DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 18, 2026.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 or 9 be found allowable, claims 12 and 10, respectively, will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the at least one draw-in sensor”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bayerishche (DE10331939).
With regards to claim 1, Bayerishche discloses an adjustable block assembly for stamping tool assembly comprising:
a top plate [wedge-shaped piece as described in paragraph 0015] including a bottom surface defining a plurality of top plate teeth, as seen in at least Figure 3;
a base plate (6) connected to the top plate;
a lower plate [wedge-shaped piece as described in paragraph 0015] sandwiched between the top plate and the base plate, the lower plate including a top surface defining a plurality of lower plate teeth sized to interlock with the top plate teeth;
the lower plate moveable with respect to the top plate for interlocking respective teeth between a plurality of settings, as indicated by the arrow in Figure 3.
With regards to claim 2, Bayerishche discloses wherein the top plate includes a body that is inclined and the lower plate includes a body that is inclined in an opposite direction from the body of the top plate, as seen in Figure 3.
With regards to claim 3, Bayerishche discloses wherein the top plate includes a top surface and the lower plate includes a lower surface, wherein the top surface and the lower surface are parallel in the plurality of settings, as seen in at least Figure 3.
With regards to claims 7 and 12, Bayerishche discloses wherein the adjustable block assembly includes an actuator that moves the top plate relative to the lower plate, as described in paragraph 0059.
With regards to claim 8, Bayerishche discloses wherein the actuator includes a driven member (9) operably connected to the top plate, as seen in Figure 3 and described in at least paragraph 0084.
With regards to claims 9-10, Bayerishche discloses wherein the driven member is operably connected to a motor (69) and described in at least paragraphs 84-85.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michimori et al. (hereafter “Michimori”)(US 2007/0183032).
With regards to claim 1, Michimori discloses an adjustable block assembly for stamping tool assembly comprising:
a top plate (108) including a bottom surface defining a plurality of top plate teeth, as seen in at least Figure 21;
a base plate (11) connected to the top plate;
a lower plate (500) sandwiched between the top plate and the base plate, the lower plate including a top surface defining a plurality of lower plate teeth sized to interlock with the top plate teeth;
the lower plate (500) moveable with respect to the top plate for interlocking respective teeth between a plurality of settings, as indicated by the arrow in Figure 21.
With regards to claim 2, Bayerishche discloses wherein the top plate includes a body that is inclined and the lower plate includes a body that is inclined in an opposite direction from the body of the top plate, as seen in Figure 21.
With regards to claim 3, Bayerishche discloses wherein the top plate includes a top surface and the lower plate includes a lower surface, wherein the top surface and the lower surface are parallel in the plurality of settings, as seen in at least Figure 21.
With regards to claim 4, Bayerishche discloses wherein the lower plate includes at least one interlocking member (551, 552) for attaching to a provided stamp tool assembly.
With regards to claim 5, Bayerishche discloses wherein the base plate and the top plate are connected with at least one fastener (551, 552).
With regards to claim 6, Bayerishche discloses wherein the lower plate defines an elongated cavity (501, 502) that the at least one fastener extends through and wherein the elongated cavity is sized to permit the lower plate to travel with respect to the top plate, the at least one fastener, and the base plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayerische.
Bayerische discloses at least one draw-in sensor, as described in Paragraph 0016 and 0017. Bayerische also discloses an actuating signal transmitter (18), set point generator (19) and controller (19) wherein the measured signals are compared in the controller and in turn the force or speed is adjusted according, as described in at least paragraphs 0016 and 0017. Bayerische discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for explicitly state wherein the at least one adjustable block assembly further comprises: a memory; and a processor, wherein the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: generate a threshold reading of the at least one draw-in sensor between an upper control limit and a lower control limit; receive at least one reading from the at least one draw-in sensor; and adjust the setting of the adjustable block assembly when the at least one received reading is outside of the threshold reading. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Bayerische’s assembly with a memory and controller programmed as desired because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US 3,965,721.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725