Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species which is the apparatus of Figure 1, corresponding to claims 3-5 and 12-19 in the reply filed on 06/01/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are generic and are examined herein.
Claims 8-11 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/01/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14, line 2 recites "the tape gripper". The term is not previously used in this claim or its parent claims(s), and does not have proper antecedent basis, making it unclear what structure is being referenced. For the purpose of examination, claim 14 is assumed to depend from claim 13, which provides antecedent basis for this term. Dependent claims fall herewith.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Tape supply unit (except for claims 12-15 which include structure for this unit)
Electrode plate supply unit (except for claims 16-19 which include structure for this unit)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai (US PG Pub 2014/0109396) in view of Oh (US Patent 8,137,492).
Regarding the claims and per the MPEP, the recitations in these claims of particular materials handled by the apparatus and/or particular manners of operating the apparatus do not limit the claimed apparatus. See MPEP § 2115. “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, “[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Lastly, the courts have held that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." See MPEP §2114.II and Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 16, Hirai teaches a tape attaching apparatus (abstract, Figs. 1-2, and other sections cited below) comprising:
a tape supply unit (referred to as third supply line 170 in para. 0037 wherein the strip-like separator falls under the BRI of a tape; see also note above that materials handled do not limit an apparatus) including a supply roller (172 in para. 0037) and cutter (176 in paras. 0030, 0037-0038), which is configured to supply a tape (paras. 0030, 0037);
an electrode plate supply unit (150 or 160 in para. 0034), which is configured to supply an electrode plate (paras. 0034-0035), and including a support configured to support the electrode plate at the tape attachment point (15 in para. 0019); and
a rotating head (as described in para. 0039 and comprising rotating table and components 30, 112, and 115) configured to receive the tape supplied from the tape supply unit and to rotate so as to attach the tape to the electrode plate supplied from the electrode plate supply unit (paras. 0039-0041).
Hirai does not teach that the electrode plate supply unit includes a supply roller and stop roller.
However, a supply roller and stop roller are conventional components in electrode plate supply units, as taught for example by Oh (supply roller 113 in Fig. 3A and col. 5, lines 28-44 and stop roller 163 in Fig. 3A and col. 8, line 65 through col. 9, line 10).
Per MPEP §2143.I, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP §2143.I (rationale B) and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
In view of Oh’s teachings and/or KSR rationale B, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute Oh’s supply and stop rollers for Hirai’s electrode stocker (151 or 161) to predictably obtain suitable alternative means for supplying the electrode plates. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been additionally motivated to make this modification to obtain the benefit of convenient and easy means of resupplying electrode plates using a roll of plates which can be easily loaded onto the plate supply roller.
Regarding claim 2, Hirai teaches the rotating head is configured to receive the tape from the tape supply unit at a tape transfer point, and is configured to rotate in one direction to attach the tape to the electrode plate at a tape attachment point (paras. 0039-0041 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Hirai teaches the rotating head is further configured to rotate in the one direction to return to the tape transfer point when the tape is attached to the electrode plate at the tape attachment point (paras. 0039-0041 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Hirai teaches the rotating head is configured to adsorb the non-adhesive surface at the tape transfer point and to stop the adsorption of the non-adhesive surface at the tape attachment point (paras. 0039-0041 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Hirai teaches the rotating head is configured to push the tape toward the electrode plate to facilitate adhesion of the adhesive surface to the electrode plate at the tape attachment point (paras. 0039-0041 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Hirai teaches the rotating head comprises a plurality of rotating heads, and the plurality of rotating heads are arranged at equiangular intervals with respect to the same rotation center (paras. 0039-0041 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Hirai teaches a rotation frame configured to support the plurality of rotating heads, the rotation from being configured to rotate about the rotation center (paras. 0039-0041 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Hirai teaches the tape supply unit further comprises a tape gripper configured to grip an end portion of the tape fed from the tape supply roller (174 in para. 0037).
Regarding claim 14, Hirai teaches the rotating head is configured to adsorb the tape when the tape gripper grips the tape, and the tape cutter is configured to cut the tape when the tape is adsorbed to the rotating head (para. 0037).
Regarding claim 15, Hirai teaches the tape supply unit further comprises a tape tension roller configured to pull the tape so that tension of the tape is substantially maintained (172 in para. 0037).
Regarding claim 17, Oh teaches the electrode plate supply unit further comprises an electrode plate stopping roller configured to stop movement of the electrode plate passing through the tape attachment point when the tape is attached to the electrode plate (col. 8, line 65 through col. 9, line 10 and col. 11, lines 31-41).
Regarding claim 19, Oh teaches the electrode plate supply unit further comprises an electrode plate tension roller configured to pull the electrode plate so that tension of the electrode plate is substantially maintained (124 in Fig. 3A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JIMMY R SMITH JR./Examiner, Art Unit 1745