DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koopmans et al. (US 20060254979 A1) herein known as Koopmans, in view of Froud (US-5695651-A), herein knows as Froud, and further in view of Holt et al. (US-9126850-B1) herein known as Holt.
(Fig. 2, Koopmans)
(Fig.1 is a diagrammatic side view, partly in section of an inlet screen according to one embodiment of the invention; Froud)
Regarding Claims 1, Koopmans is directed to a system and method of wastewater treatment in a tank provides large mixing bubbles generated in the lower portion of the tank (Abstract).
Koopmans discloses a wastewater treatment system comprising: an aeration system comprising a network of diffusers (34) secured to a floor of a wastewater treatment tank and a blower (20) coupled to the aeration system and positioned outside of the wastewater treatment tank; wherein the diffusers comprise a plurality of apertures spaced apart along a length of each diffuser (Fig.2; Abstract, (a system and method of wastewater treatment in a tank provides large mixing bubbles generated in the lower portion of the tank. In embodiments providing aerobic wastewater treatment, the system further provides oxygen to the wastewater by way of tiny aerating bubbles provided by diffusers); [0012], (The system also includes a blower and diffusers to inject dissolved oxygen into the aerobic zone); ([0025], The blower 20 delivers air to the diffusers 34 via distribution lines 36)).
However, Koopmans is silent to a sieve fluidically coupled to an inlet of the wastewater tank and configured to receive wastewater from a wastewater source; and wherein the sieve comprises at least one mesh tube extending into the tank for filtering wastewater of solids as the wastewater enters the tank.
Froud is directed to the treatment of liquid waste such as sewage. The invention provides a method of screening liquid waste to remove solid material (Abstract).
Froud discloses a sieve fluidically coupled to an inlet of the wastewater tank and configured to receive wastewater from a wastewater source; and wherein the sieve comprises at least one mesh tube extending into the tank for filtering wastewater of solids as the wastewater enters the tank (Fig.1; Abstract, (The invention relates to the treatment of liquid waste such as sewage. The invention provides a method of screening liquid waste to remove solid material therefrom, comprising passing the liquid waste in a downward stream through a suspended sack filter. The invention also provides an inlet screen, comprising an upright hollow column (1), having an opening at the top across which a sack filter (6) is positioned, the sack filter extending downwardly into the column)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Koopmans ‘s wastewater treatment system, as taught by Froud, Wherein a sieve fluidically coupled to an inlet of the wastewater tank and configured to receive wastewater from a wastewater source; and wherein the sieve comprises at least one mesh tube extending into the tank for filtering wastewater of solids as the wastewater enters the tank, in order to screen the liquid waste to remove solid the material ( See Froud, Abstract).
However, Koopmans is silent to wherein each diffuser is provided with an end cap having an opening therein for flushing solids, liquids or mixtures thereof from the diffuser.
Holt is directed to aeration systems that aerate liquid and components thereof. More particularly, it relates to an improved method and apparatus to increase the levels of dissolved oxygen and aerobic bacteria activity in septic tanks without disturbing the solid settling process and the sediment layer at the bottom of the tank (Col.1, Lines 10-19).
Holt discloses wherein each diffuser is provided with an end cap having an opening therein for flushing solids, liquids or mixtures thereof from the diffuser. (Col.10, Lines 22-24, ( the diffuser adapter tubes 42,44 are each capped with removable end caps 43,45 the diffuser 40 and end caps 43,45 nest within the adapter tubes 42,44 to provide a fluid-tight seal.))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Koopmans ‘s wastewater treatment system, as taught by Holt, wherein each diffuser is provided with an end cap having an opening therein for flushing solids, liquids or mixtures thereof from the diffuser, in order to provide a fluid-tight seal (See Holt, Col.10, Lines 22-24), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, modified Koopmans teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
Koopmans discloses the wastewater treatment system further comprising a manifold (distribution lines 36) secured to the floor of the tank and operably connected to the blower at a first end thereof and operably connected to each of the plurality of diffusers spaced apart along a length extending into and along the tank floor (Fig.2, [0012], (The system also includes a blower and diffusers to inject dissolved oxygen into the aerobic zone); ([0025], The blower 20 delivers air to the diffusers 34 via distribution lines 36)).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koopmans et al. (US 20060254979 A1) herein known as Koopmans, in view of Froud (US-5695651-A), herein knows as Froud, and further in view of Holt et al. (US-9126850-B1) herein known as Holt, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Europaeische Umweltsysteme-eusag Gmbh (DE20310249U1, Machine Translation) herein known as Gmbh.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Koopmans teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
However, modified Koopmans is silent to the wastewater treatment system further comprising a free-floating biofilm carrier provided to the tank, wherein the biofilm carrier comprises a repeating pattern hexagonal shape.
Gmbh is directed to Monolithic small wastewater treatment plant for the treatment of domestic wastewater streams, characterized in that organic loads can be removed from domestic wastewater streams to a degradation rate of up to 99% [0001].
Gmbh discloses the wastewater treatment system further comprising a free-floating biofilm carrier provided to the tank, wherein the biofilm carrier comprises a repeating pattern hexagonal shape. ([0009], The aeration basin contains the moving bed biofilm reactor, which is formed from individual, honeycomb-shaped, impact-resistant polystyrene bodies. The sum of all these bodies represents the effective growth area of the suspended fixed bed and is an essential parameter of fully biological wastewater treatment. A biologically active film of biomass forms on all surfaces of the suspended bodies. These microorganisms, which require the impurities (measurable as BOD) in the wastewater to live, oxidize them (aerobic process), multiply and maintain the specific biofilm strength, thus ensuring an optimal degree of wastewater purification.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Koopmans ‘s wastewater treatment system, as taught by Gmbh, wherein the wastewater treatment system further comprising a free-floating biofilm carrier provided to the tank, wherein the biofilm carrier comprises a repeating pattern hexagonal shape, in order to biologically active film of biomass forms on all surfaces of the suspended bodies. These microorganisms, which require the impurities (measurable as BOD) in the wastewater to live, oxidize them (aerobic process), multiply and maintain the specific biofilm strength, thus ensuring an optimal degree of wastewater purification (See Gmbh, [0009]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koopmans et al. (US 20060254979 A1) herein known as Koopmans, in view of Froud (US-5695651-A), herein knows as Froud, and further in view of Holt et al. (US-9126850-B1) herein known as Holt, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Casper (US 8002249 B2) herein known as Casper.
Regarding Claim 3 and 7, modified Koopmans teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
However, modified Koopmans is silent to the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 wherein the aeration system comprises a plurality of diffuser mounts for securing the diffusers to the floor the wastewater treatment tank and spacing the diffusers from the floor of the tank (Claim3), the wastewater treatment system of claim 6 and further comprising one or more manifold mounts for securing the manifold to the floor of the wastewater treatment tank and spacing the manifold from the surface of the floor of the tank (Claim 7).
Casper is directed to membrane strip diffusers, to the diffusion of gases into liquids through membrane strip diffusers and to plants for such purpose. More particularly, it relates to membrane strip diffusers for wastewater treatment and to wastewater treatment plants including such diffusers (Col.1, Lines 19-26).
Casper discloses the wastewater treatment system wherein the aeration system comprises a plurality of diffuser mounts for securing the diffusers to the floor the wastewater treatment tank and spacing the diffusers from the floor of the tank (Claim3), ), the wastewater treatment system further comprising one or more manifold mounts for securing the manifold (manifold 34) to the floor of the wastewater treatment tank and spacing the manifold from the surface of the floor of the tank (Claim7).( FIG. 38; (Col.2 , Lines 34-38, (Large numbers of diffusers 1 are mounted at spaced intervals along the gas supply conduits 4, and those conduits are connected through manifold 34 and downcomer pipe 35 to a source of treatment gas under pressure, such as one or more blowers or compressors); (Col.15, Lines 12-17, (FIG. 38 is a perspective view of another embodiment of a strip diffuser having modified limbs and membrane end clamping bar fastenings, as well as projections formed on the pipe to engage mounting stands for securing the diffuser to the floor of a liquid treatment tank.))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Koopmans ‘s wastewater treatment system, as taught by Casper, wherein the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 wherein the aeration system comprises a plurality of diffuser mounts for securing the diffusers to the floor the wastewater treatment tank and spacing the diffusers from the floor of the tank (Claim3), the wastewater treatment system further comprising one or more manifold mounts for securing the manifold to the floor of the wastewater treatment tank and spacing the manifold from the surface of the floor of the tank (Claim 7), in order to secure the diffuser to the floor of a liquid treatment tank (See Casper, [Col.15, Lines 12-17]), and in order for the diffusers to be mounted at spaced intervals along the gas supply conduits, and those conduits are connected through manifold to a source of treatment gas under pressure, such as one or more blowers or compressors (See Casper, Col.2 , Lines 34-38), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koopmans et al. (US 20060254979 A1) herein known as Koopmans, in view of Froud (US-5695651-A), herein knows as Froud, and further in view of Holt et al. (US-9126850-B1) herein known as Holt, and further in view of Casper (US 8002249 B2) herein known as Casper, as applied to claims above, and in view of Nakagawa (JP2011200769A, Machine Translation).
(Fig.5, Nakagawa)
Regarding Claim 4, modified Koopmans teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
However, modified Koopmans is silent to the wastewater treatment system of claim 3 wherein each of the plurality of diffuser mounts comprise a floor engaging base with one or more apertures for securing the mount to the floor and a recessed head portion having a diameter configured to frictionally engage an end of the diffuser therein to hold the diffuser in place.
Nakagawa is directed to the technical field of mounting frames for aeration devices when installing aeration devices at the bottom of treatment tanks used in sewage treatment plants and the like, where treatment is performed using the activated sludge method [0001].
Nakagawa discloses the wastewater treatment system wherein each of the plurality of diffuser mounts comprises a floor engaging base (base portion 15) with one or more apertures for securing the mount to the floor (the bottom surface 20 of the processing tank 10) and a recessed head portion having a diameter configured to frictionally engage an end of the diffuser therein to hold the diffuser in place (Fig. 5; [0019], (As shown in Figures 5 , both ends of the base portion 15, which is provided at the lower end of the support column 14, are fixed to the bottom surface 20 of the processing tank 10 by anchor bolts 16)).
Nakagawa also discloses the invention aims to provide an inexpensive mounting frame for an aeration device that can be easily constructed and adjusted regardless of the size of the aeration diffuser at the bottom of the treatment tank, and even when the treatment tank has a complex planar shape [0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Koopmans ‘s wastewater treatment system, as taught by Nakagawa, wherein the wastewater treatment system of claim 3 wherein each of the plurality of diffuser mounts comprise a floor engaging base with one or more apertures for securing the mount to the floor and a recessed head portion having a diameter configured to frictionally engage an end of the diffuser therein to hold the diffuser in place, in order to provide an inexpensive mounting frame for an aeration device that can be easily constructed and adjusted regardless of the size of the aeration diffuser at the bottom of the treatment tank, and even when the treatment tank has a complex planar shape (See Nakagawa [0006]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Koopmans teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
Holt discloses the wastewater treatment system of claim 4 wherein the recessed head portion provides the end cap comprising the opening for flushing solids, liquids or mixtures thereof from the diffuser (Col.10, Lines 22-24, ( the diffuser adapter tubes 42,44 are each capped with removable end caps 43,45 the diffuser 40 and end caps 43,45 nest within the adapter tubes 42,44 to provide a fluid-tight seal.))
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koopmans et al. (US 20060254979 A1) herein known as Koopmans, in view of Froud (US-5695651-A), herein knows as Froud, and further in view of Holt et al. (US-9126850-B1) herein known as Holt, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kato (DE 2726167 A, Machine Translation).
(Fig.1, Kato)
(Fig.2, Kato)
Regarding Claim 8, modified Koopmans teaches all the limitations in claims as set forth above.
However, modified Koopmans is silent to the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 wherein the sieve comprises an inlet positioned above and fluidically coupled via a manifold to two rigid mesh tubes extending outwardly therefrom.
Kato is directed to a method for treating wastewater using the moving contact bed method, in which aerobic microorganisms that adhere to and multiply on objects moving in the wastewater are used to eliminate the wastewater containing organic substances [0010].
Kato discloses the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 wherein the sieve comprises an inlet positioned above and fluidically coupled via a manifold to two rigid mesh tubes (short mesh tube 22a made of synthetic resin) extending outwardly therefrom (Fig.1-2; [0071], (first embodiment of the filter media 22 used in the invention is shown in Fig. 2. This embodiment is manufactured in the form of a short mesh tube 22a made of synthetic resin, such as polyethylene, polypropylene and polystyrene, by foam injection molding.); ([0072], (Such mesh pipes have the following advantages: they have low resistance to water; microorganisms cling); ([0077], (Figs. 4 and 5 show a third embodiment of filter media 22c, which are formed from two mesh tubes 28a and 28b)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Koopmans ‘s wastewater treatment system, as taught by Kato, wherein the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 wherein the sieve comprises an inlet positioned above and fluidically coupled via a manifold to two rigid mesh tubes extending outwardly therefrom,
Because such mesh pipes have the following advantages: they have low resistance to water; microorganisms cling (See Kato [0072]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koopmans et al. (US 20060254979 A1) herein known as Koopmans, in view of Froud (US-5695651-A), herein knows as Froud, and further in view of Holt et al. (US-9126850-B1) herein known as Holt, as applied to the claim1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 101786770 A) herein known as Yang.
Regarding Claim 9-11, modified Koopmans teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
However, modified Koopmans is silent to the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 wherein the wastewater source is a septic tank, and the wastewater treatment tank is a moving bed bioreactor (claim 9), The wastewater treatment system of claim 9 wherein the septic tank and moving bed bioreactor are fluidically connected with the sieve positioned in the water flow between the septic tank and moving bed bioreactor (claim 10), the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 wherein the wastewater source is a septic tank and the system further comprises a retrofit assembly comprising a housing which is fluidically connected to the septic tank and houses the aeration assembly and sieve and is configured to receive wastewater from the septic tank (Claim 11).
Yang is related to micro-powered moving bed domestic sewage treatment system, which is suitable for small and medium-sized sewage treatment plants (stations) in urban areas and for the deep treatment of decentralized rural domestic sewage [0002].
Yang discloses the wastewater treatment system wherein the wastewater source is a septic tank, and the wastewater treatment tank is a moving bed bioreactor (claim 9), The wastewater treatment system wherein the septic tank and moving bed bioreactor are fluidically connected with the sieve positioned in the water flow between the septic tank and moving bed bioreactor (claim 10). ([0011], A micro-powered moving bed domestic sewage treatment system, in which domestic sewage first enters a septic tank, then passes through a screen and is lifted to a micro-powered moving bed biofilm treatment system, and finally passes through a composite ecological treatment system before being discharged in compliance with standards); ([0014], (Domestic sewage first enters the septic tank, where it undergoes anaerobic biological treatment, degrading large organic molecules and removing a small amount of COD.); ([0021], (After the septic tank effluent passes through a screen to filter out large particles, it enters the micro-powered moving bed biofilm treatment system through the inlet pipe.)).
Yang discloses the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 wherein the wastewater source is a septic tank, and the system further comprises a retrofit assembly comprising a housing which is fluidically connected to the septic tank and houses the aeration assembly and sieve and is configured to receive wastewater from the septic tank ([0002], (This invention relates to a micro-powered moving bed domestic sewage treatment system, which is suitable for small and medium-sized sewage treatment plants (stations) in urban areas and for the deep treatment of decentralized rural domestic sewage))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Koopmans ‘s wastewater treatment system, as taught by Yang, wherein the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 wherein the wastewater source is a septic tank, and the wastewater treatment tank is a moving bed bioreactor (claim 9), The wastewater treatment system of claim 9 wherein the septic tank and moving bed bioreactor are fluidically connected with the sieve positioned in the water flow between the septic tank and moving bed bioreactor(claim 10), the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 wherein the wastewater source is a septic tank and the system further comprises a retrofit assembly comprising a housing which is fluidically connected to the septic tank and houses the aeration assembly and sieve and is configured to receive wastewater from the septic tank (Claim 11) in order to undergoes anaerobic biological treatment, degrading large organic molecules and removing a small amount of COD (See Yang, [0014]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koopmans et al. (US 20060254979 A1) herein known as Koopmans, in view of Froud (US-5695651-A), herein knows as Froud, and further in view of Holt et al. (US-9126850-B1) herein known as Holt, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tharp (US 20220266208 A1) herein known as Tharp.
(Fig. 3. is a sectional view of the large or big bubble mixer, Tharp)
(Fig. 4B. is a schematic view of the portion of the wastewater treatment system, Tharp)
Regarding Claim 12-13, modified Koopmans teaches all the limitations in claim 1 as set forth above.
However, modified Koopmans is silent to the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 and further comprising one or more air chambers positioned inside the tank for mixing contents and media in the tank (Claim 12), The wastewater treatment system of claim 12 wherein the one or more air chambers are configured to fill with air and release substantially all of the air in the chamber in one burst of air into the tank for mixing contents of the tank (Claim 13).
Tharp is directed to A mixer configured for releasing large bubbles into wastewater (Abstract).
Tharp discloses the wastewater treatment system further comprising one or more air chambers positioned inside the tank for mixing contents and media in the tank (Claim 12). (Fig. 3 and 4B; Abstract, (a mixer configured for releasing large bubbles into wastewater is provided. A method for treating wastewater in a system that includes at least one large bubble mixer and at least one fine bubble diffuser is also provided); ([0006], ( One embodiment of the present invention is generally directed to a large bubble mixer configured for releasing large bubbles into wastewater, an inner chamber area defined between the draft tube and the upwardly-extending member, an outer chamber area defined between the upwardly-extending member and the peripheral skirt of the accumulator); [0027], ( An outer open chamber 24 can be generally defined between upright cup-shaped member 16 and the accumulator skirt 20. An inner chamber 26 may be generally defined between the draft tube 12 and the upright cup-shaped member 16)
Tharp also discloses The wastewater treatment system of claim 12 wherein the one or more air chambers are configured to fill with air and release substantially all of the air in the chamber in one burst of air into the tank for mixing contents of the tank (Claim 13) (Fig. 3 and 4B; Abstract, (a mixer configured for releasing large bubbles into wastewater is provided); ([0030], When the gas enters draft tube 12, it rises up through draft tube 12 until it reaches an opening 32 defined at the top of the draft tube 12 and is released into the wastewater in the form of one large bubble (or multiple large bubbles). Upon the large bubble exiting draft tube 12 and entering the wastewater, it may burst and be broken up into two or more traditional coarse bubbles. The bursting of the single large bubble, plus the resultant of the multiple coarse bubbles, acts as a disruptor in the wastewater, displacing and mixing the wastewater and the contents therein. As described in greater detail below, depending upon the exit velocity of the large bubble from the draft tube 12, the release of the large bubble may generate an impulse or shockwave within the wastewater that results in further disruption or mixing within the wastewater. The multiple coarse bubbles can mix the wastewater with adequate submergence in the liquid. The accumulation and discharge of air can be described as pulsing, in that subsequent large bubbles are generated and released in a generally consistent and pulsating manner)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify modified Koopmans ‘s wastewater treatment system, as taught by Tharp, wherein the wastewater treatment system of claim 1 and further comprising one or more air chambers positioned inside the tank for mixing contents and media in the tank (Claim 12), The wastewater treatment system of claim 12 wherein the one or more air chambers are configured to fill with air and release substantially all of the air in the chamber in one burst of air into the tank for mixing contents of the tank (Claim 13), in order to upon the large bubble entering the wastewater, it may burst and be broken up into two or more traditional coarse bubbles. The bursting of the single large bubble, plus the resultant of the multiple coarse bubbles, acts as a disruptor in the wastewater, displacing and mixing the wastewater and the contents therein. Depending upon the exit velocity of the large bubble, the release of the large bubble may generate an impulse or shockwave within the wastewater that results in further disruption or mixing within the wastewater (See Tharp, [0030]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD MOTAZ ABDEL LATIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773