DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 27, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rugeland et al. (Rugeland), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0394565.
Regarding claim 1, Rugeland discloses a cell change processing method, wherein a terminal stores a first configuration (the UE may still have stored configuration(s)) (0085), and the method comprises: evaluating, by the terminal, a first cell based on the first configuration (a/ CHO is defined as UE having network configuration for initiating access to a target cell based on configured condition(s)…b/ Usage of conditional handover is decided by network. UE evaluates when the condition is valid.) (0004-0008); using, by the terminal, the first cell as a target primary secondary cell (PSCell) of the terminal in a case that the first cell meets a first condition; and determining, by the terminal based on the first configuration, a target key for accessing the target PSCell; wherein the first configuration is associated with a candidate PSCell, the candidate PSCell comprises the first cell, and the first configuration comprises at least one of a conditional primary secondary cell change (CPC) configuration or a conditional primary secondary cell addition (CPA) configuration (when a network node (referred to in this example as a master node, MN) decides to configure a UE with a conditional PSCeII configuration (e.g. conditional addition and/or conditional change), e.g. based on measurements or expected data traffic, the MN will transmit a message to the candidate nodes (e.g. a conditional PSCeII addition request). This message will comprise a secondary key, derived based on the current K.sub.gNB(KgNB) and a sk-Counter value. If the MN decides to request a conditional PSCeII addition from multiple candidate SNs, the MN will derive separate (e.g. different)S-KgNB for the different nodes (or PSCeIIs) based on different sk-Counter values for each of the candidate secondary nodes (SNs) or for each candidate PSCeII. In this way the MN can ensures that unique S-KgNBs are generated for each candidate SN (or PSCeII).) (0097; see also 0111).
Regarding claim 2, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first cell is a cell that has been released by the terminal, or the first cell is a cell on which the terminal has previously camped, or a cell that has been accessed by the terminal (as shown is figure 1, step 7, the terminal detaches from the old cell).
Regarding claim 3, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein before the terminal uses the first cell as the target PSCell of the terminal, a PSCell of the terminal changes from the first cell to another cell; or before the terminal uses the first cell as the target PSCell of the terminal, the terminal releases the first cell used as a PSCell of the terminal (UE maintains connection with source gNB after receiving CHO configuration, and starts evaluating the CHO execution conditions for the candidate cell(s). If at least one CHO candidate cell satisfies the corresponding CHO execution condition, the UE detaches from the source gNB, applies corresponding configuration for that candidate cell and synchronises to that candidate cell. When the UE has executed the CHO for a particular PCeII, it can evaluate whether any of the associated PSCells trigger the Conditional PSCeII addition) (0157).
Regarding claim 4, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the using, by the terminal, the first cell as a target PSCell of the terminal comprises: changing, by the terminal, the target PSCell of the terminal to the first cell in a case that the PSCell of the terminal changes from the first cell to another cell; or adding, by the terminal, the first cell as the target PSCell of the terminal (UE maintains connection with source gNB after receiving CHO configuration, and starts evaluating the CHO execution conditions for the candidate cell(s). If at least one CHO candidate cell satisfies the corresponding CHO execution condition, the UE detaches from the source gNB, applies corresponding configuration for that candidate cell and synchronises to that candidate cell. When the UE has executed the CHO for a particular PCeII, it can evaluate whether any of the associated PSCells trigger the Conditional PSCeII addition) (0157).
Regarding claim 5, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the target key is a first key, the first key is different from a second key, and the second key is a key used by the terminal for the first cell before the terminal uses the first cell as the target PSCell of the terminal (Since each candidate target MN can provide multiple cells, as well as connect to multiple SNs, the conditional configuration may in some examples account for this. It can even be so that a PSCell can be a candidate secondary cell for multiple primary PCells. In this case the PSCell can be associated with different or the same SK-counter values for the different PCells. It should be noted that it may be permissible to use the same SK-counter values for PSCell associated with the same SN, or for PSCells associated with different SNs and different PCells since the secondary key is derived both from the SK-counter and the master key which is different for different PCells.) (0111).
Regarding claim 6, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the first key is a first secondary key, and the second key is a second secondary key; or the first key is a primary key, and the second key is a secondary key; or the first key is a secondary key, and the second key is a primary key (Since each candidate target MN can provide multiple cells, as well as connect to multiple SNs, the conditional configuration may in some examples account for this. It can even be so that a PSCell can be a candidate secondary cell for multiple primary PCells. In this case the PSCell can be associated with different or the same SK-counter values for the different PCells. It should be noted that it may be permissible to use the same SK-counter values for PSCell associated with the same SN, or for PSCells associated with different SNs and different PCells since the secondary key is derived both from the SK-counter and the master key which is different for different PCells.) (0111).
Regarding claim 7, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the first configuration comprises a plurality of counter values associated with the first cell, the first secondary key is a secondary key calculated based on one counter value in the plurality of counter values, and the second secondary key is a secondary key calculated based on another counter value in the plurality of counter values (Examples also include methods by a master node to provide the UE with separate sk-Counter values for each conditional configuration associated to a separate candidate secondary node. Examples also include methods by a master node to provide conditional secondary nodes with updated secondary keys upon execution of a conditional PSCeII addition/change or upon change of master key. Examples also include methods by a UE to update the secondary key of a conditional PSCeII configuration upon reception of a message from the master node.) (0077).
Regarding claim 8, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the first secondary key is a secondary key calculated based on a first counter value in the plurality of counter values, and the second secondary key is a secondary key calculated based on a second counter value in the plurality of counter values, wherein the first counter value is located after the second counter value in a target sequence, and the target sequence is a sequence of the plurality of counter values (In some examples, if the UE executes a conditional PSCeII addition in one candidate SN (i.e. uses the associated sk-Counter to calculate the S-KgNB), the UE maintains the other conditional PSCell configurations with different sk-Counter values, and the network ensures that the provided sk-Counter values are never reused without changing the KgNB.) (0173).
Regarding claim 9, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the target sequence is an ascending sequence of the plurality of counter values; or the target sequence is a descending sequence of the plurality of counter values; or the target sequence is a sequence of the plurality of counter values that is indicated by the first configuration (When the secondary node is changed, or the secondary key need to be updated, the UE is provided with an updated SK-Counter value, and the master node derives a new S-KgNB which it sends to the secondary node (SN). This ensures that a given secondary key (S-K.sub.gNB also known as K.sub.SN) is not used in multiple secondary nodes, i.e. the network ensures that the secondary key is always refreshed at SN change.) (0045; see also 0042, 0077 and 0173).
Regarding claim 10, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein in a case that the target sequence is the sequence of the plurality of counter values that is indicated by the first configuration, the first configuration carries sequence indication information, and the sequence indication information is used to indicate the target sequence; or the target sequence is a sequence in which the plurality of counter values are carried in the first configuration (Examples of this disclosure provide methods in a master node to prepare multiple candidate secondary nodes (and associated cells) with separate security keys to ensure that there is no key re-use. Examples also include methods by a master node to provide the UE with separate sk-Counter values for each conditional configuration associated to a separate candidate secondary node. Examples also include methods by a master node to provide conditional secondary nodes with updated secondary keys upon execution of a conditional PSCeII addition/change or upon change of master key. Examples also include methods by a UE to update the secondary key of a conditional PSCeII configuration upon reception of a message from the master node.) (0077).
Regarding claim 11, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following: deleting, by the terminal, the first configuration in a case that all counter values in the first configuration have been used; or in a case that all counter values in the first configuration have been used, deleting, by the terminal, the first cell from the candidate PSCell, or skipping, by the terminal, evaluation in terms of the first condition on the first cell (If each of the conditional PSCeII configurations are provided with the same SK-Counter, the UE can keep the configurations as is (although if each configuration is provided with different SK-Counter values, in some examples the values must be updated or the configurations released).) (0109).
Regarding claim 12, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the first configuration further comprises a configuration associated with a second cell, and the method further comprises: deleting, by the terminal, the configuration associated with the second cell from the first configuration in a case that all counter values associated with the second cell that are comprised in the first configuration have been used (If each of the conditional PSCeII configurations are provided with the same SK-Counter, the UE can keep the configurations as is (although if each configuration is provided with different SK-Counter values, in some examples the values must be updated or the configurations released).) (0109); (Alternatively, the MN may in some examples instruct the candidate SN(s) for conditional PSCeII addition/change(s) that weren't executed to release the conditional PSCeII configuration(s). The UE can then be instructed to discard the non-executed conditional PSCeII configuration(s).) (0108).
Regarding claim 13, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following: deleting, by the terminal, a counter value that has been used from the first configuration; or deleting, by the terminal, a secondary key that has been used; wherein the deleting, by the terminal, a secondary key that has been used comprises: removing, by the terminal, the secondary key that has been used from a local variable, wherein the local variable is a local variable corresponding to the first configuration (Examples of this disclosure provide methods in a master node to prepare multiple candidate secondary nodes (and associated cells) with separate security keys to ensure that there is no key re-use. Examples also include methods by a master node to provide the UE with separate sk-Counter values for each conditional configuration associated to a separate candidate secondary node. Examples also include methods by a master node to provide conditional secondary nodes with updated secondary keys upon execution of a conditional PSCeII addition/change or upon change of master key. Examples also include methods by a UE to update the secondary key of a conditional PSCeII configuration upon reception of a message from the master node.) (0077).
Regarding claim 14, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the first configuration comprises a first counter value associated with the first cell, the first secondary key is a secondary key calculated based on a second counter value, the second counter value is a counter value obtained after adding M to a counter value corresponding to the second secondary key, and the counter value corresponding to the second secondary key comprises: the first counter value, or a counter value obtained after adding N to the first counter value; wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 0, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; wherein in a case that the first secondary key is the secondary key calculated based on the second counter value, the method further comprises: reporting, by the terminal, at least one of the following to a network node: the second counter value or the secondary key calculated based on the second counter value; a quantity of times of using the first cell as the PSCell based on the first configuration; or a quantity of times of performing a conditional primary secondary cell addition or change (CPAC) process based on the first configuration (Examples of this disclosure provide methods in a master node to prepare multiple candidate secondary nodes (and associated cells) with separate security keys to ensure that there is no key re-use. Examples also include methods by a master node to provide the UE with separate sk-Counter values for each conditional configuration associated to a separate candidate secondary node. Examples also include methods by a master node to provide conditional secondary nodes with updated secondary keys upon execution of a conditional PSCeII addition/change or upon change of master key. Examples also include methods by a UE to update the secondary key of a conditional PSCeII configuration upon reception of a message from the master node. Examples also include methods by a master node to request a candidate master node to prepare multiple secondary keys to candidate secondary nodes associated to each candidate PCell. Some examples enable the security configuration for conditional PSCell addition/change. The master key derivation depends on the carrier frequency and physical cell ID of the PCell, whereas the secondary key derivation, only depends on the master key and a counter value (sk-Counter). Thus, it is possible to prepare multiple conditional PSCell configurations associated to the same candidate SN, using the same security key.) (0077).
Regarding claim 16, Rugeland discloses a key determining method, comprising: determining, by a secondary node (SN) based on target information, a target key currently used for and/or to be used for a first cell, wherein the first cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of a terminal; wherein the target information comprises at least one of the following: indication information of a master node (MN); or information carried when the terminal performs random access (If a UE is configured with dual connectivity, or more precisely configured with bearers terminated in a secondary node, the network configures the UE with two sets of keys, the master key (KgNB) and the secondary key (S-K.sub.gNB also known as K.sub.SN). The S-K.sub.gNB (S-KgNB) is derived based on an 16 bit integer value (0 . . . 65525) called SK-Counter and the current KgNB. When the network adds the secondary node, the master node derives the S-KgNB and forwards it to the secondary node and also provides the UE with the SK-Counter allowing the UE to derive the S-KgNB itself. [0045] When the secondary node is changed, or the secondary key need to be updated, the UE is provided with an updated SK-Counter value, and the master node derives a new S-KgNB which it sends to the secondary node (SN). This ensures that a given secondary key (S-K.sub.gNB also known as K.sub.SN) is not used in multiple secondary nodes, i.e. the network ensures that the secondary key is always refreshed at SN change.) (0044, 0045; see also 0047).
Regarding claim 17, Rugeland discloses a key determining method, comprising: determining, by a master node (MN), a target key currently used for and/or to be used for a first cell, wherein the first cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of a terminal; and sending, by the MN, the target key to a secondary node (SN) (Another aspect of the present disclosure provides a method performed by a network node for determining security keys. The method comprises determining, for each candidate primary secondary cell (PSCeII) of a plurality of candidate PSCells for conditional addition or conditional change by a wireless device for dual connectivity, a respective security key for communications between the wireless device and the candidate PSCeII, wherein the respective security key is determined based on a master key and a respective value associated with the candidate PSCeII, wherein the value associated with the candidate PSCeII is different to the value associated with at least one other candidate PSCeII. The method also comprises sending, for each candidate PSCeII, the respective security key to a respective candidate secondary node associated with the candidate PSCell.) (0047).
Regarding claim 18, Rugeland discloses a terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or an instruction that can be run on the processor, and when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the steps of the cell change processing method according to claim 1 are implemented (A further aspect of the present disclosure provides apparatus in a wireless device for determining security keys. The apparatus comprises a processor and a memory. The memory contains instructions executable by the processor.) (0048).
Regarding claim 19, Rugeland discloses a network node, wherein the network node is a secondary node (SN) and comprises a processor and a memory, the memory stores a program or an instruction that can be run on the processor, and when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the steps of the key determining method according to claim 16 are implemented (A still further aspect of the present disclosure provides apparatus in a network node for determining security keys. The apparatus comprises a processor and a memory. The memory contains instructions executable by the processor.) (0049).
Regarding claim 20, Rugeland discloses a network node, wherein the network node is a master node (MN) and comprises a processor and a memory, the memory stores a program or an instruction that can be run on the processor, and when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the steps of the key determining method according to claim 17 are implemented (A still further aspect of the present disclosure provides apparatus in a network node for determining security keys. The apparatus comprises a processor and a memory. The memory contains instructions executable by the processor.) (0049).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rugeland.
Regarding claim 15, Rugeland discloses the method according to claim 1 as described above. Rugeland, however, fails to disclose, wherein the method further comprises: reporting, by the terminal, notification information to the network node, wherein the notification information comprises at least one of the following: a quantity of times that the terminal performs the CPAC process for the first cell; duration of the CPAC process performed by the terminal for the first cell; a quantity of times of performing the CPAC process based on the first configuration; or duration of the CPAC process performed based on the first configuration; wherein the reporting, by the terminal, notification information to the network node comprises: reporting, by the terminal, the notification information to the network node in a random access message or a radio resource control (RRC) message.
The examiner contends, however, that such types of notifications are well-known in the art and the examiner takes official notice as such.
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rugeland with such notifications as such a modification can help the system keep track of the amount of available resources for handoff procedures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Futaki et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0070740 discloses a RAN node, radio terminal and method therefor (for performing handoff).
Purkayastha et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0235334 discloses techniques for inter-system handing over from a standalone to a non-standalone mode.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646