DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
2. The Amendment filed August 28, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 8, and 12 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are presently pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement filed on August 28, 2026 has been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 12-13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20120250897 (hereinafter, “Michel”) in view of Schultz et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140307885 (hereinafter, “Schultz”).
Regarding claim 1, Michel teaches an acoustic sensor device (assembly 300; FIG. 3 provides a cross-sectional view of a preferred embodiment of the invention. As shown, assembly 300 includes a pair of MEMS transducers 101, each of which is attached to substrate 301, Fig. 3, par [0032]; FIGS. 13 and 14 illustrate two other dual transducer directional microphone embodiments, par [0065], see Michel), comprising:
a substrate (substrate 301, Fig. 3, par [0032], see Michel);
a first transducer (left side transducer 101, Fig. 3) supported by the substrate (substrate 301, Fig. 3, par [0032], see Michel), the first transducer configured to generate a first output signal (In at least one configuration, the transducer back volume is common to the first and second MEMS transducers and the first and second MEMS transducers are electrically combined out of phase to form a directional microphone, par [0006], see Michel) when exposed to a sound wave (preferably transducer 101 is a MEMS microphone transducer, par [0029], see Michel; The inventors also envision that the presently disclosed transducer assembly may be used with either analog or digital output circuitry. Further, the inventors envision that transducer assembly 300 could alternately utilize one or more apertures within cover 115, thereby allowing sound to enter through the top of the microphone instead of via apertures 303/304, Fig. 3, par [0033], see Michel); and
a second transducer (right side transducer 101, Fig. 3) supported by the substrate (substrate 301, Fig. 3, par [0032], see Michel), the second transducer configured to generate a second output signal (In at least one configuration, the transducer back volume is common to the first and second MEMS transducers and the first and second MEMS transducers are electrically combined out of phase to form a directional microphone, par [0006], see Michel) when exposed to the sound wave (preferably transducer 101 is a MEMS microphone transducer, par [0029], see Michel; The inventors also envision that the presently disclosed transducer assembly may be used with either analog or digital output circuitry. Further, the inventors envision that transducer assembly 300 could alternately utilize one or more apertures within cover 115, thereby allowing sound to enter through the top of the microphone instead of via apertures 303/304, Fig. 3, par [0033], see Michel).
However, Michel does not explicitly disclose wherein the first transducer and the second transducer are configured such that a first movable element of the first transducer and a second movable element of the second transducer move in opposite directions relative to the substrate, thereby causing the first output signal generated by the first transducer and the second output signal generated by the second transducer to have opposite polarities.
Schultz teaches differential outputs in multiple motor mems devices (see Title) in which Microelectromechanical System (MEMS) microphones have been used throughout the years (par [0003], see Schultz). Referring to Fig. 3, wherein the first transducer (a first MEMS device 302 ) and the second transducer (a second MEMS device 304) are configured such that a first movable (a first diaphragm 306) element of the first transducer (302) and a second movable element (a second diaphragm 310) of the second transducer (304) (Referring now to FIG. 3, a system 300 includes a first MEMS device 302 (including a first diaphragm 306 and a first back or charge plate 308) and a second MEMS device 304 (including a second diaphragm 310 and a second back or charge plate 312). The output of the MEMS devices 302 and 304 are supplied to an integrated circuit 314. The integrated circuit can in one example be application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), Fig. 3, par [0028], see Schultz) (When these approaches are provided on a single substrate or integrated circuit, less elimination of common mode noise is typically provided, but this allows that the provision of an integrated amplifier and microphone assembly that it is more economical and user friendly than approaches are not provided on the single substrate or integrated circuit par [0014], see Schultz) move in opposite directions relative to the substrate (The integrated circuit 314 includes a first preamp circuit 318 and a second preamp circuit 320 (i.e., same substrate). The purpose of the preamp circuits 318 and 320 is to provide an extremely high impedance interface for a capacitive transducer which is generally high impedance in the bandwidth of interest (par [0029], see Schultz). The outputs of the preamps 318 and 320 are transmitted to a difference summer 324 that takes the difference of two signals from the preamps (par [0030], see Schultz). A positive potential is supplied to first diaphragm 306. A negative potential is applied to the second diaphragm 310 (par [0031], see Schultz), corresponds to “a first movable element of the first transducer and a second movable element of the second transducer move in opposite directions relative to the substrate”), thereby causing the first output signal generated by the first transducer and the second output signal generated by the second transducer to have opposite polarities (This creates a differential signal at leads 326 and 328 as illustrated in graphs 350 and 352. An output 330 of ASIC 314 is the difference between signals 327 and 329 and is shown in graph 354, see Fig. 3, par [0031], see Schultz) see also (A positive potential is supplied to the first diaphragm 206. A positive potential is applied to the second back plate 212. This creates a differential signal at leads 226 and 228 as illustrated in graphs 250 and 252. Here, the second diaphragm and second back plate are flipped mechanically as compared to the example shown in FIG. 1. This creates signals that are 180 degrees out of phase with respect to each other. An output 230 of stage 222 is the difference between signals 227 and 229 and is shown in graph 254, Fig. 2, par [0026], see Schultz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the differential outputs in multiple motor mems devices taught by Schultz with the acoustic sensor device of Michel such that to obtain wherein the first transducer and the second transducer are configured such that a first movable element of the first transducer and a second movable element of the second transducer move in opposite directions relative to the substrate, thereby causing the first output signal generated by the first transducer and the second output signal generated by the second transducer to have opposite polarities in order to provide for improved system performance, as suggested by Schultz in paragraph [0027].
Regarding claim 2, Michel in view of Schultz teaches the acoustic sensor device of claim 1. Michel in view of Schultz, as modified, teaches wherein each of the first transducer and the second transducer comprises a microelectromechanical system (MEMS) transducer (FIG. 3 provides a cross-sectional view of a preferred embodiment of the invention. As shown, assembly 300 includes a pair of MEMS transducers 101, each of which is attached to substrate 301, Fig. 3, par [0032], see Michel).
Regarding claim 3, Michel in view of Schultz teaches the acoustic sensor device of claim 2. Michel in view of Schultz, as modified, teaches wherein each of the first transducer and the second transducer comprises a cantilever structure ([0037] Assuming a circular cantilevered plate-type diaphragm of radius "a", the diaphragm area, A, is given by: [0038] A=.pi.a.sup.2, and the mechanical stiffness, K.sub.d, is given by: [0039] K.sub.d=(192 .pi..sup.2D)/A, see pars [0037-0039, see Michel).
Regarding claim 5, Michel in view of Schultz teaches the acoustic sensor device of claim 2. Michel in view of Schultz, as modified, referring to Fig, 3 teaches further comprising a package (assembly 300, Fig. 3, par [0032], see Michel; note that the combination of cover 115 and substrate 103 may also be referred to herein as the "MEMS package" or "package assembly", Fig. 3, par [0031], see Michel), wherein the substrate (301, Fig. 3) forms one side of the package (see substrate 301 on lower side of assembly 300, Fig. 3), and wherein the package further includes a lid (cover 115, Fig. 3) placed over the substrate (301, Fig. 3), the lid (cover 115, Fig. 3) encapsulating the first transducer (left side transducers 101) and the second transducer (right side transducers 101) inside package (assembly 300, Fig. 3; Cover 115 is designed to be mechanically attached to the transducer assembly by coupling the cover to substrate 103, and more preferably by coupling the edge of the cover to a peripheral portion of substrate 103. Cover 115 may be comprised of a single piece, as shown, or an assembly of multiple components, i.e., a plurality of side walls and a top section. Typically cover 115 is fabricated from a conductive material, or includes a conductive layer, or is coated with a conductive material, the conductive cover/layer/coating being electrically connected to a conductive layer of substrate 103, for example using a conductive adhesive or solder, thereby providing a shield against electromagnetic interference. The conductive adhesive or solder also provides an acoustic seal. Cover 115 may be fabricated from any of a variety of materials, and may be comprised of a single material or multiple materials Exemplary materials for cover 115 include a metal (e.g., steel, tin-plated steel, copper, aluminum, tin- or copper-plated aluminum, brass, nickel, etc.), a conductive plastic or composite (e.g., a polymer that has been doped, embedded, or otherwise formed such that it contains a conductive material such as carbon powder/fibers, metallic powder, etc.), a non-conductive material (e.g., plastic) that has been coated with a conductive material on either, or both, of its inner and outer surfaces, or a composite material that includes both dielectric and conductive material layers (e.g., FR-4), Fig. 3, par [0031], see Michel).
Regarding claim 6, Michel in view of Schultz teaches the acoustic sensor device of claim 5. Michel in view of Schultz, as modified, teaches referring to Fig.1, 3 of Michel, teaches further comprising:
a first sound port (apertures 303) configured to expose one side of the first transducer (lower side of left side transducers 101) to an ambient environment (ambient acoustic environment, par [0006], see Fig. 3, see Michel); and
a second sound port (apertures 304) configured to expose one side of the second transducer (lower side of right side transducers 101) to the ambient environment (ambient acoustic environment, par [0006], see Fig. 3, see Michel), wherein
the first sound port is formed in the substrate (see position of apertures 303 and substrate 301, Fig. 3, see Michel), and
the second sound port is formed in the substrate (see position of apertures 304 and substrate 301) such that the first sound port and the second sound port are formed on a same side of the package of the acoustic sensor device (In this assembly, transducer 101 is mounted to substrate 103 such that the transducer aperture 111 is viewable through aperture 113 of the substrate. Aperture 113 may also be referred to herein as a sound port or an acoustic port (see Fig. 1, par [0029], see Michel); see position of a pair of apertures 303/304 on lower side of assembly 300; in the embodiment shown in FIG. 3, the transducers are electrically connected in series to IC 105, although as described below the transducers may also be electrically connected in parallel to IC 105. In this embodiment substrate 301 includes a pair of apertures 303/304 corresponding to transducers 101, see Fig. 3, par [0033], see Michel).
Regarding claim 7, Michel in view of Schultz teaches the acoustic sensor device of claim 6. Michel in view of Schultz, as modified, teaches referring to Fig, 3 of Michel, teaches wherein: the first transducer (left side transducer 101, Fig. 3) comprises a first cavity (see left side transducer aperture 111) placed over the first sound port (303, Fig. 3) formed in the substrate (301); and the second transducer (left side transducer 101, Fig. 3) comprises a second cavity (see right side transducer aperture 111) placed over the second sound port (304, Fig. 3) formed in the substrate (301, Fig. 3); (In this assembly, transducer 101 is mounted to substrate 103 such that the transducer aperture 111 is viewable through aperture 113 of the substrate. Aperture 113 may also be referred to herein as a sound port or an acoustic port (see Fig. 1, par [0029], see Michel; in the embodiment shown in FIG. 3, the transducers are electrically connected in series to IC 105, although as described below the transducers may also be electrically connected in parallel to IC 105. In this embodiment substrate 301 includes a pair of apertures 303/304 corresponding to transducers 101, see Fig. 3, par [0033], see Michel).
Regarding claim 8, Michel in view of Schultz teaches the acoustic sensor device of claim 3. Michel in view of Schultz, as modified, teaches wherein the first transducer (left side transducer 101, Fig. 3) and the second transducer (right side transducer 101, Fig. 3) are configured such that the first transducer and the second transducer move in opposite directions with respect to each other when exposed to the sound wave (FIGS. 17 and 18 illustrate ASIC amplifiers suitable for providing the subtraction required of dual cells in the embodiments shown in FIGS. 9, 10, 13 and 14. FIG. 17 is the same circuit as that shown in FIG. 15 except for the reversed polarity on one of the two DC charge pumps 1501, where both FIGS. 15 and 17 are for dual cells in electrical series, see Figs. 17, 18, par [0069], see Michel). In other words, the first transducer and the second transducer move in opposite directions).
Regarding claim 12, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 1. Therefore, it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1. It is noted that assembly Michel teaches assembly 300 includes a pair of MEMS transducers 101, see Fig. 3, par [0032], see Michel.
Regarding claim 13, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 3. Therefore, it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 5. Therefore, it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 6. Therefore, it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 7. Therefore, it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 7.
7. Claims 4, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20120250897 (hereinafter, “Michel”) in view of Schultz et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140307885 (hereinafter, “Schultz”), and further in view of Qian et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20230007405 (hereinafter, “Qian”).
Regarding claim 4, Michel in view of Schultz teaches the acoustic sensor device of claim 3. However, Michel in view of Schultz does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first transducer comprises a first cantilever having a first initial deflection on one side of the first cantilever; and the second transducer comprises a second cantilever having a second initial deflection on one side of the second cantilever, wherein the first initial deflection of the first cantilever and the second initial deflection of the second cantilever are configured to be within a predetermined range with respect to each other.
Qian teaches extension structures in piezoelectric microelectromechanical system microphones (see Title) in which in some embodiments residual stresses may remain within the cantilevers of a piezoelectric MEMS microphone due to, for example, process variations in the manufacturing process for the piezoelectric MEMS microphone. In some manufacturing processes for piezoelectric films used for cantilevers in piezoelectric MEMS microphones, variation across a single wafer may cause cantilevers formed from material from the same wafer to have differences in static deflection (corresponds to initial deflection) of, for example, 20 μm or more (par [0053], see Qian). FIGS. 11A and 11B illustrate the results of simulations of 3 dB roll-off frequency as a function of cantilever bending and cantilever static deflection (corresponds to initial deflection) mismatch (e.g., different) for a cantilever piezoelectric MEMS microphone as illustrated in FIGS. 1A-2B without extension (FIG. 11A) and for a cantilever piezoelectric MEMS microphone as illustrated in FIGS. 5-8 with edge extension. From a comparison between FIGS. 11A and 11B it can be seen that with the edge extension structures, the 100 Hz contour line, representing the combination of cantilever bending and static mismatch that results in the 3 dB roll-off frequency being met, moves towards much higher mismatch and bending amounts (see Figs.1A-2B, 11A, 11B, par [0069], see Qian).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the extension structures in piezoelectric microelectromechanical system microphones taught by Qian with the acoustic sensor device of Michel in view of Schultz such that to obtain wherein: the first transducer comprises a first cantilever having a first initial deflection on one side of the first cantilever; and the second transducer comprises a second cantilever having a second initial deflection on one side of the second cantilever, wherein the first initial deflection of the first cantilever and the second initial deflection of the second cantilever are configured to be within a predetermined range with respect to each other in order to reduce the acoustic resistance of a piezoelectric MEMS microphone, as suggested by Qian in paragraph [0053].
Regarding claim 14, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 4. Therefore, it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 4.
8. Claims 9-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20120250897 (hereinafter, “Michel”) in view of Schultz et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140307885 (hereinafter, “Schultz”), and in view of Muza et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140270250 (hereinafter, “Muza”).
Regarding claim 9, Michel in view of Schultz teaches the acoustic sensor device of claim 1. Michel in view of Schultz, as modified, teaches further comprising an integrated circuit (Typically component 105 is an integrated circuit (IC), Figs.1, 3, par [0030], see Michel) coupled to the first transducer and the second transducer, the integrated circuit configured to: receive the first output signal generated by the first transducer, (The MEMS transducers may be electrically connected to the signal processing circuit using either wire bonds or a flip-chip design. The signal processing circuit may be comprised of either a discrete circuit or an integrated circuit (IC). The first and second MEMS transducers may be electrically connected in series or in parallel to the signal processing circuit. The first and second MEMS transducers may be acoustically coupled in series or in parallel (par [0004], see Michel), (It should be understood that unless otherwise noted, the directional microphone transducer configurations shown in FIGS. 11-14 may be electrically connected in series or in parallel, for example based on the selected ASIC and whether the transducers are to be added or subtracted (par [0060], see Michel). FIGS. 17 and 18 illustrate ASIC amplifiers suitable for providing the subtraction required of dual cells in the embodiments shown in FIGS. 9, 10, 13 and 14. FIG. 17 is the same circuit as that shown in FIG. 15 except for the reversed polarity on one of the two DC charge pumps 1501, where both FIGS. 15 and 17 are for dual cells in electrical series (see Figs. 17, 18, par [0069], see Michel).
However, Michel in view of Schultz does not explicitly disclose wherein the first output signal has a first amplitude, wherein the second output signal has a second amplitude; and generate a composite output signal based on the first output signal and the second output signal, wherein the composite output signal has a third amplitude that is i) greater than the first amplitude of the first output signal and ii) greater than the second amplitude of the second output signal.
Muza teaches differential microphone with dual polarity bias (see Title) in which in one embodiment, the invention provides a differential microphone system including a first microphone diaphragm and a second microphone diaphragm. The first and second microphone diaphragms are positioned to receive acoustic pressure from the same direction at substantially the same amplitude. As such, the deflection of the first and second diaphragms caused by acoustic pressures applied to the microphone are substantially the same. A positive bias voltage is applied to the first diaphragm while a negative bias voltage is applied to the second diaphragm. A differential amplifier is configured to receive the positively-biased output signal (corresponds to first output) from the first microphone diaphragm and the negatively-biased output signal (corresponds to second output) from the second microphone diaphragm and to produce a differential output signal (corresponds to third output, par [0003], see Muza). As illustrated in FIG. 3A (corresponds to first output), mechanical deflections of the first diaphragm 103 caused by acoustic pressures produce a positively-biased output signal (i.e., a voltage) at the output node A1. Due to the proportional relationship Q=C*V, voltage decreases as capacitance increases (e.g., due to movements/deflections of the diaphragm). The same mechanical deflections on the second diaphragm 103 produce a negatively-biased output signal (i.e., a voltage) at the output node B1 as illustrated in FIG. 3B (corresponds to second output). Although the mechanical deflections of both diaphragms are substantially identical, the opposite biasing voltages cause the output signals to have the same magnitude, but opposite polarities. The differential amplifier 213 combines the positively-biased output signal and the negatively-biased output signal to produce a differential output signal as shown in FIG. 3C (corresponds to third output). Because of the opposite biases applied to the two diaphragms, deflections that cause the positively-biased output signal to "decrease" also cause the negatively-biased output signal to "increase" resulting in less potential difference in the combined differential signal. As such, the differential output signal is effectively an amplified version of both the positively-biased output signal and the negatively-biased output signal (i.e., greater than the first output and the second output) (which, themselves, are opposing representations of the same acoustic signal) (see Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C, par [0021], see Muza).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the differential microphone with dual polarity bias taught by Michel in view of Schultz such that to obtain wherein the first output signal has a first amplitude, wherein the second output signal has a second amplitude; and generate a composite output signal based on the first output signal and the second output signal, wherein the composite output signal has a third amplitude that is i) greater than the first amplitude of the first output signal and ii) greater than the second amplitude of the second output signal for purpose of cancelling common-mode interference caused by non-acoustic sources, as suggested by Muza in paragraph [0026].
Regarding claim 10, Michel in view of Schultz in view of Muza the acoustic sensor device of claim 9. Michel in view of Schultz in view of Muza, as modified, teaches wherein the integrated circuit is configured to generate the composite output signal by performing a subtraction operation (via differential amplifier 213, Fig. 2, par [0021], see Muza) between the first output signal generated by the first transducer and the second output signal generated by the second transducer (The same mechanical deflections on the second diaphragm 103 produce a negatively-biased output signal (i.e., a voltage) at the output node B1 as illustrated in FIG. 3B. Although the mechanical deflections of both diaphragms are substantially identical, the opposite biasing voltages cause the output signals to have the same magnitude, but opposite polarities. The differential amplifier 213 combines the positively-biased output signal and the negatively-biased output signal to produce a differential output signal as shown in FIG. 3C, see Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C, par [0021], see Muza).
Regarding claim 11, Michel in view of Schultz in view of Muza the acoustic sensor device of claim 9. Michel in view of Schultz in view of Muza, as modified, teaches wherein the first transducer (e.g., diaphragm 103, Fig. 2; see Fig. 3A, see Muza) and the second transducer (e.g., diaphragm 105, Fig. 2; see Fig. 3B see Muza) are configured such that the first amplitude of the first output signal and the second amplitude of the second output signal are equal to each other (The first and second microphone diaphragms are positioned to receive acoustic pressure from the same direction at substantially the same amplitude, par [0003], see Muza), and wherein the third amplitude of the composite output signal (see Fig. 3B see Muza) is greater than each of the first amplitude of the first output signal and the second amplitude of the second output signal by a factor of two (see value of signal in Fig. 3C equal twice of each signal in Figs. 3A. 3B; see as present above in Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C, par [0021], see Muza).
Regarding claim 18, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 9. Therefore, it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 10. Therefore, it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 10.
Regarding claim 20, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 11. Therefore, it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 11.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695