Claims 12, 14, 26, 29, 35, 36 and 38-48 are presented for examination.
Applicants’ request for continued examination and information disclosure statement filed February 5, 2026 have been received and entered.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 26, 29, 39, 40 and 45-48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claim 36 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,090,148 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the present application's claim and the patented application's claims lies in that the present application's claim have additional agent, a strong or moderate CYP3A4 inducer, combined with presently claimed active agent, 60 mg of atogepant.
The present application's claim would anticipate the patented application's claims because the patented application's claims recite "comprising" and thus opens the claim to the inclusion of additional agents.
Claim 36 is not allowed.
Double Patenting
Claims 12 and 36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 39, 42, 53 55-57, 59 and 60 of copending Application No. 16/433,298 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the present application's claim and the copending application's claims lies in that the present application's claim have additional agent, a strong or moderate CYP3A4 inducer, combined with presently claimed active agent, 30 mg or 60 mg of atogepant.
The present application's claim would anticipate the copending application's claims because the copending application's claims recite "comprising" and thus opens the claim to the inclusion of additional agents.
Claims 12 and 36 are not allowed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting
Claims 12, 35, 36 and 41-44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 14 and 15 of copending Application No. 19/055,912 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present application teaches methods for the preventive treatment of migraine and episodic migraine in patient undergoing concurrent treatment with a CYP3A4 inducer and orally administering a therapeutically effective doses of 30 mg or 60 mg atogepant, and the copending application teaches a method for the preventive treatment of episodic migraine in a patient undergoing treatment with a strong or moderate CYP3A4 inducer comprising administering 30 mg or 60 mg atogepant.
Note in the present application, the CYP3A4 inducer encompasses both strong and moderate.
Claims 12, 35, 36 and 41-44 are not allowed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 14, 36, , 38, 41 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goadsby et al., "Orally Administered Atogepant Was Efficacious, Safe, and Tolerable for the Prevention of Migraine: Results From a Phase 2b/3 Study", Neurology, Vol. 92, No. Supplement 15, page S17.001 (April 9, 2019)(CL) in view of Ankrom et al., "Atogepant Has No Clinically Relevant Effects on the Pharmacokinetics of an Ethyl Estradiol/Levonorgestrel Oral Contraceptive in Healthy Female Participants", The Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, Vol. 60, No. 9, pages 1157-1165 (2020)(CB) and further in view of CA 2479672 A1, hereby known as Cady (BA), all of PTO-1449.
Goadsby et al. teach the prevention of migraines with the administration of atogepant at 10mg, 30 mg, and 60 mg (see under Design/Methods). Note under Conclusions, atogepant was well tolerated with no treatment-related serious AEs.
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach whether or not the atogepant can be used with other drugs that are considered strong or moderate CYP3A4 inducers, one of ordinary skill the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in not being deterred by co-administration because it was known that neither strong or moderate CYP3A4 were affected by atogepant. However, the secondary reference, Ankrom et al., teaches atogepant is not expected to have clinical PK interaction with drugs whose clearance mechanism is predominantly dependent on CYP3A4 (see page 1157, second column, first paragraph to page 1158, column 1).
The instant invention differs from the cited references in that the cited references, each individually, do not teach the addition of a strong or moderate CYP3A4 inducer for the treatment of migraine. However, the tertiary reference, Cady, teaches CYP3A4 inducers, such as phenytoin sodium, and carbamazepine, are effective in the treatment of migraine (see page 11, claims 1 and 2).
Clearly, one skilled in the art would have assumed the combination of a strong or moderate CYP3A4 inducer with atogepant, each known individually for the treatment of migraines into a single composition would give an additive effect in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 12, 14, 36, 38, 41 and 42 are not allowed.
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629