DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 8 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, ll. 4, “a slot” was already disclosed in claim 1.
Claim 8, ll. 1, “an inner lip” was already disclosed in claim 1.
Claim 8, ll. 2, “an outer lip” was already disclosed in claim 1.
Claim 18, ll. 4, “one of the stator core” seems to be typographical error, which should be “one end of the stator core.”
Claim 18, ll. 8, “a second end” was already recited in ll. 2.
Claim 18, ll. 8, “the first end ring” should be “the second end ring.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 1).
Regarding claim 15, Kaiser discloses an end ring (22) for a stator (10) comprising:
an axially-outward-facing side (upper side in FIG. 2) including a plurality of radial ribs (24) and a plurality of openings (between ribs 24 in FIG. 2) arranged circumferentially around the end ring (22), each of the plurality of radial ribs (24) defining opposing angled sides (38) that taper toward one another and axially outward from perimeter edges of consecutive openings and extend to a radially flat upper portion (same as the axially outward facing side in FIG. 2); and
a flat axially-inward facing side (lower side in FIG. 2) opposite the axially-outward facing side (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 16/15, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 15. Kaiser further discloses a chamfered perimeter (36) is formed around each of the plurality of openings on the axially-inward-facing side (FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 1) in view of Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kaiser discloses a stator (10) for an electric machine (¶ [0016]), the stator (10) comprising:
a stator core (12) including a plurality of slots (14);
windings (16) positioned on the stator core (12), the windings (16) including a plurality of interconnected conductors (conductors 16) extending through the plurality of slots (14; ¶ [0016]), the windings (16) further including U-shaped end turns (FIG. 1) on an insertion end (18) of the stator core (12) and a weld end turns (FIG. 3) on a connection end (20) of the stator core (12);
a first end ring (22A) coupled to the insertion end (18) of the stator core (12), the first end ring (22A) comprising a plurality of openings (between fingers 24) and a plurality of radial ribs (24), wherein the interconnected conductors (16) extend through the plurality of openings and the U-shaped end turns (FIG. 2) engage the radial ribs (24) of the first end ring (22A), the first end ring (22A) further comprising an outer edge (see annotation below) and an inner lip (FIG. 5); and
a second end ring (22B) coupled to the connection end (20) of the stator core (12), the second end ring (22B) also comprising a plurality of openings (between fingers 24) and a plurality of radial ribs (24), wherein the interconnected conductors (16) extend through the plurality of openings and the weld end turns (FIG. 3) are bent around the radial ribs (24) of the second end ring (22B).
Kaiser does not disclose the outer edge and the inner lip configured to accept a seal.
Yang discloses the first end ring (23) further comprising the outer edge and the inner lip configured to accept a seal (¶ [0084] the outer edge is sealed by the housing 1 and the inner edge is sealed by the second silicon steel sheet 216).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Yang to disclose the outer edge and the inner lip configured to accept a seal, for the advantages of allowing a coolant to flow through the stator to cool the stator.
Regarding claim 2/1, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Kaiser further discloses the first end ring (22A) comprising an axially-outward-facing side (upper side in FIG. 2) and an axially-inward-facing side (lower side in FIG. 2), wherein a chamfer (36) is formed around a perimeter of each opening on the axially-inward-facing side (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3/2, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 2. Kaiser further discloses wherein the stator slots (14) include axial openings (FIG. 2), and wherein the openings in the first end ring (22A) are greater in size than the axial openings to the stator slots (14; FIG. 2 discloses the openings has angled portion 36 and curved portion 38 having openings larger than the slot).
Regarding claim 4/2, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 2. Kaiser further discloses a plurality of slot liners (30) arranged in the plurality of slots (14), the plurality of slot liners (30) extending axially through the slots (14) and through the openings in the end ring (22A, 22B), each of the plurality of slot liners (30) positioned between walls of a slot (14) and the conductors (16) extending through the slot (14).
Regarding claim 5/4, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 4. While Kaiser does not explicitly disclose the slot liners extend at least 2.8 mm past an axial end of the stator core, it would be obvious to try for one of ordinary skill in the art, as there is a finite amount of length the slot liners can extends past an axial end of the stator core, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the appropriate length of the slot liners to extend from the stator core without causing damage to the slot liner during assembly.
Regarding claim 11/1, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang further discloses a cured insulative filler material (¶ [0119 resin]) provided on the end ring (23).
Yang discloses the motor is covered in resin through trickle impregnation process, where resin is dripped on the coil winding and into the coil slot, indicating the resin would cover not only the coil winding but the end ring as well.
Regarding claim 12/1, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Kaiser further discloses the plurality of radial ribs (24) of the first end ring (22A) define a plurality of segments for the first end ring (22A), each of the plurality of segments defining a pocket compartment (space between side 34 and slot liner 30) with a pocket floor (stator surface between side 34 and slot liner 30), wherein the plurality of radial ribs (24) extend axially outward from the pocket floor to a radially flat upper portion (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 13/1, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Kaiser further discloses the plurality of radial ribs (24) of the first end ring (22B) define a plurality of segments for the first end ring (22B), each of the plurality of segments defining a pocket compartment (space between side 34 and slot liner 30) with a pocket floor (stator surface between side 34 and slot liner 30), wherein the plurality of radial ribs (24) are defined by opposing angled sides (38) that taper toward one another and meet at a radially flat upper portion (FIG. 2).
As disclosed in ¶ [0026], the first end ring 22A and the second end ring 22B have the same shape.
Regarding claim 14/13, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 13. Kaiser further discloses the opposing angled sides (38) of the radial ribs (24) extend upwardly from radial sides of the plurality of openings of the second end ring (22B), and wherein the weld end turns (FIG. 3) extend parallel to the opposing angled sides (38) of the radial ribs (24; FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Kaiser discloses a stator (10) for an electric machine (¶ [0016]), the stator (10) comprising:
a stator core (12) including a plurality of slots (14), a first end (18) and a second end (20);
windings (16) positioned on the stator core (12);
a first end ring (22A) coupled to one end (18) of the stator core (12), the first end ring (22A) comprising a plurality of openings (between fingers 24), wherein the windings (16) extend through the plurality of openings (FIG. 2), the first end ring (22A) further including an outer edge (see annotation below) and an inner lip (FIG. 5); and
a second end ring (22B) coupled to a second end (20) of the stator core (12), the second end ring (22B) comprising a plurality of openings (between fingers 24), wherein the windings (16) extend through the plurality of openings (FIG. 4).
Kaiser does not disclose the outer edge and the inner lip configured to accept a seal.
Yang discloses the first end ring (23) further comprising the outer edge and the inner lip configured to accept a seal (¶ [0084] the outer edge is sealed by the housing 1 and the inner edge is sealed by the second silicon steel sheet 216).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Yang to disclose the outer edge and the inner lip configured to accept a seal, for the advantages of allowing a coolant to flow through the stator to cool the stator.
Regarding claim 19/18, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 18. Yang further discloses the second end ring (24) includes an outer edge configured to accept a seal and an inner lip configured to accept a seal (¶ [0086] the second end plate 24 is sealed by the housing 1; ¶ [0094] the second silicon steel sheet 216 is stacked on both axial ends of the stator core to seal the first and second end plates).
Regarding claim 20/19, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 19. Kaiser further discloses the first end ring (22A) includes a plurality of radial ribs (24), wherein the radial ribs (24) connect the inner lip to the outer edge (FIG. 6).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 1) in view of Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Katou et al. (US 6,674,211 B2).
Regarding claim 6/4, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 4. Kaiser in view of Yang does not disclose each of the plurality of slot liners includes an overlapping portion arranged along a radially outward wall of the slot.
Katou discloses each of the plurality of slot liners (3) includes an overlapping portion (37) arranged along a radially outward wall of the slot (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Hays, Maughan and Kaiser, further in view of Katou to disclose each of the plurality of slot liners include an overlapping potion arranged along a radially outward wall of the slot, for the advantages
of keeping the slot liner firmly kept in the slot without movement during insertion of conductors.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 1) in view of Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hays et al. (US 2020/0368575 A1).
Regarding claim 7/1, Kaiser in view of yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang further discloses a first gasket (216) positioned between the first end ring (23) and the insertion end of the stator core (21) and a second gasket (216; ¶ [0094] second silicon steel sheet are stack on two ends of the body of the stator core) positioned between the second end ring (24) and the connection end of the stator core (21).
Kaiser in view of Yang does not disclose the first gasket and the second gasket are adhesive gaskets.
Hays discloses the gasket (236) is an adhesive gasket (¶ [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Yang, further in view of Hays to disclose the first gasket and the second gasket are adhesive gaskets, as disclosed by Hays in ¶ [0039], replacing a gasket with an adhesive or tape is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 1) in view of Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito (US 2023/0069321 A1).
Regarding claim 8/1, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Yang further discloses an inner lip, and an outer edge with an outer lip extending around an outer diameter of the first end ring (23; FIG. 10, 12), the stator (2) further comprising an outer ring seal (¶ [0086]) engaging the outer lip of the first end ring (23).
Kaiser in view of Yang does not disclose the inner lip extending around an inner diameter of the first end ring.
Ito discloses the inner lip (52) extending around an inner diameter of the first end ring (53; FIG. 15A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Yang, further in view of Ito to disclose the inner lip extending around an inner diameter of the first end ring, for the advantages of separating stator coolant away from the rotor.
Regarding claim 9/8, Kaiser in view of Yang and Ito was discussed above in claim 8. Kaiser further discloses the radial ribs (24) connect the outer edge of the first end ring with the inner lip of the first end ring (FIG. 5).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 1) in view of Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yasutomi et al. (US 2023/0327523 A1).
Regarding claim 10/1, Kaiser in view of Yang was discussed above in claim 1. Kaiser in view of Yang does not disclose a temperature sensor mounted on an outer edge of the first end ring or the second end ring.
Yasutomi discloses a temperature sensor (25) mounted on an axially outer side of the coil end.
Yasutomi’s disclosure would be used to place the temperature sensor on an axially outer edge of Kaiser’s end rings (22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Yang, further in view of Yasutomi to disclose a temperature sensor mounted on an outer edge of the first end ring or the second end ring, for the advantages of reducing the size of the stator in the radial direction and increase accuracy of temperature detection (¶ [0006]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 1) in view of Stubsgaard et al. (US 11,990,815 B2).
Regarding claim 17/15, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 15. Kaiser further discloses the end ring (22) is a monolithic structure comprised of plastic material (¶ [0018]).
Kaiser does not disclose the plastic material is a high glass filled plastic.
Stubsgaard discloses the plastic material is a high glass filled plastic (Quartz based material such as glass; col. 15 ll. 48-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Stubsgaard to disclose the end ring is comprised of a high glass filled plastic material, as disclosed by Stubsgaard, replacing one electrically insulating material to another insulating material is a simple substitution to obtain predictable results (col. 15 ll. 48-57).
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834