DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filed on 10/11/2024.
Claims 1-15 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shavit (US20180290729A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shavit teaches An aircraft system comprising:
an artificial intelligence (AI) control system installed in an aircraft that comprises an autonomous controller (Shavit: Fig. 2A-2B Element 15) configured to:
execute one or more operational assessment functions configured to analyze an operational state corresponding to the aircraft(Shavit: Para 359 “the aircraft management computer (15) may be operative to perform a suitable abnormal condition coping procedure e.g. including some or all of the following: i. If, once a predetermined time period (Te) from the transition to PIC=AMC has elapsed (e.g. 1 minute or order of magnitude 1 minute), the AMC detects an emergency situation that requires an immediate response, using predetermined rules, the AMC 15 performs immediate actions required e.g. as defined by aircraft flight manual emergency procedures. For example, if cabin pressure declines to below a predetermined value, the AMC 15 may initiate emergency descent procedure e.g. as implemented automatically in IAI G-280. ii. If a predetermined time window (Ti) has elapsed (e.g. 5 minutes, or 3 min, or 10 min, or values therebetween) and neither air pilot nor remote pilot have taken over, AMC 15 assumes continuous incapacitation pilot with lost uplink and operates accordingly e.g.: resets the navigation system to land at the nearest suitable airport; sets aircraft systems to follow descent approach, landing and after landing procedures and transmits, on ATC emergency frequency, its situation and the new rerouting. The AMC 15 is typically able to carry out emergency landing on a runway without ILS (instrument landing system), e.g. as in IAI UAV's such as Heron”); and
execute one or more decision-making functions configured to autonomously initiate actions for controlling operation of the aircraft based on the operational state of the aircraft(Shavit: Para 359 “the aircraft management computer (15) may be operative to perform a suitable abnormal condition coping procedure e.g. including some or all of the following: i. If, once a predetermined time period (Te) from the transition to PIC=AMC has elapsed (e.g. 1 minute or order of magnitude 1 minute), the AMC detects an emergency situation that requires an immediate response, using predetermined rules, the AMC 15 performs immediate actions required e.g. as defined by aircraft flight manual emergency procedures. For example, if cabin pressure declines to below a predetermined value, the AMC 15 may initiate emergency descent procedure e.g. as implemented automatically in IAI G-280. ii. If a predetermined time window (Ti) has elapsed (e.g. 5 minutes, or 3 min, or 10 min, or values therebetween) and neither air pilot nor remote pilot have taken over, AMC 15 assumes continuous incapacitation pilot with lost uplink and operates accordingly e.g.: resets the navigation system to land at the nearest suitable airport; sets aircraft systems to follow descent approach, landing and after landing procedures and transmits, on ATC emergency frequency, its situation and the new rerouting. The AMC 15 is typically able to carry out emergency landing on a runway without ILS (instrument landing system), e.g. as in IAI UAV's such as Heron”);
a copilot replacement system (CPRS) installed in the aircraft that is configured to establish a connection with a copilot ground base station (GBS) via at least one data link, the connection enabling a remote pilot to communicate with an onboard pilot and provide assistance with operating the aircraft(Shavit: Fig. 1; Para 156 “1. In the initial phase (50), the aircraft (1) is piloted by on-board pilot (11) from initialization to TOC (43—Top Of Climb). A remote pilot (21) may monitor and support the on-board pilot. 2. In the intermediate phase (51), after top of climb (TOC) and after cruise mode has been entered, aircraft piloting is transferred to the remote pilot (21) at the ground station (20). The remote pilot monitors and controls the aircraft via satellite (30) data link communication (31). The on-board pilot may release himself from duty and enter rest mode (12). Flight path may be maintained by an auto pilot and auto throttle that are controlled and/or monitored by the remote pilot. This phase comprises the major temporal portion of long flights. Time in which the pilot is resting, need not be considered flight time. 3. In the final phase (52), the aircraft piloting is transferred again to the on-board pilot. The transfer may be done usually toward top of descent (TOD) (44) and the on-board pilot may pilot the aircraft, typically until flight ends. (42). A remote pilot (21) may monitor and support the on-board pilot”);
wherein the AI control system is configured with one or more override controls that enable both the onboard pilot and the remote pilot to override any of the actions undertaken by the one or more decision-making functions executed by the autonomous controller with respect to autonomously controlling operation of the aircraft(Shavit: Para 273 “Transition (131) At (110) mode, if onboard pilot (P) selects Piloting Mode Selector (PMS) to P, the system transfers to mode (101)”; Para 273 “Transition (136) At (112) mode, if remote pilot (RP) selects Piloting Mode Selector (PMS) to RP, the system transfers to (105) mode”; Para 295 “each transition occurs immediately upon request by the pilot expressing willingness to be pilot in command (PIC), even lacking the other pilot's consent. Priority may be defined if both pilots express the same, simultaneously, e.g. the air pilot may enjoy priority over the remote pilot. In the example of FIG. 7, some or all of the following transitions may operate within this mode: (125) onboard pilot grabs the control from the remote pilot (RP). (131) onboard pilot grabs the control from automatic system”).
Regarding claim 2, Shavit teaches The aircraft system of claim 1, wherein executing one or more operational assessment functions to analyze the operational state corresponding to the aircraft includes at least one of:
analyzing an exterior environment in which the aircraft operates;
analyzing an interior environment within the aircraft(Shavit: Para 359 “If, once a predetermined time period (Te) from the transition to PIC=AMC has elapsed (e.g. 1 minute or order of magnitude 1 minute), the AMC detects an emergency situation that requires an immediate response, using predetermined rules, the AMC 15 performs immediate actions required e.g. as defined by aircraft flight manual emergency procedures. For example, if cabin pressure declines to below a predetermined value, the AMC 15 may initiate emergency descent procedure e.g. as implemented automatically in IAI G-280”);
analyzing data received from one or more systems or components; or
analyzing flight parameters of the aircraft.
Regarding claim 3, Shavit teaches The aircraft system of claim 1, wherein the operational state of the aircraft is analyzed using one or more of:
analysis information generated by a computer vision system integrated with the Al control system, which processes visual data captured by one or more vision systems installed on exterior or interior of the aircraft;
analysis information generated by a natural language processing (NLP) system integrated with the Al control system, which processes text, voice, or audio communications; and
data received from the one or more aircraft systems or components coupled with the autonomous controller(Shavit: Para 359 “If, once a predetermined time period (Te) from the transition to PIC=AMC has elapsed (e.g. 1 minute or order of magnitude 1 minute), the AMC detects an emergency situation that requires an immediate response, using predetermined rules, the AMC 15 performs immediate actions required e.g. as defined by aircraft flight manual emergency procedures. For example, if cabin pressure declines to below a predetermined value, the AMC 15 may initiate emergency descent procedure e.g. as implemented automatically in IAI G-280”).
Regarding claim 6, Shavit teaches The aircraft system of claim 1, wherein:
the AI control system includes a natural language processing (NLP) system that monitors and interprets communications received by the aircraft(Shavit: Para 299 “if the aircraft was being controlled by remote pilot and the aircraft management computer discerns that uplink from the ground was lost, the aircraft management computer transition the piloting mode from pilot-in-command=remote-pilot, to automatic (134) and a warning is provided, via alarm apparatus 10 (FIG. 2), to at least the air pilot. Automatic detection of lost air-ground communication is known; e.g. in UAV's; for example, if one side fails to receive from the other side an expected communication in an expected time slot for a predetermined number of communication cycles; or if an expected ack signal fails to arrive e.g. for a predetermined number of communication cycles”); and
the decision-making functions executed by the autonomous controller are configured to execute one or more actions for autonomously controlling operation of the aircraft based on the communications received by the aircraft(Shavit: Para 299 “if the aircraft was being controlled by remote pilot and the aircraft management computer discerns that uplink from the ground was lost, the aircraft management computer transition the piloting mode from pilot-in-command=remote-pilot, to automatic (134) and a warning is provided, via alarm apparatus 10 (FIG. 2), to at least the air pilot. Automatic detection of lost air-ground communication is known; e.g. in UAV's; for example, if one side fails to receive from the other side an expected communication in an expected time slot for a predetermined number of communication cycles; or if an expected ack signal fails to arrive e.g. for a predetermined number of communication cycles”; Para 359 “If a predetermined time window (Ti) has elapsed (e.g. 5 minutes, or 3 min, or 10 min, or values therebetween) and neither air pilot nor remote pilot have taken over, AMC 15 assumes continuous incapacitation pilot with lost uplink and operates accordingly e.g.: resets the navigation system to land at the nearest suitable airport; sets aircraft systems to follow descent approach, landing and after landing procedures and transmits, on ATC emergency frequency, its situation and the new rerouting. The AMC 15 is typically able to carry out emergency landing on a runway without ILS (instrument landing system), e.g. as in IAI UAV's such as Heron”).
Regarding claim 7, Shavit teaches The aircraft system of claim 6, wherein:
the NLP system is coupled directly or indirectly to one or more radio devices or one or more ADS-B (automatic dependent surveillance-broadcast) systems installed on the aircraft(Shavit: Para 299 “if the aircraft was being controlled by remote pilot and the aircraft management computer discerns that uplink from the ground was lost, the aircraft management computer transition the piloting mode from pilot-in-command=remote-pilot, to automatic (134) and a warning is provided, via alarm apparatus 10 (FIG. 2), to at least the air pilot. Automatic detection of lost air-ground communication is known; e.g. in UAV's; for example, if one side fails to receive from the other side an expected communication in an expected time slot for a predetermined number of communication cycles; or if an expected ack signal fails to arrive e.g. for a predetermined number of communication cycles”);
the NLP system analyzes the communications received via the one or more radio devices or the one or more ADS-B systems and generates analysis information corresponding to the communication(Shavit: Para 299 “if the aircraft was being controlled by remote pilot and the aircraft management computer discerns that uplink from the ground was lost, the aircraft management computer transition the piloting mode from pilot-in-command=remote-pilot, to automatic (134) and a warning is provided, via alarm apparatus 10 (FIG. 2), to at least the air pilot. Automatic detection of lost air-ground communication is known; e.g. in UAV's; for example, if one side fails to receive from the other side an expected communication in an expected time slot for a predetermined number of communication cycles; or if an expected ack signal fails to arrive e.g. for a predetermined number of communication cycles”)s; and
the autonomous controller executes the one or more actions based, at least in part, on the analysis information generated by the NLP system(Shavit: Para 299 “if the aircraft was being controlled by remote pilot and the aircraft management computer discerns that uplink from the ground was lost, the aircraft management computer transition the piloting mode from pilot-in-command=remote-pilot, to automatic (134) and a warning is provided, via alarm apparatus 10 (FIG. 2), to at least the air pilot. Automatic detection of lost air-ground communication is known; e.g. in UAV's; for example, if one side fails to receive from the other side an expected communication in an expected time slot for a predetermined number of communication cycles; or if an expected ack signal fails to arrive e.g. for a predetermined number of communication cycles”; Para 359 “If a predetermined time window (Ti) has elapsed (e.g. 5 minutes, or 3 min, or 10 min, or values therebetween) and neither air pilot nor remote pilot have taken over, AMC 15 assumes continuous incapacitation pilot with lost uplink and operates accordingly e.g.: resets the navigation system to land at the nearest suitable airport; sets aircraft systems to follow descent approach, landing and after landing procedures and transmits, on ATC emergency frequency, its situation and the new rerouting. The AMC 15 is typically able to carry out emergency landing on a runway without ILS (instrument landing system), e.g. as in IAI UAV's such as Heron”).
Regarding claim 12, Shavit teaches The aircraft system of claim 1, wherein the one or more override controls are implemented using at least one of:
Voice-based override commands that can be spoken by the onboard pilot or the remote pilot;
interactive options presented on one or more display devices located in a cockpit of the aircraft or at the copilot ground base station; or
physical controls located in the cockpit of the aircraft or at the copilot ground base station(Shavit: Para 273 “Transition (131) At (110) mode, if onboard pilot (P) selects Piloting Mode Selector (PMS) to P, the system transfers to mode (101)”; Para 273 “Transition (136) At (112) mode, if remote pilot (RP) selects Piloting Mode Selector (PMS) to RP, the system transfers to (105) mode”; Para 295 “each transition occurs immediately upon request by the pilot expressing willingness to be pilot in command (PIC), even lacking the other pilot's consent. Priority may be defined if both pilots express the same, simultaneously, e.g. the air pilot may enjoy priority over the remote pilot. In the example of FIG. 7, some or all of the following transitions may operate within this mode: (125) onboard pilot grabs the control from the remote pilot (RP). (131) onboard pilot grabs the control from automatic system”).
Regarding claim 13, Shavit teaches The aircraft system of claim 1, wherein the onboard pilot is provided access to both:
the one or more override controls that enable the onboard pilot to override any actions undertaken by the autonomous controller with respect to autonomously controlling operation of the aircraft(Shavit: Para 273 “Transition (131) At (110) mode, if onboard pilot (P) selects Piloting Mode Selector (PMS) to P, the system transfers to mode (101)”; Para 295 “each transition occurs immediately upon request by the pilot expressing willingness to be pilot in command (PIC), even lacking the other pilot's consent. Priority may be defined if both pilots express the same, simultaneously, e.g. the air pilot may enjoy priority over the remote pilot. In the example of FIG. 7, some or all of the following transitions may operate within this mode: (125) onboard pilot grabs the control from the remote pilot (RP). (131) onboard pilot grabs the control from automatic system”); and
one or more additional override controls that enable the onboard pilot to override control of the aircraft by the remote pilot and/or sever the connection to the copilot GBS(Shavit: Para 273 “Transition (125) At (106) mode, onboard pilot (P) may take control by moving control switch 150 or 155 to position P. Piloting may be set to P typically without remote pilot (RP) needing to confirm”; Para 295 “Mode which emphasizes avoiding time delay: each transition occurs immediately upon request by the pilot expressing willingness to be pilot in command (PIC), even lacking the other pilot's consent. Priority may be defined if both pilots express the same, simultaneously, e.g. the air pilot may enjoy priority over the remote pilot. In the example of FIG. 7, some or all of the following transitions may operate within this mode: (125) onboard pilot grabs the control from the remote pilot (RP). (131) onboard pilot grabs the control from automatic system”).
As per claim 14, it recites A method of operating an aircraft having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 15, it recites An aircraft system having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4-5, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavit (US20180290729A1) in view of Bosworth (US20190090800A1).
In regards to claim 4, Shavit teaches The aircraft system of claim 1.
Yet Shavit do not explicitly teach wherein the Al control system includes a natural language processing (NLP) system configured to:
notify the onboard pilot and the remote pilot of one or more actions that have been undertaken, or which are intended to be undertaken, by the autonomous controller in connection with autonomously controlling operation of the aircraft; and
receive an override command from either the onboard pilot or the remote pilot for overriding, cancelling, or modifying the one or more actions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Bosworth teaches wherein the Al control system includes a natural language processing (NLP) system configured to:
notify the onboard pilot and the remote pilot of one or more actions that have been undertaken, or which are intended to be undertaken, by the autonomous controller in connection with autonomously controlling operation of the aircraft(Bosworth: Para 222 “If the pilot's fitness is determined to be other than normal (e.g., red 964, yellow 966) the pilot may be prompted by the system 900 (e.g., via HMI and/or other GUI) to confirm the machine-determined state of the pilot's condition, in steps 970 and 976. Confirmation serves as a fail-safe step, such as before the automated system is commanded to take action in step 974, if the pilot's incapacitation diagnosis is erroneous. Similarly, a question may be asked to the ground station via the communication system”; Para 223 “an alert may be sent via the communication system to ground station, in step 972. Additionally or alternatively, actions can be taken if the pilot fails to confirm the request in step 970. As shown in step 974, the ground crew may take over to remote control the aircraft. Additionally or alternatively, the ground crew may also prepare for auto-landing procedure at the airport”); and
receive an override command from either the onboard pilot or the remote pilot for overriding, cancelling, or modifying the one or more actions(Bosworth: Para 222 “If the pilot's fitness is determined to be other than normal (e.g., red 964, yellow 966) the pilot may be prompted by the system 900 (e.g., via HMI and/or other GUI) to confirm the machine-determined state of the pilot's condition, in steps 970 and 976. Confirmation serves as a fail-safe step, such as before the automated system is commanded to take action in step 974, if the pilot's incapacitation diagnosis is erroneous. Similarly, a question may be asked to the ground station via the communication system”; Para 223 “an alert may be sent via the communication system to ground station, in step 972. Additionally or alternatively, actions can be taken if the pilot fails to confirm the request in step 970. As shown in step 974, the ground crew may take over to remote control the aircraft. Additionally or alternatively, the ground crew may also prepare for auto-landing procedure at the airport”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The aircraft system of Shavit with the feature of wherein the Al control system includes a natural language processing (NLP) system configured to: notify the onboard pilot and the remote pilot of one or more actions that have been undertaken, or which are intended to be undertaken, by the autonomous controller in connection with autonomously controlling operation of the aircraft; and receive an override command from either the onboard pilot or the remote pilot for overriding, cancelling, or modifying the one or more actions disclosed by Bosworth. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “adjust or actuate one or more flight controls of the aircraft as a function of the determined incapacitation level” (Bosworth: Para 11).
In regards to claim 5, Shavit teaches The aircraft system of claim 1, and Shavit further teaches a communications management system installed on the aircraft controls communications with the remote pilot(Shavit: Para 181 “Data link communication with ground station is done by redundant SAT COM units (17) and antennas (34)”) while Bosworth further teaches the communications management system transmits one or more notifications to the remote pilot via the at least one data link which identify one or more actions that have been initiated, or will be initiated, by the autonomous controller for controlling operation of the aircraft(Bosworth: Para 222 “If the pilot's fitness is determined to be other than normal (e.g., red 964, yellow 966) the pilot may be prompted by the system 900 (e.g., via HMI and/or other GUI) to confirm the machine-determined state of the pilot's condition, in steps 970 and 976. Confirmation serves as a fail-safe step, such as before the automated system is commanded to take action in step 974, if the pilot's incapacitation diagnosis is erroneous. Similarly, a question may be asked to the ground station via the communication system”; Para 223 “an alert may be sent via the communication system to ground station, in step 972. Additionally or alternatively, actions can be taken if the pilot fails to confirm the request in step 970. As shown in step 974, the ground crew may take over to remote control the aircraft. Additionally or alternatively, the ground crew may also prepare for auto-landing procedure at the airport”); and
an override command is transmitted by the remote pilot over the network to the aircraft to override, cancel, or modify the one or more actions initiated by the autonomous controller(Bosworth: Para 222 “If the pilot's fitness is determined to be other than normal (e.g., red 964, yellow 966) the pilot may be prompted by the system 900 (e.g., via HMI and/or other GUI) to confirm the machine-determined state of the pilot's condition, in steps 970 and 976. Confirmation serves as a fail-safe step, such as before the automated system is commanded to take action in step 974, if the pilot's incapacitation diagnosis is erroneous. Similarly, a question may be asked to the ground station via the communication system”; Para 223 “an alert may be sent via the communication system to ground station, in step 972. Additionally or alternatively, actions can be taken if the pilot fails to confirm the request in step 970. As shown in step 974, the ground crew may take over to remote control the aircraft. Additionally or alternatively, the ground crew may also prepare for auto-landing procedure at the airport”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Shavit and Bosworth as in Claim 4 above.
In regards to claim 10, of Shavit teaches The aircraft system of claim 1, and Bosworth further teaches the Al control system includes a computer vision system configured to receive visual data captured inside of the aircraft (Bosworth: Para 147 “The health controller 602 may employ the one or more cameras 410 of the perception system 106 to determine whether the pilot's body posture is poor (e.g., hunched over/slouched) or the pilot's apparent motor coordination is off (e.g., erratic, sluggish, unable to manipulate the controls, etc.), in which case the health controller 602 may determine that the pilot is incapacitated (e.g., unconscious, dead, and/or under the influence of drugs or alcohol)”);
the computer vision system analyzes the visual data to generate analysis information corresponding to an interior environment of the aircraft(Bosworth: Para 147 “The health controller 602 may employ the one or more cameras 410 of the perception system 106 to determine whether the pilot's body posture is poor (e.g., hunched over/slouched) or the pilot's apparent motor coordination is off (e.g., erratic, sluggish, unable to manipulate the controls, etc.), in which case the health controller 602 may determine that the pilot is incapacitated (e.g., unconscious, dead, and/or under the influence of drugs or alcohol)”); and
the autonomous controller executes one or more actions based the analysis information generated by the computer vision system(Bosworth: Para 147 “Auto-Land Trigger. Promptly and accurately triggering the aircrew automation system 100 to generate a command to perform the auto-descent and/or auto-land procedure(s) in an emergency is imperative. Accordingly, an aircrew health data feed from aircrew health monitoring system 160 to the core platform 102 may further include an auto-descent and/or auto-land command to initiate the auto-descent and auto-landing procedures upon the occurrence of an auto-land trigger. The auto-land trigger may be, for example, a direct command from the operator (e.g., the pilot or other aircrew member) or generated automatically (e.g., by the health controller 602) based at least in part on data received from the vital sensors 606, the perception system 106, and/or, the HMI system 104”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Shavit and Bosworth as in Claim 4 above.
In regards to claim 11, the combination of Shavit and Bosworth teaches The aircraft system of claim 10, and Shavit further teaches wherein the autonomous controller executes the one or more actions in response to:
interpreting data presented on an instrument or display located in a cockpit of the aircraft;
identifying equipment inside the aircraft that has been damaged or which is malfunctioning(Shavit: Para 359 “If, once a predetermined time period (Te) from the transition to PIC=AMC has elapsed (e.g. 1 minute or order of magnitude 1 minute), the AMC detects an emergency situation that requires an immediate response, using predetermined rules, the AMC 15 performs immediate actions required e.g. as defined by aircraft flight manual emergency procedures. For example, if cabin pressure declines to below a predetermined value, the AMC 15 may initiate emergency descent procedure e.g. as implemented automatically in IAI G-280”);
analyzing activities of passengers located in a passenger cabin of the aircraft; or
monitoring conditions in a cargo bay of the aircraft.
Claim 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shavit (US20180290729A1) in view of Iskrev (US20170308100A1).
In regards to claim 8, Shavit teaches The aircraft system of claim 1
Yet Shavit do not explicitly teach the Al control system includes a computer vision system configured to receive visual data captured by an exterior vision system of the aircraft;
the computer vision system analyzes the visual data to generate analysis information corresponding to an exterior environment of the aircraft ; and
the autonomous controller executes one or more actions based, at least in part, on the analysis information generated by the computer vision system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iskrev teaches the Al control system includes a computer vision system configured to receive visual data captured by an exterior vision system of the aircraft(Iskrev: Para 37 “The UAV 12 further includes one or more electromagnetic wave detectors 28. The electromagnetic wave detectors 28 may be, for example, a visual or multispectral camera or detector, used to search for and track the position of a landmark, e.g., landmark 24 relative to the camera/detector 28. Data from the electromagnetic wave detectors 28 is preferably interfaced to and processed by the control module of the UAV 12. Pictures (diagrams) and/or video from electromagnetic wave detectors 28 can be transmitted to an observer, e.g., observer 20, and to the pilot, e.g., pilot 16, at appropriate points of time, e.g., over a wireless communication link 30, as described in detail below”) ;
the computer vision system analyzes the visual data to generate analysis information corresponding to an exterior environment of the aircraft(Iskrev: Para 46 “the landing algorithm used by the control module of the UAV 12 is an onboard software component, which is responsible for controlling the UAV 12 during an identification phase, a landing trajectory planning phase, and a tracking and positioning phase. The identification phase includes the initial detection of the landmark 24 based on the pinpointed location of the landmark 24 on the aerial photograph, and detecting the landmark's existence and relative position to the UAV 12. During the landing trajectory planning phase, depending on the relative position of the aircraft to the landmark and the desired landing strategy, the landing algorithm calculates a reference/planned landing trajectory for the landing and touchdown stages of flight, which should be followed by the aircraft to reach the position of the landing platform”); and
the autonomous controller executes one or more actions based, at least in part, on the analysis information generated by the computer vision system(Iskrev: Para 46 “the landing algorithm used by the control module of the UAV 12 is an onboard software component, which is responsible for controlling the UAV 12 during an identification phase, a landing trajectory planning phase, and a tracking and positioning phase. The identification phase includes the initial detection of the landmark 24 based on the pinpointed location of the landmark 24 on the aerial photograph, and detecting the landmark's existence and relative position to the UAV 12. During the landing trajectory planning phase, depending on the relative position of the aircraft to the landmark and the desired landing strategy, the landing algorithm calculates a reference/planned landing trajectory for the landing and touchdown stages of flight, which should be followed by the aircraft to reach the position of the landing platform”; Para 19 “The control module is configured to autonomously control descent of the unmanned aerial vehicle to the landing point”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The aircraft system of Shavit with the feature of the Al control system includes a computer vision system configured to receive visual data captured by an exterior vision system of the aircraft; the computer vision system analyzes the visual data to generate analysis information corresponding to an exterior environment of the aircraft; and the autonomous controller executes one or more actions based, at least in part, on the analysis information generated by the computer vision system disclosed by Iskrev. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “automated landing of an aircraft of UAV in a variety of landing scenarios” (Iskrev: Para 5).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of Shavit and Iskrev teaches The aircraft system of claim 8, and Shavit further teaches wherein the autonomous controller executes the one or more actions in response to the analysis information identifying:
one or more air-based obstacles in or near a flight path of the aircraft(Shavit: Para 358 “If collision avoidance system activates resolution advisory flight guidance, AMC 15 may set the auto pilot to follow that guidance. Upon back to clear from conflict status, the AMC 15 may restore auto pilot to the previous set up”);
one or more ground-based obstacles in or near a landing surface;
weather conditions in a current vicinity of the aircraft or in an upcoming flight path of the aircraft;
air traffic conditions in or near a flight path of the aircraft; or
an unapproved landing surface for landing the aircraft in an emergency situation.
The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Shavit and Iskrev as in Claim 8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McCusker(US9384586B1) disclosed improved EFVS capable of providing imagery on an HDD that is useful to a PM to verify the reliability and accuracy of the EFVS, and to determine that the PF is taking appropriate action during approach and landing procedures.
/W.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
2/18/26