DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Istoc [US 20110050428].
As to claim 1. Istoc discloses A method comprising:
receiving data related to a diabetic condition of a user, [0029] receive glucose sensor data;
detecting, based on the data related to the diabetic condition of the user, a triggering event for communicating a diabetes-related alert to the user, [fig. 6, 0029, 0070] generate alert based on received glucose sensor data of the user;
selecting, based on the triggering event, a first priority sensory channel in a hierarchy of sensory channels for providing the diabetes-related alert, [fig. 6, 0055, 0071, 0072] determine alerting scheme for the detected alert condition, and activate a single alert from a plurality of alert schemes in a defined sequence;
delivering the diabetes-related alert to the user using the first priority sensory channel, [fig. 6, 0056, 0072] generate the alert using the selected notification type, the type can be one of audible, visual, haptic;
determining that a user acknowledgement failed to be received in response to the diabetes-related alert after the diabetes-related alert has been delivered a pre-defined number of times or for a pre-defined period of time via the first priority sensory channel, [fig. 6, 0056, 0072] the sequence of alerts is generated until the alert is disabled by the user;
in response to the failure to receive the user acknowledgement in response to the diabetes-related alert being delivered via the first priority sensory channel the pre-defined number of times or for the predefined period of time, [0055, 0056], selecting a second priority sensory channel in the hierarchy of sensory channels for providing the diabetes-related alert, [fig. 6, 0056, 0072] generate the second preferred alert if the first alert is not disabled by the user within the predetermined period of time; and
delivering the diabetes-related alert to the user using the second priority sensory channel, [0056, 0072], wherein the second priority sensory channel is configured as a higher priority sensory channel than the first priority sensory channel, [0055] the alert is escalated to the next sequence of alert type.
As to claim 2. Istoc discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the diabetes-related alert is initiated via the second priority sensory channel via a first alert type or first priority level, [0055, 0056] alert escalated to the second alert type, the method further comprising: delivering the diabetes-related alert via the second priority sensory channel as a second alert type, [0055, 0056] or a second priority level that is configured to utilize a greater amount of battery power than via a first alert type or first priority level.
As to claim 3. Istoc discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the diabetes related alert is provided via the second priority sensory channel in addition to first priority sensory channel, [0053] the alert can be provided using the plurality of alerting elements.
As to claim 4. Istoc discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the first priority sensory channel is a haptic channel or a visual channel, and wherein the second priority sensory channel is an auditory channel, [0056].
As to claim 6. Istoc discloses The method of claim 5, wherein the increased priority level causes an increased intensity of the alert within the first priority sensory channel, [0055] alert escalated.
As to claim 7. Istoc discloses The method of claim 6, wherein the increased intensity comprises an increased intensity of a visual display when the first sensory channel is a visual channel, [0059], wherein the increased intensity comprises an increased volume level when the first sensory channel is an auditory channel, [0055], and wherein the increased intensity comprises an increased vibration when the first sensory channel is a haptic channel, [0055].
As to claim 8. Istoc discloses The method of claim 5, wherein the increased priority level causes a change in a modality of the alert of a plurality of distinct modalities provided within the first priority sensory channel, [0055, 0056].
As to claim 9. Istoc discloses The method of claim 8, wherein, when the first sensory channel is a visual channel, the plurality of distinct modalities comprises at least one of a display of a message on a visual display, a flash or change of state of a light emitting diode (LED) or other light on a device, or a visual control of another device, [fig. 1, 0032, 0033, 0040, 0043]; and wherein, when the first sensory channel is an auditory channel, the plurality of distinct modalities comprises at least one of a speech alert that includes a name of the user or another spoken message or another auditory sound or alert notification, [0054].
As to claim 10. Istoc discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the diabetes-related alert is delivered via a user device, [fig. 1, 0023], and wherein the diabetes-related alert is provided via at least one of the first sensory channel or the second sensory channel based on an indication from a sensor on the user device, [0027].
As to claim 11. Istoc discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the first priority sensory channel comprises a non-audible sensory channel, [0055] visual, and wherein the second priority sensory channel comprises an audible sensory channel, [0055] audible.
As to claim 13. Istoc discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that at least one priority sensory channel of the hierarchy of sensory channels is unavailable for providing the diabetes-related alert based on a characteristic of the user or a time of day, [0032] a preferred notification type can be determined to be ineffective based on the detected environment; and selecting the second priority sensory channel in the hierarchy of sensory channels based on the at least one priority sensory channel being determined to be unavailable, [0032] select a second notification type based on the detected environment.
As to claim 14. Istoc discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the received data is data from a continuous glucose monitor, [0023, 0040].
As to claim 15. Istoc discloses The method of claim 14, wherein the triggering event is detected when the received data from the continuous glucose monitor indicates a glucose level above an upper threshold or below a lower threshold, [0003, 0].
As to claim 16. Istoc discloses An apparatus comprising:
a communication circuit, [fig. 8, 0036] bus 426; and
a processor, [fig. 8, 0038, 0042] processing architecture 402, configured to:
perform the steps as claimed in claim 1, and are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 1.
As to claim 17. Istoc discloses The apparatus of claim 16, further comprising: a motor, [0053] vibrating element; a display, [0053] display screen; and a speaker, [0053] speaker, and wherein the first priority sensory channel is a haptic channel on which the diabetes-related alert is provided via the motor or a visual channel on which the diabetes-related alert is provided via the display, [0055, 0056] generate the alert using the selected notification type, the type can be one of audible, visual, haptic, and wherein the second priority sensory channel is an auditory channel on which the diabetes-related alert is provided via the speaker, [0055, 0056, 0072].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Istoc in view of Bryant et al. [US 20090254037].
As to claim 5. Istoc discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the pre-defined number of times comprises a first pre-defined number of times, wherein the pre-defined period of time comprises a first pre-defined period of time, [0055, 0056], the method further comprising: in response to the failure to receive the user acknowledgement in response to the diabetes-related alert being delivered via the first priority sensory channel a second pre-defined number of times or for a second predefined period of time, delivering the diabetes-related alert to the user at an increased priority level using the first priority sensory channel before using the second priority sensory channel, [0055] escalate the volume, tone or frequency of the audible alert after a predetermined period of time.
Istoc fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second pre-defined number of times is less than the first predefined number of times, and wherein the second predefined period of time is less than the first predefined period of time.
Bryant teaches a method and system for controlling an infusion pump that provides an alert in an escalated manner based on a user’s response wherein the system provides an audible alert in the first alert, where the audible alert is escalated if the user does not respond in a more regular period than an equal length period before changing the alert type, [0184].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Istoc with that of Bryant so that the system can use the same alert type with varying intensity before changing the alert type to reduce alert desensitization.
As to claim 18. Is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 5.
As to claim 19. Is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 6 and 7.
Claim(s) 12, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Istoc in view of Davis et al. [US 20170311904].
As to claim 12. Istoc discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the diabetes-related alert is delivered via the first priority sensory channel at a first device, [0023] visual alert generated on the user device.
Istoc fails to disclose wherein the diabetes-related alert is delivered via the second priority sensory channel by transmitting a message to a second device that is configured to cause the second device to deliver the diabetes-related alert via the second priority sensory channel.
Davis teaches a system and method for host monitoring comprising a device to monitor diabetes related alert of a user, [abs.]; wherein the alert can be escalated to a connected device when the initial alert is not acknowledged within a predetermined period of time, [0253].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Istoc with that of Davis so that the system can notify a medical personnel in case the user is not responsive.
As to claim 20. Is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Istoc is not prioritizing sensor channels at all.
Response 1: [0056] of Istoc teaches that the alerting scheme may call for any number of different alert notification types in any order, pattern, or sequence. The claimed sequence of alerting is one of the possible combinations of alerting sequences, and one of ordinary skill in the art can easily understand that the provided teaching is clear enough as escalating alerts is trivial and known in the art.
Argument 2: There is no disclosure in Istoc that any sensory channel is prioritized over another.
Response 2: Istoc in [0056] specifically describes that “the preferred alerting scheme might call for a particular sequence of different alert notification types, and that sequence can be generated over a designated period of time or until the alert/alarm is disabled by a user.”; wherein the same paragraph specifies “the alert generating elements 424 could be activated in response to a detected alert condition such that they generate a first alert notification type (e.g., audible, visual, haptic) followed by a second and different alert notification type.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688