Corrected Final Rejection
This final rejection replaces the previous final rejection dated 2/12/2026 which inadvertently left off the annotated drawing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/012654, herein referred to as ‘654. Examiner notes that US 2022/0259904 has been utilized as an approximate English translation of ‘654.
For Claim 1, ‘654 discloses a hinge assembly (Annotated Figure 7) comprising: a fixed leaf (31) including a first pin shaft (312) and a second pin shaft (311); and a movable leaf (32) having a first slide groove (322) cooperating with the first pin shaft (312) and a second slide groove (321) cooperating with the second pin shaft (311) in such a manner that the movable leaf (32) is capable of switching between an open position (Figure 11) and a closed position (Figure 7); wherein an end portion (Annotated Figure 7: A) at a lower edge (bottom edge in the view of Figure 7) of the movable leaf (32) moves away (as seen in Figure 9) from a lower edge (bottom edge in the view of Figure 7) of the fixed leaf (31) at a beginning of an opening process of the movable leaf (32), and the end portion (A) is located in a same horizontal plane at the open position and the closed position (wherein the end portion A stays in the same horizontal plane throughout the entire inclusive movement from the open position to the closed position); when the movable leaf at the closed position (Figure 7), the first pin shaft (312) is at a first end (3221) of the first slide groove (322), and the second pin shaft (311) is at a first end (A1) of the second slide groove (321); when the movable leaf is at the open position (Figure 11), the first pin shaft (312) is at a second end (3222) of the first slide groove (322), and the second pin shaft (311) is at a second end (A2) of the second slide groove (321); and the movable leaf (32) has a first edge and a second edge opposite to the first edge along a direction, the first end of the first slide groove and the first end of the second slide groove are closer to the first edge than the second edge, and the second end of the first slide groove and the second end of the second slide groove are closer to the second edge than the first edge (as seen in Figure 7).
For Claim 2, ‘654 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 1, wherein: the second pin shaft (311) is disposed in front of (as seen in Figure 7, wherein the left side is the front side) the first pin shaft (312); and the first pin shaft (312) is disposed at a higher position (as seen in Figure 7, wherein the top side is the upper side) than the second pin shaft (311).
For Claim 3, ‘654 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 2, wherein: the first slide groove (322) includes a first groove section (Annotated Figure 7: B), and the second slide groove (321) includes a second groove section (C); a travel start point in the first slide groove (322) is located at an end of the first groove section (B), and a travel start point in the second slide groove (321) is located at an end of the second groove section (C); and the first groove section (B) and the second groove section (C) are configured to rotate the end portion (A) and move the end portion (A) upwardly (as seen between Figures 7 and 9 where the top side in the view of Figure 7 is the upward direction) in the opening process of the movable leaf (32).
For Claim 4, ‘654 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 3, wherein the first groove section (B) and the second groove section (C) are each constructed as an arc-shaped groove that is bent rearwardly at the closed position (as seen in Figure 7), an arc length of the second groove section (C) being shorter than an arc length of the first groove section (B).
For Claim 5, ‘654 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 3, wherein a radius of the first groove section (B) is greater (as seen in Figure 7) than a radius of the second groove section (C).
For Claim 6, ‘654 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 3, wherein: the first slide groove (322) further includes a third groove section (D) in communication with the first groove section (B); the second slide groove (321) further includes a fourth groove section (E) in communication with the second groove section (C); and the third groove section (D) and the fourth groove section (E) are configured to move the end portion (A) downwardly (as seen between Figures 7 and 11, where the bottom side in the view of Figure 7 is the downward direction) in the opening process of the movable leaf (32).
For Claim 7, ‘654 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 6, wherein at the closed position (Figure 7), each of the third groove section (D) and the fourth groove section (E) is inclined forwardly and extends downwardly (as seen in Figure 7 wherein the left side is the forward direction and the bottom side is the downward direction).
For Claim 8, ‘654 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 6, wherein a length of the third groove section (D) is greater than a length of the fourth groove section (E).
For Claim 9, ‘654 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 6, wherein: the first slide groove (322) further includes a fifth groove section (F) in communication with the third groove section (D); a travel end point (as seen in Figure 11) in the first slide groove (322) is located at the fifth groove section (F), and a travel end point (as seen in Figure 11) in the second slide groove (321) is located at the fourth groove section (E); and the fifth groove section (F) is configured to drive the end portion (A) to rotate in the opening process of the movable leaf (as seen in Figures 7, 9, and 11).
For Claim 10, ‘654 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 9, wherein the fifth groove section (F) is constructed as an arc-shaped groove (as seen in Figure 7).
For Claim 11, ‘654 discloses the hinge assembly according to claim 1, wherein the movable leaf (32) is provided with a limit plate (20, 21), and the fixed leaf (31) is provided with a limit arm (14) cooperating with the limit plate (20, 21).
For Claim 12, ‘654 discloses a kitchen device (abstract) comprising: a housing (10); a door (20); and a hinge assembly (Annotated Figure 7) including:
a fixed leaf (31) disposed at the housing (10) and including a first pin shaft (312) and a second pin shaft (311); and a movable leaf (32) disposed at the door (20) and having a first slide groove (322) cooperating with the first pin shaft (312) and a second slide groove (321) cooperating with the second pin shaft (311) in such a manner that the movable leaf (32) is capable of switching between an open position (Figure 11) and a closed position (Figure 7); wherein an end portion (Annotated Figure 7: A) at a lower edge (bottom edge in the view of Figure 7) of the movable leaf (32) moves away (as seen in Figure 9) from a lower edge (bottom edge in the view of Figure 7) of the fixed leaf (31) at a beginning of an opening process of the movable leaf (32), and the end portion (A) is located in a same horizontal plane at the open position and the closed position (wherein the end portion A stays in the same horizontal plane throughout the entire inclusive movement from the open position to the closed position); ); when the movable leaf is at the open position (Figure 11), the first pin shaft (312) is at a second end (3222) of the first slide groove (322), and the second pin shaft (311) is at a second end (A2) of the second slide groove (321); and the movable leaf (32) has a first edge and a second edge opposite to the first edge along a direction, the first end of the first slide groove and the first end of the second slide groove are closer to the first edge than the second edge, and the second end of the first slide groove and the second end of the second slide groove are closer to the second edge than the first edge (as seen in Figure 7).
For Claim 13, ‘654 discloses the kitchen device according to claim 12, wherein: the second pin shaft (311) is disposed in front of (as seen in Figure 7, wherein the left side is the front side) the first pin shaft (312); and the first pin shaft (312) is disposed at a higher position (as seen in Figure 7, wherein the top side is the upper side) than the second pin shaft (311).
For Claim 14, ‘654 discloses the kitchen device according to claim 13, wherein: the first slide groove (322) includes a first groove section (Annotated Figure 7: B), and the second slide groove (321) includes a second groove section (C); a travel start point in the first slide groove (322) is located at an end of the first groove section (B), and a travel start point in the second slide groove (321) is located at an end of the second groove section (C); and the first groove section (B) and the second groove section (C) are configured to rotate the end portion (A) and move the end portion (A) upwardly (as seen between Figures 7 and 9 where the top side in the view of Figure 7 is the upward direction) in the opening process of the movable leaf (32).
For Claim 15, ‘654 discloses the kitchen device according to claim 14, wherein the first groove section (B) and the second groove section (C) are each constructed as an arc-shaped groove that is bent rearwardly at the closed position (as seen in Figure 7), an arc length of the second groove section (C) being shorter than an arc length of the first groove section (B).
For Claim 16, ‘654 discloses the kitchen device according to claim 14, wherein a radius of the first groove section (B) is greater (as seen in Figure 7) than a radius of the second groove section (C).
For Claim 17, ‘654 discloses the kitchen device according to claim 14, wherein: the first slide groove (322) further includes a third groove section (D) in communication with the first groove section (B); the second slide groove (321) further includes a fourth groove section (E) in communication with the second groove section (C); and the third groove section (D) and the fourth groove section (E) are configured to move the end portion (A) downwardly (as seen between Figures 7 and 11, where the bottom side in the view of Figure 7 is the downward direction) in the opening process of the movable leaf (32).
For Claim 18, ‘654 discloses the kitchen device according to claim 14, wherein at the closed position (Figure 7), each of the third groove section (D) and the fourth groove section (E) is inclined forwardly and extends downwardly (as seen in Figure 7 wherein the left side is the forward direction and the bottom side is the downward direction).
For Claim 20, ‘654 discloses the kitchen device according to claim 14, wherein: the first slide groove (322) further includes a fifth groove section (F) in communication with the third groove section (D); a travel end point (as seen in Figure 11) in the first slide groove (322) is located at the fifth groove section (F), and a travel end point (as seen in Figure 11) in the second slide groove (321) is located at the fourth groove section (E); and the fifth groove section (F) is configured to drive the end portion (A) to rotate in the opening process of the movable leaf (as seen in Figures 7, 9, and 11).
For Claim 21, ‘654 discloses a hinge assembly (Annotated Figure 7) comprising: a fixed leaf (31) including a first pin shaft (312) and a second pin shaft (311); and a movable leaf (32) having a first slide groove (322) cooperating with the first pin shaft (312) and a second slide groove (321) cooperating with the second pin shaft (311) in such a manner that the movable leaf (32) is capable of switching between an open position (Figure 11) and a closed position (Figure 7); wherein an end portion (Annotated Figure 7: A) at a lower edge (bottom edge in the view of Figure 7) of the movable leaf (32) moves away (as seen in Figure 9) from a lower edge (bottom edge in the view of Figure 7) of the fixed leaf (31) at a beginning of an opening process of the movable leaf (32), and the end portion (A) is located in a same horizontal plane at the open position and the closed position (wherein the end portion A stays in the same horizontal plane throughout the entire inclusive movement from the open position to the closed position); and each of the first slide groove (322) and the second slide groove (321) has an arc-shaped groove section (D and E, respectively) bulging out (as seen in Figure 7) towards an edge of the movable leaf (32).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 and 20-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0102419 teaches a similar hinge that has not been relied upon in the current rejection, but is pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jeffrey O'Brien/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677