DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “like a strip” renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost (WO 2018011528, with citations from US 20190299493 as an English language equivalent) in view of Tsuji (US 20110272853).
As to claim 1, Provost teaches a tool system. Provost provides a molding tool (Fig. 3, item 12A) with a tool surface having a peripheral edge (Fig. 3, item 12A). Provost teaches a compensating body (24&26) within the peripheral edge of the molding tool such that the compensating body extends from the peripheral edge in a direction of the peripheral contour (Fig. 3, item 24&26 between 12A and 10). The distinction between Fig. 2B, items 24&26 and Fig. 3, items 24&26 and the description of 24&26 as “thermoexpandable seal” (Abstract) shows that the compensating body (24&26) inherently or obviously has a greater coefficient of thermal expansion than the molding tool. The Provost top mold (Fig. 3, item 12B) meets the claimed closure device shaped to correspond to the molding tool (Fig. 3, item 12A) since it closes the molding tool to form a closed mold (as shown in Fig. 3) which is capable of enclosing a ply of fiber material (Fig. 3, item 10) and the compensating body (Fig. 3, item 24&26). The closed mold has a conduit capable of receiving resin (Fig. 4, item 14).
Although Provost teaches heating (Abstract, “heating the mould”), Provost does not specifically teach a heating device.
Tsuji teaches a resin transfer molding process performed with metal molds and a heating device ([0051]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the Tsuji heating device into Provost because Provost specifically teaches/suggests heating a mould (Abstract) and Tsuji provides a heating device within the scope of the Provost teaching/suggestion capable of heating a mold.
As to claim 3, Provost teaches that the compensating body is shaped like a strip (see Fig. 2B, item S1). As to claim 5, Provost is silent to aluminum. However, Tsuji teaches a mold for a similar purpose made from aluminum ([0068]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to use the aluminum mold material of Tsuji as an obvious interchangeable substitute for the unknown material already used by Provost.
Claims 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost (WO 2018011528, with citations from US 20190299493 as an English language equivalent) in view of Tsuji (US 20110272853), and further in view of James (US 5,204,042).
As to claims 2 and 6, Provost appears to be silent to a flexible compensating body comprised of PTFE or rubber.
However, James teaches an expansion member (42) formed from rubber (claim 2) which is flexible (10:47-60).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to use the James material in Provost as an obvious interchangeable substitute for the material already used by Provost. One could have substituted the James rubber for the Provost (unknown) material and the results would have been predictable since James provides the effect (expansion) required by Provost (thermos-expandable seal). Alternatively, Provost teaches/suggests a thermoexpandable seal (Abstract) and James provides an expandable rubber material within the scope of the Provost teaching/suggestion. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in light of the fact that both materials are provided for expanding in a mold.
As to claim 4, as detailed above in the rejection of claim 2 and 6, it would have been obvious to use a rubber material in the Provost compensating body, and rubber would inherently or obviously had a coefficient of thermal expansion within the claimed range.
While Provost does not specifically teach the mold coefficient of thermal expansion, Tsuji teaches a mold for a similar purpose made from aluminum ([0068]) that would have met the claimed maximum thermal expansion. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to use the aluminum mold material of Tsuji as an obvious interchangeable substitute for the unknown material already used by Provost.
When the James rubber is used as the thermoexpandable seal in Provost and the Tsuji aluminum is used as the mold material in Provost, all claim limitations are met.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742