DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 14, 15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sutton-Sharp (US 2018/0370834).
Regarding Claim 11:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the water desalination system, comprising: a deoiler unit arranged to receive water produced from an oil or gas well (primary oil-water separation device) (see para. 0076); a pH adjustment skid unit arranged to receive deoiled water from the deoiler unit and produce pH-adjusted water having a pH value between 5.0 and 6.0 (pH is adjusted, therefore there is a unit) (see para. 0030); and a desalinator unit (unit for fourth step ) (see para. 0055) arranged to receive the pH-adjusted water from the pH adjustment skid and produce desalinated water having 0-200,000 ppm total dissolved solids (TDS) (see para. 0056).
Regarding Claim 14:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the water desalination system of claim 11, wherein the desalinator unit comprises membrane filter (see para. 0055).
Regarding Claim 15:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the water desalination system of claim 14, wherein the membrane filter comprises a reverse osmosis filter (see para. 0055).
Regarding Claim 17:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the water desalination system of claim 11, wherein the water desalination system does not comprise a lime softener unit (no lime softener unit is disclosed) (see Sutton-Sharp whole document).
Regarding Claim 18:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the water desalination system of claim 11, wherein the pH adjustment skid is arranged to apply at least one of sulfuric acid, phosphoric acid, hydrochloric acid, and nitric acid to the received deoiled water (see para. 0031).
Regarding Claim 19:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the water desalination system of claim 11, further comprising: a storage unit (injection well) arranged to receive and store the desalinated water for subsequent beneficial reuse (see fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 20:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the water desalination system of claim 11, wherein the pH adjustment skid unit is configurable to produce the pH-adjusted water based on properties of the well-produced water (pH is set within a range therefore it is based on the properties of the water) (see para. 0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutton-Sharp (US 2018/0370834).
Regarding Claim 1:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the method of desalinating produced water, the method comprising: deoiling water produced from an oil or gas well (preliminary step or oil-water separation device) (see para. 0063); removing suspended solids in the deoiled water (ultrafiltration) (see para. 0076); acidifying the deoiled produced water to have a pH value between 3.0 and 6.0 (see para. 0030); and desalinating (reverse osmosis or nanofiltration) (see para. 0033) the acidified water to produce desalinated water having 0-200,000 ppm total dissolved solids (TDS) (free of most dissolved solids would inherently be less than 200,000ppm TDS, further the same method, reverse osmosis, as disclosed by the applicants used, therefore the same level of solids removal would be obvious) (see para. 0056). The prior art range of a pH between 3.0 and 6.0 fully encompasses the claimed range of 5.0 to 6.0, therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists and one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to use a pH between 5.0 and 6.0 (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 2:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: stripping CO2 from the acidified water (gas stripping device) (see para. 0029).
Regarding Claim 5:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed without using lime softening (no chemical precipitants) (see para. 0034).
Regarding Claim 6:
Sutton-Sharp teaches method of claim 1, wherein the deoiling step comprises stripping at least one of oil and grease from the well-produced water (oil-water separation) (see para. 0063, 0066).
Regarding Claim 7:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the acidifying step comprises using at least one of sulfuric acid, phosphoric acid, hydrochloric acid, and nitric acid (see Para. 0031).
Regarding Claim 8:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining an amount of acid required for the acidifying step (pH is decreases to a specific range, therefore an amount of acid is inherently determined) (see para. 0030).
Regarding Claim 9:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the acidifying step comprises removal of at least one of soluble organic constituents and inorganic salts (carbonate) (see para. 0032).
Regarding Claim 10:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the desalinating step comprises using at least one of a membrane desalinator and a thermal desalinator (see para. 0055).
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutton-Sharp (US 2018/0370834) as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, and further in view of Haper, Jr (US 2017/0341942).
Regarding Claim 3:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the method of claim 2.
Sutton-Sharp does not teach the stripped CO2 is fed into a compression compartment.
Harper teaches feeding CO2 into a compression compartment (compressor) (see para. 0230).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to fed the stripped CO2 of Sutton-Sharp into a compression compartment, as disclosed by Harper because it allows the carbon dioxide to be stored and it is the simple addition of a known step to a known process, obviously resulting in compressed CO2 with an expectation of success. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 12:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the water desalination system of claim 11.
Sutton-Sharp does not teach a carbon dioxide compression compartment arranged to receive CO2 gas from the pH adjustment skid.
Harper teaches a carbon dioxide compression compartment (compressor) arranged to receive CO2 gas (see para. 0230).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add a compression compartment downstream of the pH adjustment skid of Sutton-Sharp, as disclosed by Harper because it allows the carbon dioxide to be stored and it is the simple addition of a known step to a known process, obviously resulting in compressed CO2 with an expectation of success. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Claim(s) 4, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutton-Sharp (US 2018/0370834) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Raynel et al (US 2020/0230519).
Regarding Claim 4:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the method of claim 1.
Sutton-Sharp does not teach polishing the desalinated water. Sutton-Sharp further teaches other purification steps can be included to satisfy specific quality requirements (see para. 0052).
Raynel teaches polishing desalinate water (see para. 0098).
Sutton-Sharp and Raynel are analogous inventions in the art of water treatment. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add the polishing step of Raynel after the desalination step of Sutton-Sharp because it allows the water to reach desired purity standards (see Raynel para. 0098) and it is desirable in Sutton-Sharp to adjust the treatment steps to reach desired purity standards (see Sutton-Sharp para. 0052).
Regarding Claim 13:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the system of claim 11.
Sutton-Sharp does not teach a polishing unit arranged to receive desalinated water from the desalinator unit. Sutton-Sharp further teaches other purification steps can be included to satisfy specific quality requirements (see para. 0052).
Raynel teaches polishing desalinate water (see para. 0098).
Sutton-Sharp and Raynel are analogous inventions in the art of water treatment. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add the polishing unit of Raynel after the desalination unit of Sutton-Sharp because it allows the water to reach desired purity standards (see Raynel para. 0098) and it is desirable in Sutton-Sharp to adjust the treatment steps to reach desired purity standards (see Sutton-Sharp para. 0052).
Regarding Claim 16:
Sutton-Sharp teaches the water desalination system of claim 11.
Sutton-Sharp does not teach the desalinator unit comprises a thermal desalination unit.
Raynel teaches a thermal desalination unit (distillation unit) (see Abstract, para. 0001).
Sutton-Sharp and Raynel are analogous inventions in the art of water treatment. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to replace the desalination unit of Sutton-Sharp with the thermal desalination unit of Raynel because it is the simple substitution of one know desalination device with another known desalination device, obviously resulting in a water stream with reduced salts concentrations, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 9/17/2026