of the end ring (23).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) in view of Stubsgaard et al. (US 11,990,815 B2).
Regarding claim 17/1, Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang the end ring is comprised of a high glass filled plastic material, and wherein an axially-inward-facing side of the end ring has a flatness of less than 0.7 mm.
While Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein an axially-inward-facing side of the end ring has a flatness of less than 0.7 mm, Yang in FIG. 7 discloses a lateral view of the end ring having a completely flat axially-inward-facing surface towards the stator core. Thus, Yang discloses wherein an axially-inward-facing side of the end ring has a flatness of less than 0.7 mm.
Stubsgaard discloses a spacer is comprised of a high glass filled plastic material (Quartz based material, such as glass; col. 15 ll. 48-57).
The glass material of Stubsgaard can be used to substitute the silicon end ring of Yang, disclosing the end ring is comprised of a high glass filled plastic material
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Stubsgaard to disclose the end ring is comprised of a high glass filled plastic material, as disclosed by Stubsgaard, replacing one electrically insulating material to another insulating material is a simple substitution to obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834