DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the above identified patent application filed on October 11, 2024. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and currently being examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 6 & 8 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,432,639 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,432,639 B2 and the instant patent application 18/493,998 BOTH set forth:
“A versatile sling system comprising:
a strap having a first end, a second end, a width, and an adjustable length, the first end of the strap and the second end of the strap being coupled such that the strap forms a loop;
a hub coupled to the strap such that the hub is suspended from the loop, the hub configured to releasably attach at least one accessory to the hub; and
at least one accessory, the at least one accessory characterized by a handle and/or a leash configured to attach to the hub; the system configured to allow the wearer of the strap to transfer at least a portion of the weight and/or force of an item or animal being carried by the wearer and/or attached to the at least one accessory to the torso and shoulder of the wearer;
wherein the hub, the first end of the strap, and the second end of the strap are coupled by a substantially circular shaped ring;
wherein the strap includes an attachment system coupled to the strap, the attachment system including at least one of a loop, ring, button, hook-and-loop fastener, and/or zipper;
wherein the hub comprises: a proximal end, the proximal end suspended from the loop; a distal end, the distal end having a recess configured to receive an accessory having a protrusion with a plurality of teeth extending from the outer perimeter of the protrusion; and a middle, the middle comprising a locking mechanism, wherein the locking mechanism retains an accessory to the hub by a rotatable element that encircles the protrusion below the plurality of teeth;
wherein the strap is constructed of a flexible material, the flexible material including a fabric, leather, nylon, rope, plastic, and/or combinations thereof;
wherein the handle includes a rod, loop, hook, clip, carabiner, or combinations thereof.”
“A versatile sling apparatus, comprising:
a strap having a first end, a second end, a width, and an adjustable length, the first end of the strap being coupled to the second end of the strap to form a loop; and
a hub having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end of the hub being coupled to the strap such that the hub is suspended from the loop, the distal end of the hub configured to be releasably attached to an accessory;
wherein the hub further comprises a locking mechanism;
wherein the strap comprises: a first elongate flexible member having a length, a width, an outer surface, and an inner surface, and a second elongate flexible member having a length, a width, an outer surface and an inner surface, the width of the second elongate flexible member being less than the width of the first elongate flexible member, and wherein the second elongate member is coupled to the outer surface of the first elongate flexible member to form a plurality of loops;
wherein the second elongate flexible member is coupled to the outer surface of the first elongate flexible member substantially along a centerline of the first elongate flexible member;
wherein the first elongate flexible member is padded;
wherein the strap is constructed of fabric, leather, nylon, rope, plastic, and/or combinations thereof;
wherein the first end of the strap, the second end of the strap, and the hub, are coupled by a substantially circular shaped ring;
wherein the maximum width of the strap is approximately 5 inches and the minimum width of the strap is approximately 2 inches;
the strap includes an attachment system coupled to the strap, the attachment system including at least one of a loop, ring, button, hook-and-loop fastener, and/or zipper;
wherein the length of the strap is adjustable via at least one buckle.”
“A hub, comprising: a proximal end, the proximal end configured to allow coupling to a first object; a distal end, the distal end having a recess configured to receive a second object, the second object having a protrusion with a plurality of teeth extending from the outer perimeter of the protrusion; and a middle, the middle comprising a locking mechanism, wherein the locking mechanism retains the second object to the hub via a rotatable element that encircles the protrusion below the plurality of teeth;
wherein the distal end further comprises at least one elongate protrusion; and
wherein the outer surface of the distal end and the outer surface of the middle each include at least one notch, wherein the notches are aligned when the hub is in the locked position.”
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (“wherein the strap is incorporated into a garment” as recited in Claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 11 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 2 recites: “wherein the hub, the first end of the strap, and the second end of the strap are coupled to a “substantially” circular shaped ring.
The term “substantially” is a relative term that is unclear what it actually encompasses and how much of the ring is required to be circular in order to be considered being “substantially” circular shaped ring.
Therefore, the language as set forth in Claim 2 is unclear.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the outer perimeter" in Claim 4, line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “substantially” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 11 recites: “wherein the second elongated flexible member is coupled to the outer surface of the first elongate flexible member “substantially” along a centerline of the first elongate flexible member.”
The term “substantially” is a relative term that is unclear what it actually encompasses and how close to the centerline of the first elongate flexible member does the second elongate flexible member coupled to the outer surface of the first elongate flexible member have to be in order to be considered “substantially” along the centerline.
Therefore, the language as set forth in Claim 11 is unclear.
The term “substantially” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 14 recites: “wherein the hub, the first end of the strap, and the second end of the strap are coupled to a “substantially” circular shaped ring.
The term “substantially” is a relative term that is unclear what it actually encompasses and how much of the ring is required to be circular in order to be considered being “substantially” circular shaped ring.
Therefore, the language as set forth in Claim 14 is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017 / 0064928 A1) to Seuk.
Regarding claim 1, Seuk discloses the versatile sling system (100) comprising:
the strap (130) having the first end (i.e. Left End Portion of Belt (130) Adjacent (134) in Figure 3), the second end (i.e. Right End Portion of Belt (130) Adjacent (134) in Figure 3), the width, and an adjustable length (i.e. via (138) in Figure 3), the first end (115) of the strap (130) and the second end (117) of the strap (130) being coupled (i.e. via (134) in Figures 1, 2 & 3) such that the strap (130) forms the loop (See Figures 3 & 5);
the hub (140) coupled to the strap (130) such that the hub (140) is suspended from the loop (See Figure 3), the hub (140) configured to releasably attach at least one accessory (150) to the hub (140) (See Figure 5); and
at least one accessory (150), the at least one accessory (150) characterized by a handle (158) and/or
the leash (See Figure 5) configured to attach to the hub (140);
the system (100) configured to allow the wearer of the strap (130) to transfer at least a portion of the weight and/or force of an item or animal being carried by the wearer and/or attached to the at least one accessory (150) to the torso and shoulder of the wearer (See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Seuk discloses wherein the handle (158) includes the loop or combinations thereof (See Figures 4 – 6).
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017 / 0360009 A1) to Anderson.
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses the versatile sling system (10) comprising:
the strap (12) having the first end, the second end, the width, and an adjustable length (i.e. via (20) in Figures 2 & 4), the first end of the strap (12) and the second end of the strap (12) being coupled (i.e. via (22 & 24) in Figures 2 & 4) such that the strap (12) forms the loop (See Figure 1);
the hub (36) coupled to the strap (12) such that the hub (36) is suspended from the loop (See Figure 1), the hub (36) configured to releasably attach at least one accessory (i.e. Animal Leash) to the hub (36); and
at least one accessory (i.e. Animal Leash), the at least one accessory (i.e. Animal Leash) characterized by a handle and/or
the leash (See Figure 1) configured to attach to the hub (36);
the system (10) configured to allow the wearer of the strap (12) to transfer at least a portion of the weight and/or force of an item or animal being carried by the wearer and/or attached to the at least one accessory (i.e. Animal Leash) to the torso and shoulder of the wearer (See Figure 1).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008 / 0203127 A1) to Castillo-Garrison.
Regarding claim 1, Castillo-Garrison discloses the versatile sling system (100) comprising:
the strap (A) having the first end (i.e. Right End Portion of (A) in Figure 4), the second end (i.e. Left End Portion of (A) w/ (B) in Figure 4), the width, and an adjustable length (i.e. via (I) in Figure 1), the first end of the strap (A) and the second end of the strap (A) being coupled such that the strap (A) forms the loop (See Figures 1 & 7);
the hub (D & M) coupled to the strap (A) such that the hub (D & M) is suspended from the loop (See Figures 1 & 7), the hub (D & M) configured to releasably attach at least one accessory (F) to the hub (D & M) (See Figures 4 & 7); and
at least one accessory (F) (i.e. Bottle Holder), the at least one accessory (F) (i.e. Bottle Holder) characterized by a handle (L) (i.e. Hand Lock) and/or
the leash (K) (i.e. Cord) configured to attach to the hub (D & M);
the system (100) configured to allow the wearer of the strap (A) to transfer at least a portion of the weight and/or force of an item (i.e. Bottle) or animal being carried by the wearer and/or attached to the at least one accessory (F) (i.e. Bottle Holder) to the torso and shoulder of the wearer (See Figures 1 & 7).
Regarding claim 3, Castillo-Garrison discloses wherein the strap (A) includes an attachment system (C) coupled to the strap (A), the attachment system (C) including at least one of a loop (See Table 1) (See Figures 1, 6 & 7).
Regarding claim 5, Castillo-Garrison discloses wherein the strap (A) is constructed of a flexible material, the flexible material including a fabric, leather, nylon rope, plastic (i.e. Polypropylene), and/or combinations thereof (See Paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 8, Castillo-Garrison discloses the versatile sling apparatus (100), comprising:
the strap (A) having the first end (i.e. Right End Portion of (A) in Figure 4), the second end (i.e. Left End Portion of (A) w/ (B) in Figure 4), the width, and an adjustable length (i.e. via (I) in Figure 1), the first end (i.e. Right End Portion of (A) in Figure 4) of the strap (A) being coupled to the second end (i.e. Left End Portion of (A) w/ (B) in Figure 4) of the strap (A) to form the loop (See Figure 1 & 7); and
the hub (D & M) having the proximal end and the distal end (See Figure 1), the proximal end of the hub (D & M) being coupled to the strap (A) such that the hub (D & M) is suspended from the loop (See Figures 1 & 7), the distal end of the hub (D & M) configured to be releasably attached to an accessory (F, K & L) (See Figures 1 & 4).
Regarding claim 16, Castillo-Garrison discloses wherein the strap (A) includes an attachment system (C) coupled to the strap (A), the attachment system (C) including at least one of the loop (See Figure 1, 6 & 7).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 13, 14 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (U.S. Patent Number 5,409,151) to Freimark.
Regarding claim 8, Freimark discloses the versatile sling apparatus (See Figure 3), comprising: the strap (14) having the first end (14A), the second end (14B), the width, and an adjustable length (i.e. via (15) in Figure 2), the first end (14A) of the strap (14) being coupled to the second end (14B) of the strap (14) to form the loop (See Figure 3); and
the hub (11) having the proximal end and the distal end (See Figure 5), the proximal end (13) of the hub (11) being coupled to the strap (14) such that the hub (11) is suspended from the loop (See Figures 3, 4, 5 & 6), the distal end of the hub (11) configured to be releasably attached to an accessory (10) (See Figures 3, 4, 5 & 7).
Regarding claim 9, Freimark discloses wherein the hub (11) further comprises the locking mechanism (i.e. Inner Fastening Threads in Figure 7).
Regarding claim 13, Freimark discloses wherein the strap (14) is constructed of fabric, leather, nylon, rope, plastic, and/or combinations thereof (See Column 2, lines 54 – 56).
Regarding claim 14, Freimark discloses wherein the first end (14A) of the strap (14), the second end (14B) of the strap (14), and the hub (11), are coupled by a substantially circular shaped ring (17) (See Figures 4 & 5).
Regarding claim 17, Freimark discloses wherein the length of the strap (14) is adjustable via at least one buckle (15) (See Column 2, lines 62 – 65) (See Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008 / 0203127 A1) to Castillo-Garrison in view of (U.S. Patent Number 5,409,151) to Freimark.
Regarding claim 2, Castillo-Garrison discloses the hub (D & M), the first end (i.e. Right End Portion of (A) in Figure 4) of the strap (A), and the second end (i.e. Left End Portion of (A) w/ (B) in Figure 4) of the strap (A) are coupled (See Figures 1 & 4).
However, Castillo-Garrison does not explicitly disclose the substantially circular shaped ring.
Freimark teaches the hub (11), the first end (14A) of the strap (14), and the second end (14B) of the strap (14) are coupled by the substantially circular shaped ring (17) (See Figures 1, 3 & 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention as effectively filed to make the hub, the first end of the strap, and the second end of the strap coupled by the substantially circular shaped ring as taught by Freimark with the versatile sling system of Castillo-Garrison because the motivation only requires a simple substitution of one known equivalent strap fastening method for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017 / 0064928 A1) to Seuk in view of (U.S. Patent Number 3,973,643) to Hutchinson.
Regarding claim 7, Seuk does not explicitly disclose wherein the strap is incorporated into a garment (See Figure 5).
Hutchinson teaches the strap (16) is incorporated into the garment (11) (See Figures 1 & 2) for the purpose of allowing the strap to be held in a stored position against the inside of the coat when not in use (See Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the strap incorporated into the garment as taught by Hutchinson with the versatile sling system of Seuk in order to allow the strap to be held in a stored position against the inside of the garment when not in use (See Abstract).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Number 5,409,151) to Freimark in view of (U.S. Patent Number 9,872,554) to Galloway.
Regarding claim 15, Freimark does not explicitly disclose wherein the maximum width of the strap and the minimum width of the strap.
Galloway teaches the variation in the strap wherein the maximum width of the strap and the minimum width of the strap (See Figures 2 & 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the variation in the strap wherein the maximum width of the strap and the minimum width of the strap as taught by Galloway with the versatile sling system of Freimark because the motivation only requires a simple substitution of one known equivalent strap for another to obtain predictable results.
However, Freimark as modified by Galloway does not explicitly disclose the maximum width of the strap is approximately 5 inches and the minimum width of the strap is approximately 2 inches.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the maximum width of the strap is approximately 5 inches and the minimum width of the strap is approximately 2 inches, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 10, 11 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Number 5,409,151) to Freimark in view of (U.S. Patent Number 5,941,438) to Price.
Regarding claim 10, Freimark does not disclose wherein the strap comprises: the first elongate flexible member having the length, the width, an outer surface, and an inner surface, and the second elongate flexible member having the length, the width, an outer surface and an inner surface, the width of the second elongate flexible member being less than the width of the first elongate flexible member, and wherein the second elongate member is coupled to the outer surface of the first elongate flexible member to form a plurality of loops.
Price teaches wherein the strap (10) comprises: the first elongate flexible member (12 & 14) having a length, a width, an outer surface, and an inner surface, and the second elongate flexible member (22) having a length, a width, an outer surface and an inner surface, the width of the second elongate flexible member (22) being less than the width of the first elongate flexible member (12 & 14) (See Figures 1, 3 & 4), and wherein the second elongate member (22) is coupled to the outer surface of the first elongate flexible member (12) to form the plurality of loops (See Figures 1 – 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the strap comprises: a first elongate flexible member having a length, a width, an outer surface, and an inner surface, and a second elongate flexible member having a length, a width, an outer surface and an inner surface, the width of the second elongate flexible member being less than the width of the first elongate flexible member, and wherein the second elongate member is coupled to the outer surface of the first elongate flexible member to form the plurality of loops as taught by Price with the apparatus of Freimark in order to strengthen and stiffen the first elongated flexible member and to allow the user to carry additional items with the loops.
Regarding claim 11, Freimark as modified by Price discloses wherein the second elongate flexible member (22) is coupled to the outer surface of the first elongate flexible member (12 & 14) substantially along the centerline of the first elongate flexible member (12 & 14) (See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Freimark as modified by Price discloses wherein the first elongate flexible member (12 & 14) is padded (i.e. via Foam) (See Column 2, lines 34 – 41).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(U.S. Patent Number 5,425,485) to Carlo teaches the versatile sling system (See Figures 1 & 4).
(U.S. Patent Number 6,315,179 B1) to Hillis teaches the versatile sling system (See Figure 1).
/L.L.V/Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734