DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 16 June 2026. Claims 1-3, 6, 17 remain pending and claims 21-35 have been added in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based on application filed in Korea on August 8, 2022 and September 8, 2022 has been acknowledged and considered by Examiner. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) that are placed on record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1, 17 and 35 in the Remarks section (pages 13-18 and 24-31) have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Foreign Patent Publication WO 2020/168965 A1 by Xiong et al. (“Xiong,”) for which the machine language translation is used in the citations below, in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0039408 A1 by Cheong et al. (“Cheong,”) and further in view of Foreign Patent Publication CN 109542306A by Lin et al (“Lin,”) for which the machine language is also used in the citations below, address the limitations set forth in the amended claims as the new grounds for rejection for claims 1 and 17.
Foreign Patent Publication WO 2020/168965 A1 by Xiong, in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0039408 A1 by Cheong, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0125596 A1 by Zhang et al. (“Zhang”) address the limitations set forth in the amended claims as the new grounds for rejection for claim 35.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered with respect to 2-3, 6, and 18-34 in the Remarks section (page 19-23 and 32-33) but they are not persuasive as the claims depend upon the features recited in the amended independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 31-34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification teaches the second window could include text input portion of a search function or a content on a determined webpage, but not if the invention could have both in the same embodiment in specification pre-grant paragraph [0101]. Additionally, the specification in pre-grant paragraph [0210] teaches: “According to yet another embodiment, displaying of the visual object may be ceased in the first window having the second size. According to yet another embodiment, the second window may include the visual object, and at least another visual object associated with the visual object. Similarly, it is not clear that Applicant had possession of such a combination, and therefore the claim lacks written description. The issue also exists with claim 32 and pre-grant publication [0211], claim 33 and pre-grant [0212], and claim 34 and pre-grant [0213].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 17, and 21-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Patent Publication WO 2020/168965 A1 by Xiong, in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0039408 A1 by Cheong, and further in view of Foreign Patent Publication CN 109542306A by Lin, for which the machine language translation is used for the citations below.
Regarding claim 1, Xiong teaches an electronic device comprising: a first housing; a second housing rotatably coupled to the first housing (Figs. 1(a)-1(c), screen A housing with respect to screen B housing as shown);
a flexible display comprising a display area, the display area including: a first display area and a second display area, a first display area on the first housing, and a second display area on the second housing, extending from the first display area (Fig. 1(a)-1(b), flexible folding screen was folded along the folding edge to create the A screen 101 and B screen shown in Fig. 1 (b)),
at least one sensor (Page 33, second paragraph, the display screen 194 of the electronic device 100 can be folded to form multiple screens. Each screen may include a gyro sensor 180B for measuring the orientation of the corresponding screen (that is, the direction vector of the orientation));
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry; and memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: (Page 20, last paragraph and Page 21, first paragraph, The processor included one or more processing interfaces including with an integrated circuit with a memory that stored instructions and data to execute one or more computer programs, to control the electronic device with a folding screen in Page 10, first paragraph);
display, via the display area, a first window having a first size, while the first window having the first size is displayed, identify, via the at least one sensor, an angle between the first housing and the second housing (Page 33, last paragraph, The electronic device can determine the angle between adjacent screens according to the measured orientation of each screen. The change in angle between adjacent screens can be used to determine whether the user had folded the display),
based on identifying that the angle changes from a first angle to a third angle through a second while the first window having the first size is displayed (Page 40, first paragraph, the electronic device detects that the angle between the first screen and the second screen first becomes smaller and then becomes larger, it can be determined that the user first folds the folding screen in a forward direction, and then again. Reverse folding is performed (or the user folds and returns to the folding screen. Also, In actual use, the initial state of the folding screen can also be folded, that is, the angle α between the first screen and the second screen can be less than 180° or greater than 180° is described in Page 48, first paragraph),
concurrently display, via the display area, the first window having a second size smaller than the first size and a second window associated with the first window (Page 40, first paragraph and Page 51, second paragraph, In other embodiments, when it is determined that the user performs a forward folding and then reverse folding operation, within a first time as in Page 49, last paragraph, as a response to the operation, the electronic device may perform a split screen function, that is, divide the folding screen of the electronic device into two or more display areas, and display different interfaces in different display areas).
wherein changing the angle from the first angle to the third angle through the second angle is caused in accordance with the first housing rotating in a first direction after in a second direction with respect to the second housing, wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction (Page 40, first paragraph, the electronic device detects that the angle between the first screen and the second screen and their encasings as shown in Fig. 1 first becomes smaller and then becomes larger, it can be determined that the user first folds the folding screen in a forward direction, and then again. Reverse folding is performed (or the user folds and returns to the folding screen. Also, In actual use, the initial state of the folding screen can also be folded, that is, the angle α between the first screen and the second screen can be less than 180° or greater than 180° is described in Page 48, first paragraph).
Xiong does not teach second housing rotatably coupled to the first housing, the second display area rotatable with respect to the first display area according to a rotation of the second housing.
While Xiong teaches in Page 45, first paragraph, it is understandable that the user can realize the folding of the folding screen (such as forward folding, or reverse folding) by rotating the first screen and/or the second screen along the folding edge or the folding axis, Xiong does not teach how the folding was enabled. In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). The display areas could have multiple functions including split screens including displaying a first window occupying a whole area of the display, detecting a folding event of the display, and displaying a second window related to context recognition on the first window, corresponding to the folding event (Cheong [0013]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
However, Xiong in view of Cheong does not teach wherein a difference between the first angle and the second angle is less than a difference between the second angle and the third angle.
In the analogous art of folding commands in folding two screen devices, Lin teaches the processor 810 is configured to receive a bending input of a first screen of the N screens by the user, the bending input is used to adjust a folding angle between the at least two screens (Lin Figs. 6a-6d; Page 28, first paragraph). A first determining unit configured to determine a target screen capture area according to the first folding angle and the second folding and a second determining unit, configured to determine the termination boundary according to the target screen cut area and a starting boundary. The first folding angle is less than a preset angle, the acquiring subunit obtaining the angle value of the first folding angle. In the process of controlling the first screen to rotate in the second direction opposite to the first, the screen area is larger and larger (Lin Page 19, last two paragraphs and Page 20, first paragraph). For example, the preset folding angle θ2 may be set to 60 degrees, and when the folding angle θ1 is detected to be 50 degrees, and the folding position of the folding angle θ1 is 50 degrees stays for 3 seconds, it is determined that the first bending sub input satisfies the first A predetermined condition. Further, the screen capture area may be adjusted by receiving a second bend input of the user to the first screen to control the folding angle between the first screen and the second screen.(Lin Page 18, first two paragraphs).
The user can set different angles corresponding to different screens in the screen setting. For example, the first screen can be set as the rotating screen, and the starting boundary of the screen is the right border of the second screen; when the folding angle is 90 degrees Then, the second screen is full-screen intercepted; after 90 degrees, the first screen is continued to be expanded, and then the first screen is continued; and when the folding angle is 180 degrees, the first screen and the second screen are both captured in full screen (Lin Page 20, first two paragraphs). Therefore, activating the screen capture, the first preset condition the first angle and the second angle of the screen would have been 30 degrees or less and capturing up to 180 degrees of the screen by screen setting operation between 60 degrees and 180 degrees. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention modified the forward folding operation of Xiong in view of Cheong to have a screen setting operation for capturing additional information to set a screen for capturing or splitting. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have after 90 degrees, the first screen is continued to be expanded, and then the first screen is continued; and when the folding angle is 180 degrees, the first screen and the second screen are both captured in full screen versus only capturing one screen, and the screen capture range can be flexibly adjusted according to the folding angle to capture the screen capture image required by the user (Lin Page 20, first two paragraphs).
Regarding claim 2, Xiong of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, to cause the electronic device to:
based on the angle being identified as changed from the first angle to the third angle through the second angle while the first window having the first size is displayed, identify a difference between the second angle and the third angle, based on identifying that the difference between the second angle and the third angle is greater than a threshold angle, concurrently display, via the display area, the first window having the second size and the second window associated with the first window, and
based on identifying that the difference between the second angle and the third angle is less than the threshold angle, maintain displaying the first window having the first size (Page 49, last paragraph, In order to prevent misoperation, θ first increases and then decreases. Specifically, θ stops increasing within the first time after starting to increase (registering increase/delta between first and second angle), and starts to decrease again (registering decrease/delta between second and third angle) from the moment when θ stops increasing, only then the user operation of forward folding and reverse folding is registered as an activation of the split screen function or screen capture).
Regarding claim 3, Xiong of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, to cause the electronic device to: based on angle being identified as changed from the first angle to the third angle through the second angle while the first window having the first size is displayed, identify a time for being changed the angle through the second angle from the first angle to the third angle (Page 49, last paragraph, In order to prevent misoperation, θ first increases and then decreases. Specifically, θ stops increasing within the first time after starting to increase (registering increase/delta between first and second angle), and starts to decrease again (registering decrease/delta between second and third angle) from the moment when θ stops increasing, only then the user operation of forward folding and reverse folding is registered as an activation of the split screen function or screen capture),
based on identifying that the time is less than a reference time, concurrently display, via the display area, the first window having the second size and the second window associated with the first window (Page 49, last paragraph, In order to prevent misoperation, θ first increases and then decreases. Specifically, θ stops increasing within the first time after starting to increase (registering increase/delta between first and second angle), and starts to decrease again (registering decrease/delta between second and third angle) from the moment when θ stops increasing, only then the user operation of forward folding and reverse folding is registered as an activation of the split screen function or screen capture).,
identifying that the time is greater than the reference time, maintain displaying the first window having the first size size(Page 41, first paragraph, If the change of the angle α between the first screen and the second screen does not satisfy the preset condition such as within first time, it means that the user has not performed the operation of forward folding and then reverse folding on the folding screen),
Regarding claim 6, Xiong of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first window having the second size is displayed via the first display area, and wherein the second window is displayed via the second display area (Page 51, second paragraph, when it is determined that the user performs a forward folding and then reverse folding operation, as a response to the operation, the electronic device may perform a split screen function, that is, divide the folding screen of the electronic device into two or more display areas, and display different interfaces in different display areas).
Regarding claim 17, Xiong teaches an electronic device comprising: a first housing; a second housing foldable with respect to the first housing (Figs. 1(a)-1(c), screen A housing with respect to screen B housing as shown);
a flexible display comprising a display area, the display area including: a first display area and a second display area, a first display area on the first housing, and a second display area on the second housing, extending from the first display area (Fig. 1(a)-1(b), flexible folding screen was folded along the folding edge to create the A screen 101 and B screen shown in Fig. 1 (b)),
at least one sensor (Page 33, second paragraph, the display screen 194 of the electronic device 100 can be folded to form multiple screens. Each screen may include a gyro sensor 180B for measuring the orientation of the corresponding screen (that is, the direction vector of the orientation));
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry; and memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually ore collectively cause the electronic device to: (Page 20, last paragraph and Page 21, first paragraph, The processor included one or more processing interfaces including with an integrated circuit with a memory that stored instructions and data to execute one or more computer programs, to control the electronic device with a folding screen in Page 10, first paragraph);
display, via the display area, a first window having a first size, while the first window having the first size is displayed: identify, via the at least one sensor (Page 33, last paragraph, The electronic device can determine the angle between adjacent screens according to the measured orientation of each screen. The change in angle between adjacent screens can be used to determine whether the user had folded the display),
concurrently display, the first window having a second size smaller than the first size via the first display area and a second window associated with the first window via the second display (Page 49, last paragraph, In order to prevent misoperation, θ first increases and then decreases. Specifically, θ stops increasing within the first time after starting to increase, and starts to decrease again from the moment when θ stops increasing, only then the user operation of forward folding and reverse folding is registered as an activation of the split screen function. If not within time, it is not registered)
Xiong does not teach; second housing rotatably coupled to the first housing.
While Xiong teaches in Page 45, first paragraph, it is understandable that the user can realize the folding of the folding screen (such as forward folding, or reverse folding) by rotating the first screen and/or the second screen along the folding edge or the folding axis, Xiong does not teach how the folding was enabled. In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). This included displaying a first window occupying a whole area of the display, detecting a folding event of the display, and displaying a second window related to context recognition on the first window according to a predefined first layout if a folded angle does not reach a first threshold angle, corresponding to the folding event.(Cheong [0013]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Xiong does not teach in a case that the change in angle is larger than a threshold angle and the time duration is shorter than a reference time duration.
In the analogous art of folding commands in folding two screen devices, Lin teaches the processor 810 is configured to receive a bending input of a first screen of the N screens by the user, the bending input is used to adjust a folding angle between the at least two screens (Lin Figs. 6a-6d; Page 28, first paragraph). A first determining unit configured to determine a target screen capture area according to the first folding angle and the second folding and a second determining unit, configured to determine the termination boundary according to the target screen cut area and a starting boundary. The first folding angle is less than a preset angle, the acquiring subunit obtaining the angle value of the first folding angle. In the process of controlling the first screen to rotate in the second direction opposite to the first, the screen area is larger and larger (Lin Page 19, last two paragraphs and Page 20, first paragraph). For example, the preset folding angle θ2 may be set to 60 degrees, and when the folding angle θ1 is detected to be 50 degrees, and the folding position of the folding angle θ1 is 50 degrees stays for 3 seconds, it is determined that the first bending sub input satisfies the first A predetermined condition. Further, the screen capture area may be adjusted by receiving a second bend input of the user to the first screen to control the folding angle between the first screen and the second screen.(Lin Page 18, first two paragraphs). When the folding angle is less than the preset folding angle, and the first preset time is stopped at a position smaller than the preset folding angle, it is determined that the first bending sub input satisfies the first preset condition (Page 16, second paragraph).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention modified the forward folding operation of Xiong in view of Cheong to have a screen setting operation for capturing additional information to set a screen for capturing or splitting. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have after 90 degrees, the first screen is continued to be expanded, and then the first screen is continued; and when the folding angle is 180 degrees, the first screen and the second screen are both captured in full screen versus only capturing one screen, and the screen capture range can be flexibly adjusted according to the folding angle to capture the screen capture image required by the user (Lin Page 20, first two paragraphs).
Regarding claim 21, Xiong in view of Cheong does not specify the electronic device of the electronic device of wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on obtaining, from the at least one sensor, data indicating that the angle is changed from a first angle to a second angle different from the first angle and the angle is changed from the second angle to a third angle, identify the change in the angle, wherein changing the angle from the first angle to the second angle is caused in accordance with the first housing rotating in a first direction with respect to the second housing, and wherein changing the angle from the second angle to the third angle is caused in accordance with the first housing rotating in a second direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the second housing.
In the analogous art of folding commands in folding two screen devices, Lin teaches the processor 810 is configured to receive a bending input of a first screen of the N screens by the user, the bending input is used to adjust a folding angle between the at least two screens (Lin Figs. 6a-6d; Page 28, first paragraph). A first determining unit configured to determine a target screen capture area according to the first folding angle and the second folding and a second determining unit, configured to determine the termination boundary according to the target screen cut area and a starting boundary. The first folding angle is less than a preset angle, the acquiring subunit obtaining the angle value of the first folding angle. In the process of controlling the first screen to rotate in the second direction opposite to the first, the screen area is larger and larger (Lin Page 19, last two paragraphs and Page 20, first paragraph). For example, the preset folding angle θ2 may be set to 60 degrees, and when the folding angle θ1 is detected to be 50 degrees, and the folding position of the folding angle θ1 is 50 degrees stays for 3 seconds, it is determined that the first bending sub input satisfies the first A predetermined condition. Further, the screen capture area may be adjusted by receiving a second bend input of the user to the first screen to control the folding angle between the first screen and the second screen.(Lin Page 18, first two paragraphs).
The user can set different angles corresponding to different screens in the screen setting. For example, the first screen can be set as the rotating screen, and the starting boundary of the screen is the right border of the second screen; when the folding angle is 90 degrees Then, the second screen is full-screen intercepted; after 90 degrees, the first screen is continued to be expanded, and then the first screen is continued; and when the folding angle is 180 degrees, the first screen and the second screen are both captured in full screen (Lin Page 20, first two paragraphs). Therefore, activating the screen capture, the first preset condition the first angle and the second angle of the screen would have been 30 degrees or less and capturing up to 180 degrees of the screen by screen setting operation between 60 degrees and 180 degrees. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention modified the forward folding operation of Xiong in view of Cheong to have a screen setting operation for capturing additional information to set a screen for capturing or splitting. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have after 90 degrees, the first screen is continued to be expanded, and then the first screen is continued; and when the folding angle is 180 degrees, the first screen and the second screen are both captured in full screen versus only capturing one screen, and the screen capture range can be flexibly adjusted according to the folding angle to capture the screen capture image required by the user (Lin Page 20, first two paragraphs).
Regarding claim 22, Xiong of the combination of references teaches the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: in a case that the change in the angle is smaller than the threshold angle or the time duration is longer than the reference time duration, maintain displaying the first window having the first size.
In the analogous art of folding commands in folding two screen devices, Lin teaches the processor 810 is configured to receive a bending input of a first screen of the N screens by the user, the bending input is used to adjust a folding angle between the at least two screens (Lin Figs. 6a-6d; Page 28, first paragraph). A first determining unit configured to determine a target screen capture area according to the first folding angle and the second folding and a second determining unit, configured to determine the termination boundary according to the target screen cut area and a starting boundary. The first folding angle is less than a preset angle, the acquiring subunit obtaining the angle value of the first folding angle. In the process of controlling the first screen to rotate in the second direction opposite to the first, the screen area is larger and larger (Lin Page 19, last two paragraphs and Page 20, first paragraph). For example, the preset folding angle θ2 may be set to 60 degrees, and when the folding angle θ1 is detected to be 50 degrees, and the folding position of the folding angle θ1 is 50 degrees stays for 3 seconds as a reference time duration, it is determined that the first bending sub input satisfies the first A predetermined condition or else it is not satisfied. Further, the screen capture area may be adjusted by receiving a second bend input of the user to the first screen to control the folding angle between the first screen and the second screen.(Lin Page 18, first two paragraphs).
The user can set different angles corresponding to different screens in the screen setting. For example, the first screen can be set as the rotating screen, and the starting boundary of the screen is the right border of the second screen; when the folding angle is 90 degrees Then, the second screen is full-screen intercepted; after 90 degrees, the first screen is continued to be expanded, and then the first screen is continued; and when the folding angle is 180 degrees, the first screen and the second screen are both captured in full screen (Lin Page 20, first two paragraphs). Therefore, activating the screen capture, the first preset condition the first angle and the second angle of the screen would have been 30 degrees or less and capturing up to 180 degrees of the screen by screen setting operation between 60 degrees and 180 degrees. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention modified the forward folding operation of Xiong in view of Cheong to have a screen setting operation for capturing additional information to set a screen for capturing or splitting. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have after 90 degrees, the first screen is continued to be expanded, and then the first screen is continued; and when the folding angle is 180 degrees, the first screen and the second screen are both captured in full screen versus only capturing one screen, and the screen capture range can be flexibly adjusted according to the folding angle to capture the screen capture image required by the user (Lin Page 20, first two paragraphs).
Regarding claim 23, Xiong does not teach the electronic device of the electronic device of wherein the first window includes a webpage, and wherein the second window includes executable objects for respectively displaying webpages different from the webpage.
While Xiong teaches in Page 45, first paragraph, it is understandable that the user can realize the folding of the folding screen (such as forward folding, or reverse folding) by rotating the first screen and/or the second screen along the folding edge or the folding axis, Xiong does not teach how the folding was enabled. In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). This included displaying a first window occupying a whole area of the display, detecting a folding event of the display, and displaying a second window related to context recognition on the first window according to a predefined first layout if a folded angle does not reach a first threshold angle, corresponding to the folding event.(Cheong [0013]). Additionally, an overlay was formed related to the first application which was able to have been a webpage which had selectable objects (Cheong [0166] and [0167]). The overlay had graphic elements related to previous shopping objects/webpages where the selectable object was dragged down and outputted to second display area for further comparison (Cheong [0184]-[0185]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Regarding claim 24, Xiong does not teach the electronic device of the electronic device of wherein the second window further includes a text input portion for a search function, and a content on a predetermined webpage.
While Xiong teaches in Page 45, first paragraph, it is understandable that the user can realize the folding of the folding screen (such as forward folding, or reverse folding) by rotating the first screen and/or the second screen along the folding edge or the folding axis, Xiong does not teach how the folding was enabled. In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). This included displaying a first window occupying a whole area of the display, detecting a folding event of the display, and displaying a second window related to context recognition on the first window according to a predefined first layout if a folded angle does not reach a first threshold angle, corresponding to the folding event.(Cheong [0013]). Additionally, an overlay was formed related to the first application which was able to have been a webpage which had selectable objects (Cheong [0166] and [0167]). The overlay had graphic elements related to previous shopping objects/webpages where the selectable object was dragged down and outputted to second display area for further comparison while first area had text input for search of a website and image content of the shopping object on shopping webpage (Cheong [0184]-[0185]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Regarding claim 25, Xiong does not teach the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein the first window includes a webpage, and wherein the second window includes executable objects for respectively displaying webpages that were displayed before the webpage.
While Xiong teaches in Page 45, first paragraph, it is understandable that the user can realize the folding of the folding screen (such as forward folding, or reverse folding) by rotating the first screen and/or the second screen along the folding edge or the folding axis, Xiong does not teach how the folding was enabled. In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). This included displaying a first window occupying a whole area of the display, detecting a folding event of the display, and displaying a second window related to context recognition on the first window according to a predefined first layout if a folded angle does not reach a first threshold angle, corresponding to the folding event.(Cheong [0013]). Additionally, an overlay was formed related to the first application which was able to have been a webpage which had selectable objects (Cheong [0166] and [0167]). The overlay had graphic elements related to previous shopping objects/webpages where the selectable object was dragged down and outputted to second display area for further comparison (Cheong [0184]-[0185]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Regarding claim 26, Xiong does not teach the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein the first window includes text written in a first language, and wherein the second window includes the text translated from the first language to a second language.
In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). The display areas could have multiple functions including split screens where a first area could output call-related functions and the second area showed the conversation with a translation made through a translation function (Cheong [0183] and [0188]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Regarding claim 27, Xiong does not teach the electronic device of the electronic device of wherein the first window having the first size includes text and an image, wherein the first window having the second size includes the text among the text and the image, and wherein the second window includes the image among the text and the image.
While Xiong teaches in Page 45, first paragraph, it is understandable that the user can realize the folding of the folding screen (such as forward folding, or reverse folding) by rotating the first screen and/or the second screen along the folding edge or the folding axis, Xiong does not teach how the folding was enabled. In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). This included displaying a first window occupying a whole area of the display, detecting a folding event of the display, and displaying a second window related to context recognition on the first window according to a predefined first layout if a folded angle does not reach a first threshold angle, corresponding to the folding event.(Cheong [0013]). Additionally, an overlay was formed related to the first application which was able to have been a webpage which had selectable objects (Cheong [0166] and [0167]). The overlay had graphic elements related to previous shopping objects/webpages where the selectable object was dragged down and outputted to second display area for further comparison while first area had image of shopping object and second area had textual description of shopping object (Cheong [0184]-[0185]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Regarding claim 28, Xiong of the combination of references teaches the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: obtain, via the at least one sensor, data indicating that a posture of the first housing being after the change in the angle is performed corresponds to a reference posture, and based on the data, in a case that the change in the angle is larger than the threshold angle and the time duration is shorter than the reference time duration: display (Page 44, last paragraph, Page 41, last paragraph and Page 42, first paragraph, it is considered that the user performs a forward folding operation and then a reverse folding operation on the folding screen of the electronic device, wherein, when within the first time, wherein the value range of the first time may be [500 milliseconds, 2 seconds] and the electronic device may determine whether the user performs forward folding and then reverse folding on the folding screen of the electronic device by determining whether the change in the angle α between the first screen and the second screen satisfies only if a preset condition).
However, Cheong does not teach , via the second display area, the first window having the second size, and display, via the first display area, the second window.
While Xiong teaches in Page 45, first paragraph, it is understandable that the user can realize the folding of the folding screen (such as forward folding, or reverse folding) by rotating the first screen and/or the second screen along the folding edge or the folding axis, Xiong does not teach how the folding was enabled. In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). This included displaying a first window occupying a whole area of the display, detecting a folding event of the display, and displaying a second window related to context recognition on the first window according to a predefined first layout if a folded angle does not reach a first threshold angle, corresponding to the folding event.(Cheong [0013]). Additionally, an overlay was formed related to the first application which was able to have been a webpage which had selectable objects (Cheong [0166] and [0167]). The overlay had graphic elements related to previous shopping objects/webpages where the selectable object was dragged down and outputted to second display area for further comparison (Cheong [0184]-[0185]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Regarding claim 29, Xiong of the combination of references teaches the electronic device of claim 28, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: obtain, via the at least one sensor, another data indicating that the posture of the first housing is different from the reference posture, and based on the other data, in a case that the change in the angle is larger than the threshold angle and the time duration is shorter than the reference time duration: refrain from displaying the first window having the second size via the second display area and displaying the second window via the first display area, and maintain displaying the first window having the first size (Page 41, first paragraph, If the change of the angle α between the first screen and the second screen does not satisfy the preset condition such as within first time, it means that the user has not performed the operation of forward folding and then reverse folding on the folding screen),
Regarding claim 30, Xiong does not teach the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein the first window having the first size includes a plurality of visual objects, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:in a case that the change in the angle is larger than the threshold angle and the time duration is shorter than the reference time duration in a state in which a touch input on a visual object among the plurality of visual objects is maintained, display the first window having the second size and the second window for the visual object.
In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). The display areas could have multiple functions including split screens where a first area could output call-related functions and the second area showed the conversation with a translation made through a translation function (Cheong [0183] and [0188]). A part of a graphic element (e.g., a music video, drama, or game) related to an application (e.g., a music application, video application, or video providing web browser) may be played on the first area 1705, and brief information about the playing graphic element (e.g., a music video, drama, or game) may be outputted on the second area 1700 as shown in FIG. 17B(a). When the user desires additional information, detailed analysis information 1737 about the graphic element (e.g., a music video, drama, or game) being currently played may be outputted corresponding to the selection/maintain of touch of an item 1735 such as for listening (Cheong [0186]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Regarding claim 31, Xiong does not teach the electronic device of the electronic device of wherein displaying of the visual object is ceased in the first window having the second size, and wherein the second window includes the visual object, and at least another visual object associated with the visual object.
In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). The display areas could have multiple functions including split screens where a first area could output call-related functions and the second area showed the conversation with a translation made through a translation function (Cheong [0183] and [0188]). A part of a graphic element (e.g., a music video, drama, or game) related to an application (e.g., a music application, video application, or video providing web browser) may be played on the first area 1705, and brief information about the playing graphic element (e.g., a music video, drama, or game) may be outputted on the second area 1700 as shown in FIG. 17B(a). When the user desires additional information, detailed analysis information 1737 about the graphic element (e.g., a music video, drama, or game) being currently played may be outputted corresponding to the selection of an item 1735 where the original graphic element ceased for a new album wide graphic element (Cheong [0186]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Regarding claim 32, Xiong does not teach the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify whether a content of predetermined type is included in the first window having the first size, based on the first window, having the first size, including the content of predetermined type, in a case that the change in the angle is larger than the threshold angle and the time duration is shorter than the reference time duration, display the first window having the second size and the second window including the content of predetermined type or an executable object for displaying the content of predetermined type, and based on the first window, having the first size, including at least one content of another type different from the predetermined type, in a case that the change in the angle is larger than the threshold angle and the time duration is shorter than the reference time duration: refrain from displaying the first window having the second size and the second window including the content of predetermined type or the executable object, and maintain displaying the first window.
In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). The display areas could have multiple functions including split screens where a first area could output call-related functions and the second area showed the conversation with a translation made through a translation function (Cheong [0183] and [0188]). A part of a graphic element (e.g., a music video, drama, or game) related to an application (e.g., a music application, video application, or video providing web browser) may be played on the first area 1705, and brief information about the playing graphic element (e.g., a music video, drama, or game) may be outputted on the second area 1700 as shown in FIG. 17B(a). When the user desires additional information, detailed analysis information 1737 about the graphic element (e.g., a music video, drama, or game) being currently played may be outputted corresponding to the selection/maintain of touch of an item 1735 such as for listening (Cheong [0186]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Regarding claim 33, Xiong does not teach the electronic device wherein the first window having the first size includes, among a first tab for providing a first webpage and a second tab for providing a second webpage, the first webpage provided through the first tab, wherein the first window having the second size includes at least a portion of the first webpage, and wherein the second window includes the second webpage.
While Xiong teaches in Page 45, first paragraph, it is understandable that the user can realize the folding of the folding screen (such as forward folding, or reverse folding) by rotating the first screen and/or the second screen along the folding edge or the folding axis, Xiong does not teach how the folding was enabled. In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). This included displaying a first window occupying a whole area of the display, detecting a folding event of the display, and displaying a second window related to context recognition on the first window according to a predefined first layout if a folded angle does not reach a first threshold angle, corresponding to the folding event.(Cheong [0013]). Additionally, an overlay was formed related to the first application which was able to have been a webpage which had selectable objects (Cheong [0166] and [0167]). The overlay had graphic elements related to previous shopping objects/webpages where the selectable object was dragged down and outputted to second display area for further comparison (Cheong [0184]-[0185]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong to execute foldable device functions as taught by Cheong in Xiong’s folding display device. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles and operations (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
Regarding claim 34, Xiong in view of Cheong does not teach the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: while the first window having the second size and the second window are concurrently displayed: identify, via the at least one sensor, another change in the angle, and identify another time duration during which the other change in the angle is performed, in a case that the other change in the angle is smaller than the threshold angle or the other time duration is longer than or equal to the reference time duration, maintain concurrently displaying the first window having the second size and the second window, in a case that the other change in the angle is larger than the threshold angle and the other time duration is shorter than the reference time duration, identify whether an additional window is available, based on identifying that the additional window is unavailable, maintain concurrently displaying the first window having the second size and the second window, and based on identifying that the additional window is available, display, via the display area, a third window with the first window having the second size and the second window having a reduced size, or display the third window with the first window having a third size smaller than the second size and the second window.
In the analogous art of folding commands in folding two screen devices, Lin teaches the processor 810 is configured to receive a bending input of a first screen of the N screens by the user, the bending input is used to adjust a folding angle between the at least two screens (Lin Figs. 6a-6d; Page 28, first paragraph). A first determining unit configured to determine a target screen capture area according to the first folding angle and the second folding and a second determining unit, configured to determine the termination boundary according to the target screen cut area and a starting boundary. The first folding angle is less than a preset angle, the acquiring subunit obtaining the angle value of the first folding angle. In the process of controlling the first screen to rotate in the second direction opposite to the first, the screen area is larger and larger (Lin Page 19, last two paragraphs and Page 20, first paragraph). For example, the preset folding angle θ2 may be set to 60 degrees, and when the folding angle θ1 is detected to be 50 degrees, and the folding position of the folding angle θ1 is 50 degrees stays for 3 seconds, it is determined that the first bending sub input satisfies the first A predetermined condition. Further, the screen capture area may be adjusted by receiving a second bend input of the user to the first screen to control the folding angle between the first screen and the second screen.(Lin Page 18, first two paragraphs).
The user can set different angles corresponding to different screens in the screen setting. For example, the first screen can be set as the rotating screen, and the starting boundary of the screen is the right border of the second screen; when the folding angle is 90 degrees Then, the second screen is full-screen intercepted; after 90 degrees, the first screen is continued to be expanded, and then the first screen is continued; and when the folding angle is 180 degrees, the first screen and the second screen are both captured in full screen (Lin Page 20, first two paragraphs Specifically, in the process of controlling the first screen to rotate in the second direction, the screen area is larger and larger. When the screen area meets the user's demand, the first screen is stopped (longer time), and the first screen or the second screen can be received. A touch operation on the screen to determine whether the second bend input meets the second preset condition. For example, when the screen capture area meets the user's demand, the first screen is stopped and the capture occurs such as between N=3 screens (Lin Page 19, third paragraph). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention modified the forward folding operation of Xiong in view of Cheong to have a screen setting operation for capturing additional information to set a screen for capturing or splitting. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have after 90 degrees, the first screen is continued to be expanded, and then the first screen is continued; and when the folding angle is 180 degrees, the first screen and the second screen are both captured in full screen versus only capturing one screen, and the screen capture range can be flexibly adjusted according to the folding angle to capture the screen capture image required by the user (Lin Page 20, first two paragraphs).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Patent Publication WO 2020/168965 A1 by Xiong, in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0039408 A1 by Cheong, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0125596 A1 by Zhang et al. (“Zhang.”)
Regarding claim 35, Xiong teaches an electronic device comprising: a first housing; a second housing coupled to the first housing (Figs. 1(a)-1(c), screen A housing with respect to screen B housing as shown);
a flexible display comprising a display area, the display area including: a first display area and a second display area, a first display area on the first housing, and a second display area on the second housing, extending from the first display area (Fig. 1(a)-1(b), flexible folding screen was folded along the folding edge to create the A screen 101 and B screen shown in Fig. 1 (b)),
at least one sensor (Page 33, second paragraph, the display screen 194 of the electronic device 100 can be folded to form multiple screens. Each screen may include a gyro sensor 180B for measuring the orientation of the corresponding screen (that is, the direction vector of the orientation));
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry; and memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: (Page 20, last paragraph and Page 21, first paragraph, The processor included one or more processing interfaces including with an integrated circuit with a memory that stored instructions and data to execute one or more computer programs, to control the electronic device with a folding screen in Page 10, first paragraph);
display, via the display area, a first window having a first size, while the first window having the first size is displayed, identify, via the at least one sensor, an angle between the first housing and the second housing (Page 33, last paragraph, The electronic device can determine the angle between adjacent screens according to the measured orientation of each screen. The change in angle between adjacent screens can be used to determine whether the user had folded the display),
based on identifying that change in the angle between the first housing and the second housing is smaller than a threshold, maintain displaying the first window having the first size (Page 41, first paragraph, If the change of the angle α between the first screen and the second screen does not satisfy the preset condition, it means that the user has not performed the operation of forward folding and then reverse folding on the folding screen),
based on identifying that change in the angle between the first housing and the second housing is larger than the threshold concurrently display, via the display area, the first window having a second size smaller than the first size and a second window associated with the first window (Page 40, first paragraph and Page 51, second paragraph, In other embodiments, when it is determined that the user performs a forward folding and then reverse folding operation, within a first time as in Page 49, last paragraph, as a response to the operation, the electronic device may perform a split screen function, that is, divide the folding screen of the electronic device into two or more display areas, and display different interfaces in different display areas).
Xiong does not teach second housing rotatably coupled to the first housing.
While Xiong teaches in Page 45, first paragraph, it is understandable that the user can realize the folding of the folding screen (such as forward folding, or reverse folding) by rotating the first screen and/or the second screen along the folding edge or the folding axis, Xiong does not teach how the folding was enabled. In the analogous art of folding electronic devices, Cheong teaches the hinge was located at folding axis of a foldable electronic device. Particularly, the hinge was located in the housing corresponding to the lower PCB and display area rotating with respect to housing corresponding to an upper PCB and display area (Cheong Figs. Fig. 1A; 3A-3B; [0070], [0072], [0075]-[0076]). The display areas could have multiple functions including split screens including displaying a first window occupying a whole area of the display, detecting a folding event of the display, and displaying a second window related to context recognition on the first window, corresponding to the folding event (Cheong [0013]). It would have been obvious the folding axis was where a hinge have been located in the foldable electronic device of Xiong. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a hinge 386 (e.g., a free-stop hinge) to keep the electronic device 301 in the folding state at various angles (Cheong Figs. 1A; 3A-3B; [0076]).
However, Xiong in view of Cheong does not teach identify, via the at least one sensor a speed at which angle between the first housing and the second housing is changed, that the speed is lower than a reference speed, maintain display the first window having the first size and that the speed is higher than the reference speed, concurrently display, via the display area, the first window having a second size smaller than the first size and a second window associated with the first window.
In the analogous art of folding commands in folding two screen devices, Zhang teaches determining a velocity signal corresponding to each display screen and the angle of the foldable screen is determined by detecting the states of the foldable screen and utilizing different algorithms according to the determined different states of the foldable screen in combination with the two sets of acceleration signals and angular velocity signals or in combination with the two sets of angular velocity signals (Zhang [0011]). A low angular velocity difference indicates the dictates that the included angle between the two display screens does not change or slightly changes, which can be neglected. cluded angle between the two display screens changes, and accordingly, the angle variation DeltaAngle, from time t−1 to time t, of the foldable screen may be calculated (Zhang Fig. 8; [0230]-[0232]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention modified the forward folding operation of Xiong in view of Cheong to have measured velocity for determining change in angle as qualified by Zhang. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have determined different states of the foldable screen in combination with the two sets of acceleration signals and angular velocity signals or in combination with the two sets of angular velocity signals. Thus, a method for determining a foldable screen included angle, which is low in hardware cost, simple in structure, high in recognition precision and anti-interference is urgently needed (Zhang [0011] and [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Foreign Patent Publication WO 2020/145697 A1 by Jung et al. teaches changing how to display an image between first and second displays based on the folding angle.
U.S. Patent Publications 2014/0049464 A1 and 2015/0331496 A1 by Kwak et al. teaches a controller configured to reconstruct the content based on the bending and to display the reconstructed content on multiple screens in a plurality of use applications.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHEEN I JAVED/Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621