DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Li et al. (US 10,967,363) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Li et al. (US 10,967,363)
In regard to claims 1, 4, Li teaches metal carbide catalyst have Pt and MXene (abstract). The catalyst is an intermetallic Pt/MXene nanoparticle catalyst comprising platinum and MXene of a formula I having Mn+1Xn where X is C or N, n is 1 to 3 and M is early transition metal(s) such as titanium, tungsten etc., (i.e., Ti3C2 or Nb2C or W2TiC2 etc.) and wherein Pt (i.e., late transition metal) provides the late transition metal of claim 4 (column 3 lines 1 – 26). The platinum loading of the catalyst is from about 0.5% to about 20%, or less than about 5% (column 3 line 27 – 32). In Fig 6, Li teaches Pt Nb2CTx having the typical layered structure of MXene, and thus it appears that the platinum would be layered on the basal plane of the MXene.
The catalyst can have a size of 0.5 nm to about 20 nm, or about 2nm (column 3 lines 38 – 44). In FIG 1, the catalyst is Nb2CTx nanosheets with reserved hexagonal basal plane (column 5 lines 34 – 42). Thus, the delaminated MXene of the claims appears to be provided and/or anticipated.
In regard to claims 2, 3, Li teaches the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regard to claim 5, 6, Li teaches the delaminated compound having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regard to claim 7, Li teaches the compound as previously stated. The claim is a product by process limitation. Since the product is taught by Li, the product by process limitation of the claim is met.
In regard to claim 8, Li teaches the compound which can have the claimed structure as previously discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 – 25 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art by Li fails to teach the process of hydrogenolysis of polymers using the MXene catalyst of the claims.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771