DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As per claim 12, it is not clear what is meant by “wherein the distance K is a positive integer in symbol” means. For the purpose of this office action the Examiner is interpreting the claim to read:
“wherein the distance K is a positive integer number of [[in]] symbols”.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on its dependency to claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2018/0279274)(“Sun”).
As per claim 1, Sun teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a communication device from a network device, a control signaling (i.e., DCI) including one or more parameters (i.e., “specified field(s)”) of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration for a scheduling of one or more time and frequency resources (see abstract, ¶0014-¶0015, and Fig. 5, also see for example ¶0032, i.e., “decoding PDSCH or transmitting PUSCH on the time-frequency resource indicated by PDCCH”); and
performing, by the communication device, an operation based on the SPS configuration (e.g., receiving or transmitting new data, see ¶0104, read as an operation), wherein the operation is performed according to an application delay (i.e., “pre-defined fixed value”, see Fig 5).
As per claim 5, Sun further teaches wherein the control signaling includes Downlink Control Information (DCI) signaling (see abstract).
As per claim 6, Sun further teaches wherein the one or more parameters of the SPS configuration in the DCI signaling includes one or more types of indications that includes:
an activation indication for the one or more time and frequency resources… (i.e., time and frequency domains, see ¶0014, see also ¶0032, i.e., “decoding PDSCH or transmitting PUSCH on the time-frequency resource indicated by PDCCH”).
As per claim 7, Sun further teaches wherein the one or more parameters of the SPS configuration in DCI signaling includes an activation indication that indicates that at least one time and frequency resource is used for transmitting or receiving data (i.e., time and frequency domains, see ¶0014, also see ¶0032, “decoding [i.e., “receiving”] PDSCH or transmitting PUSCH on the time-frequency resource indicated by PDCCH”).
As per claim 10, Sun further teaches wherein the operation based on SPS configuration includes any one of: transmitting in the one or more time and frequency resources, receiving in the one or more time and frequency resources (see ¶0032, “decoding [i.e., “receiving”] PDSCH or transmitting PUSCH on the time-frequency resource indicated by PDCCH”).
As per claim 11, Sun further teaches wherein the application delay is determined by a distance between a starting time point (e.g., “the ending subframe of PDCCH”, see Fig. 5, and ¶0113) and an ending time point (e.g., after 8 ms or 4 ms, see ¶0113).
As per claim 12, Sun further teaches wherein a distance K between the starting time point and the ending time point is determined or indicated by a subcarrier spacing (see ¶0113, which anticipates the time unit of the scheduling delay being in terms of symbol/slot/subframe, which is impliedly based on subcarrier spacing), the distance K is a positive integer in symbol (see ¶0113, i.e., in terms of “symbol(s)”, which is impliedly a positive integer).
As per claim 13, Sun further teaches wherein in the distance K, another control signaling is not transmitted in the distance K (e.g., “the ending subframe of PDCCH”, see Fig. 5, and ¶0113, which implies no other PDCCH subframe(s), i.e., control signaling).
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 5 since they recite substantially identical subject matter. Any differences between the claims do not result in patentably distinct claims and all of the limitations are taught by the above cited art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8, 9, 15 are 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in further in view of Lu et al. (US 2019/0230692)(“Lu”).
As per claim 2, Sun further teaches wherein the SPS configuration includes: one or more time and frequency resources (i.e., time domain, see ¶0014, and frequency domain resources, see ¶0014), … a length information of a duration (i.e., “occupied time duration”, see ¶0014).
As per claim 2, Sun does not expressly teach the SPS configuration further including, one or more time and frequency groups, a valid or invalid indication, and an offset information.
Nevertheless, in the same art of SPS configuration, Lu teaches a DCI for configuring a plurality of SPSs (see ¶0131, read as “one or more time and frequency groups”), an offset (i.e., cycle, see “100 ms” or “500 ms”, see ¶0131), and indication to activate or release the SPSs (see ¶0131, “…the UE releases, according to an instruction of the DCI, the resources corresponding to the service data in the cycles”, also see for example, ¶0117, “DCI is used to instruct the UE to activate the new SPS resource and release a target SPS resource”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to similarly includes within the DCI signaling of Sun an indication of a plurality of SPSs (i.e., “one or more time and frequency groups”), a cycle/offset for each group, and a valid/invalid indication (e.g., indicating to activate or release SPS resource(s)) as taught by Lu. The obvious motivation for doing so would have been to reduce signaling overhead when configuring/changing SPS resource configurations (see Lu, ¶0005).
As per claim 8, Sun does not expressly teach wherein the one or more parameters of the SPS configuration in DCI signaling includes a release indication that indicates that at least one time and frequency resource is not used for transmitting or receiving data.
Nevertheless, in the same art of SPS resource configuring, Lu teaches transmitting DCI signaling, wherein the DCI includes a release indication that indicates that at least one time and frequency resource is not used for transmitting or receiving data (i.e., “release a target SPS resource”, see abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to similarly includes within the DCI signaling of Sun a release indication that indicates that at least one time and frequency resource is not used for transmitting or receiving data (i.e., “release a target SPS resource”, see Lu, abstract). The obvious motivation for doing so would have been to reduce signaling overhead when changing SPS resource configurations (see Lu, ¶0005).
As per claim 9, Sun does not expressly teach wherein the one or more parameters of the SPS configuration in DCI signaling includes an update indication that indicates that at least one parameter of the SPS configuration is updated by information included in the control signaling.
Nevertheless, in the same art as noted above, Lu teaches transmitting DCI signaling, wherein the DCI includes an update indication that indicates that at least one parameter of the SPS configuration is updated by information included in the control signaling (i.e., “activate the new SPS resource”, see abstract).
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Sun and Lu in claim 8 applies equally well to claim 9.
Claims 15 are 19-20 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 2 and 8-9 since they recite substantially identical subject matter. Any differences between the claims do not result in patentably distinct claims and all of the limitations are taught by the above cited art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO 892).
/BRENDAN Y HIGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447