DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-14 are pending. Applicant’s previous election of the following species still applies and claim 14 is withdrawn (directed to a different combination of alkoxy silanes than the elected species).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer (U.S. 2020/0181408) in view of David (U.S. 2007/0219312) in view of Yoshitaka (JP 2010-265362, cited by Applicant, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-13, Beyer teaches a curable silicone rubber composition comprising A1 and A2 ingredients corresponding to the claimed (i) ingredient and having an overlapping viscosity ([0045]-[0065]), a B2 ingredient corresponding to the claimed (ii) ingredient with an amount that appears to overlap the claimed amount ([0081]-[0086]), a catalytic amount of platinum catalyst as in claim 13, and an amount of cure inhibitor that appears to overlap the claimed amount of claim 13 ([0090]-[0096]). The composition also includes a B1 ingredient which may be a hydride Q resin (i.e., including Q, SiO4/2, units), corresponding to the elected cure modifier (c) species as in claim 6 in order to promote hardness ([0076]-[0079]). Beyer also teaches silica filler as in claim 10 ([0097]). The composition inherently produces a silicone rubber as in claim 11 and is a liquid silicone rubber composition as in claim 12 that can be heat cured ([0138]). The composition is also disclosed as including optional additives such as adhesion promoters but the claimed compounds (a) and (b) are not specifically disclosed.
However, David is also directed to a platinum catalyzed addition cured silicone composition ([0026]-[0030], [0039]) and teaches that a combination of the elected alkoxysilane compounds (i.e., the glycidoxy silane species and the fumarate silane species) may be included as adhesion promoters ([0041]), corresponding to the claimed (a) ingredient as in claims 2-4, such that it would have been obvious to have included such silane compounds in the composition of Beyer because David discloses they provide adhesion as sought by Beyer.
Additionally, Yoshitaka is also directed to a platinum catalyzed addition cured silicone composition ([0008]-[0033], [0102]) and teaches that a mixture of hydrogen functional polysiloxanes that are not containing an aryl group and containing an aryl group ([0086], [0103]) may be utilized with the aryl group containing hydrogen functional polysiloxanes improving wettability and allowing for improved adhesion to aromatic substrates ([0103]), and with the aryl group containing polysiloxanes being formed with pendent aromatic groups as in the polysiloxanes of the present specification that have the present immiscibility properties (i.e., reaction of styrene with trimethylsiloxy terminated copolymers of dimethylsiloxane and methylhydrogensiloxane units, yielding dimethyl/methylhydro/phenylmethyl siloxane copolymer, [0110]-[0114], as in claim 5). Thus, it would have been obvious to have included such aromatic hydride functional polysiloxanes in Beyer as taught by Yoshitaka in order to improve wettability and adhesion to aromatic substrates.
The above ingredients from the cited references corresponding to the claimed (a), (b), and (c) ingredients correspond to the claimed adhesion modifier composition, with all other ingredients corresponding to the claimed curable organopolysiloxane composition.
The amounts of the claimed (a), (b), and (c) ingredients is not explicitly disclosed for the overall composition and/or as claimed in claim 7. However, each of the above ingredients is provided with a corresponding effected property (i.e., hardness for the hydride Q resin from Beyer, adhesion promotion for the glycidoxy silane species and the fumarate silane species from David, and wettability for the hydride functional aryl group containing polysiloxane from Yoshitaka) such that it would have been obvious to have adjusted the amount of these ingredients in the overall composition, and relative to each other, (including to values within claims 1 and 7) as part of the optimization of their respective effects as set forth above. In addition to these amounts being obvious to optimize as art-recognized result effective variables, the claimed amounts are also prima facie obvious based on the following from the MPEP.
See MPEP 2144.05 II A. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In reHoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc.v.Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In reKulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was “unexpectedly good”); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.”).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer (U.S. 2020/0181408) in view of David (U.S. 2007/0219312) in view of Yoshitaka (JP 2010-265362, cited by Applicant, see machine translation), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishikawa (U.S. 6,191,247).
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Beyer teaches all of the above subject matter but does not disclose the catalysts of claims 8-9. However, Ishikawa is also directed to addition cured platinum catalyzed silicone rubber compositions (See abstract, col. 3, line 20-col. 4, line 60) and teaches that when alkoxy functional ingredients (like the adhesion promoters from modified Beyer) and/or silica (also taught by Beyer) are used, zinc and titanium condensation catalysts as in claims 8 and 9 (inherently transesterification catalysts like in the present specification) may be included to improve the efficiency of such alkoxy functional ingredients and/or silica (col. 12, lines 10-35), with the amount of such ingredients being obvious to adjust to within the claimed range as part of optimizing their catalytic/efficiency improving effect, such that it would have been obvious to have included such catalysts in modified Beyer in order to improve the efficiency of the alkoxy functional ingredients and/or silica as taught by Ishikawa.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive. The above prior art rejection is the same as in the last office action prior to RCE and thus this action is final.
The previous 112 rejection is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment to claim 12.
Applicant argues that the claimed invention provides unexpected results as demonstrated by the examples. These results from the examples may be unexpected by the prior art but are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention and thus the unexpected results argument is not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that “the amount of alkoxy silane present…is not as important as the presence of both an epoxy functional silane and an ester functional silane.” Applicant then cites examples with the same overall amount of alkoxysilane that have improved properties when those alkoxysilanes are the claimed epoxy and fumarate silanes. However, this is not a commensurate in scope argument but rather is an argument in favor of the criticality of the type of silanes. In other words, it does not demonstrate that the unexpected results (based on the citation to table 2, a bonding performance above 8, e.g., 10) would be exhibited across the full claim scope, which is far broader than the amounts used in Table 2 (the claims recite the amount of the adhesion modifier in the overall composition, not the amount of alkoxysilanes relative to diffusion promoter and cure modifier, and thus the ratio of alkoxysilanes relative to diffusion promoter and cure modifier in claim 1 is unlimited). Even the narrowed scope of claim 7 is still broader in the amounts of the various ingredients than the cited examples, without any evidence or declaration explaining how/why the same unexpected properties would be expected over the entire broader claimed scope.
Further to the above, even if the ranges of amounts as claimed had endpoints corresponding to the range of amounts tested in the examples, there would still be a commensurate in scope problem with respect to the type of ingredients claimed as compared to the type of ingredient used in the examples. For instance, the type of diffusion promoters in the examples have a particular structure (in terms of degree of branching), MW, Si-H location, Si-H content, phenyl location, and phenyl content, which are not reflected in the claims at all. The type of alkoxysilane is also broadly recited in the claims relative to the examples, except for dependent claim 3, but even then the ratio of the different alkoxysilanes relative to each other is not recited. The cure modifier ingredient is also far narrower in the examples, in terms of structure, MW, type of hydride groups and location of hydride groups, than in the claims. And none of the claims recite any details regarding the type of ingredients in the base silicone rubber composition (to which the claimed a, b, and c ingredients are added). Based on the above, it is maintained that the claims are not commensurate in scope with the cited data.
Applicant also argues that the cited references fail to suggest the amount of adhesion modifier composition in the overall silicone rubber composition as claimed but simply ignores the explanation provided in the rejection (that each ingredient in the adhesion modifier composition has a result effective variable in the prior art that makes their respective amounts, and thus their combined amounts, obvious to adjust). Applicant also argues that the list of adhesion promoters in David is too long to render obvious the claimed types of adhesion promoters but the list in David is not remotely long enough to make the claimed compounds non-obvious.
Conclusion
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787